WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"MacGruber" Will be Hard-R Comedy

Posted: August 11th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"MacGruber" Will be Hard-R ComedySubmit Comment
NY Magazine spoke to Bill Hader (Superbad) about the upcoming "MacGruber" movie, which is based on an "SNL" sketch that spoofs "MacGyver" TV show.

"I read the script, and it's like a hard-R comedy, and it totally works. It's hilarious," he said. "It's kind of in the vein of, like, eighties action movies, like there's a very definitive bad guy. I don't know if I can talk about the plot too much, but it's hilarious. The thing that kind of blew my mind about it is that it's like a HARD-R movie."

Plot: The legendary, much decorated MacGruber is pulled out of retirement as a monk in Ecuador by a colonel, who needs him once more to fight on behalf of his country. This time the mission involves going up against the evil Cunth, who has a nuclear warhead; the mission is personal because Cunth killed MacGruber's bride.

The movie version would see Ryan Phillippe playing Piper, an Army officer forced to pair up with a reluctant MacGruber. Val Kilmer would be Cunth. "MacGruber" is scheduled to hit theaters April 16th, 2010.

Source: NY Mag


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 28 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
BloodyMickJagger writes:
on August 11th, 2009 at 6:34:18 PM

SNL and SNL movies shoulda died years ago
vip3r22 writes:
on August 11th, 2009 at 6:41:13 PM

Bill Hader is pretty f*cking hilarious, especially in Superbad and Pineapple Express. I think he's not too bad in SNL either, although I admittingly don't watch the show too often. But some of the skits that I catch online seem pretty funny. Definately wouldn't mind seeing Val Kilmer in a comedic role, I thought he was hilarious as the gay dectective in 'Kiss Kiss Bang Bang' alongside Robert Downey Jr.
DoucheNozzle writes:
on August 11th, 2009 at 6:45:40 PM

Hmmm... I think I am starting to get more interested in this if they do it as a full-out cheesy 80's action movie/comedy. Could end up being funny.
vip3r22 writes:
on August 11th, 2009 at 6:49:58 PM

@Douchenozzle

they should bring in some 80's stars too like Mr. T, Richard Anderson, David Hasselhoff, or Tom Selleck.
takai writes:
on August 11th, 2009 at 7:07:08 PM

Hard R for RETARDED. Dag I'm clever.

It could be funny. I thought Hot Rod was hilarious and it was sort of an SNL movie. It's just, the MacGruber pepsi shorts were NOT funny at all.
WitchDoctor writes:
on August 11th, 2009 at 7:16:07 PM

What was the last SNL skit movie that was worth a dime? Blues Brothers. This will be a waste, I don not even think the skits are amusing, WEAK!
DoucheNozzle writes:
on August 11th, 2009 at 7:18:13 PM

Vip3r22, I love your thinking! Bring in a huge ensemble of 80's and 90's action film icons, such as Gary Busey, Danny Glover, Van Damme, etc. It could be like a bugnuts Expendables/Machete cast of washed up actors.
borat writes:
on August 11th, 2009 at 7:18:29 PM

c*ntH? LOL
Ranger writes:
on August 11th, 2009 at 7:26:33 PM

takai I swear you change your avatar more than the real George changes *ssholes to f*ck!
Rarehunter writes:
on August 11th, 2009 at 7:26:54 PM

Snl is dead
Ranger writes:
on August 11th, 2009 at 7:28:55 PM

Go easy guys... it's just nice to see them willing to make an 'R' movies these days. I won't break a sweat getting to the theater on this one, but on the off chance I'm not throwing one into Megan Fox that night... I'd surely rent this.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 11th, 2009 at 7:53:01 PM

gonna suck
mattcl23 writes:
on August 11th, 2009 at 8:00:52 PM

So basically it's going to be a Rambo first blood part 2 remake with a retard in a wig. This movie will suck but will probably bank.
KROQ writes:
on August 11th, 2009 at 8:22:50 PM

aw f*ck this film
dandythelion writes:
on August 11th, 2009 at 9:07:05 PM

I admit, SNL is in decline but television wouldn't be the same without it. They could bring on new players and it could be amazing again. it's like the stock market of sketch comedy. I don't think it should ever end. The movies, I'm indifferent about. Who knows, might be good
Ranger writes:
on August 11th, 2009 at 9:10:29 PM

SnL - Celebrity Jeopardy - look for it on UTube... hilarious!
Osiris3eagle writes:
on August 11th, 2009 at 9:35:29 PM

What's with Hader's eyes?
Ranger writes:
on August 11th, 2009 at 10:03:14 PM

One is glass and he just had laser surgery in the other... I'm guessing.
takai writes:
on August 11th, 2009 at 11:03:04 PM

@ Ranger - I'm not sure what you mean, because I've only changed it once, and that was for the WP default to this.

Also, George's last name is Takei. So there. :P
takai writes:
on August 11th, 2009 at 11:05:39 PM

You know Ranger, I'll let that one slide, just because he likes it better that way.


BTW, his last name is spelled Takei. So there. :P
Ranger writes:
on August 11th, 2009 at 11:11:03 PM

Touche'
takai writes:
on August 11th, 2009 at 11:13:39 PM

hahaha, that wasn't supposed to post both. I guess now everyone can see that I totally missed the joke until after five minutes.
Ranger writes:
on August 12th, 2009 at 12:14:23 AM

That's otay T. You're still a good sh*t.
dlrippr writes:
on August 12th, 2009 at 12:35:34 AM

This skit is horrible, i cant believe they are really making this. Bill Hader is good sh*t though, maybe because its R it might actually be somehow funny.
Trasherke writes:
on August 12th, 2009 at 12:46:43 AM

He got the glass eye after listening to Megan Fox and poking himself in the eye trying to make the pain in the brain go away.
Ranger writes:
on August 12th, 2009 at 1:53:19 AM

That's how I got mine.
murphyslaw93 writes:
on August 12th, 2009 at 1:03:34 PM

Wow, so does that mean Bill Hader will be top lining a movie? He's always a supporting comedic role (Superbad, Tropic Thunder) or a cameo (Pineapple Express). Im glad that hes getting to be the star of a comedy, im excited.
BurmaShave writes:
on August 12th, 2009 at 10:28:43 PM

What amazes me is how much this is going to be hard suck.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved