WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Death Race" Prequel in the Works

Posted: August 12th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Death Race" Prequel in the WorksSubmit Comment
STYD is reporting that Impact Pictures is working on the prequel to Paul WS Anderson's "Death Race." The production company has already hired Tony Giglio to write a script, based on a story by Anderson.

The script is said to delve into the past of the mangled driver known as Frankenstein, who was original played by the late David Carradine in the 1975 film "Death Race 2000" and voiced by Carradine in Anderson's recent "Death Race."

Anderson will oversee the prequel as soon as he has completed work on "Resident Evil: Afterlife," on which Giglio is serving as a second unit director.

Last year's "Death Race" wasn't that great of a success. The film earned only $36 million domestically on a $45 million budget. But thanks to foreign markets, it was able to gross a worldwide total of $75 million.

Click here to read our "Death Race" review.

Source: STYD


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 20 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
dandythelion writes:
on August 12th, 2009 at 6:48:55 AM

it was a mediocre movie that had so much potential. They need to give it to someone unrelated to Paul WS Anderson.
Popcorn101 writes:
on August 12th, 2009 at 7:15:37 AM

I enjoyed the movie, but as long as they bring back Tyrese I'll be good. Why don't they just make a Twisted Metal movie?
buttabean writes:
on August 12th, 2009 at 9:54:42 AM

I was amazed how well the special effects were. It was a B movie and it did the job perfectly. It is though a shame the only thing that resembled Death Race 2000 was the cars and having a co woman driver.

I'm just surprised they didn't do a true remake. DR2000 lacked on so many levels it would have been extremely easy to improve upon.
i3u7n5 writes:
on August 12th, 2009 at 11:59:34 AM

Didn't they say we need to know with the first installment? Not exactly a compelling character piece begging for further introspection.
Ranger writes:
on August 12th, 2009 at 12:22:31 PM

That $75mil is not net. There are expenses incurred. What did I hear years ago... does a movie have to make (back then anyway) 3x's it's cost to 'break even'? If I put up $45 and got back only $75 EVENTUALLY. No way in hell I'd touch this again.
Iwan writes:
on August 12th, 2009 at 12:33:28 PM

Just a question from a european.
Why is it always domestic>wordlwide?
Often a movie is able to make back its budget but further project are abandoned due to the bad results in the US?


ps: excuse my terrible english ;)
SACdaddy writes:
on August 12th, 2009 at 12:36:45 PM

The concept for the original DR2000 was a more interesting than the new version. Maybe if they do a prequel they can actually do a remake of the original film. Just change the ending and send Joe and Frankenstein to prison.
tcu21 writes:
on August 12th, 2009 at 12:43:02 PM

Paul W.S. Anderson at a restaurant:

(Waiter notices his name is Paul Anderson)
Waiter: I'm sorry are you Paul Anderson?

Anderson: Yes I am.

Waiter: Oh man i love your movies you're a great director.

Anderson: Thanks always good to meet a fan.

Waiter: Can I have your autograph this is great, There Will Be Blood and Boogie Nights were just great, couple of my favorite movies!

Anderson: Oh I'm Paul W.S. Anderson, I directed the Resident Evil movies, Alien vs. Predator?

Waiter: Ohhhh...nevermind then, have a good day.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 12th, 2009 at 12:43:54 PM

"Why don't they just make a Twisted Metal movie?"

HERE HERE!

This is what needed to happen instead of a Death Race prequel!
murphyslaw93 writes:
on August 12th, 2009 at 1:08:33 PM

I thought Death Race was a really entertaining movie and i like jason statham a lot, it was a perfect role for him. But anything else, prequel or sequel, is going to be terrible. Just leave the film alone, action junkies will continue to watch it, we dont need to know what happened before or after.
Ranger writes:
on August 12th, 2009 at 1:18:49 PM

@Iwan - your English is just fine my friend.

Americans (re: domestic $, THEN international $'s) - count their market as the most important. Which is really funny (sad) when you consider that it's the international market sometimes (last year's Death Race is a typical example) that saves some movies bottom line ($'s). It's just an old habit I believe.

Many in the US wouldn't believe that Enya has sold as many albums as Madonna... but it's true.

Queen stopped playing N. America eventually because they were playing to much larger crowds, closer together in Europe, S. America and Japan.

SACdaddy writes:
on August 12th, 2009 at 1:43:33 PM

So are you saying Paul W.S. Anderson is the Enya of American film? That can't be a compliment.
Ranger writes:
on August 12th, 2009 at 1:51:01 PM

lol.
pomme writes:
on August 12th, 2009 at 1:59:06 PM

i liked the music in the begining :but is a reason to do another bad movie? NOOOOooo
Iwan writes:
on August 12th, 2009 at 4:47:55 PM

thx ranger ;)
synthetic1985 writes:
on August 12th, 2009 at 7:45:23 PM

a prequel??...let's not and say we did
synthetic1985 writes:
on August 12th, 2009 at 7:46:51 PM

in fact...anytime bullsh*t movies come out, like this prequel for instance, i'll just pretend they don't exist...makes my life happier...i'd highly advise anybody else that hates bad movies to do the same
lawman writes:
on August 13th, 2009 at 11:26:16 AM

I thought it was a great movie. It did exactly what it was supposed to do. Provide action and fun. It was not meant to be a work of shakspeir.
Dre-EL writes:
on August 13th, 2009 at 11:33:30 AM

Talk about a totally unecessary film. Prequel is a sh*tty idea.
Ranger writes:
on August 13th, 2009 at 2:03:47 PM

I figure... it'll be about competing high schools building hot rods, and on race day they all hit the same bad batch of METH!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved