WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
New Trailer for Johnny Depp's "Black Mass" is Here!
May 23rd, 2015
First Look at Jonah Hill and Miles Teller in "Arms and the Dudes"
May 23rd, 2015
First Look at Meryl Streel and Hugh Grant in "Florence Foster Jenkins"
May 23rd, 2015
First Look at Cuba Gooding Jr and John Travolta in "America Crime Story: The People V. OJ Simpson"
May 22nd, 2015
New Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Knock Knock" Thriller
May 22nd, 2015
Brad Pitt's "World War Z" Sequel Gets a Title
May 22nd, 2015
Reese Witherspoon to Star in Disney's Live-Action Tinker Bell Movie "Tink"
May 22nd, 2015
"Fantastic Four" Promo Video Shows Team's Superpowers
May 22nd, 2015
Full Trailer for "The Gallows" Horror Film
May 22nd, 2015
New "Captain America: Civil War" Set Photos, With Paul Rudd and Robert Downey Jr
May 21st, 2015
"Independence Day 2" Takes Place 15 Years Later, Same Aliens Return
May 21st, 2015
"Transformers" Sequels and Spin-Offs Get Impressive Writing Team
May 21st, 2015
Trailer for Elijah Wood's "Cooties" Horror Comedy
May 21st, 2015
"The Divergent Series: Allegiant" is Now Filming
May 21st, 2015
Heath Ledger Was Set to Star in "Mad Max: Fury Road"
May 20th, 2015
Trailer for Zac Efron's "We Are Your Friends"
May 20th, 2015
Trailer for "Maze Runner" Sequel
May 20th, 2015
Tom Cruise's "Jack Reacher 2" Hires "The Last Samurai" Director
May 20th, 2015
New Trailer for Adam Sandler's "Pixels" Action Comedy
May 20th, 2015
The Joker is Insane in New "Suicide Squad" Set Photos
May 19th, 2015
First Look at Orgrim From "Warcraft" Film
May 19th, 2015
George Miller Unveils Title of "Mad Max: Fury Road" Sequel
May 19th, 2015
First Look at Mark Wahlberg in "Deepwater Horizon" Oil Disaster Film
May 19th, 2015
New Trailer for Hugh Jackman's "Peter Pan" Prequel
May 19th, 2015
Dwayne Johnson Confirms Return for "Fast and Furious 8" and Spin-Off Talks
May 18th, 2015
Trailer for Michael Fassbender's "Steve Jobs" Biopic is Here!
May 18th, 2015
"Pitch Perfect 2" Dominates at Box Office, Easily Beats "Mad Max: Fury Road"
May 18th, 2015
Matthew McConaughey Considering Marvel and DC Superhero Films
May 17th, 2015
"Captain America: Civil War" Set Photos Show Crossbones, The Falcon and Scarlet Witch
May 16th, 2015
Disney Planning "Star Wars" and Marvel TV Channels
May 16th, 2015
Kate Beckinsale Confirmed for "Underworld 5," to Begin Shooting in October
May 15th, 2015
Jackie Chan and Owen Wilson to Return for "Shanghai Dawn"
May 15th, 2015
New Trailer for "Minions" Arrives Online
May 15th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Bryan Singer to Make "Battlestar Galactica" Movie

Posted: August 14th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Bryan Singer to Make "Battlestar Galactica" MovieSubmit Comment
Universal Pictures has set Bryan Singer (Superman Returns) to direct and produce a feature version of "Battlestar Galactica," which appears to be on a fast track. Sources said that Singer could be looking at a $10 million paycheck.

Singer has long been intrigued with "Battlestar Galactica" and flirted with relaunching it into a TV series right after he directed the original "X-Men." Some believe that 9/11 played a role in the destruction of the plan.

Here is what he said back in 2001: "The lesson I learned on 'X-Men' is to have a healthy respect for the fan base of sci-fi fantasy franchises, and I'm confident that the `Galactica' brand is a sleeping giant. It was a show I watched during its initial run, from the pilot to the final episode. The essence and the brand name is quite potent in a climate where there's a great deficit of sci-fi programming."

The new movie is said to be a "complete re-imagination" of the show.

Source: Variety


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 28 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
acslaterson writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 7:14:45 AM

Frak! This is stupid, the show just ended and they want to do a complete re-imagination? Go back to making thrillers Singer, sh*t!
Captain Rogaine writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 7:16:13 AM

WTF? Of all the things that need to be reimagined why do something that just got that treatment. Plus I don't believe this guy can do it any better that what we've already seen. Tell him to go reboot something else. I just don't understand this at all.
Captain Rogaine writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 7:17:14 AM

Plus he looks like a total Douche in that picture.
dandythelion writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 7:20:24 AM

well, i'd rather see his movie than the show thats on now. but it seems like he's going for the paychecks these days
mdp711 writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 7:54:51 AM

Remakes, remakes, remakes...enough already.
darkknight1985 writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 7:59:03 AM

dandythelion,

FYI the show is now over. That means that you have not been paying attention to it. Coz if you have you would've understood that it will be near impossible to beat the intensity, drama and class we saw in the series.
PS - And don't forget the characters. Unless he gets a great cast he will not get any praise from fans. Though I'm still in doubt that he'll match the show's cast.
i3u7n5 writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 10:59:17 AM

The NEW show JUST ended and now a whole new rehash? f*ck me...
Over Priced writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 11:28:46 AM

He's just totally dismissed the new show. I don't even think he's watched it. Its a shame because the new show managed something quite special.
Ranger writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 12:18:30 PM

Yes. The last BattleStar series WAS amazing. They took the definitive 5-year plan from Babylon 5 and made all 5 seasons into ONE cohesive story (unlike Smallville... ugh!). I don't think a movie on BG needs to be done. It's already done... and was done well. But if Singer brings in the flying motorcycles as was in the original series 100 years ago. I'll find him and sh*t in his mouth!
DoucheNozzle writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 12:21:47 PM

Captain Rogaine, yeah, he seems to be doing a Cris Angel uber-douche pose.
DoucheNozzle writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 12:31:45 PM

Well, this whole situation smacks of Singer getting his revenge on Ron Moore when his relaunch idea was abandoned in favor of Moore's. That would kind of shine some light on why he will be mostly ignoring the new series and basing the reimagining on the old series that started it all.
Ranger writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 1:11:31 PM

Douche - if you're just going to be logical and reasonable... what are you doing here?!
DoucheNozzle writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 1:46:29 PM

I'm not sure. Hehehe...
Gaudion93 writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 3:13:53 PM

Eh? Didn't the show end like 2 months ago? Aren't re-imagings supposed to happen like 30 years after the last one finished???
AP102390 writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 3:46:45 PM

=( the show JUST ended! can we wait 10 years to "re-imagine" something instead of 1 year?
Ranger writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 3:54:54 PM

Hey don't knock Singer completely. For a $10mil paycheck, I'd film my own mother f*cking a rabid Rottweiler!
Ranger writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 3:55:15 PM

$10mil pays for a lot of counseling.
tolgaboy writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 6:12:12 PM

f*ck THAT GAY SINGERMAN HE IS READY TO f*ck UPP B GALACTICA TOO FIRS SRETURNS AND NOW THIS PLEASE STOP MAKING MOVIES
lostwarrior writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 6:20:29 PM

f*ck that, it was well done the first time. All he will do is most likely f*ck it up. just because some one is a fan of this show doesnt mean they need to a film version of it. And ranger you better get ready cuz you know that the flying motorcycles are gonna be in it. In his mind he thinks he is being true to the back story which is most likely how (she) will f*ck this up. he will go back into the past instead of moving foward...
Ranger writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 6:36:14 PM

Don't joke my friend. Flying motorcycles just... don't fly (in a movie).

I DARE YOU to find MegaForce (Barry Bostwick) to watch (but keep anything sharp out of reach while watching). It's like a worse 'Missing in Action' meets 'Rosie O'Donnell with her thighs open wide' with 'Gary Coleman' playing the lead in well... anything kind of a deal. It's like having a colon scoped with 12 feet of rusty, feces-laden prison razor wire!

Flying motorcycles... f*ck me!
Dre-EL writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 6:36:57 PM

Singer talks as though the series on scifi channel didnt exist. Sleeping giant? try exausted giant. They need to let the series chill for a decade before talking reboot.
Kal-El writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 7:21:30 PM

@Ranger, calling the latest BSG "cohesive" is a stretch. I loved it (especially the first three seasons), but they were making it up as they went along.
Rarehunter writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 8:49:47 PM

f*ck that faggot, and superman is a p*ssy
pendragon92fs writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 8:53:08 PM

Frellin damn, the serise that just died was crap. The frist one was so much better then the second its not even funny. Now a movie sh*t WTF let the sleeping dog lie.
python6 writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 9:05:37 PM

Yes Space 1999 need to be rebooted.I miss that show
Ranger writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 10:44:22 PM

@Kal-El... I can't argue. I saw it early going... a bit in the middle, and less at the end. What I meant (mainly) was that it wrapped up in a time frame they planned quite early in to go... and stuck to it. Smallville just baits you every week to see if the episode has ANYTHING to do with Superman... or just Clark wearing glasses or learning the he has super sneezes... ugh! BSG - taking on Cylon technology into repairing their ship. Who were the spys. Rebellions - power struggles, love, hate, war. ALL hovered about the core of the story.
Ranger writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 10:44:59 PM

But I don't think they need another movie. By Singer or anyone. Leave it alone. Although... for $10mil... well, I've posted my thoughts on that above.
lost_addict writes:
on August 16th, 2009 at 9:44:53 AM

gay it up,singer..

Reed Richards Doesn't Stretch in "Fantastic Four" Reboot

"Jurassic World" to Ignore Last Two Films, to Bring Back T-Rex

Five Actors in Talks for "Spider-Man" Reboot

Hugh Jackman and Channing Tatum to Appear in "X-Men: Apocalypse"?

New "Captain America: Civil War" Set Photos, With Paul Rudd and Robert Downey Jr

"Fantastic Four" Director Fired From "Star Wars" Spin-Off

Why Wasn't Loki in "Avengers: Age of Ultron"?

Hugh Jackman Confirms "Wolverine 3" is His Last Time as Wolverine

Chris Evans Says Captain America is Probably a Virgin

Will Poulter is Pennywise in Stephen King's "It" Remake
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved