WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Four More Join "Red Dawn" Remake

Posted: August 10th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Four More Join "Red Dawn" RemakeSubmit Comment
Josh Hutcherson (Bridge to Terabithia), Isabel Lucas (Transformers 2), Connor Cruise (Seven Pounds) and Edwin Hodge ("Mental") have now joined Chris Hemsworth (Thor), Josh Peck (The Wackness) and Adrianne Palicki ("Friday Night Lights") in the upcoming "Red Dawn" remake.

Hutcherson will play Robert, originated by C. Thomas Howell, and become the group's tech geek. Lucas is Erica, head cheerleader and the Peck character's girlfriend whom he desperately hopes to spring from an internment camp. Lea Thompson played the character in the original.

Cruise is playing Daryl, the son of Spokane's mayor and Robert's best friend. And Hodge will play Danny, the coolest kid in school and star wide receiver who helps establish the resistance.

The young cast heads off in a few weeks for military training in an undisclosed location.

Dan Bradley is directing from a screenplay by Jeremy Passmore and Carl Ellsworth. The film is scheduled to begin filming next month in Detroit for a September 24th, 2010 release.

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 30 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
bale01289 writes:
on August 10th, 2009 at 6:49:31 AM

WOLVERINES!!!
DoucheNozzle writes:
on August 10th, 2009 at 7:27:35 AM

Well, at least Hollywood is remaking a film that could use significant improvement. Maybe Cruise's son will play a crucial role in the final scene, where the Wolverines find out they are not being attacked by Russia/China, but by Xenu the great, who has come back with an army of flying saucers to destroy not the country, but all existing prints of c*cktail. Then Tom Cruise makes sweet love to Xenu while When Doves Cry blasts in the background. Then John Travolta, in drag (duh), jumps in bed to make it a rockin' threesome. Freeze frame on Tom j*zzing on Xeno and Travolta. Roll credits... Crispin Glover's cover of Kissed by a Rose fades in...
DoucheNozzle writes:
on August 10th, 2009 at 7:28:23 AM

Sorry, guys. Got carried away there...
SACdaddy writes:
on August 10th, 2009 at 7:58:23 AM

Smells like sex in here.
minkowski writes:
on August 10th, 2009 at 8:09:13 AM

FAIL
minkowski writes:
on August 10th, 2009 at 8:11:59 AM

Ok, so where are the commies coming from THIS time? I mean, the f*cking title is all about communism. Hello, Red Dawn? You know, the rise of communism in the US. I mean the first one was pretty bad, so sure a remake might be an improvement. But how do you remake a film explicitly about communism in the US when commies barely exist anymore?
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on August 10th, 2009 at 8:14:59 AM

Easy Mink..China, North Korea..or they coudl change the history a bit, lets say Russia is taken over by Communist forces, like in all those games or books, and they invade the US.

Other than that, could be f*cking Cobra Commander for all i care.
minkowski writes:
on August 10th, 2009 at 8:24:18 AM

So, China invades World War III, upsetting their quickly growing economic power (currect recession just a speed bump), and then they invade the US? Look, I'm open to this, but let's face it, the first movie made no sense either. I mean, in the original Red Dawn movie, didn't the US have, oh I don't know, satellites? We saw Cuba building airstrips to accomodate Soviet nuclear bombers in 1961 but not a massive invasion force coming in from Arizona and New Mexico in 1984? And this time, in 2010, it's the Cubans or Chinese?

I'm all for fantasy when we're talking aliens and dragon's or even Lindsey Lohan's gender, but this invasion stuff has to have SOME believability. I mean, sh*t, Invasion USA was more credible and that's a Chuck Norris film. Nothing should be more unbelievable than old Chuck. And I like the guy!
SACdaddy writes:
on August 10th, 2009 at 8:24:46 AM

@Douche: I'm always surprised when so many people on this site hate on Red Dawn. Did I miss something 20 years ago? I know I was just a GIJoe lovin, snotty nose kid then, but I thought everybody liked that movie then and for years to come. It had the perfect 80s recipe for success: R rated blood and guts shoot'em up with AKs, RPGs, and Commie bad guys starring the Brat Pack! Swayze is way over the top, Superfly is a badass Cuban general, and C Thomas Howell is a cold blooded killer by the end of the film. Throw in some mass execution scenes, and I ask you what's not to like?
SACdaddy writes:
on August 10th, 2009 at 8:34:56 AM

@Mink: Invasion USA? Please don't give Hollywood an excuse to remake that piece of sh*t. Next thing you know they'll be rebooting Band of the Hand and Missing in Action.
minkowski writes:
on August 10th, 2009 at 8:38:04 AM

Nah, I hear they've got a remake of From Justin to Kelly in the works.
minkowski writes:
on August 10th, 2009 at 8:38:44 AM

"So, China invades World War III"

lol. Bed time. China invade Russia thus starting World War III.

f*ck.
minkowski writes:
on August 10th, 2009 at 8:40:39 AM

"Next thing you know they'll be rebooting . . . Missing in Action."

Too late:

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1392201/
DoucheNozzle writes:
on August 10th, 2009 at 8:43:06 AM

SACdaddy, I can't say for sure if it is good or not because I have never actually seen the thing. I was going on the general consensus that the film had quite a few flaws. I have seen most of Milius's films (I ADORE Conan the Barbarian), but have not gotten around to seeing Red Dawn. Based on the way you are selling it, though, I might have to give it a chance sometime.
SACdaddy writes:
on August 10th, 2009 at 8:54:25 AM

You haven't seen RED f*ckING DAWN!!! You must be a little younger than me. Its like required reading for anyone between the ages of 25-35 (children of the 80s). Take the day off and rent it for Christ's sake!
SACdaddy writes:
on August 10th, 2009 at 8:57:53 AM

@Mink: NOOOOOOOOO!!!!! Braddock is back! May not be that horrible without Chuck Norris though.
SACdaddy writes:
on August 10th, 2009 at 9:01:43 AM

Stallone's Expendables looks like a remake of Lets Get Harry too. The 80s are making a big comeback I guess
IRONDAN writes:
on August 10th, 2009 at 11:06:46 AM

So what happened to the KURT RUSSELL casting talks.....

Would he play the Harry Dean Stanton role? or even better the Powers Booth role.....

This is a movie that even a remake could be so different then the original that it will not effect the memory of the original good or bad.
SACdaddy writes:
on August 10th, 2009 at 11:28:17 AM

AVENGE ME!!!
KROQ writes:
on August 10th, 2009 at 11:31:40 AM

f*ck that, you cant touch the sh*tty atmosphere of the first one
BlueMobius writes:
on August 10th, 2009 at 12:27:09 PM

Wait...what says they can't place this in the 80s or even the 50s and make it more of a throwback period piece? That way they could still use Russia. Otherwise, I anticipate them either using North Korea (which would be stupid because that country can't even fire off missiles correctly) or missing the point entirely and having some Middle Eastern country attack despite the fact that it has nothing to do with Communism. Then, the director is going to feed us some line about how the titular color refers to blood and not politics. Wow...I just made myself really not interested in this movie. Oh well.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 10th, 2009 at 1:06:46 PM

This movie will be bad.

Plain and Simple.

It meant something in the 80's, when a little something called THE COLD f*ckING WAR was going on.

Now? What's it possibly gonna be about?

"THEM GOD DAMN TERBIN HEADS TOOK OVER THE WUUUURRRRRRLD!!!!!"

Everytime a remake gets greenlight, a childhood is raped.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 10th, 2009 at 1:07:29 PM

And I never liked the movie, 4 teenagers throwing over the f*cking communists?!

How f*cking hard is it to kill 4 adolescents?!?!
SACdaddy writes:
on August 10th, 2009 at 4:08:38 PM

Just a quick potential plot for Red Dawn remake from an average Joe:

Set it in a small Texas town, somewhere like Odessa.

Have terrorists get across the border using cartel tunnels, corrupt border officers, and coyotes (3 million people do it every year).

Have the terrorists attack the town during a Friday night football game (if you know TX you know the whole town will be there). Once they've taken the town and cut off communications, they can use the school and the stadium as a concentration camp and staging ground for a more deadly attack against larger targets (24 used rockets filled with biological weapon one season). The attack should be time sensitive so it would harder for US military to respond in time to stop it.

Have your Wolverines that escape be forced to stop the larger attack that is set to go off at "dawn" Monday morning when people are getting up and going to work in a major city on the east coast.

So you really only have about 48 hours to get a group of teenagers to band together, forget their differences, and overcome their fears in order to go on what may amount to suicide missions to stop a major attack.

Just a thought.



lostwarrior writes:
on August 10th, 2009 at 5:31:55 PM

oh btw it is china who is the enemy in this version... so mink lets have another f*cking novel of yours on why this is bullsh*t, even though people with half a brain dont need it explained to them...
FBO writes:
on August 10th, 2009 at 5:41:25 PM

Here's how I'd do it; Have four teenager buddies fighting off the Chinese in Alaska. I'd name them; Church, Tucker, Caboose and Tex. I'd set all the fighting action in a Valley or like a Gultch. And once the red army makes their finally attack Caboose will end up blowing them away with his trusty tank; Shelia. Now that would be a good movie

whoever writes:
on August 10th, 2009 at 6:15:50 PM

Chris Hemsworth and Isabel Lucas both used to be on an horrible Aussie soap called "Home and Away".
synthetic1985 writes:
on August 10th, 2009 at 8:30:15 PM

it doesn't matter what we say or what ideas we'd give hollywood...they'd desperately find it soon enough just to make money....it's not like they actually care about art anymore....i mean when i was in high school...it was all famous plays being done by everyone in high school or in college...but NOW...every iconic movie is getting replaced by remakes so EVERYONE can get a chance to play that same character...i honestly don't seeing that work out for too long...i mean i could be wrong, but it definitely won't keep my eyes glued
Ranger writes:
on August 11th, 2009 at 12:10:07 AM

So '4 more have signed on'... so that's like, what... a total of 5 now?! Ew, wow... that's quite the resistance to fight off a nation's invading force.
vip3r22 writes:
on August 11th, 2009 at 6:57:44 PM

@FBO

RED VS. BLUE!! That's f*cking awesome!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved