WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"Jurassic World" Trailer is Here!
Nov 26th, 2014
Trailer for Hugh Jackman's "Peter Pan" Prequel
Nov 26th, 2014
Ridley Scott Won't Direct "Blade Runner 2," Reveals Story Details
Nov 26th, 2014
Michael Fassbender to Star in Danny Boyle's "Steve Jobs" Biopic
Nov 26th, 2014
Trailer for Jennifer Aniston's "Cake" Arrives Online
Nov 26th, 2014
Oscar Isaac is the Villainous Apocalypse in "X-Men: Apocalypse"
Nov 25th, 2014
Michelle MacLaren Will Direct "Wonder Woman" Film
Nov 25th, 2014
Sylvester Stallone Discusses "The Expendables 4" Ideas and Rating
Nov 25th, 2014
New Trailer For "The Interview" Comedy, with James Franco and Seth Rogen
Nov 25th, 2014
First Posters and Photos of Hugh Jackman in "Peter Pan" Prequel
Nov 25th, 2014
Christian Bale Says He Wanted to Play Batman in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Nov 24th, 2014
First Footage From "Jurassic World" Arrives Online
Nov 24th, 2014
"Wanted" Producer Says Sequel is Still Happening
Nov 24th, 2014
New Photo of Arnold Schwazenegger as T-800 From "Terminator Genisys"
Nov 24th, 2014
"The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1" Dominates at Box Office, Hits Franchise Low
Nov 23rd, 2014
"Guardians of the Galaxy" Director Says Shared Cinematic Universes Can Be a Mistake
Nov 23rd, 2014
Town Bans Winnie the Pooh for Being Half-Naked
Nov 23rd, 2014
First Poster for "Get Hard" Comedy, with Will Ferrell and Kevin Hart
Nov 22nd, 2014
Angelina Jolie Will Quit Acting to Focus on Directing
Nov 22nd, 2014
Trailer for George Lucas' Animated "Strange Magic" Film
Nov 22nd, 2014
Trailer for "Pitch Perfect 2" Arrives Online
Nov 21st, 2014
"Zoolander 2" is Moving Forward, Penelope Cruz Joins Cast
Nov 21st, 2014
Stephen King's "The Stand" to Become Four Movies
Nov 21st, 2014
First Look: Patrick Stewart is a White Supremacist in "Green Room" Thriller
Nov 21st, 2014
Mel Gibson May Direct "Hacksaw Ridge," with Andrew Garfield to Star
Nov 21st, 2014
Ridley Scott Promises "a Fresher Form of Alien" in "Prometheus 2"
Nov 20th, 2014
Full Trailer for Disney's Live-Action "Cinderella"
Nov 20th, 2014
Trailer for "American Heist" Thriller with Hayden Christensen and Adrien Brody
Nov 20th, 2014
Melissa McCarthy to Star in Live-Action "Tinker Bell" Comedy
Nov 20th, 2014
Al Pacino is an Aging Rock Star in "Danny Collins" Trailer
Nov 20th, 2014
Full Trailer for "Peter Pan Live" Musical, with Christopher Walken as Captain Hook
Nov 20th, 2014
Six Actors in Talks for Cyclops and Jean Grey in "X-Men: Apocalypse"
Nov 19th, 2014
How Do Horror Fans Choose Movies? Not By Plot or Cast
Nov 19th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Bryan Singer to Make "Battlestar Galactica" Movie

Posted: August 14th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Bryan Singer to Make "Battlestar Galactica" MovieSubmit Comment
Universal Pictures has set Bryan Singer (Superman Returns) to direct and produce a feature version of "Battlestar Galactica," which appears to be on a fast track. Sources said that Singer could be looking at a $10 million paycheck.

Singer has long been intrigued with "Battlestar Galactica" and flirted with relaunching it into a TV series right after he directed the original "X-Men." Some believe that 9/11 played a role in the destruction of the plan.

Here is what he said back in 2001: "The lesson I learned on 'X-Men' is to have a healthy respect for the fan base of sci-fi fantasy franchises, and I'm confident that the `Galactica' brand is a sleeping giant. It was a show I watched during its initial run, from the pilot to the final episode. The essence and the brand name is quite potent in a climate where there's a great deficit of sci-fi programming."

The new movie is said to be a "complete re-imagination" of the show.

Source: Variety


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 28 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
acslaterson writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 7:14:45 AM

Frak! This is stupid, the show just ended and they want to do a complete re-imagination? Go back to making thrillers Singer, sh*t!
Captain Rogaine writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 7:16:13 AM

WTF? Of all the things that need to be reimagined why do something that just got that treatment. Plus I don't believe this guy can do it any better that what we've already seen. Tell him to go reboot something else. I just don't understand this at all.
Captain Rogaine writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 7:17:14 AM

Plus he looks like a total Douche in that picture.
dandythelion writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 7:20:24 AM

well, i'd rather see his movie than the show thats on now. but it seems like he's going for the paychecks these days
mdp711 writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 7:54:51 AM

Remakes, remakes, remakes...enough already.
darkknight1985 writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 7:59:03 AM

dandythelion,

FYI the show is now over. That means that you have not been paying attention to it. Coz if you have you would've understood that it will be near impossible to beat the intensity, drama and class we saw in the series.
PS - And don't forget the characters. Unless he gets a great cast he will not get any praise from fans. Though I'm still in doubt that he'll match the show's cast.
i3u7n5 writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 10:59:17 AM

The NEW show JUST ended and now a whole new rehash? f*ck me...
Over Priced writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 11:28:46 AM

He's just totally dismissed the new show. I don't even think he's watched it. Its a shame because the new show managed something quite special.
Ranger writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 12:18:30 PM

Yes. The last BattleStar series WAS amazing. They took the definitive 5-year plan from Babylon 5 and made all 5 seasons into ONE cohesive story (unlike Smallville... ugh!). I don't think a movie on BG needs to be done. It's already done... and was done well. But if Singer brings in the flying motorcycles as was in the original series 100 years ago. I'll find him and sh*t in his mouth!
DoucheNozzle writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 12:21:47 PM

Captain Rogaine, yeah, he seems to be doing a Cris Angel uber-douche pose.
DoucheNozzle writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 12:31:45 PM

Well, this whole situation smacks of Singer getting his revenge on Ron Moore when his relaunch idea was abandoned in favor of Moore's. That would kind of shine some light on why he will be mostly ignoring the new series and basing the reimagining on the old series that started it all.
Ranger writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 1:11:31 PM

Douche - if you're just going to be logical and reasonable... what are you doing here?!
DoucheNozzle writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 1:46:29 PM

I'm not sure. Hehehe...
Gaudion93 writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 3:13:53 PM

Eh? Didn't the show end like 2 months ago? Aren't re-imagings supposed to happen like 30 years after the last one finished???
AP102390 writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 3:46:45 PM

=( the show JUST ended! can we wait 10 years to "re-imagine" something instead of 1 year?
Ranger writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 3:54:54 PM

Hey don't knock Singer completely. For a $10mil paycheck, I'd film my own mother f*cking a rabid Rottweiler!
Ranger writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 3:55:15 PM

$10mil pays for a lot of counseling.
tolgaboy writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 6:12:12 PM

f*ck THAT GAY SINGERMAN HE IS READY TO f*ck UPP B GALACTICA TOO FIRS SRETURNS AND NOW THIS PLEASE STOP MAKING MOVIES
lostwarrior writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 6:20:29 PM

f*ck that, it was well done the first time. All he will do is most likely f*ck it up. just because some one is a fan of this show doesnt mean they need to a film version of it. And ranger you better get ready cuz you know that the flying motorcycles are gonna be in it. In his mind he thinks he is being true to the back story which is most likely how (she) will f*ck this up. he will go back into the past instead of moving foward...
Ranger writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 6:36:14 PM

Don't joke my friend. Flying motorcycles just... don't fly (in a movie).

I DARE YOU to find MegaForce (Barry Bostwick) to watch (but keep anything sharp out of reach while watching). It's like a worse 'Missing in Action' meets 'Rosie O'Donnell with her thighs open wide' with 'Gary Coleman' playing the lead in well... anything kind of a deal. It's like having a colon scoped with 12 feet of rusty, feces-laden prison razor wire!

Flying motorcycles... f*ck me!
Dre-EL writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 6:36:57 PM

Singer talks as though the series on scifi channel didnt exist. Sleeping giant? try exausted giant. They need to let the series chill for a decade before talking reboot.
Kal-El writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 7:21:30 PM

@Ranger, calling the latest BSG "cohesive" is a stretch. I loved it (especially the first three seasons), but they were making it up as they went along.
Rarehunter writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 8:49:47 PM

f*ck that faggot, and superman is a p*ssy
pendragon92fs writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 8:53:08 PM

Frellin damn, the serise that just died was crap. The frist one was so much better then the second its not even funny. Now a movie sh*t WTF let the sleeping dog lie.
python6 writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 9:05:37 PM

Yes Space 1999 need to be rebooted.I miss that show
Ranger writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 10:44:22 PM

@Kal-El... I can't argue. I saw it early going... a bit in the middle, and less at the end. What I meant (mainly) was that it wrapped up in a time frame they planned quite early in to go... and stuck to it. Smallville just baits you every week to see if the episode has ANYTHING to do with Superman... or just Clark wearing glasses or learning the he has super sneezes... ugh! BSG - taking on Cylon technology into repairing their ship. Who were the spys. Rebellions - power struggles, love, hate, war. ALL hovered about the core of the story.
Ranger writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 10:44:59 PM

But I don't think they need another movie. By Singer or anyone. Leave it alone. Although... for $10mil... well, I've posted my thoughts on that above.
lost_addict writes:
on August 16th, 2009 at 9:44:53 AM

gay it up,singer..

It's Official! Channing Tatum to Star in "Gambit" Spin-Off

Jim Carrey Says Tommy Lee Jones Hated Him During "Batman Forever" Shoot

Christopher Nolan Hates Post-Credits Scenes, Here's Why

Christian Bale Says He Wanted to Play Batman in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"

"Thor: Ragnarok" Story Details Revealed

Daniel Bruhl is Villain in "Captain America 3" and "Doctor Strange"

Margot Robbie is Harley Quinn in "Suicide Squad" Comic Book Film

Christopher Nolan Responds to "Interstellar" Sound Controversy

Jared Leto May Play The Joker in "Suicide Squad"

"Captain America: Civil War" Story Details Revealed
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved