WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Godzilla" Being Remade?

Posted: August 13th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Godzilla" Being Remade?Submit Comment
Bloody-Disgusting is reporting that the Japanese monster Godzilla is coming back to the big screen. Legendary Pictures is currently in early discussion to reboot the franchise. No other information is available.

In 1998, Roland Emmerich (Independence Day, The Day After Tomorrow) directed "Godzilla," starring Matthew Broderick. The movie was made for $130 million and earned only $136 million domestically. Thanks to foreign markets, the total worldwide gross ended up being $380 million.

In recently interviews for "2012," Emmerich said that he's not interested in making sequel, which means that he will likely not be hired to tackle this new reboot.

Source: Bloody-Disgusting


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 38 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
tolgaboy writes:
on August 13th, 2009 at 6:44:23 PM

STOP MAKING THAT KIND OF MOVIES
borat writes:
on August 13th, 2009 at 6:45:46 PM

the last one was good i hope mathew broderick comes back
Lulupendragon writes:
on August 13th, 2009 at 6:49:43 PM

Ok, Godzilla doesn't need to be remade. They already ruined it the first time they remade it.
Ranma-Irias writes:
on August 13th, 2009 at 7:07:34 PM

well I agree with remakes of bad movies, perhaps they'll make this awesome...perhaps!


The first one was watchable...but in terms of "Movie" it sucked!
Ari Gold writes:
on August 13th, 2009 at 7:15:13 PM

Maybe P.Diddy will be given another Zepp song to ruin? Jimmy Page you sell out! f*ck Godzilla, was sh*thouse anyways!
Ranger writes:
on August 13th, 2009 at 7:24:52 PM

Gary Coleman as Godzilla turd.
DoucheNozzle writes:
on August 13th, 2009 at 7:26:52 PM

A giant green, slimmy, scalely monster that has sharp objects attached to it? They should cast Lohan's fire-crotch c*nt for the role (after she has pleasured her soggy and saggin' flesh cavern with a few syringes to attach sharp objects to it).
Ranger writes:
on August 13th, 2009 at 7:34:27 PM

LOL!
synthetic1985 writes:
on August 13th, 2009 at 7:42:08 PM

great...another remake...watch out hollywood...they are really trying to stop internet downloaders aren't they?
coldplayesence writes:
on August 13th, 2009 at 7:57:04 PM

Some people just don't understand, let that monster die already
StrongR3tard writes:
on August 13th, 2009 at 8:09:35 PM

yeah if ya really wanna stop illegal downloading just make every movie a peice of sh*t that noone will want to see
synthetic1985 writes:
on August 13th, 2009 at 8:26:32 PM

and it's an easy fix....honest people would donate to good entertainment...i would...but i don't always have money so it's hard to keep up on that
WAFFLE MAN writes:
on August 13th, 2009 at 8:32:36 PM

The American one was F*#$**#$ CRAP!
blinkbomber writes:
on August 13th, 2009 at 9:10:24 PM

Godzilla is and will always be awesome to me. I'd enjoy seeing another one, even though it probably won't be any good. unless they keep the tone of the original, where Godzilla was scary and evil and the audience was not supposed to have any sympathy for him at all.
lostwarrior writes:
on August 13th, 2009 at 10:17:26 PM

watch out cuz this will probably go 3d. god thats an awful thought. taking the kids to see a movie and bam lohan's c*nt is coming for you. talk about nightmares...
Ranger writes:
on August 13th, 2009 at 10:35:03 PM

LOL! Breathing fire and everything!
Ranger writes:
on August 13th, 2009 at 10:41:52 PM

I must admit folks. I like the really old Godzilla... guy in the rubber suit... stepping on the balsa villages. It was so bad... it was that good. Godzilla battles Mothra... lol. The little Asian twins were pretty weird.

More importantly, here is yet another movie franchise saved by foreign market$ (like Death Race we just read about).

Good or bad... I'll probably watch this latest Godzilla. And 3D would be the only way it would get me to the theater to see it.

Sometimes going to a bad movie, that you know is bad can be a lot of fun.

Oh, and Lohan is a smelly, talentless skank!
Trasherke writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 1:16:26 AM

Lohan to be cast as Godzilla's rape victim
minkowski writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 1:38:44 AM

No one wants to see a stupid giant lizard stepping on people. We see enough of that when Lohan accepts her annual Razzie award.

That's why Cloverfield was made. It's a MODERN Godzilla tale. Godzilla isn't modern, it's ancient B-film history.
Lumberjack Matt writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 2:43:09 AM

The original Godzilla from the early/mid fifties was a political propaganda "ish" film. Over the years it has developed into a b-movie campfest. I loved the movies as a kid, but the truth is this character has most certainly spawned enough fanboys to warrant a remake.
FBO writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 2:53:38 AM

I was waiting for a billboard that said: Godzilla's Penis is the size of a Dodge Charger
nea writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 7:57:06 AM

If its not a guy in a costume crashing through Lego Lang, don't do it!!!
PrevalentMind writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 12:13:07 PM

f*ck OFF if you think Godzilla 98 RUINED the 'franchise'. I'm sure the 50 other films with the guy in a rubber suit stamping on painted milk cartons were all masterful entertainment I suppose...again- f*ck off. Gos zilla sucked ass completely before Emmerich. The only thing wrong with Godzilla 98 was the fact it didnt hit the studio estimates after a huge marketing campaign. So what?
Ranger writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 1:05:37 PM

@nea - WORD!

Godzilla VS LegoLand!

Throw in Giant Octopus and Mega Shark, and I'd buy my advance tickets TODAY! (seriously!)
Blank x2 writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 1:20:47 PM

The old Godzilla movies were amazing. Ranger, I'm like you, give me a guy in a rubber suit stomping on cardboard building and model cars. If ToHo makes this movie, I'll see it. Otherwise, I doubt it. I'm still looking for Roland Emmerich to give him a nice swift kick in the nuts for completely destroying Godzilla with that crap with Broderick in it. That was quite possibly one of the worst movies I've ever seen. When you do a remake, and don't stick to your source material AT ALL, movies tend to be terrible. Leave Godzilla to ToHo.
boogeyman930 writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 4:27:18 PM

If they actually completely re-did the movie it could be great. Cloverleaf worked out just fine, that was basically a Godzilla movie with the monster replaced. But, I would much rather see the Japanese bring him back suit style with some kick ass directing and modern effects. What's a Godzilla movie without some mismatched dubbing and rubber suits? God I love those movies. Alec Gillis and Tom Woodruff Jr (from the Aliens franchise could do the suits, and WETA could do the CGI. A bit of a pipe dream i know.
Ranger writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 6:05:19 PM

thx. Blank - I agree... ToHo (thought I was the only one old enough to remember that name!).

@Boogey - yep... rubber suit Godzilla is the only want to go, and good call, let the Japanese has another kick at it. As for: 'What's a Godzilla movie without some mismatched dubbing and rubber suits? God I love those movies.' - couldn't have said it better myself.
Rio14 writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 7:29:01 PM

Bring it on! I'm ready for some more Godzilla, Cloverfield got me excited thinking Godzilla was coming back, but I was disappointed in that shaky movie. Yes! Bring on that roar and fire this time, and a good story, no cheesiness, and I'm ready!
monstermanuel writes:
on August 15th, 2009 at 1:41:39 AM

Is there still a writers strike? Or has Hollywood totally run out of ideas.
Ranger writes:
on August 15th, 2009 at 4:55:10 AM

I think either is giving us the same results.
mattcl23 writes:
on August 15th, 2009 at 12:23:10 PM

If they reboot Godzilla, they need to use the original. You know the one that's not suppose to die at the end. Use the japanese Godzilla or fail.
timex89 writes:
on August 15th, 2009 at 1:19:10 PM

I enjoyed it has a kid, and I still do as an adult. Anyways, Americanzilla was badass, Japan look like a bunch of rocks or meteorite piled up against each other.
timex89 writes:
on August 15th, 2009 at 1:21:24 PM

@ mattcl23: You do know Godzilla was a prequel, right? The new born Godzilla at the end WAS going to take over in the now non-existant sequel. That's why you had an animated series.
PrevalentMind writes:
on August 15th, 2009 at 10:21:01 PM

I love how Godzilla 2000 tries to slam the creature design of the American film in that craptacular piece of garbage. If the message of that film was "This is how Godzilla should be done"- then they can just keep Godzilla.

Godzilla King of the Monsters, Godzilla Vs Mothra, and Vs Monster Zero were great 50's and 60's flicks- but then there's VS Sea Monster, VS Smog Monster, Godzilla's Revenge, VS MechaGodzilla, VS Gigan, and finally 2000 which ALL sucked balls on every level.

Godzilla is a pathetic property these days. Why so many people are against it evolving I have no idea.

Lander writes:
on August 16th, 2009 at 7:46:03 AM

Remaking Godzilla? Remaking a remake? What the f*ck?!
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on August 16th, 2009 at 11:17:52 AM

yeah no... lets not have this please, we have the other one with Broderick - nothing more is needed.
synthetic1985 writes:
on August 16th, 2009 at 12:50:22 PM

next is a remake of a remake of a remake...they're overlapping now
Beauregard writes:
on August 18th, 2009 at 5:05:36 AM

I've been a big fan of Godzilla all my life. The 1998 movie is known by the acronym GINO, for Godzilla In Name Only. It's an interesting creature in its own right, but it is not Godzilla.

I had no problem with the '98 design, but was disappointed in the abilities, or lack of same. Godzilla has an atomic ray breath weapon, and is invulnerable to conventional weapons. The missiles that killed GINO would just piss him off. I'd love to see a big-budget reboot with modern FX which portrays the big G correctly.

BTW, anyone who'd like to see a good Godzilla flick should check out "Godzilla, Mothra, King Ghidorah: Giant Monsters All-Out Attack" (2001), usually referred to as GMK. In this movie, Toho abandonded the G2K design for something much creepier looking, and the meanest attitude possessed by Big G in any of his incarnations. This Godzilla doesn't tunnel and hide beneath the city; this godzilla LEVELS the city. This G's attitude combined with G98's budget would be a winning combination.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved