WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Paul Giamatti is In, Jim Carrey is Out of "Three Stooges"

Posted: August 9th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Paul Giamatti is In, Jim Carrey is Out of "Three Stooges"Submit Comment
Back in March, the Farrelly brothers (Dumb and Dumber) were happy to announce that they were in negotiations with Sean Penn, Benicio Del Toro and Jim Carrey to star in the upcoming "The Three Stooges" movie.

Then Penn dropped out for personal reasons, once again putting the project on hold. In a desperate search to make the August start date, the Farrelly's have now revealed to The Boston Globe that they have cast Paul Giamatti (Cinderella Man) to replace Penn.

Unfortunately, the brothers have also revealed that Jim Carrey is now no longer part of the project, but refused to say whether they found his replacement.

Click here to read more about "The Three Stooges."

Source: The Boston Globe


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 37 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Bob82 writes:
on August 9th, 2009 at 7:40:16 PM

Actors keep coming and going, but I still can't figure out how this movie may work.
manichispanic writes:
on August 9th, 2009 at 8:09:33 PM

of course! i think its gonna be a cold day in hell when this movie gets made. i could see it as a CGI or animated movie, but not live action. it just won't work in 2009
padfootbob writes:
on August 9th, 2009 at 8:39:12 PM

f*ck!
Ranma-Irias writes:
on August 9th, 2009 at 9:06:19 PM

the farrely brothers' script probably sucks anyway! The Heartbreak Kid is an example of how they lost it...
mdp711 writes:
on August 9th, 2009 at 9:23:38 PM

Paul Giamatti is a great actor. There is a reason why Sean and Jim pulled out, and it has nothing to do with personal committments. They got cold feet and din't want to dive into a sucky movie.
lostwarrior writes:
on August 9th, 2009 at 9:23:41 PM

so Benencio and Giamatti are in it.. Not bad but I wish Penn didnt have to drop out.. she is perfect as MOE...
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 9th, 2009 at 9:24:55 PM

Rorschachs journal, August 9th, 2009

Tonight, millions of childoods are getting raped.

Somebody knows why. Down there, somebody knows.
Ranger writes:
on August 9th, 2009 at 9:28:07 PM

@LW - again... I agree (about Penn). This movie is having as tough a go as The Green Hornet to get made.

I like Giamatti for a couple of reasons. 1. He can act - from Cinderella Man to Santa. 2. He's not a pretty boy, and he's kickin ass n' takin names in Hollyweird. Good for him!

Well... if they need 2 other Stooges. I know Verne Troy and (get ready folks...) Gary Coleman are both doing f*ck-all these days (just to really bring tears to Giamatti).
minkowski writes:
on August 9th, 2009 at 9:39:38 PM

f*ck this crap. Carrey didn't belong anyway. he doesn't even look the part. he's got slapstick written on every [art of his brain, but it's a monotonous and weary slapstick that has no shelf life.

They REALLY either need to make a decent biopic, or decently reinvent the original shorts. Or just leave it the f*ck alone.

And I REALLY need to get the 3 Stooges on DVD.
lostwarrior writes:
on August 9th, 2009 at 9:44:36 PM

HONESTLY I know he is short and all but what about danny devito.. they guy is f*cking funny... and he would do this justice even if he a over grown midget..
minkowski writes:
on August 9th, 2009 at 9:48:34 PM

Danny Devito is like 70! And he has the voice of a Stallone with laryngitis.
Ranger writes:
on August 9th, 2009 at 9:52:16 PM

And he had to marry a tiny woman so she could feel his tiny penis.
lostwarrior writes:
on August 9th, 2009 at 9:55:22 PM

yeah but he is funny as f*ck...
lost_addict writes:
on August 9th, 2009 at 10:03:09 PM

i think we knew jim carrey is 'out' after seeing the 'i love you,philip morice' trailer...
Rich k writes:
on August 9th, 2009 at 10:06:54 PM

i dont like the idea of doing a three stooges movie, its good in half hour tv show form, and also that show took place over 50 years ago i dont think the nowadays people would like it.
minkowski writes:
on August 9th, 2009 at 10:08:35 PM

"yeah but he is funny as f*ck..."

Once he was, but after the fiftieth movie in which he reprises the same old weary schtick, there's little left to find funny.
DoucheNozzle writes:
on August 9th, 2009 at 10:14:41 PM

Curly = Zach Galifianakis - facial hair
Ranger writes:
on August 9th, 2009 at 10:15:19 PM

My fav. DeVito movie - Renaissance Man.
Ranger writes:
on August 9th, 2009 at 10:15:34 PM

Oh... and TWINS, of course.
The5thBeatle5 writes:
on August 9th, 2009 at 10:18:52 PM

AHHHH! Im torn with this movie! I love Giamatti (great freakin replacement!) and I love Carrey (sucks he dropped out).....well, either way this flick is gonna be gold!
TeemSelami writes:
on August 9th, 2009 at 10:24:21 PM

3 stooges sucks anyways might as well cast frankie munez, megan fox, and and 20in. dildo
minkowski writes:
on August 9th, 2009 at 10:27:13 PM

A bald Seth Rogen for Curly. Curly was always getting is ass kicked, so that works for me. But can Rogen go 'nyuck nyuck nyuck'?
minkowski writes:
on August 9th, 2009 at 10:27:59 PM

"3 stooges sucks anyways might as well cast frankie munez, megan fox, and and 20in. dildo"

The Three Splooges!
Ranger writes:
on August 9th, 2009 at 11:01:17 PM

@TS - 20in. dildo and Megan (I think it's called Rambone!). Where do I get my advance tickets?!
minkowski writes:
on August 9th, 2009 at 11:03:04 PM

The Sperminator!
minkowski writes:
on August 9th, 2009 at 11:04:11 PM

You know, Ranger, you and I are contributing to the decline of Western Civilization. We should stop...
Ranger writes:
on August 9th, 2009 at 11:42:07 PM

What?!?!

And get a real job?!

I don't think so Pal!
minkowski writes:
on August 9th, 2009 at 11:52:21 PM

Yeah, you're right bud, screw civilzation! lol

And what's a 'job'? Do you mean blowjob? because I thought we agreed to leave Lohan out of this discussion.
Ranger writes:
on August 10th, 2009 at 12:03:15 AM

Lohan?! Damn! Dinner just backed-up in my throat there a bit. Nice job!
minkowski writes:
on August 10th, 2009 at 12:09:41 AM

You're having trouble keeping dinner down and I hear Lohan likes having dinner pushed back in.

What're the odds?
Ranger writes:
on August 10th, 2009 at 12:11:42 AM

Lohan vomits because Sam is nailing her keyster avec strap-on! (OK Alex... delete this one...I don't blame you!).
synthetic1985 writes:
on August 10th, 2009 at 1:26:35 AM

farrelly brothers....what happened to you??...even dumb and dumber was better and dumber than this movie will be
PrevalentMind writes:
on August 10th, 2009 at 8:57:44 AM

No Carrey- no me. I figured this movie was going to go the Chaplin route and be more of a serious film with humours touches. Im beginning to think the Farrellys are the ones who don't fit this film- even though they spearheaded the project for almost a decade...

...because if Milos Foreman was signed on for this- I bet Penn or Carrey wouldnt have left. I love the Farrelly brothers but the Coens would have been the better duo. I dont really WANT a full out Stooges comedy. A bio about the behind the scenes would have opened the gate for masterpiece though. Seems like the Farrellys just want to do Mr Magoo gags.
Johnny Neat writes:
on August 10th, 2009 at 9:58:47 AM

Jesus, Sean was solid but Carrey was iffy for my liking. I'm not saying he couldn't pull it off but i had reservations about it working. I know he can be slap stick like and I don't dislike the guy but for this movie I think Paul could do it justice. When is Carrey going to do the Ripley biopic?
Horsemoney5 writes:
on August 10th, 2009 at 3:33:18 PM

Devito might work loved him in Hoffa... but this is suppose to be old school comedy style...like Bob 82 said, how the hell are they going to make this movie work. I'm thinking leave it be... call it "three dummies" and set it with new characters and in modern time. So it basically honors the idea of the three stooges but doesn't taint the greatness. Plus we all know who paints houses in todays world lol so when three white dudes go to do it... the movie will be so fake! :)
mattcl23 writes:
on August 10th, 2009 at 4:53:18 PM

I was really looking forward to Carrey in this movie.
lostwarrior writes:
on August 10th, 2009 at 8:55:44 PM

Mink again are u stupid or what, as u like to say. have u seen its always sunny in philli. that show is f*cking awesome... and the stoogies are stupid. look back little one, if you look at the time they came out they were the sh*t,, and still are. Granted it would not make it in todays world, but it was made decades ago, which makes it a classic. how the f*ck could u not like classic good comedy. were not talking about your mom getting f*cked by shia c*m rag ladouche or something. were talking about a real comedy... obviously its something you would know nothing about...

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved