WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Channing Tatum Casting Kills "Ice Man" Biopic

Posted: August 9th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Channing Tatum Casting Kills "Ice Man" BiopicSubmit Comment
Author Phil Carlo wrote a best seller book called "The Ice Man: Confessions of a Mafia Contract Killer" in 2006 about the vicious hit man Richard Kuklinski. He then optioned the rights to it to producer Lorenzo di Bonaventura (Transformers, GI Joe).

When the 18-month option ran out last month, di Bonaventura asked to extend it for two more weeks in hopes of locking in the financing needed to move forward with the movie. Unfortunately, Carlo has rejected the extension because he found out that the producer has been trying to sign "GI Joe" star Channing Tatum for the lead.

"I had to turn him down. I really hated the idea of Channing Tatum," Carlo told the NY Post. "I told di Bonaventura that this is not the guy to play one of the most feared killers of the 20th Century. I think Mickey Rourke would really be good. He's got that sense of danger, and there's a similarity between the two. But it's not Channing Tatum."

Kuklinski was a notorious contract killer who worked for the Gambinos and boasted about having murdered more than 200 men. He earned his ghoulish nickname because of his method of disguising the time of death of his murder victims by chilling their bodies in an industrial freezer.

Source: NY Post


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 50 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on August 9th, 2009 at 7:28:09 PM

Hollywood makes a good decision for once!
Blank x2 writes:
on August 9th, 2009 at 7:40:18 PM

I've read that book, and always thought it would make a hell of a movie. And yes, Channing Tatum would have been an AWFUL choice to play Richard Kuklinski.
Gunslinger writes:
on August 9th, 2009 at 7:45:46 PM

For a moment I was wondering why they would want to make a biopic of a fictional character from Top Gun...
SACdaddy writes:
on August 9th, 2009 at 7:47:10 PM

Channing Tatum is a horrible choice for anything.
manichispanic writes:
on August 9th, 2009 at 8:08:19 PM

the doc*mentary is very good. check it out if you hadn't seen it. he is one fuct up dude!
lostwarrior writes:
on August 9th, 2009 at 8:48:23 PM

what about James Gandolfini. I know he is against violence and all but still. Its been awhile since we have seen him in anything and I think he would be awesome...
meanmonkey22 writes:
on August 9th, 2009 at 9:15:10 PM

Rourke would be a great choice, but im gonna have to go with lostwarrior on Gandolfini being the best pick. Definately. This role has Oscar potential if the right person is casted... and Tatum couldn't be more of the WRONG person.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 9th, 2009 at 9:25:58 PM

"He then optioned the rights to it to producer Lorenzo di Bonaventura"

We can expect a sh*t movie in that case.
Ranger writes:
on August 9th, 2009 at 9:30:25 PM

Mickey Rourke or Sean Penn - either one. There's your 'Contract Killer.'

But di Bonaventura is optimistic. Unless he was on the cusp of financing... something that wasn't coming together for 1.5 years, isn't likely to materialize in another 2 weeks. Good for him for trying though.
Ranger writes:
on August 9th, 2009 at 9:30:48 PM

Tatum... WTF were they thinking?!?!?!?!
minkowski writes:
on August 9th, 2009 at 9:43:57 PM

"Channing Tatum is a horrible choice for anything."

We have a winner! Tater f*cking SUCKS. I'm already tired of looking at this dude. He cannot act worth sh*t and he has no damned range. Just another good looking person with not an ounce of style, charisma, personality, intelligence or TALENT. WTF eveer happened to this generation's, or the last generation's, Harrison Ford? Are guys like him extinct? Hell, give me a Bruce Willis ANY day over the wasting flesh of Tater's acting carcass.
Ari Gold writes:
on August 9th, 2009 at 9:56:20 PM

Bruce Willis with a grey goat, he can grow out his hair a bit on the sides and he will look like this bloke I reckon! They have a similar round head!
Ranger writes:
on August 9th, 2009 at 10:18:53 PM

Ari - good call (as usual).
Ranger writes:
on August 9th, 2009 at 10:19:57 PM

Whoops... sorry Mink. You mentioned Willis too. Sorry Bro. Yes... great call! Hey, if Bruce will eat a real spider for a scene... he can (easily) play a contract killer.
minkowski writes:
on August 9th, 2009 at 10:53:17 PM

lol, ranger. reminds me of when Gillian Anderson ate a live insect.

"'Gillian Anderson''s character Scully was supposed to eat a grasshopper-like insect in front of Mulder. After Scully picked it up, the scene was to be stopped so a candy bug could replace the real one. However, before "cut" could be called, Anderson immediately placed the real bug in her mouth and ate it, and it stayed in the final cut. David Duchovny's off-screen gross out can be seen in one of the many "Making of the X-Files" featurettes."

And Bruce Willis alreay played a contract killer. Mr. Goodcat in Luck Number Slevin. Awesome movie BTW.

And I apologize for my poor grammar. It's called internet shorthand. I'm something of a writer in real life.

That's you to, adamtheflasher. lol
Ranger writes:
on August 9th, 2009 at 10:59:46 PM

I didn't know that story of Gillian. Great for her! That's commitment to the craft!

Oh, I also liked Bruce in The Jackal.
OneTime writes:
on August 9th, 2009 at 11:03:52 PM

shia labeef
doneehoward writes:
on August 9th, 2009 at 11:17:20 PM

nice.
minkowski writes:
on August 9th, 2009 at 11:24:32 PM

"shia labeef"

No, that's the onscreen name for the guy that plugs Michal Douglas's son in prison.
Deadbolt writes:
on August 9th, 2009 at 11:27:28 PM

I thought that was Michael Ironside for a sec...
Ari Gold writes:
on August 9th, 2009 at 11:48:53 PM

@mink
I loved Lucky Number Slevin! For whatever reason they called it The Wrong Man in Australia. Its an underrated movie, I never really was interested in Hartnett before that!
minkowski writes:
on August 10th, 2009 at 12:04:32 AM

Ranger, The Jackal was good, no doubt, but I hate to see old Willis (calling doctor Coleman, calling doctor Coleman) as the bad guy. Like in Blown Away where Tommy Lee Jones pays the bad guy, or Under Siege for that matter. Once I see an actor as a good guy in a great film (not that Blown away was good, mind you), it's disheartening to see him or her play a bad guy.

And yeah, Slevin is a VERY under rated film. Not sure why but I thought everyone was perfect. And it had this tiny, tiny bit of Guy Ritchie to it. Very subtle. Willis was a lovable stone cold killer. Even Lucy Liu worked well! Great damned film.
griffinkane writes:
on August 10th, 2009 at 1:21:06 AM

Kuklinski is, or was, a f*cking badass. That guy was bad-sh*t crazy and I should know I saw a doc*mentary on him on tv. Tatum was obviously not the right choice.
FBO writes:
on August 10th, 2009 at 2:07:36 AM

Oh, this role is perfect for Rosie O'Donnell. I know that would give me nightmares.
minkowski writes:
on August 10th, 2009 at 2:39:09 AM

Much, much better news title:

'Ice Man' Kills Channing Tatum During Biopic Casting
rocketman writes:
on August 10th, 2009 at 3:45:12 AM

I thought the guy in the picture was Gary Glitter at first?Then i thought Jack Nicholson,he could do it no?
vwkombi writes:
on August 10th, 2009 at 4:20:03 AM

While i havn't seen Channing in anything, i simply cannot believe him as a psychopathic hitman. Maybe a victim...
BLACK MAJIK writes:
on August 10th, 2009 at 7:09:06 AM

WHO THE f*ck WILL THEY GET TO PLAY THIS JERK OFF!!!!!
BLACK MAJIK writes:
on August 10th, 2009 at 7:11:04 AM

ROURKE, ARE YOU f*ckERS SERIOUS, DO IT THE RIGHT WAY, HAVE A CASTING CALL. ROURKE KILLED TUPAC.
VDODSON writes:
on August 10th, 2009 at 7:28:49 AM

Pick a new avatar Black Majik. The one you have looks like an *sshole.
minkowski writes:
on August 10th, 2009 at 8:14:08 AM

How can he pick another Avatar, mate, when he hasn't mastered the intricacies of the caps lock key?
PrevalentMind writes:
on August 10th, 2009 at 8:48:43 AM

Why in the name of god havent they cast Jack Nicholson. At first glance thats ALL I saw with that pic above:

"Oh sh*t Nicholson shaved his head! Author Phil Carlo...yadda yadda...vicious hitman...yadda yadda. Wait...WTF? Tatum?!?!"
PrevalentMind writes:
on August 10th, 2009 at 9:00:26 AM

Even Frank Langella would have been perfect...What the f*ck is wrong with casting directors?!? LOOK at the guy's f*ckING PICTURE! Then go to work...Jesus.
psylocke writes:
on August 10th, 2009 at 9:08:21 AM

I haven't read the book but I no Channing Tatum can't act he's just another hot guy actor. I wouldn't have worked out.
VDODSON writes:
on August 10th, 2009 at 9:23:12 AM

Mink-lol, your right. I guess where he's from the use of all upper caps denotes a higher standing in society.
Johnny Neat writes:
on August 10th, 2009 at 9:54:12 AM

It wasn't making the choice, the Author kept to his guns and a wise choice it was. I think Tatum has a chance to become a good actor but his recent projects are too for the pay for his career's own good.
Ranger writes:
on August 10th, 2009 at 11:00:03 AM

@PM - actually, either of your choices are perfect. I mean... we have ALL come up with better choices that Channing (who the f*ck names their bastard child 'Channing!'?!).

PS: Tupac is dead?! f*ck! First Billy Mays and NOW Tupac?! WHERE IS GOD?!?!
BlueMobius writes:
on August 10th, 2009 at 12:29:06 PM

@The Skippy Spartan "Hollywood makes a good decision for once!"

No, an author continued to show why writers should have more say in movies. Had very little to do with H-wood
workingdead writes:
on August 10th, 2009 at 1:25:40 PM

Eric Bana would be great!
Blank x2 writes:
on August 10th, 2009 at 2:28:29 PM

There are a few good suggestions (and some terrible ones as well), but I think James Gandolfini would be perfect for this role. It may be a little to "Soprano-ish" for his taste, but after reading Carlo's book and watching ALL of the doc*mentaries on Kuklinski, there really is nobody that could do this better than Tony Soprano. Nicholson would be okay, but I say Gandolfini would be the best casting job for this film.
mattcl23 writes:
on August 10th, 2009 at 4:51:20 PM

I thought John Travolta was cast for this role? Guess I was thinking of something else.
BlahblahIV writes:
on August 10th, 2009 at 4:52:16 PM

Michael Ironside lol. Maybe Michael Ironside circa 1990s, but still. He has an awesome, cold, killer voice, just play Splinter Cell.
lostwarrior writes:
on August 10th, 2009 at 5:38:57 PM

Rouke would be good at it. But I still think Gandolfini would be perfect... And I dont think it would be too sopranoish. This is about a killer who did jobs for the mob, its not about the mob. So Gandolfini could lose the jersey accent... but he probably wouldnt do it only because if he does another mob related film it will most likely be the soprano's film...
minkowski writes:
on August 10th, 2009 at 5:41:13 PM

"Even Frank Langella would have been perfect...What the f*ck is wrong with casting directors?!? LOOK at the guy's f*ckING PICTURE! Then go to work...Jesus."

Perhaps because a 90 year old Jack wouldn't brig in the chicks, but a 'hot' young actor would? It's all about money. They see the picture just as you and I do, but they have to consider the idiot audiences involved.
FBO writes:
on August 10th, 2009 at 5:44:35 PM

.`*~BURN~*`.
vip3r22 writes:
on August 10th, 2009 at 6:25:07 PM

how about Viggo Mortensen? I thought he was pretty bad ass in history of violence
vip3r22 writes:
on August 10th, 2009 at 6:28:22 PM

wait, scrath that. forgot about him in eastern promises...
PrevalentMind writes:
on August 11th, 2009 at 11:10:47 AM

Yeah- but the Iceman isn't exactly an MTV generation flick. It's definitely an 'ugly' character actor film. This just has the wrong kind of producers involved...I mean if di Boneventura sensibilities were involved with flicks like Nixon Frost, it would be Shia Lebeouf as Frost facing off against Zac Efron as Nixon....then Nixon would kidnap Frost's wife played by Megan Fox, and Nixon would get drop kicked off of the roof of the WaterGate hotel while Lebeouf screamed, "You are a crook!" or "BUMBELLLLEBEEEEEEEEEEEE!"
FFantasy1984 writes:
on August 11th, 2009 at 12:42:52 PM

I actually like Channing Tatum I don't think that he's perfect for every role, but he is a good actor. His problem is he's young and good looking and he use to be a model so he's going to have to prove himself. And he hasn't really done a lot of high profile movies that could really show his acting skills.

I'm not a fan of Mickey Rourke, he's just nasty I want to take a shower every time I look at him.
Frank Nitti writes:
on August 17th, 2009 at 10:02:02 PM

William Hurt should do it. Already played the same type of character in History of Violence and Mr. Brooks. Channing Tatum can play him when he was young but that is it. The Ice Man was just as crazy when he was young too. HBO or Showtime did do a movie of him I think like 20 years ago. I want to say Rip Thorn did it but not to positive about it.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved