WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Four "Avengers" Movies During One Summer?

Posted: August 10th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Four "Avengers" Movies During One Summer?Submit Comment
"The Incredible Hulk" Louis Leterrier spoke to LA Times about an idea he has for the upcoming "The Avengers" film, which includes not only bringing all the super heroes together, but also the directors.

"I'll tell you my real dream: To work with Joe Johnston and ['Thor' director] Kenneth Branagh and Jon Favreau and make like a triptych," he said. "We do four movies. We release them one a month for the summer. Or even every two weeks or three weeks. And the whole summer would be 'Avengers' summer."

He continued: "So we do it the way they make television shows. One story arc but told in installments by different directors. So all of the directors that touch part of the 'Avengers' world would do a part; we could make the movies shorter, maybe less than an hour and a half, and we use the same sets and save Marvel money. I would love to sit around a table with all of them a kick around the story. That's my dream."

Leterrier also mentioned that even though he is under contract to direct one more Marvel film, there are currently no plans for "The Incredible Hulk" sequel. He also said that "Captain America" is shaping up to be like "Raiders of the Lost Ark" meets "Rocketeer" and "Saving Private Ryan."

Click here to read more about "The Avengers."

Source: LA Times


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 42 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Sonic writes:
on August 10th, 2009 at 6:58:19 AM

What? what is the most stupid idea i ever heard.
dandythelion writes:
on August 10th, 2009 at 7:23:49 AM

i believe the word he's looking for is QUATRYCH
dandythelion writes:
on August 10th, 2009 at 7:25:54 AM

excuse me, i meant tetraptych
VDODSON writes:
on August 10th, 2009 at 7:26:22 AM

I love the Avengers, but there is no way Marvel is going to greenlight this. If they did this, it would severely hinder the full profitablity factor of each film. I could see maybe two a year at the max, but not one a month. The Incredible Hulk was great, but this idea I really dont see working
DoucheNozzle writes:
on August 10th, 2009 at 7:35:37 AM

I think Leterrier forgot to take his meds. But who can blame him, French people are born idiots. (Hehehehe)
minkowski writes:
on August 10th, 2009 at 8:06:46 AM

I could see this working if there was a VERY high demand for Avengers. But there isn't. Not sure why he had to use 'triptych'. Not really sure Avengers or most other movies are 'works of art' per se, more like visual commercial ventures, but whatever. He's French and he made the Transporter gay, so sure, whatever.
minkowski writes:
on August 10th, 2009 at 8:16:41 AM

"we could make the movies shorter, maybe less than an hour and a half,"

Hey, this guy's on to something. Make the movies shorter, but charge the same admission. Now THAT'S thinking. Make MORE of the movies and charge yet even more. It's economic blitzkrieg!
PrevalentMind writes:
on August 10th, 2009 at 8:27:13 AM

But Louis...then people will realize how much you suck by comparison.
psylocke writes:
on August 10th, 2009 at 8:57:59 AM

I LOVE the Avengers and if they pull thiss off im gonna b broke from bein at the movies too much. lol But honestly i dont think its a good idea.
guitar_dudester91 writes:
on August 10th, 2009 at 10:01:57 AM

I hate how WP headlines this, its just an idea, it's not going to happen. f*ck you WP
smokemouth writes:
on August 10th, 2009 at 10:21:09 AM

Yep, great headline as always, WP.
johnny_boy writes:
on August 10th, 2009 at 10:41:49 AM

^^^^ if u 2 hate WP why do u dumbasses have registered names? besides all sites and headlines pull sh*t like this.
Ranger writes:
on August 10th, 2009 at 10:48:20 AM

It won't work. A lot of people out there 'budget' their movie going. And only a very few would pick all Avengers movies over all the other stuff coming out at that time. Like VDOD says... 2 a year, max! And Mink is right... The Avengers may strike a cord with some (most) of us on here... but that's not speaking for the general public. Wow... this guy's idea for these releases is as bad as those Hasbro movie ideas.
IRONDAN writes:
on August 10th, 2009 at 11:13:07 AM

i think one a year is more then plenty.... by the third movie there would be no excitement.... and you would have lots of people waiting to see them all at once ....on tv because it does sound like a HBO mini-series
KROQ writes:
on August 10th, 2009 at 11:32:54 AM

this guy sure talks a lot for someone who's Hulk film brought in a tiny bit more than the sh*t Ang Lee version
Ranger writes:
on August 10th, 2009 at 11:49:01 AM

You're right. He is certainly trying to ride some coat tails here and stay in the limelight. Sounds like he's talking 'Group Hug!' here... lol.
Ranger writes:
on August 10th, 2009 at 11:55:42 AM

PS: So... I'm in my garage yesterday, working on something. And I ram this piece of steel up my thumb's cuticle. And even today it's still bleeding and throbbing, and I thought: How like my thumb is to Lohan's vagina.

Just a thought.
Ranger writes:
on August 10th, 2009 at 12:05:35 PM

I just hope it doesn't got that one step further and become infected and fall off.
Bob82 writes:
on August 10th, 2009 at 12:10:03 PM

Sounds like an idea he had when he was stoned with friends.
lost_addict writes:
on August 10th, 2009 at 12:12:52 PM

someone needs to get laid...
BlueMobius writes:
on August 10th, 2009 at 12:18:59 PM

@Ranger So close to a flawless punchline and then you had to go and let a typo f*ck it up. Boo, sir, boo.

As for Lettier's idea...yeah, no. This idea is just retarded. I think the most they could hope for is one movie every three to six months a la Kill Bill but even that movie didn't work out real well. Ultimately, I'd rather have a 3+ hour Avengers film with substance, plot, great acting and a solid A-list director...Lettier need not apply.
Ranger writes:
on August 10th, 2009 at 12:24:40 PM

@BM - I saw that typo a second BEFORE reading your post. I know... UGH!!!
Ranger writes:
on August 10th, 2009 at 12:26:48 PM

And I agree. A longer 3+ hour 'The Avengers'... but really, really high end (Gladiator, Braveheart... where the time just flies by). But as they broke up the last Harry Potter movie for the $'s. I couldn't see them giving us an Avengers movie like that, although... it would be movie history... all the SuperHeros together... HUGE story, etc!
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 10th, 2009 at 1:02:29 PM

I'd rather they stop d*cking around with all this talk and get down to filming these f*cking movies so WP has something real to report.
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on August 10th, 2009 at 1:10:37 PM

It's a cool idea, I'm not big on the Avengers but if he were able to talk a studio into doing that (which is slim to none) I would go see the films just to support him.
Ranger writes:
on August 10th, 2009 at 1:20:03 PM

To: Spooky - WORD!
aioros writes:
on August 10th, 2009 at 1:21:24 PM

It worked for kill bill vol.1 and vol.2 (one movie at the price of two). So, who knows? maybe.
KHRIS writes:
on August 10th, 2009 at 1:55:16 PM

I would love to see this! I dont care if im the only one. :)
skatemaster62 writes:
on August 10th, 2009 at 2:42:36 PM

i liked "the incredible hulk"......but this idea blows more balls then L Lohan does in a day. witch is about a hundred so she can get a glimps of hope for a movie role.....bad idea louis bad idea
skatemaster62 writes:
on August 10th, 2009 at 2:48:04 PM

lohan is a slut....i had to say it
BrandoFresh writes:
on August 10th, 2009 at 2:50:11 PM

Sounds interesting. That would be kinda cool I guess.
lostwarrior writes:
on August 10th, 2009 at 3:31:17 PM

Well I like what I hear about CA very kool. But come the f*ck on. All in one summer, wont happen. All the movies should stand alone to a certain point, then right when the avengers film is about to be ready fuse them together in the CA film. I mean I think they should keep doing what they are doing... Plus who would want to see a 70 minute Iron Man or Thor film...
BlahblahIV writes:
on August 10th, 2009 at 4:43:58 PM

If he really wants to turn The Avengers into a serial, then this guy can forget about taking it to the cinema. I like his idea, but as many others have said, it just wouldn't fly at the box office. The best shot for something like this to ever happen is taking the TV route, and hooking up with a studio that would back this, but even then it is HIGHLY unlikely it would get off the ground.
Ranger writes:
on August 10th, 2009 at 5:20:55 PM

@skatemaster - took the words right out of my mouth.
Kevin Hock writes:
on August 10th, 2009 at 5:38:52 PM

Sounds like a dumb idea to me Louis. Not marketable either.
timex89 writes:
on August 10th, 2009 at 7:16:12 PM

Like I thought about Cloverfield 2, why would I want to see the same movie from different views?

And if Captain America is shaping up to be like Raiders and Private Ryan, than that is great news.
synthetic1985 writes:
on August 10th, 2009 at 8:20:58 PM

no comment
synthetic1985 writes:
on August 10th, 2009 at 8:21:26 PM

damnit i shouldn't have said that! lol
telur writes:
on August 10th, 2009 at 10:22:43 PM

yrah crossover movie like in the comic
dlrippr writes:
on August 11th, 2009 at 12:40:27 AM

Im a really smart person and im going to have to disagree with everyone. I think this directors idea is great, but it needs to be tweaked a little. One a month, too much, let the movie run its cycle, and maybe even release the dvd within 90-120 days. Make 3 or 4 of these movies, keep them 90-120min, and release them every 3-4 months. When TDK was released, dvd sales for 'begins' shot up. Give the people something to be interested in, and they will be. The amount of money the studio would save is huge, especially if the big name actors (downey, norton, jackson,) involved are only paid 20 mil or whater for 1 movie, instead of 4. Same film crews, sets, whatever else they pay for, and out of the millions they would save they could pump that into special effects and advertising to keep the buzz up for the 3 or 4 movies.

People who go to the movies to watch movies would love these films if there done right (and marvel has done well so far) the talk and influx of these character would be mainstream, the buzz would generate new kids tv shows, action figrures, video games, increased comic sales, and a whole lot more.

This is a big idea, but with the right mentality and the right people involved i think its very possible. I would be more than happy to buy 4 $10 movie tickets too see 4 great comic movies in the same year, and if the previews looked good, most of you reading this would be pumped to see an epic movie end, and know its only 3-4 months before you get to see the next chapter in the saga.

Ranger writes:
on August 11th, 2009 at 1:15:04 AM

You don't have to be that smart to disagree with this crowd my friend.
Ranger writes:
on August 11th, 2009 at 1:17:49 AM

I don't think everyone is on a movie-going budget... but some are. If you're a hardcore(ish) superhero fan, you would certainly budget for 4 (min.) of these movies a year, but a lot of people aren't that into them, and there are other movies running that they may want to see.

A better reason (in my eyes) for cranking these out faster is because the actor's are aging. Downey is mid 40's etc. And they STILL have YET to even touch upon Thor and CA's arrival (and don't get me started on The Avengers and how far off that could be). So maybe even a bit fewer than you're projecting... but still enough so these guys are filming these actors using walkers.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved