WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
James Cameron Reveals Advice He Gave to "Terminator Genisys" Producer
Oct 21st, 2014
Marvel Surprised Robert Downey Jr With an Unexpected Gift
Oct 20th, 2014
"Guardians of the Galaxy" is Struggling in China Due to Terrible Subtitles
Oct 20th, 2014
French Theaters Cancel "Annabelle" Screenings Due to Damage Caused by Teenagers
Oct 20th, 2014
Jason Momoa's First Comments About Starring in "Aquaman"
Oct 20th, 2014
Brad Pitt's "Fury" and Michael Keaton's "Birdman" Top Box Office
Oct 19th, 2014
New "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Concept Art Teases Hulkbuster's Giant Size
Oct 19th, 2014
Producer Gives "Halloween 3" Update
Oct 19th, 2014
Teaser for Disney's "Feast" Animated Short Film
Oct 19th, 2014
Tom Hardy May Play Apocalypse in "X-Men: Apocalypse"
Oct 18th, 2014
Jena Malone is Female Robin in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"?
Oct 18th, 2014
Marvel in Talks with Colin Farrell and Benedict Cumberbatch to Star in "Doctor Strange"
Oct 18th, 2014
Channing Tatum Not Sure We Need "23 Jump Street"
Oct 18th, 2014
Poster For Tim Burton's "Big Eyes," with Amy Adams and Christoph Waltz
Oct 18th, 2014
Photos: Nicolas Cage Protesting Against His "Dying of the Light" Movie
Oct 17th, 2014
James Cameron Discusses Getting "Terminator" Rights Back in 2019
Oct 17th, 2014
Guillermo Del Toro Says "Pacific Rim 2" Sets Up "Pacific Rim 3"
Oct 17th, 2014
New Trailer For Angelina Jolie's "Unbroken" World War II Drama
Oct 17th, 2014
Scarlett Johansson Offered $10 Million to Star in "Ghost in the Shell"
Oct 17th, 2014
Trailer For Chris Rock's "Top Five" Comedy
Oct 17th, 2014
Trailer: Chris Hemsworth Fights a Whale in Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea"
Oct 16th, 2014
First Look at Chris Hemsworth in Ron Howard's "Heart of the Sea" Survival Film
Oct 16th, 2014
James Wan May Direct Another "Saw" Film in 2016
Oct 16th, 2014
Channing Tatum Provides "Gambit" Update
Oct 16th, 2014
Christian Bale in Talks to Star in Steve Jobs Biopic
Oct 16th, 2014
New Teaser For "The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1"
Oct 16th, 2014
Warner Bros Announces "The Flash," "Aquaman," "Justice League" and "Green Lantern" Movies
Oct 16th, 2014
Trailer for Nicolas Cage's "Dying of the Light" Thriller
Oct 16th, 2014
Edward Norton Says Today's Movies are Just As Good as Films From 1960s
Oct 15th, 2014
Photos: Michael Douglas is Hank Pym on "Ant-Man" Set
Oct 15th, 2014
Javier Bardem in Talks to Play Main Villain in "Pirates of the Caribbean 5"
Oct 15th, 2014
Trailer: Katie Holmes Kills Lots of People in "Miss Meadows"
Oct 15th, 2014
Ninth Character Poster For "The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies," Features Bilbo Baggins Again
Oct 15th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Bryan Singer to Make "Battlestar Galactica" Movie

Posted: August 14th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Bryan Singer to Make "Battlestar Galactica" MovieSubmit Comment
Universal Pictures has set Bryan Singer (Superman Returns) to direct and produce a feature version of "Battlestar Galactica," which appears to be on a fast track. Sources said that Singer could be looking at a $10 million paycheck.

Singer has long been intrigued with "Battlestar Galactica" and flirted with relaunching it into a TV series right after he directed the original "X-Men." Some believe that 9/11 played a role in the destruction of the plan.

Here is what he said back in 2001: "The lesson I learned on 'X-Men' is to have a healthy respect for the fan base of sci-fi fantasy franchises, and I'm confident that the `Galactica' brand is a sleeping giant. It was a show I watched during its initial run, from the pilot to the final episode. The essence and the brand name is quite potent in a climate where there's a great deficit of sci-fi programming."

The new movie is said to be a "complete re-imagination" of the show.

Source: Variety


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 28 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
acslaterson writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 7:14:45 AM

Frak! This is stupid, the show just ended and they want to do a complete re-imagination? Go back to making thrillers Singer, sh*t!
Captain Rogaine writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 7:16:13 AM

WTF? Of all the things that need to be reimagined why do something that just got that treatment. Plus I don't believe this guy can do it any better that what we've already seen. Tell him to go reboot something else. I just don't understand this at all.
Captain Rogaine writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 7:17:14 AM

Plus he looks like a total Douche in that picture.
dandythelion writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 7:20:24 AM

well, i'd rather see his movie than the show thats on now. but it seems like he's going for the paychecks these days
mdp711 writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 7:54:51 AM

Remakes, remakes, remakes...enough already.
darkknight1985 writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 7:59:03 AM

dandythelion,

FYI the show is now over. That means that you have not been paying attention to it. Coz if you have you would've understood that it will be near impossible to beat the intensity, drama and class we saw in the series.
PS - And don't forget the characters. Unless he gets a great cast he will not get any praise from fans. Though I'm still in doubt that he'll match the show's cast.
i3u7n5 writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 10:59:17 AM

The NEW show JUST ended and now a whole new rehash? f*ck me...
Over Priced writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 11:28:46 AM

He's just totally dismissed the new show. I don't even think he's watched it. Its a shame because the new show managed something quite special.
Ranger writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 12:18:30 PM

Yes. The last BattleStar series WAS amazing. They took the definitive 5-year plan from Babylon 5 and made all 5 seasons into ONE cohesive story (unlike Smallville... ugh!). I don't think a movie on BG needs to be done. It's already done... and was done well. But if Singer brings in the flying motorcycles as was in the original series 100 years ago. I'll find him and sh*t in his mouth!
DoucheNozzle writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 12:21:47 PM

Captain Rogaine, yeah, he seems to be doing a Cris Angel uber-douche pose.
DoucheNozzle writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 12:31:45 PM

Well, this whole situation smacks of Singer getting his revenge on Ron Moore when his relaunch idea was abandoned in favor of Moore's. That would kind of shine some light on why he will be mostly ignoring the new series and basing the reimagining on the old series that started it all.
Ranger writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 1:11:31 PM

Douche - if you're just going to be logical and reasonable... what are you doing here?!
DoucheNozzle writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 1:46:29 PM

I'm not sure. Hehehe...
Gaudion93 writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 3:13:53 PM

Eh? Didn't the show end like 2 months ago? Aren't re-imagings supposed to happen like 30 years after the last one finished???
AP102390 writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 3:46:45 PM

=( the show JUST ended! can we wait 10 years to "re-imagine" something instead of 1 year?
Ranger writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 3:54:54 PM

Hey don't knock Singer completely. For a $10mil paycheck, I'd film my own mother f*cking a rabid Rottweiler!
Ranger writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 3:55:15 PM

$10mil pays for a lot of counseling.
tolgaboy writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 6:12:12 PM

f*ck THAT GAY SINGERMAN HE IS READY TO f*ck UPP B GALACTICA TOO FIRS SRETURNS AND NOW THIS PLEASE STOP MAKING MOVIES
lostwarrior writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 6:20:29 PM

f*ck that, it was well done the first time. All he will do is most likely f*ck it up. just because some one is a fan of this show doesnt mean they need to a film version of it. And ranger you better get ready cuz you know that the flying motorcycles are gonna be in it. In his mind he thinks he is being true to the back story which is most likely how (she) will f*ck this up. he will go back into the past instead of moving foward...
Ranger writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 6:36:14 PM

Don't joke my friend. Flying motorcycles just... don't fly (in a movie).

I DARE YOU to find MegaForce (Barry Bostwick) to watch (but keep anything sharp out of reach while watching). It's like a worse 'Missing in Action' meets 'Rosie O'Donnell with her thighs open wide' with 'Gary Coleman' playing the lead in well... anything kind of a deal. It's like having a colon scoped with 12 feet of rusty, feces-laden prison razor wire!

Flying motorcycles... f*ck me!
Dre-EL writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 6:36:57 PM

Singer talks as though the series on scifi channel didnt exist. Sleeping giant? try exausted giant. They need to let the series chill for a decade before talking reboot.
Kal-El writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 7:21:30 PM

@Ranger, calling the latest BSG "cohesive" is a stretch. I loved it (especially the first three seasons), but they were making it up as they went along.
Rarehunter writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 8:49:47 PM

f*ck that faggot, and superman is a p*ssy
pendragon92fs writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 8:53:08 PM

Frellin damn, the serise that just died was crap. The frist one was so much better then the second its not even funny. Now a movie sh*t WTF let the sleeping dog lie.
python6 writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 9:05:37 PM

Yes Space 1999 need to be rebooted.I miss that show
Ranger writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 10:44:22 PM

@Kal-El... I can't argue. I saw it early going... a bit in the middle, and less at the end. What I meant (mainly) was that it wrapped up in a time frame they planned quite early in to go... and stuck to it. Smallville just baits you every week to see if the episode has ANYTHING to do with Superman... or just Clark wearing glasses or learning the he has super sneezes... ugh! BSG - taking on Cylon technology into repairing their ship. Who were the spys. Rebellions - power struggles, love, hate, war. ALL hovered about the core of the story.
Ranger writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 10:44:59 PM

But I don't think they need another movie. By Singer or anyone. Leave it alone. Although... for $10mil... well, I've posted my thoughts on that above.
lost_addict writes:
on August 16th, 2009 at 9:44:53 AM

gay it up,singer..

Will Marvel Split "Avengers 3" Into Two Films?

Christian Bale's "The Machinist" Co-Star Reveals Disturbing Story About Actor's Weight-Loss

Ben Affleck Regrets Making "Daredevil," Very Confident About "Batman v Superman"

Robert Downey Jr Would Make "Iron Man 4" If Mel Gibson Directs

Robert Downey Jr Now Says He Won't Return For "Iron Man 4"

Chris Cooper Gained 40 Pounds of Muscle For "American Sniper"

Penelope Cruz is Esquire's 2014 Sexiest Woman Alive

Why Ben Affleck Won't Get to Keep the Batman Costume

Amanda Bynes Placed in Psychiatric Care, Says Her Father Asked Her For Sex

Description of "Jurassic World" Trailer
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved