WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Frank Darabont to Direct "The Walking Dead"

Posted: August 12th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Frank Darabont to Direct "The Walking Dead"Submit Comment
AMC is close to finalizing one of the richest development deals ever with helmer Frank Darabont (The Green Mile, Shawshank Redemption, The Mist) to write and direct a series adaptation of the Image Comics graphic novel series "The Walking Dead," penned by Robert Kirkman.

Project is set among a group of zombie survivors of an apocalypse who are led by a police officer, Rick Grimes, in search of a safe place to live. The series will stay faithful to the tone of the original novels.

"This is not about zombies popping out of closets," AMC's Joel Stillerman said. "This is a story about survival, and the dynamics of what happens when a group is forced to survive under these circumstances. The world (in 'Walking Dead') is portrayed in a smart, sophisticated way."

Source: Variety


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 23 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Trasherke writes:
on August 12th, 2009 at 5:46:46 AM

bla bla bla, been there, saw that, move on please
dandythelion writes:
on August 12th, 2009 at 6:46:15 AM

i actually think this might be a really damn good movie if darabont does it. some of the effects in the mist didn't woo me too much but overall i love the movie and think he is a fantastic director for this material. i like the new direction he's going in.
AYT BALL writes:
on August 12th, 2009 at 7:00:46 AM

Trasherke Trust me you have not been there or seen it!! this is very different if they stick to the books, im talking about people trying to survive, affairs, losing kids, killing friends, rape, dealing with loss of limbs, paranoia, terrorist style executions of loved ones.....all that set against a world over run by zombies, honestly one of the best zombie stories out there and very different to anything ive ever seen or read, if this is done well it will be amazing!
Trasherke writes:
on August 12th, 2009 at 7:28:07 AM

omg, so much gruesome acts, so much violence, breaking every moral rule, the outrage ....

I LOVE IT! :)
AYT BALL writes:
on August 12th, 2009 at 7:37:29 AM

Haha trust me on this one! or get hold of the books, well worth it!
Johnny Neat writes:
on August 12th, 2009 at 11:36:51 AM

Could be amazing if taken serious. I love zombies so anything that is good and respectable that can hold me over till 28 Months Later or World War Z shows up would do me nicely.
SACdaddy writes:
on August 12th, 2009 at 12:20:02 PM

The Mist blew me away! Not only was it one of the best horror movies I've seen in the last 10 years, but it was also probably the best film adaptation of King material I've seen since Misery. Frank Darabont also wrote Nightmare on Elm Street 3: Dream Warriors, my favorite of the whole series next to the original. The guy obviously has some range. I see a zombie movie from him being creatively different from the norm. If the material is as dynamic and brutal as stated above, there's probably no better director to do it justice.
workingdead writes:
on August 12th, 2009 at 12:26:45 PM

Everybody wants a piece of these similar stories with World War Z in production
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 12th, 2009 at 12:48:01 PM

"This is not about zombies popping out of closets," AMC's Joel Stillerman said. "This is a story about survival, and the dynamics of what happens when a group is forced to survive under these circ*mstances. The world (in 'Walking Dead') is portrayed in a smart, sophisticated way."

Just like every other f*cking zombie movie.
murphyslaw93 writes:
on August 12th, 2009 at 1:06:21 PM

I think Darabont is one of the most easily forgotten directors in hollywood. Two of his four movies were nominated for best picture and he himself has been nominated for 3 oscars over his career. Though the mist wasnt as prolific as green mile or shawshank, i think its an outstanding film and it still shocks me even though ive seen it so many times. With that said, i think that this series will be great since darabont's getting a whack at it. However, every time i read something about darabont and something hes attached to, theres always problems involved...Im still waiting for his Fahrenheit 451 movie.
ian_918 writes:
on August 12th, 2009 at 1:16:04 PM

Darabont can make a damn good movie im interested to see where he will take this.
Dannoral writes:
on August 12th, 2009 at 1:54:19 PM

Darabont is a very good choice ! Such a great comic..
Post_Man_87 writes:
on August 12th, 2009 at 3:34:42 PM

First, to all the uninformed who are jumping to the same 'just another Zombie movie' BS conclusion, I'd like you to realize something. Either read the books and actually discover what a fantastic story it is and through that you'd be excited about this series. Or just carry on with your know-it-all ways, don't read the book, and continue to make blind and deaf comments about something you have no idea about, but feel that strongly to write it off - with no good reason. I'm not the biggest zombie fan and agree that most of the movies and books in this genre are boring and rehashed. I had to be convinced a few times to start reading this comic-series, but once I started I ate my words very quickly because it is such an amazing book. AS WELL, correct me if I'm wrong guys, but I'm pretty sure this is going to be a TV series on AMC, not a movie. Might end up like a mini-series on AMC, like that adaptation of The Prisoner coming out with Jim Caviezel & Ian McKellen. Darabont should do a good job on this. Can't wait.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 12th, 2009 at 3:46:58 PM

"Or just carry on with your know-it-all ways, don't read the book, and continue to make blind and deaf comments about something you have no idea about, but feel that strongly to write it off - with no good reason."

I'm not gonna read the book alongside watching the movie, that's just stupid.

I'd rather critique the movie based on it's own values.
AYT BALL writes:
on August 12th, 2009 at 3:54:31 PM

seriously SPOOKY, Post_Man_87 couldnt be more right on this one, and hes not saying read it to compare it, hes saying if you read it you will realise this could be something very different and very special!! Its way smarter than the average zombie story and ultra gritty and realistic at times. everyone should be very excited about this, trust us folk that have read it....plus its been going for like 4 years! it would have to be a series just to fit everything in!
Osiris3eagle writes:
on August 12th, 2009 at 6:54:53 PM

my only problem with this is how violent can this actually be, since it's on a cable channel.
synthetic1985 writes:
on August 12th, 2009 at 7:54:44 PM

too many zombie movies...it's just too much...then again...i'd rather watch any zombie movie over any twilight movie(which i'm glad i haven't seen still)
kgoding writes:
on August 13th, 2009 at 12:10:29 AM

@ Trasherke, and what movie was that?
Trasherke writes:
on August 13th, 2009 at 1:19:41 AM

@kgoding: my last comment was a reply on Ayt Ball's explenation
AYT BALL writes:
on August 13th, 2009 at 10:33:28 AM

Just read the latest two issues! CANT WAIT for this!
The-BRAD writes:
on August 13th, 2009 at 3:46:54 PM

Sorry... Is this a series on AMC like Breaking Bad, or Mad Men?
Or will this be a movie?
AYT BALL writes:
on August 13th, 2009 at 6:02:33 PM

Sounds like its gonna be a series, but there are currently 63 issues set over about a year so i cant see it working as a movie, plus the comics are still going strong
Darkyne writes:
on August 17th, 2009 at 7:38:01 PM

Eh, I'm never disheartened with zombie movies... ever. It could be very interesting.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved