WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

First Official "Avatar" Photo

Posted: August 15th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
First Official "Avatar" PhotoSubmit Comment
James Cameron's "Avatar" trailer is scheduled to appear online on August 21st and to hold you over we now have a shot of Jake Sully (Sam Worthington) with his avatar in the background. Check out the photo below.

Plot: An ex-Marine finds himself thrust into hostilities on an alien planet filled with exotic life forms. As an Avatar, a human mind in an alien body, he finds himself torn between two worlds, in a desperate fight for his own survival and that of the indigenous people.

The new 3-D movie is scheduled to hit theaters on December 18th.

Photo: (click to enlarge)


Click here to read more about "Avatar."

Source: 20th Century Fox


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 41 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Ranger writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 11:23:21 PM

Is that Rob Pattison battling AIDS in the tank behind that guy?
telur writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 11:33:15 PM

this is nothing, i still wait for trailer
braad23 writes:
on August 15th, 2009 at 12:01:06 AM

Can't wait! Hey Mink, buddy look its an image!
DoucheNozzle writes:
on August 15th, 2009 at 12:10:47 AM

Good to see Abe Sapien getting roles in other films. Don't think the wig suits him, though. Hehe...
minkowski writes:
on August 15th, 2009 at 12:18:09 AM

They REALLY need to stop with all the hype. I'm getting disappointed already.
BobMcBob writes:
on August 15th, 2009 at 12:42:55 AM

Minkowski, are you a pedophile who lives in a basement and rants about movies all day?
minkowski writes:
on August 15th, 2009 at 12:59:17 AM

No, I'm a pedophile that lives in an attic and rants about movies all day. I type in my underwear and I only eat cold cereal. I play Halo habitually.
Ranger writes:
on August 15th, 2009 at 1:24:34 AM

This IS the Pedophile Club... isn't it?!

Whew!

Good!
minkowski writes:
on August 15th, 2009 at 1:27:52 AM

Wait, wait. This isn't a club for people that have foot fetishes?
BlueMobius writes:
on August 15th, 2009 at 2:22:08 AM

It's a club for people with tweener feet fetishes...I mean, duh!
rocketman writes:
on August 15th, 2009 at 6:01:22 AM

So aliens have mullets and pointy ears,original no? still looks generic and uninspired.one for blu-ray just for the action sequences unless it get some planet shifting reviews.doubtfull.
takai writes:
on August 15th, 2009 at 6:44:26 AM

Yeah, the hype is FAR too massive already. And just now there's a single official photo?

Either this movie is going to disappoint, or it's going to be just good enough to match the hype.
Derp88 writes:
on August 15th, 2009 at 7:57:11 AM

Sick of hearing about this movie,just hurry up and bring this sh*t out already
smokemouth writes:
on August 15th, 2009 at 8:58:41 AM

The hype is only massive if you're a nerd who sits online and reads about movies all day. Normal people haven't heard of Avatar yet.
coldplayesence writes:
on August 15th, 2009 at 9:55:17 AM

^ But they'll go the theaters when they read: "from the director of Titanic", that's all this movies needs.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 15th, 2009 at 10:38:00 AM

I guess anything can look "SUPER f*ckING AWESOME REALISTICING OMFGQWERFPQREFPO" if you take 12 years to make it.
Blank x2 writes:
on August 15th, 2009 at 12:03:31 PM

Spooky needs another hug.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 15th, 2009 at 12:16:40 PM

Spooky needs to show you all that this movie will be a one dimensional, albeit visually stunning sci-fi.

The man made T1, T2, ALIENS For christs sake! And THIS is his dream project? A bunch of blue n*ggers (no, not being racist, I just can't make "Blue african americans looking aliens" work as good as "Blue n*ggers" does.) on a moon (in the way over used Alpha Centauri star system, mind you) and some perfect, clear skinned looking paraplegic marine gets his mind "Downloaded" into one of those things (which by the way was I think the second or third episode of Transformers season 2)? I bet that must have taken all of 5 minutes to think up!

And guess what? it's gonna be in 3-D! OH WOW REALLY THAT'S AWESOME DUDE! Everyone groans here about 3-D movies being just Gimmicky and whatnot, but if Cameron does it, all of a sudden it excuses the useless gimmicky technique?
lost_addict writes:
on August 15th, 2009 at 12:19:41 PM

why does it look so fake?
Dre-EL writes:
on August 15th, 2009 at 12:54:02 PM

I have never been more curious about a movie in my life. I actually need to see what this moive is about.
The promotional campain of not saying anything is genius, it reminds me of episode 1 and we all know how that turned out.
braad23 writes:
on August 15th, 2009 at 1:46:53 PM

Does anyone know about the new camera Cameron created for this film? Well... you know the camera he created for his and other Films in general? The one thats a result of him goin back to school and learning how humans perceive things through there eyes? He is tryin something new with 3D. I guess we jus have to wait until Avatar day/release of the film, to see what its all about.
Ranger writes:
on August 15th, 2009 at 3:40:39 PM

@Dre - nice 'A Man called Nova' avatar. I had the whole collection way back.
Ranger writes:
on August 15th, 2009 at 3:41:25 PM

Hey Spooky. You straddling the gauze my friend?
Chris_G writes:
on August 15th, 2009 at 4:25:52 PM

The trailer is coming a day early, Apple has a countdown, its goming out at 7 AM Eastern time, on Thursday August 20th

http://www.apple.com/trailers/
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 15th, 2009 at 6:02:14 PM

Ok, so the camera looks pretty cool, but that doesn't stop the story from looking basic.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 15th, 2009 at 6:07:57 PM

but you still need glasses, right?
braad23 writes:
on August 15th, 2009 at 6:34:28 PM

Yeah you still need to wear glasses i guess, as for the camera, its not the looks, its the science behind it that makes it interesting. Like i said we'll see what it looks like when it comes out(3D wise... hell... 2D wise). As for the story, you don't want them to spell it out for you right?
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 15th, 2009 at 6:47:00 PM

I figure it the glasses only cross our eyes for us you know?

There are still picture cameras that take 3d images, but you need to cross your eyes, like this: http://www.anachrome.com/ikesco.jpg

and the camera is like the video camera, two lenses, side by side, they are slightly indented towards each other, and the right lens takes a photo about 1 millisecond after the left lens.
minkowski writes:
on August 15th, 2009 at 6:52:56 PM

lol. haven't any o fyou read the script? Got it before they took it off the internet.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 15th, 2009 at 6:57:10 PM

Well, clearly I haven't, if I'm calling them blue n*ggers lol
coldplayesence writes:
on August 15th, 2009 at 7:00:20 PM

@SpookyCupcakes- i don't know what the hell i am sopouse to be seen in that link. Sorry.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 15th, 2009 at 7:01:09 PM

If you could drop by a copy, I'd be more than happy to read it so I could reconsider my blind hate.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 15th, 2009 at 7:03:04 PM

"i don't know what the hell i am sopouse to be seen in that link. Sorry."

Cross your eyes until they become overlayed, it'll take a little doing to focus on it clearly, but when you do it's there. I nearly shat myself when I first saw this.
braad23 writes:
on August 15th, 2009 at 7:07:26 PM

I don't see how its like the conventional video camera.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 15th, 2009 at 7:09:54 PM

No, I mean that the still image camera is similar to the avatar camera is all.
coldplayesence writes:
on August 15th, 2009 at 7:18:34 PM

@SpookyCupcakes- I think I'll just wait for the movie, I still need my eyes, but thanks anyway, lol.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 15th, 2009 at 7:28:20 PM

Oh, and I never meant the whole still camera thing to sound as if the video camera has been done before, I was just saying that the camera is pretty cool
vwkombi writes:
on August 16th, 2009 at 1:05:15 AM

I think i agree with Spooky. This film may be visually stunning, but without a solid script behind it. But i guess you could call The Terminator and Aliens a weak idea for a film, and look what Cameron did with those.
simplerules10 writes:
on August 16th, 2009 at 2:04:06 AM

yea for a movie that suppost to have great special effects, this looks like bs, give us a trailer and also give us a trailer for boonedock saints
simplerules10 writes:
on August 16th, 2009 at 2:05:39 AM

actually i think sam, was the only actor that kept terminator salvation together, christian bale ruined the movie. hes a good actor, wouldnt be suprised if this movie passed titanic in gross revenue
Lander writes:
on August 16th, 2009 at 7:40:26 AM

That's f*cking fantstic. It's a total eyef*ck, like Tron 2.0 trailer was.

And yeah, im gonna go to Imax at Avatar's day.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved