WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

George Clooney is NOT New Jack Ryan

Posted: August 13th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
George Clooney is NOT New Jack RyanSubmit Comment
George Clooney recently mentioned that he would be interested in playing Jack Ryan if Paramount ever decided to revive the Tom Clancy series, which already includes "The Hunt for Red October," "Patriot Games," "Clear and Present Danger" and "Sum of All Fears."

Many agreed that the 48-year-old Clooney would make a great Ryan, but the studio has been planning a prequel and Ben Affleck was only 30 when he played the character.

Now, producer Lorenzo di Bonaventura has confirmed that Clooney is not being considered. "We submitted a script to Paramount recently. It was well-received and it's in the process," he said. "It's for a young Jack Ryan. I love George, but it's not written for a man of his age. It's written for a guy in his early 30s."

Di Bonaventura added: "It's a great character. Very different [from] Bond or Bourne. It's the analytical side of him and the everyman side of him that makes him special."

Source: MTV News


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 23 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Supersweetguy writes:
on August 13th, 2009 at 6:02:11 AM

Well, if they dont think that George is not the right guy for the movie, so be it!!!
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on August 13th, 2009 at 6:34:06 AM

Well George would have made a great Jack Ryan, but since they are going for a younger Ryan then it makes sense for obvious reasons.

Its got to be someone who looks like a anylist, but at the same time has the real tough looks of a cia oprative or soldier (Which Ryan was)

My picks are

Gosling
Timothy Olyphant
Damein Lewis (I mean the guy is Major Winters, need i say more)
Trasherke writes:
on August 13th, 2009 at 7:13:26 AM

In other news, Mark, Matthew, Erik, John, Leo, Roger, ... are also not playing Jack Ryan
Ari Gold writes:
on August 13th, 2009 at 7:28:09 AM

Gosling could be cool if he bulked up a bit. Ryan Reynolds would be awesome, he can do serious! It's too bad people have type cast him a bit though.
vip3r22 writes:
on August 13th, 2009 at 8:59:28 AM

@Ari

Ryan Reynolds definately doesn't get the credit he deserves. I thought he was great in "The Amityville Horror" remake....the only good thing about that movie...
minkowski writes:
on August 13th, 2009 at 9:50:52 AM

Ryan Reynolds would work. That guy needs to work hard, not on his abs, but on ensuring he's seen as a serious actor. He's got the sh*t, he just needs to mature. And stop with all the goofy facial expressions. You're not Jim Carrey, Reynolds. *You* might have a film future.
minkowski writes:
on August 13th, 2009 at 10:12:56 AM

Oh sh*t, when di Bonaventura opens his mouth, even Satan screams a little.

Hell, just f*ck up the 'franchise' like every other one these days. Do a remake with that musclebound knucklhead John Cena. He has all the talent of a bowling ball, but what the f*ck. He gets roles. Who gives a sh*t. Not like I see much worth anything coming out of HollyWeird these days. You have to wait five years just to get a true potential blockbuster like Avatar. In the mean time you get fifty remakes and sequels a month, mostly to films no one ever requested. Like I need 'Messengers 2'. yeah, because the first one was just SO AWESOME, right? I mean, what are we on now, Saw 22? Like I was counting. I mean, come on on, I'm just DYING to see a remake of The Jefferson's with Eminem as the nosy neighbor and Exzibit or whatever's the little f*ckers name starring as George. Get Beyonce to play Wheezie. If you can remake The Honeymooners into dogsh*t, why not anything? Like rappers deserve anything but lethal injection.

Hell, get Will Ferrell to play Jack Ryan. 'Remake' Patriot Games into a comedy. Use it as a vehicle to launch Will Smith's f*cking grandmothers's career. I mean, like I care enough about Smith to pay to witness his spoiled no talent asshat ambiguously sexual son star in KungFu Kid. Yeah, come on Jackie Chan, you need to eat some rice so take on this bleding bunghole of a film. Like Ratner will EVER call again. And yeah, Ratner. Who the f*ck did that faggot blow to get a cushy directorial gig? How does some guy with all the talent of the guy that directs traffic at an accident get a job like that? God, what the f*ck am I doing wrong!?

Hey, I've got an idea! Remake the Invisible Man. Have NO ONE play the invisible man, not even when the invisible man is visible. That'll save some costs, not having to pay for a lead actor. Then remake the film two years later! And THEN spin off six direct-to-DVD sequels so we can f*ck future generations with moon sized landfills of discarded film media. Like the earth won't f*cking puke when we finally bury all those old VHS tapes.
geek is good writes:
on August 13th, 2009 at 10:55:14 AM

bring shia
geek is good writes:
on August 13th, 2009 at 10:55:44 AM

and who is going to be the new michael clayton?
IRONDAN writes:
on August 13th, 2009 at 11:09:48 AM

Do you think Mink just sits at home and yells at his computer? i have no idea where his last "speech" came from but dude needs to get out

not trying to make fun of you Mink... Im just a little worried
Clarence Worley writes:
on August 13th, 2009 at 11:12:18 AM

I agree, Ryan Reynolds could work. He would just need to tone down the comedy a bit...
Ranger writes:
on August 13th, 2009 at 12:37:27 PM

@Ari - you're picking all Canadians to play JR. Kewl!

@Skippy - took the words right out of my mouth: Well George would have made a great Jack Ryan, but since they are going for a younger Ryan then it makes sense for obvious reasons.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 13th, 2009 at 1:06:07 PM

Who said he was...?
BurmaShave writes:
on August 13th, 2009 at 1:16:58 PM

Cena is underrated, but I don't think there's any risk he's going to be playing Jack Ryan.
tcu21 writes:
on August 13th, 2009 at 3:33:45 PM

Thank God, can't stand George Clooney. Ryan Reynolds would be a good cast. But if Ryan Reynolds was the Green Lantern, Deadpool, Jack Ryan, and married to Scarlett Johanssen, I would have to hate him for being the luckiest person in the world.

And I think Mink broke his keyboard with that post haha.
geek is good writes:
on August 13th, 2009 at 3:57:12 PM

i completely understand mink. no talent losers are getting all the chances in the world to make movies and they f*ck us all up with the sh*t they produce. if any one of us got a great idea, which im sure most of us have (not just one, many for that matter) we're gonna get rejected cuz: im sorry your idea is not stupid enough.
so yeah i totally dig mink.
geek is good writes:
on August 13th, 2009 at 3:58:34 PM

unfortunately we live in the geneation of the star wars prequels. that can never be good.
DoucheNozzle writes:
on August 13th, 2009 at 4:38:18 PM

The Skippy Spartan, I officially love you. Timothy Olyphant NEEDS to be in more movies, but not in sh*t like Hitman. The man's got huge potential to be a star and a great performer. It will probably not happen, but Olyphant would make a supremely awesome Jack Ryan.
minkowski writes:
on August 13th, 2009 at 7:24:19 PM

"not trying to make fun of you Mink... Im just a little worried"

No sleep. It's all f*cked up. But I'll be ok. I'm taking some crystal meth later.
thedudeman69 writes:
on August 13th, 2009 at 8:50:30 PM

f*ck Ben Affleck, if he gets the part again.
Trasherke writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 12:45:02 AM

Personally I'd like to see more of Michael Sheen. I think he might have a lot of potential.
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 1:58:59 AM

@Douche Nozzel and Ranger

Cheers boys, or girls?
I admit Reynolds aint to bad,
Lebauf, maybe, just a maybe!

And with Ben Affleck, seriously i didn't mind him in The Sum of All Fears!
Ranger writes:
on August 14th, 2009 at 12:22:40 PM

I liked Affleck in TSOAF's as well. He would be as jack-ed to play Ryan as Damon was Bourne ahh, to play Jason.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved