WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Jeremy Renner Says Marvel Wants a Hawkeye/Black Widow Film
Sep 30th, 2014
Why Ben Affleck Won't Get to Keep the Batman Costume
Sep 30th, 2014
Kevin Smith Says He Raised Money For "Clerks 3"
Sep 30th, 2014
"Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon" Sequel to Premiere on Netflix
Sep 30th, 2014
Trailer for PT Anderson's "Inherent Vice," with Joaquin Phoenix and Josh Brolin
Sep 30th, 2014
New Trailer for "The Loft" Thriller, with Karl Urban and James Marsden
Sep 30th, 2014
"Black Widow" Movie Almost Happened Before "Iron Man"
Sep 29th, 2014
First Look at Kristen Stewart's "Equals" Sci-Fi Film
Sep 29th, 2014
Denzel Washington's "The Equalizer" Easily Wins at Box Office
Sep 29th, 2014
"Police Academy" Reboot Abandons Judd Apatow's Storyline
Sep 29th, 2014
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Trailer Attached to "Interstellar"?
Sep 28th, 2014
Quentin Tarantino's "The Hateful Eight" to Begin Filming in December
Sep 28th, 2014
William Shatner Confirms Offer to Appear in "Star Trek 3"
Sep 28th, 2014
First Trailer for Lifetime's "Aaliyah" Biopic
Sep 28th, 2014
Will Marvel Split "Avengers 3" Into Two Films?
Sep 27th, 2014
Jeremy Renner Comments on Matt Damon Returning to "Jason Bourne" Franchise
Sep 27th, 2014
First Poster for Liam Neeson's "Taken 3," Plus New Title Revealed
Sep 27th, 2014
Posters For Ridiculous "22 Jump Street" Sequels
Sep 27th, 2014
How Much Netflix Do People Watch Per Day?
Sep 27th, 2014
Miles Teller Apologizes For Trashing "Divergent"
Sep 26th, 2014
New Trailer for Ethan Hawke's "Predestination" Time-Travel Thriller
Sep 26th, 2014
Deleted Rogue Scenes Will Be Added Back Into "Rogue Cut" of "X-Men: Days of Future Past"
Sep 26th, 2014
New Trailer for "The Wedding Ringer" Comedy, with Kevin Hart and Josh Gad
Sep 26th, 2014
"Bill and Ted 3" is Still Happening, Details Revealed
Sep 26th, 2014
"Dumb and Dumber To" Unveils First TV Spot
Sep 26th, 2014
Trailer for Michael Mann's "Blackhat" Thriller, with Chris Hemsworth
Sep 26th, 2014
Trailer for Joe Carnahan's "Stretch," with Chris Pine, Patrick Wilson and Jessica Alba
Sep 26th, 2014
New Trailer for "Jupiter Ascending" Sci-Fi Film, with Channing Tatum and Mila Kunis
Sep 25th, 2014
New Trailer for Marvel's "Big Hero 6" Animated Film
Sep 25th, 2014
First Look at Nicolas Cage's Troubled "Dying of the Light" Thriller
Sep 25th, 2014
Naked Woman Broke Into Keanu Reeves' House
Sep 25th, 2014
Trailer for Sylvester Stallone's "Reach Me" Drama
Sep 25th, 2014
Liam Neeson Joins "Ted" Sequel
Sep 25th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Bryan Singer to Make "Battlestar Galactica" Movie

Posted: August 14th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Bryan Singer to Make "Battlestar Galactica" MovieSubmit Comment
Universal Pictures has set Bryan Singer (Superman Returns) to direct and produce a feature version of "Battlestar Galactica," which appears to be on a fast track. Sources said that Singer could be looking at a $10 million paycheck.

Singer has long been intrigued with "Battlestar Galactica" and flirted with relaunching it into a TV series right after he directed the original "X-Men." Some believe that 9/11 played a role in the destruction of the plan.

Here is what he said back in 2001: "The lesson I learned on 'X-Men' is to have a healthy respect for the fan base of sci-fi fantasy franchises, and I'm confident that the `Galactica' brand is a sleeping giant. It was a show I watched during its initial run, from the pilot to the final episode. The essence and the brand name is quite potent in a climate where there's a great deficit of sci-fi programming."

The new movie is said to be a "complete re-imagination" of the show.

Source: Variety


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 28 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
acslaterson writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 7:14:45 AM

Frak! This is stupid, the show just ended and they want to do a complete re-imagination? Go back to making thrillers Singer, sh*t!
Captain Rogaine writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 7:16:13 AM

WTF? Of all the things that need to be reimagined why do something that just got that treatment. Plus I don't believe this guy can do it any better that what we've already seen. Tell him to go reboot something else. I just don't understand this at all.
Captain Rogaine writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 7:17:14 AM

Plus he looks like a total Douche in that picture.
dandythelion writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 7:20:24 AM

well, i'd rather see his movie than the show thats on now. but it seems like he's going for the paychecks these days
mdp711 writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 7:54:51 AM

Remakes, remakes, remakes...enough already.
darkknight1985 writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 7:59:03 AM

dandythelion,

FYI the show is now over. That means that you have not been paying attention to it. Coz if you have you would've understood that it will be near impossible to beat the intensity, drama and class we saw in the series.
PS - And don't forget the characters. Unless he gets a great cast he will not get any praise from fans. Though I'm still in doubt that he'll match the show's cast.
i3u7n5 writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 10:59:17 AM

The NEW show JUST ended and now a whole new rehash? f*ck me...
Over Priced writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 11:28:46 AM

He's just totally dismissed the new show. I don't even think he's watched it. Its a shame because the new show managed something quite special.
Ranger writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 12:18:30 PM

Yes. The last BattleStar series WAS amazing. They took the definitive 5-year plan from Babylon 5 and made all 5 seasons into ONE cohesive story (unlike Smallville... ugh!). I don't think a movie on BG needs to be done. It's already done... and was done well. But if Singer brings in the flying motorcycles as was in the original series 100 years ago. I'll find him and sh*t in his mouth!
DoucheNozzle writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 12:21:47 PM

Captain Rogaine, yeah, he seems to be doing a Cris Angel uber-douche pose.
DoucheNozzle writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 12:31:45 PM

Well, this whole situation smacks of Singer getting his revenge on Ron Moore when his relaunch idea was abandoned in favor of Moore's. That would kind of shine some light on why he will be mostly ignoring the new series and basing the reimagining on the old series that started it all.
Ranger writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 1:11:31 PM

Douche - if you're just going to be logical and reasonable... what are you doing here?!
DoucheNozzle writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 1:46:29 PM

I'm not sure. Hehehe...
Gaudion93 writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 3:13:53 PM

Eh? Didn't the show end like 2 months ago? Aren't re-imagings supposed to happen like 30 years after the last one finished???
AP102390 writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 3:46:45 PM

=( the show JUST ended! can we wait 10 years to "re-imagine" something instead of 1 year?
Ranger writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 3:54:54 PM

Hey don't knock Singer completely. For a $10mil paycheck, I'd film my own mother f*cking a rabid Rottweiler!
Ranger writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 3:55:15 PM

$10mil pays for a lot of counseling.
tolgaboy writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 6:12:12 PM

f*ck THAT GAY SINGERMAN HE IS READY TO f*ck UPP B GALACTICA TOO FIRS SRETURNS AND NOW THIS PLEASE STOP MAKING MOVIES
lostwarrior writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 6:20:29 PM

f*ck that, it was well done the first time. All he will do is most likely f*ck it up. just because some one is a fan of this show doesnt mean they need to a film version of it. And ranger you better get ready cuz you know that the flying motorcycles are gonna be in it. In his mind he thinks he is being true to the back story which is most likely how (she) will f*ck this up. he will go back into the past instead of moving foward...
Ranger writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 6:36:14 PM

Don't joke my friend. Flying motorcycles just... don't fly (in a movie).

I DARE YOU to find MegaForce (Barry Bostwick) to watch (but keep anything sharp out of reach while watching). It's like a worse 'Missing in Action' meets 'Rosie O'Donnell with her thighs open wide' with 'Gary Coleman' playing the lead in well... anything kind of a deal. It's like having a colon scoped with 12 feet of rusty, feces-laden prison razor wire!

Flying motorcycles... f*ck me!
Dre-EL writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 6:36:57 PM

Singer talks as though the series on scifi channel didnt exist. Sleeping giant? try exausted giant. They need to let the series chill for a decade before talking reboot.
Kal-El writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 7:21:30 PM

@Ranger, calling the latest BSG "cohesive" is a stretch. I loved it (especially the first three seasons), but they were making it up as they went along.
Rarehunter writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 8:49:47 PM

f*ck that faggot, and superman is a p*ssy
pendragon92fs writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 8:53:08 PM

Frellin damn, the serise that just died was crap. The frist one was so much better then the second its not even funny. Now a movie sh*t WTF let the sleeping dog lie.
python6 writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 9:05:37 PM

Yes Space 1999 need to be rebooted.I miss that show
Ranger writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 10:44:22 PM

@Kal-El... I can't argue. I saw it early going... a bit in the middle, and less at the end. What I meant (mainly) was that it wrapped up in a time frame they planned quite early in to go... and stuck to it. Smallville just baits you every week to see if the episode has ANYTHING to do with Superman... or just Clark wearing glasses or learning the he has super sneezes... ugh! BSG - taking on Cylon technology into repairing their ship. Who were the spys. Rebellions - power struggles, love, hate, war. ALL hovered about the core of the story.
Ranger writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 10:44:59 PM

But I don't think they need another movie. By Singer or anyone. Leave it alone. Although... for $10mil... well, I've posted my thoughts on that above.
lost_addict writes:
on August 16th, 2009 at 9:44:53 AM

gay it up,singer..

Matt Damon to Return For "Jason Bourne 5"

"Guardians of the Galaxy" Wins Worst Box Office Weekend of the Year

Did Aquaman Save superman in "Man of Steel"? Aquaman's Look Possibly Revealed

"No Good Deed" Beats "Dolphin Tale 2" For First Place at Box Office

If You Downloaded "The Expendables 3" Illegally, Lionsgate is Coming For You

Colin Farrell and Vince Vaughn Confirmed for Second Season of "True Detective"

David Fincher Regrets Making "The Game," Says Superhero Film are Dull

Tom Hardy Says Making "This Means War" Was a Bad Experience

Will Marvel Split "Avengers 3" Into Two Films?

Lou Ferrigno Says "Hulk" Movie and TV Series are Coming
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved