WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"District 9" - What Did You Think?

Posted: August 14th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"District 9" - What Did You Think?Submit Comment
We didn't get a "Halo" movie, but Peter Jackson and director Neill Blomkamp have given us "District 9" instead. Their new movie is now playing in theaters and some of you have already seen it. Using the comments section below, let us know what you thought of the film.

"District 9" was made on a small budget. Did that show in the special effects or the acting? Did Blomkamp do a good enough job to be given a chance to direct "Halo"?

Come back on Sunday to see how the movie performed at the domestic box office.

Click here to read our "District 9" review.

Source: WorstPreviews.com


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 90 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
acslaterson writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 7:27:58 AM

I can't wait to see this tonight! 93% on the Tomatometer!
VDODSON writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 7:54:02 AM

Dont know, it doesnt f*cking get here until next month.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 8:14:25 AM

I think that you are retarded, Alex.

Your review is missing about 2 more numbers to that 6/10 rating.
danomaso writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 8:29:29 AM

It was awesome, I was scared that the story was going to get thin and they would make it up with too much action but it all worked out fine. The violence, action, drama, everything balanced and worked. The lead actor was excellent and the CGI was totally believable, you could honestly believe the aliens were there, grovelling in the rubbish. The first part is more doco type and I was scared some people might not like the beginning, but it seamlesly changes to a more conventinal movie feel. The only problem I had is that they certainly dont explain enough for a general viewer, I got into the movie alot more than some of my friends, as I had been reading up on this movie from the beginning and watched alive in Joburg etc. The claims of racism are totally unfounded, and the reasons they give for the humans not being able to utilize the aliens technology are well thought out. I loved the scenes where the aliens get to control their own technology they were pure gold. I cant believe that a movie like this can be made on smaller budget than the likes of GI Joe, Transformers and Terminator. Thats all, before I give something away:)P.S Sorry about spelling, in a rush...
danomaso writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 8:37:56 AM

They set it up sweet for a sequel aswell, its almost begging to be made..
vwkombi writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 11:23:11 AM

Simply put: Brilliant.
Sveppi writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 11:58:32 AM

It doesn't even have a release date over here :/ Can't wait to see it.
hardcorehogan87 writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 12:45:04 PM

It was very well done. It got progressively better from the beginning to the end. I was gripped onto in the beginning and I wasn't let go until the final frame. Great film. And I rarely call out Worstpreviews, but come on, a 6/10? Get your stuff together. 8-9/10.
borat writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 1:00:40 PM

Awesome one of the best movies of summer it's not saying much with all the crap that came out this summer
Ranger writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 1:25:11 PM

I'll know better of what I think of it after I see it (lol).
metathought writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 2:05:04 PM

In my opinion, this was the best movie of the last few summers.

gimple writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 2:36:33 PM

As far as Scifi this year, Moon was better. But this wasn't bad.
BigUnit writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 3:15:51 PM

best movie of the summer by FAR!!!!
tcu21 writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 3:24:58 PM

Pretty damn awesome. Don't know what the hell WP is thinking with that 6/10 review (100% from Top Critics!).
And the special effects were actually really good. Just goes to show you don't need 200 million to make a good movie *cough* Michael Bay *cough*

And Sharlto Copley and every other no name actor/actress in this movie gave great, great performances, you wouldn't believe that most of them have never had acting jobs on this level.

Neil Blomkamp, ignore Halo and focus on more original ideas like this, most importantly District 10.
acslaterson writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 3:28:45 PM

Borat gave a real comment!? Haha, this movie has to be good!
Ranger writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 3:40:19 PM

Either that or he finally took a laxative.
AP102390 writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 3:43:46 PM

freaking awesome. it was the perfect length, and the acting was surprising good. the Special effects were realistic most of the time, and the cinematography and direction were all really good. it is probably the most intelligent science fiction movie of the year, but probably will get snubbed at the oscars and golden globes, since they're typically more in favor of stuff like The Lovely Bones, The Hurt Locker, and Nine.
masKritic writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 3:45:28 PM

Holy sh*t this story was not what i thought it was going to be but instead way better. I went to the theater having high hopes for it and it followed through and exceeded my wantings. Best Sci-fi film in years.
masKritic writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 3:47:37 PM

Really WP? Only 6 out of 10? come on now.
scotty7471 writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 3:48:18 PM

The CONCEPT was a unique and intriguing one. HOWEVER, the delivery was VERY lacking. The Blair Witch/Cloverfield attempt in the beginning (and then sporadically throughout the movie) were offset by the WEAK acting and even weaker storyline (WHO actually were the bad guys?) makes this one a 'lets wait til it comes to at least premium cable"
masKritic writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 3:50:09 PM

After seeing this movie i think Blomkamp easily could have made Halo and it wouldn't have disappointed anyone.
BlutoDaBoss21 writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 3:50:55 PM

small budget? wow. f*ckin amazing effects. some parts i bet alot of people would fined cheesy but it still was the best movie i have seen all summer. might be enough to jump start him as a main stream director?
Ranger writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 3:52:21 PM

Hey Scotty. I haven't seen it yet, but liked your review (not just because others were so positive about this movie on here) - but because you honestly voiced some things you thought may have been done better.

Seriously folks - no bashing Scotty for not being head over heals completely about this flick...

Open minds and all.

But wow... this is BY FAR the most positive I've read about ANY movie on here in a long time. SEE HOLLYWOOD... STOP MAKING sh*t AND PEOPLE WILL STOP BITCHING!!! I can't wait to see this now.
scotty7471 writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 3:54:40 PM

thanks for the compliment ranger
and i dont think this is a godawful film, it was just below my expectations, and my opinions are just that, my opinions (i havent reached siskel or ebert status...yet :-))
Ranger writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 4:00:17 PM

Thank God you haven't.

I go into all movies with no expectations. It virtually eliminates disappointment. With movies and in life. Which is different than hope, I should point one.

Hope is good! Expectations see you contracting venereal warts from skanky family-poking biaches!

Another Ranger moment brought to you by 'LegoLand... the movie' (that'll bleed so much sh*t, your feet will stick to the theater floor!).
Barney Stinson writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 4:16:10 PM

Is it possible that the guys behind WP are relatives of Armond White?
synthetic1985 writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 4:33:43 PM

i think i'll go see this...some of you are saying it's surprisingly good....i dunno...just sounds to me like it's worth watching over other retarded movies that came out this year
synthetic1985 writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 4:38:13 PM

not saying this movie is retarded either...just sayin this is way worth watching over bullsh*t movies like wolverine...cuz at least you don't know the whole backstory before watching them ruin it...and based on my preferences as well as things some of us agree on for good taste in movies, this sounds like something i'd enjoy watching
lostwarrior writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 4:54:25 PM

I was entertained. Yeah some slow parts regarding the acting, but honestly way better than most big budget action sci-fi films... The story line did have some holes in it, but its a real good job for a 1st time director. It impressed me, the tickets I got were free dollars and I was surprised that it was as good as it was, but It didnt impress me like it did others which is kool. I just thought the story line had some holes in it as well as the acting could of been a little bit more dynamic, they seemed kinda flat to me.
hbomb28 writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 5:41:30 PM

best movie of year. best science fiction since blade ruuner
Ranger writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 5:45:24 PM

That's quite the praise hbomb! Man... all you folks have me really curious about this flick! Nice!
Ravethebutcher writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 5:51:47 PM

is that his name spookycupcakes? alex?
i only go on here for the news the reviews here are f*cking terrible
i sent the guy an email ages ago but he never responded
Post_Man_87 writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 6:16:52 PM

I really liked it - unsure if it's purchase worthy, but only time will tell for me on that front. I'll have to let it sink in a little more. There are a ton of underlying themes - enough to keep the smart viewer interested, & enough action to feed your need as well. All around well balanced flick. My main concern was that it would get boring as the film got on - but it did quite the opposite. Worth paying for.
Dre-EL writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 6:22:58 PM

Loved it. This movie was awesome. CG effects was right up there with the best of them, look out for it at oscar time. Loved the fact that it didnt follow the straight action adventure formula, this allowed for a lot of suprises and suspence. Loved the fact that the main character was an SOB and at some points im routing for his demise, thus when he finally does the right thing you feel justified in granting him redemption. Looking forward to the sequel that was set up. Hope we dont really have to wait 3yrs or longer.

True science fiction is totally under-rated in my country, not many people came out to see it opening day (Wednesday). Everyone was still flocking to GIJoe which was sold out. Go figure
Kevin Hock writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 6:32:19 PM

This movie is insanity! Thoroughly enjoyed a creative twist on the idea of aliens. Surreal at times.
Ranger writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 6:57:06 PM





LEAVE THE SPOILERS OUT OF YOUR REVIEWS FOLKS!





SACdaddy writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 7:24:01 PM

For me this was almost a perfect movie. While I agree with just about everything posted above, I did have a problem with the "shaky" cam effects. I guess I'm just getting tired of seeing it in every movie. I really dont think it adds to the reality of a scene the way directors want it to. It takes away from the action we actually used to be able to see in older movies. For example, could you imagine watching a Rocky movie filmed like a Bourne movie? D9 does a good job of not going too overboard with it though especially during the most important scenes. That being said, its really hard to take anything away from this film. Can't wait for the sequel!
VaderWasFramed writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 7:28:00 PM

It was pretty awesome.
masKritic writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 7:44:27 PM

Hmm scotty I'm going to disagree with you, respectively. The doc*mentary scenes, in my opinion were great mini set-ups and the actual story line coming in afterwards were great pay-offs. I thought it was excellently delivered. I also think the bad guy was clearly presented by the time the second act started and the third act was mind blowing.
vaodsi writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 8:19:03 PM

I had a hell of a time.. it was fun and crazy and ORIGINAL! the only movie i really liked this summer besides UP.
basically it's brilliant trash. cause it's stupid and silly... but it does have a soul.... even if it's brain is a little far out sometimes.
tansformers and GI joe have no souls. They are empty shells of movies.
vaodsi writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 8:23:30 PM

the acting....
uhm...
yeah....
it was really good.
like..... BRILLIANT.
bad acting is when you GROWN at the insipidity .
or when you notice that if the chick wasn't hot, they wouldn't have got the part.

vaodsi writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 8:24:15 PM

haha. groan. not grown. hahaha
so much for being an english major.
tswan2076 writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 8:26:25 PM

Saw the noon showing today. Theater was half-packed on a Friday AFTERNOON. Can't wait to see what this does over the weekend. The special effects were great. I forgot was looking at CGI ship and aliens after awhile. The doc*mentary style sucks you into the pic. It's engaging and intelligent. Best sci-fi movie in awhile. Doesn't hurt that there's a rocking mech that kicks ass for 15 minutes of screen time. Very cool flick!
JRprime writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 10:00:33 PM

this is definitely my favorite movie of the summer. great acting, great special effects, great story, great humor. A lot of fun this film was. CG was incredibly believable.
Popcorn101 writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 10:15:24 PM

Oh man, great movie. This is the 2nd best movie to me of the year, behind Star Trek. I'd give it a 9.5/10 or even a 10/10. If they do a Halo movie, I'd want this guy to direct it with Peter Jackson, of course, because if he did this with a small budget, imagine him with a regular one!
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 10:32:12 PM

Now that I've seen the movie, I have to say, that this movie felt like a prequel, as if we already were supposed to know if Christopher comes back to earth or something.

But that's what the movie excels in, even if there is no sequel, it gives us a chance to think, to wonder what happens three years later.

And THAT is the true originality that TG and I were talking about. This is what the bare minimum of all movies should be.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 10:34:55 PM

Oh and for everyone who has a bug up their butt about spoilers:

WARNING: THE POST ABOVE CONTAINS SPOILERS.
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 10:35:52 PM

Not feeling this nearly as much as everyone else seemed to but its good a director finally put out something people give a sh*t about. Hopefully this film does well enough to allow him to do some more work.
minkowski writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 10:52:17 PM

"And THAT is the true originality that TG and I were talking about. "

Original? No. Executed competently on a small budget? Yes. When you're surrounded by turds, anything looks more appetizing. But no, not original at all. I'm not sure why people keep saying that. It's like they don't watch any other films or read books.

Try reading some 'Years Best Science Fiction' anthologies, and see what ideas are out there before you talk about original.
masKritic writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 10:56:02 PM

I just watched the inspiring "Alive in Joburg" short film by Blomkamp for the first time. Blomkamp knows what he's doing for sure. I'm glad they turned it into a feature film.
murphyslaw93 writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 11:07:37 PM

I thought it was highly original, technically brilliant, and action packed. It provided just the right amount of everything to even out into one of the greatest sci-fi films of all time. This film will definitely be around for a while and will make a deep enough mark to be named a classic. Blomkamp's directorial debut is almost as good as Kevin Smith's or Quentin Tarantino's, District 9 is amazing. I cant wait to see it again.
diesel writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 11:08:20 PM

i created this account for one reason to express my dislike with a frequent poster and i think many people will agree with me...minkowski will you please just shut the f*ck up.... thank you
minkowski writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 11:26:16 PM

".minkowski will you please just shut the f*ck up"

No. Now don't you feel like an idiot for creating an account for ultimately no purpose? Damn, now I've said something 'negative' about your lastest trinket fascination. Your world is totally shattered. How WILL you cope?

And I dare ANYONE to tell me what the f*ck was so original? You guys toss that sh*t around like you know better. You don't. Like OMG it was just SO ORIGINAL! Yeah, it wasn't Transformers, no doubt, but is that all the kind of trash you put in your head?

Most of you little douchebags don't do much but talk sh*t about things you know nothing about and beat off to Jessica Alba pictures. YOU should shut the f*ck up because you don't know d*ck. As always.

Now, hows that? like I said, UN f*ckING ORIGINAL. You handling the facts would be original.

And it was one part Blair Witch Project, one part (insert film about racism, apartheid and so on) one part Rodney King, one part Independence Day, one part Clovefield et cetera. You act like it's 1977 again and you're watching Star Wars!

You little bastard trolls are JUST LIKE the guys on RT that go onto viciously bash some critic that DARES to criticize your favorite film. Like, OMG, don't talk sh*t about GI JOE, it was the bestest fun! You make fun of the critics name, looks, sexuality, but when or she AGREES with you, he or she is suddenly the f*cking Messiah. The world you live in is so f*cking pathetic.

1. You worship pop culture

2. You have no thoughts of your own, no imagination, no creativity or intelligence to call your own

3. Your threshhold for dissent, for anything you disgaree with, is so f*cking low, you undermine your already dubious character just to shut other people up when they say something you don't like about something you're currently fascinated with.

It's like celebrity watching. It's like you look at your small and worthless life and wish for more. You wish to be part of something larger, so you worship sh*t and people and films that have nothing to do with you. It's like being a groupie. Being a whore to your own ego and low self esteem.

Now back to sucking Blomkamp's d*ck. I hear if you blows a load on your face, he'll make Halo.
minkowski writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 11:28:15 PM

lol

Now back to sucking Blomkamp's d*ck. I hear if HE blows a load on your face, he'll make Halo.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 11:36:03 PM

"minkowski will you please just shut the f*ck up"

Shut the f*ck up, he has a different opinion, and has the balls to say so.
minkowski writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 11:36:39 PM

Ok, I apologize, I'm sorry. I really meant to say

Oh my god, it was the most awesome film I've ever seen! This generations Star Wars. It was SO amazing! So original! I've NEVER seen ANYTHING like that before! If Blomkamp does one thing with the rest of his life, he'll make ME happy and make Halo.

Ok, I'm done. Will you love me now? Please? Please?!
minkowski writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 11:40:00 PM

"Shut the f*ck up, he has a different opinion, and has the balls to say so."

Nah, I should shut up and go away. Maybe kill myself with Lohan's panties. sniff sniff.

Not like I said the movie sucks, I just said it's not THAT original. I read books and watch other films and see a lot of what goes on there in D9 in other places. I mean, can you imagine the lead the haters would be packing if I tore into the film?

But thanks for defending me.
Ranger writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 11:54:13 PM

@diesel - please don't say you're speaking for others (unless they have told you first hand). It's a weak(er) hand to play is you say you're speaking for others, when others haven't said anything to you. Either stand on your own 2 feet (1 if you're a war amp)... and state your peace.

God Bless.

Toodles.

Don't brush you teeth with a brick.

Luv ya!

XOXO!

PS: I'm not speaking for others. I made all this up on my very own. Thank you.
GrandpasWeiner writes:
on August 15th, 2009 at 12:05:03 AM

Wow, Minkowski really does end up dominating every single thread on this website. One person says one negative thing and BOOM- he's blasted. Anyway, I thought the movie was great. No, it wasn't the most original movie ever made, and no it's not the best thing since Star Wars. But overall it was just a sweet movie. So nice to see a Sci-Fi movie that actually has a solid plot with CGI built around it to add to the chemistry. Can't wait to see District 9 part two!!!!
minkowski writes:
on August 15th, 2009 at 12:13:01 AM

"No, it wasn't the most original movie ever made, and no it's not the best thing since Star Wars. But overall it was just a sweet movie. So nice to see a Sci-Fi movie that actually has a solid plot with CGI built around it to add to the chemistry."

Exactly. Why is it so damned hard for people to say what's what? Is this place dominated by 15 year old punks that barely read their high school syllabus and only watch so-called 'blockbusters'? f*ck man, it's like this place has only a handful of independent thinkers!
OneTime writes:
on August 15th, 2009 at 12:41:23 AM

AWESOME...i give it 2 crack pipes waaayyy up
Shogo1307 writes:
on August 15th, 2009 at 12:44:10 AM

OMFG! Can anyone say HAHAHA Microsoft should of listened to Pete you f*ckin fagbags! Great f*cking movie! Effects were the best i have ever seen! EVER!
vaodsi writes:
on August 15th, 2009 at 1:46:54 AM

yeah it's not really original in content... i guess i should have clarified i found it original in the way the story unfolded. i guess original is the wrong adjective. basically, i wasn't able to call the ending or know what would happen next. that's why it felt original. most summer blockbusters feel all the same. like you can call what happens next cause you saw the movie before last summer under a different name and slightly older special effects.
but i liked it. LOVED IT. probably since it's been one BAD summer.....
c-prime writes:
on August 15th, 2009 at 1:47:46 AM

I enjoyed "District 9". The story was compelling and if featured some pretty damned impressive special effects for a $30 million budget - certainly not the first film to pull of the latter accomplishment (i.e., "Cloverfield"), but, hey, I can be easy to impress sometimes. An enjoyable, but sad, sci-fi romp, I'd say - 8/10.
JRprime writes:
on August 15th, 2009 at 2:27:07 AM

alright, this movie is obviously good and well done.

speaking about originality, you're pretty much saying nothing is original. there are only a few things that havent been touched before. its almost impossible to create something that's not going to have similarities to something else.

its pretty much like saying movie A has slow-motion scenes, so movie B isnt original because it too has slow-motion scenes.

the story of this film is obviously original

(im not looking back at this post so save your tough-guy comebacks for real life interaction)
Duffman writes:
on August 15th, 2009 at 5:35:10 AM

Ranger...get off your ass you lil wabbit and quit posting on here and see this movie!!!!
takai writes:
on August 15th, 2009 at 6:39:05 AM

If the sequel does pull through, all it will have to be is Mink's post above, but in Sci Fi form.

That would be brutal enough to dominate any movie ever.
Post_Man_87 writes:
on August 15th, 2009 at 7:26:55 AM

@SpookyCupcakes - I've been wanting to say for a while, you have the best avatar on here. Hilarious.

But, just because anyone voices their own opinion on here does not mean they have "the balls" to. It means they have a keyboard and an internet connection.

I just think ppl get tired of reading negative after negative post, strewn across the net, on msg board after msg board.

Overall Mink does have some good points, but ppl get burned out hearing 'well this isn't original - that isn't original. You want original go read these books I've read. Your opinion on this movie is flawed because I've read the books that were the egg that came before the chicken.', blah, blah, blah.

If ppl liked it, great. If not, well that's great too. There is no absolute.

I think it's painfully obvious by now that Hollywood is not changing there ways....and even if there is an utterly completely original flick that does come out - it most likely will get the same 1-2 punch sh*t kicking that most posters unjustly give every films.

Tomorrow is another day......and nothing will change
Ryanlawson writes:
on August 15th, 2009 at 7:30:05 AM

SERIOUSLY... f*ck GI I JOE AND FCUK SPIDERMAN 3 AND f*ck ALL OTHER BIG BUDGET MOVIES WHOS SPECIAL EFFECTS LIKE LIKE sh*t.

not once did i think that a single frame of this epicly cgi filled low budget movie looked fake. not once, it was amazingly hyper realistic and was done on such a low budget. that goes to show how actual talent matters more then budget. f*ck
SACdaddy writes:
on August 15th, 2009 at 7:46:11 AM

@Mink: Have you seen the movie yet? If so, did you like it? Who gives a sh*t what one dork thinks about you personally, what about the f*cking movie? I can understand your uneasiness with people throwing around the word "original", but it nothing to get upset about. I think people might be having a hard time really describing the particulars they liked in this film because for the most part everything works well. Its been so long since we've seen a film work on so many levels and in all aspects (acting, CGI, action, actual plot above a fifth grade level) that it feels "original" and fresh even if it isn't. Personally I've given up on waiting for something new out of Hollywood. I'm just pleased to see that someone still knows how to make a good movie that doesn't insult the intelligence of its audience.
SACdaddy writes:
on August 15th, 2009 at 8:00:33 AM

Have yall noticed how well these docu-fiction films like Cloverfield, Blair Witch, Quarantine, and D9 have done without the use of well known actors in the leads? Maybe thats how they're keeping the budgets down on these projects. Its refreshing to see a film not have to lean on the star crutch to stand on its own.
mdp711 writes:
on August 15th, 2009 at 12:52:49 PM

ba ba booey
lost_addict writes:
on August 15th, 2009 at 1:17:21 PM

mink and ranger rule WP
MYVAGHURTZ writes:
on August 15th, 2009 at 1:23:35 PM

Wow....Spunkyc*mcakes and minkowski have to be playing butt darts with eachother. I think you might have found yourself a fag hag minkowski.
majorziggy writes:
on August 15th, 2009 at 1:57:03 PM

amazing,instant scifi classic
acting was great(no big names:)
story was great and got pretty deep, you really get connected to the charecters due to some really good charecter development, cinematography was FANTASTIC, really well done. over all i just absolutely loved the movie
rfernandez writes:
on August 15th, 2009 at 2:14:04 PM

Damn good piece of cinema the style was on point. Looked very grungy and guerilla smart move using the handhelds instead of prosumer cameras.
Rio14 writes:
on August 15th, 2009 at 2:55:16 PM

Best movie of the summer for it's originality, story, acting, and awesome special effects. Great movie, I never thought I'd take the alien's side.
ironhide-autobot writes:
on August 15th, 2009 at 7:04:42 PM

one of the best films ever made
CesarH_16 writes:
on August 15th, 2009 at 7:28:04 PM

I went yesterday to see the film, and it was awesome! I believe its this year's "The Dark Knight." Well, for me. Lol

The relationship with the aliens and humans were so real! (Especially with a certain father and son in the film.) The story was great. The acting was superb. The CGI were awesome. The ending was sweet! It did get emotional towards the climax, to be honest. I was even getting chills. A lady even started to tear with the intensity and drama happening. There were some pretty graphic and disturbing scenes. So dudes, if you take you're lady friends, prepare to cover their eyes. HAHA! What I loved was how it had a "doc*mentary" side of it, with certain interviews, which made it far more realistic. The action sequences were incredible. Putting them up there with Saving Private Ryan and Children of Men. All in all, the movie was fantastic and deserves good box office and awards, especially for Neill Blomkamp, P. Jackson and the crew. 10/10!

P.S. Pay attention to the beginning. Many people think the story sucks, but if you listen carefully, you'll understand :) Laterz y'all
(My review)
dagreatestevr writes:
on August 15th, 2009 at 11:34:37 PM

I have never seen a better film.
This is our generation's Star Wars.
TeemSelami writes:
on August 16th, 2009 at 12:40:44 AM

f*cking Awesome!!!!! writing, direction, character behaviors. also approachable to regular viewers. theatre was packed and everyone seemed engrossed. this movie still surprised me even though tried to watch or read as much i could about it. good job 1st job neil. pete jackson holds it down as always. i feel like suckin his d*ck and catching all the money falling from his pockets.
rekoob44 writes:
on August 16th, 2009 at 1:44:09 AM

Awesome movie! Blomkamp did a great jpob of controlling the tempo, character development, and the tone. The violence was graphic but not too much for the movie. Very impressive!! 8/10
SACdaddy writes:
on August 16th, 2009 at 4:20:46 AM

Its good to see so many people on this website like this film. I know its not perfect, but it sure tries to be. Hopefully, the box office returns reflect the positve feedback so we can get more movies like it in the future.

Space_Ghost11 writes:
on August 16th, 2009 at 11:03:57 AM

I loved it! it was a sci-fi film like I'd never seen before, the whole plot of these aliens living amongst us and how we treat them is like a new wave of brilliant sci-fi story. It was at times, intense & epic - very sad & tragic and really kept you on the edge of your seat through most of it. Some elements or minor details of the plot couldve been changed or I wouldve maybe changed but I was happy with how everything came to be in the end.
GrandpasWeiner writes:
on August 16th, 2009 at 12:52:19 PM

BABA BOOEY, FLA FLA FLO FLY
Ranger writes:
on August 16th, 2009 at 5:03:06 PM

@Space_Ghost11 - glad to hear it (well, not really. But I believe even YOU can pick up on my sarcasm directed towards you here).
Rarehunter writes:
on August 16th, 2009 at 6:54:20 PM

This movie is the one that washed all those sh*tty movies fro this summers mouth, A truly brilliant film
Johnny Neat writes:
on August 17th, 2009 at 11:33:28 AM

Finally saw it and although it is not bad it wasn't as great as hoped. I still think Blomkamp is talented but needs a bit more experience and funds. I think the film would benefit from a proper sequel & trilogy treatment as Blomkamp has shown he has a good imagination.
padfootbob writes:
on August 18th, 2009 at 1:52:15 AM

The movie just got better and better and better. There were moments when I was afraid it was going to get stupid, but it ended up being brilliant. One of my favourites.
selter626 writes:
on August 19th, 2009 at 5:16:22 PM

im i the only one thought this wasnt as good as they say?

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved