WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Blair Witch Project 3" is a Direct Sequel?

Posted: August 12th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Blair Witch Project 3" is a Direct Sequel?Submit Comment
It has been ten years since "The Blair Witch Project" surprised everyone by earning $250 million in theaters on a $60,000 budget. Since then, filmmakers Daniel Myrick and Eduardo Sanchez have been planning to do something with the franchise in a form of a prequel or a sequel, but never made a decision on what exactly they wanted to do.

They now tell BBC News that they are leaning toward a direct sequel to the first installment. "We've thought about doing a film that takes place in the late 1700s and looks like a [Stanley] Kubrick movie with gritty looking people and lighting," said Myrick. "But now, we're thinking about going back and seeing what happened directly after the first film finished."

He continued: "I think it will have some kind of video element in it, but it won't be a first person hand-held movie."

Myrick went on to say that he still keeps in touch with two of the three actors from the first film, but it is unlikely that they will return for this third installment.

Source: BBC News


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 22 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on August 12th, 2009 at 5:28:15 AM

Yeah, basically scrap that pointless 2nd film.
Perhaps the new film can be about the police investigation into their disapearance??

You know, i actually belived that Blair Witch was based on actual events until a few months ago. The very fact these writers created an elabrate story line and history of the Blai Witch amazes me.
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on August 12th, 2009 at 6:29:57 AM

They did an amazing job with the first. It fooled a lot of people and was very original in terms of thought and execution. Although I did not enjoy the film too much, I still respect what they pulled off.

Maybe they should try and hoax everyone again with a doc*mentary of the events afterwards. Create a story of where some people try to recreate the film after watching it and the whole event came true for them instead.
acslaterson writes:
on August 12th, 2009 at 7:05:18 AM

I am so scared right now, of this sequel!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qzyMQEtIpGA

I remember being scared as f*ck the first time I saw this!
johnny_boy writes:
on August 12th, 2009 at 7:20:19 AM

u got scared? ur joking rite? anyways i smell another unnecessary sequel,just like i did when i heard about s darko.
Jensama writes:
on August 12th, 2009 at 9:54:51 AM

Personally - this is the worst crap ever made. People were going on and on and on about how scary and how real it seemed. Now, keep in mind that I saw Jaws when I was 4. (I blame my dad.) The sh*t was ridiculous! "ooOOooo - I heard something in the forest!" or "Oh my gawd - a bloody finger! Iiiii!"

Wtf? Give me something REALLY scary. Can't believe they're paying to do more of this sh*t.
Only thing I liked was the final scene and the end credits - they were more entertaining than the movie atleast.

No offense, but only idiots would've believed that crap was 'real'. Pfft.
acslaterson writes:
on August 12th, 2009 at 10:59:46 AM

You should read the Youtube comments, some of those dumbasses actually think it was real! And yes, O thought it was scary in High School, the house we lived at had a shower in the corner of the basement. Little freaked out when showering when home alone. You have to give them credit for such a low budget movie(first one) and then doing stuff like actually filing missing persons reports to back up the claims to make it appear "real". But of course everyone on this site has had their movie viewed by millions of people, oh wait....
Ranger writes:
on August 12th, 2009 at 11:37:10 AM

The first one didn't scare me at all (didn't see the 2nd. once). In fact... we went on $2. Tuesday and still felt ripped off.

Did you put those rocks there?!
DID YOU PUT THOSE ROCKS THERE?!
OH MAN... WE'RE SO DEAD!!!

f*ck off!
Ranger writes:
on August 12th, 2009 at 12:28:16 PM

The best part for us...

When the girl is in the tent, crying... her face under lit with the flashlight...

Well, I guess someone either then or previously had thrown a gummie bear at the screen and it was positioned right in her nostril. And because of the popularity of this flick... we were in the front row. So I'm just there, slouched in my seat knowing that my lady friend that treated me to this will never, ever see her $4 again (lol)... another lady friend on my other side cries out (after the girl on the screen says: 'We're all going to die!!!') -

'YEAH, YOU'LL PROBABLY SUFFOCATE FROM THAT GUMMY BEAR IN YOUR NOSE!'

The theater got a pretty good laugh outta that. That was an entertaining (or... scary) as that movie got.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 12th, 2009 at 12:48:41 PM

Who cares?
mattcl23 writes:
on August 12th, 2009 at 1:58:40 PM

The first film was a great experience b/c I went with a lot of my friends thinking this was based on a true story with actual footage. One of the few movies to scare me. I'd love to see a direct sequel of the film. With Skippy Spartan on his idea of a police investigation.
TeemSelami writes:
on August 12th, 2009 at 2:50:05 PM

this movie is like a really buoyant turd flush for ten years and the f*cker keeps coming back
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 12th, 2009 at 3:50:38 PM

agreed with teem.

You have to be quite thick headed to have thought this was real footage.

First of all, why would real footage be mass distributed by a movie company? Why would it be in theaters? why would a real video have such sh*tty and unrealistic acting?
dorkus1226 writes:
on August 12th, 2009 at 5:33:09 PM

The first one was amazing! i really believed it a while back the first time i saw it. i really like RickyGabrielBird's idea, i think it sounds the best for the sequal to this movie.
synthetic1985 writes:
on August 12th, 2009 at 7:56:47 PM

umm...a sequel that takes place in earlier times?...isn't that the basic definition of a prequel???
synthetic1985 writes:
on August 12th, 2009 at 7:58:51 PM

besides, i thought everybody died in the first film...did i miss something?
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on August 12th, 2009 at 9:14:17 PM

@Jensama
For me it was the suspense that scared the sh*t out of me, never seeing the sh*t that was haunting them freaked me out. Mind you, when i did watch this film it was 12 midnight, thunder and lightning outside with heavy rain, and i was wathcing it in my big house, which itself at night is pretty intimidating. All those things combined freaked me out big time.

The very fact that the producers managed to fooll people into thinking this film was based on actual events is something to be proud of and made millions out of a small budjet is a big win.
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on August 12th, 2009 at 9:16:33 PM

And i knew fromt he start this wasn't real footage, that i was aware of. But i thought that the film was based on a real event that happend.

It wasn't until i bought the DVD with special features that i began to put things together and came ot the sudden relization that for that breif moment...i was an idiot to think it was based on real events.
Hollywood1086 writes:
on August 12th, 2009 at 9:58:01 PM

WHY is this necessary????
Ranger writes:
on August 12th, 2009 at 10:50:11 PM

That's a question I've been asking since 1999.
Jensama writes:
on August 13th, 2009 at 3:04:32 AM

@Skippy Spartan
I can totally understand that it affected you. Sorry if you took what I said badly - I just - seriously - this is the worst and most annoying movie ever made for me. I can't bare watching anything else than the endscene. That was cool. I totally understand the whole idea with it as well, and thumbs up for the people who made it with such a low budget and the fact that it got so enormously famous. Sure.

But I just plainly hate it. Really.

Some of my closest friends and also movie-nuts, convinced me that this was going to be the most scariest movie I would ever see. And psychological-movies, that plays a lot on sound, image and movement can scare me - so I went "ooOOOoo". I bought the whole package: Chips, dip, candy, soda - took down the curtains and made it extra dark. This was also during night, and I was alone and feeling awesome.

And then it just never - starts. All I got was the "Iiii:s" and the "ooOOoo:s". I think it should get ONE star from me, ONLY for being one of the first of it's kind and opening up for better ones, like Cloverfield. I was scared sh*tless when people were saying "Oh it's a mix between Blair Witch and War of the Worlds". As soon as I hear Blair Witch I cringe together and put my tongue out and make what I would guess - a very silly and girly face. I just hate it. :/
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on August 13th, 2009 at 9:01:39 AM

@Jensama

Nah man wasn't taking offence dude,
I do get your point though, thing is for me it was the only horror movie that has scared me, Ive seen so many so called 'Horror' films and they are just one big joke, but this is the only film to ever scare me and so that means something to me.

I bought the DVD and only watched it once because the suspense aint there anymore, but the special features are pretty dam good, they hired actors to act liek the parents, best freinds, teachers, detectives and people who knew the characters, adding that just gave it a haunting feeling.

And i admit this, when i watched it the first time, i didn't sleep the night. At the scene when they enter the house after that Josh dude went missing, my Plastic coke bottle i was drinkign that night made one of those 'Pop' sounds, you know when u squeeze the bottle and it retakes its shape. Just that soudn and the scene walking upt he stairs with the bloody child hand prints on the wall made me jump int he f*cking air. Point is, the very fact it scared me, is the reason i liked it. But hey some filsm people love, some filsm people hate..nothing wrong with that!
Jensama writes:
on August 17th, 2009 at 3:53:01 AM

@The Skippy Spartan
Ehehe, I love the fact that you're calling me dude. ^^b Why hey, I mean, I've heard "you're such a tomboy" before, but dude is actually new. xD

Well to sum it up: Sequel/prequel any kind of -quel is a BAD idea. The effect is long gone, and they will never be able to live up to the same as the first in this sense. Whatever they will make will just be a thirdrate C-movie. (As in, not even a B-movie..) So. NOT a good idea.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved