WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Steven Spielberg in Talks for "Halo" Movie

Posted: August 8th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Steven Spielberg in Talks for "Halo" MovieSubmit Comment
IESB is claiming to have confirmed with the studio executives and agents at CAA that Steven Spielberg is currently in active negotiations to develop a feature film based on the popular Microsoft game "Halo."

Stuart Beattie, the writer behind "Collateral," "Pirates of the Caribbean" and "GI Joe: The Rise of Cobra" has previously revealed that he has written a "Halo: Fall of Reach" script for free. Apparently Spielberg is completely blown away by it and CAA, that represents both Spielberg and Beattie, is now heavily pushing the negotiations.

Peter Jackson was previously set to produce the "Halo" film, but dropped out when Microsoft failed to find a distributor. The company didn't like the percentages it would be forced to give up, leaving many believing that the only way this movie will ever be made is if Microsoft fully funded it itself.

Now that Spielberg is on board, its possible that Microsoft may reconsider its options. Stay tuned.

Click here to read more about "Halo."

Source: IESB


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 31 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
padfootbob writes:
on August 8th, 2009 at 4:31:39 AM

But is he directing or producing?
Clarence Worley writes:
on August 8th, 2009 at 4:42:18 AM

Including 'GI Joe: The Rise of Cobra' to your credits isn't a good thing for the writer. Although Spielberg might save this one yet...
Clarence Worley writes:
on August 8th, 2009 at 4:43:32 AM

If he directs, that is...
VDODSON writes:
on August 8th, 2009 at 5:34:24 AM

I laughed when that dildo kept coming back. This movie may be funnier than The Hangover.
DoucheNozzle writes:
on August 8th, 2009 at 6:16:55 AM

Hmmm... I would be shocked if he was going to direct it, but if he did, it would be a challenge I would like to see him tackle. Saving Private Ryan in Space... Hehehe... But most likely he will be producing and bring an action director in (like Bay with Transformers). If he brings a director in, I say try to get Blompkamp back on board (though it would not be likely for him to return to the project).
DoucheNozzle writes:
on August 8th, 2009 at 7:13:25 AM

"Blomkamp" it should have said.
lost_addict writes:
on August 8th, 2009 at 7:59:22 AM

what?no uwe boll
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on August 8th, 2009 at 8:29:58 AM

if Speilberg does it I'll see it, if not I'll stay on the side of not giving a f*ck at all about it
DEADLYMIKKA writes:
on August 8th, 2009 at 9:05:59 AM

I dont think they would bring in Michael bay cause hes too tied up with transformers they would want some one with a little more experience regarding something called ART they would probably bring in some who uses less cgi but still makes the movie look visually stunning while conveying the need for balance between plot and action Jerry Bruckheimer for example made many movies and tv shows with
DEADLYMIKKA writes:
on August 8th, 2009 at 9:11:52 AM

*what i ment to say before i hit submit was they could get a director that can blend action scenes plot and use a producer who helps balance the story line between those scenes and Jerry Bruckheimer as a PRODUCER (not director) would be awesome
coldplayesence writes:
on August 8th, 2009 at 10:39:25 AM

I foresee Shia Ladouche as Master sh*t
Osiris3eagle writes:
on August 8th, 2009 at 10:45:49 AM

The goddamn pop for The Orphan is driving me nuts!!!
As for this article, while I like Spielberg, I think he would also have it toned down in violence and make it PG-13....Halo simply can't be PG-13 if it wants to be well received by fans.
scarface85 writes:
on August 8th, 2009 at 10:47:34 AM

wow thats some really hot news
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 8th, 2009 at 11:15:05 AM

FFFFFFFFFUUUUUU

Wait until lucas gets his fat neck in there and starts putting second rate cgi in there and a looooooot of it, which will, in turn, put cgi over story in the film.

Shoulda just sorted their sh*t out when they had Blomkamp.

f*ck you, Hollywood.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 8th, 2009 at 11:21:17 AM

And Speilburg is a sh*tty director now, and an even more sh*tty-er producer.

In recent years, he's put out 'War of the worlds' and 'Indiana jones and the kingdom of the crystal skull'. So I don't give a sh*t about 'Munich', lots of people can make a movie based on real life events, and Tintin is gonna be a CGI movie, which I guess is alright, but you just know that Lucas had his chubby prick fingers in that pie.
I've lost all hope.

So, Again, f*ck you, Hollywood.
RoadDogXVIII writes:
on August 8th, 2009 at 11:52:02 AM

Finally, some good news. I hope he directs, because we need a legitimately good video game movie, and not "Max Payne".
FBO writes:
on August 8th, 2009 at 1:59:04 PM

What are you talking about cupcake? Apparently the WOTW you saw and the WOTW I saw were two different films. The one I saw had a new role, sort of, for The Actor (if Bill Parceles feels compelled to cal TO The Player then I am compelled for the same reasons to call Tom The Actor) to play instead of his usual good boy role. And Indiana Jones sucked because of Lucas. Besides who doesn't want to see Gary Coleman in a One Ton Bio-Tech Suit?
VDODSON writes:
on August 8th, 2009 at 2:15:39 PM

Indiana Jones was pretty lacking, but Munich was legendary. The guy can still put out quality flicks, and his track record proves it. So soon people can turn on a director who has put out some of the most loved cinema in history, just because one of his latest movies was not up to standard. Give the guy a chance, its not like he's f*cking George Lucas or something.
KROQ writes:
on August 8th, 2009 at 2:59:22 PM

are any jews killed in extermination camps?

If not I'm not interested
PrevalentMind writes:
on August 8th, 2009 at 3:14:14 PM

I don't think he'll direct it- he obviously thinks TinTin is the more exciting project...so let him be old and go direct his gingerkid and purse dog movie...oh wait its going to be a trilogy...sigh. So much time put into an obvious bomb. He'd have better luck with an Archie and Jughead film.
VDODSON writes:
on August 8th, 2009 at 3:22:17 PM

Dont hate on Archie, and Jughead. Reggie used to be my idol, and I always wanted to kill Mr. Weatherbee.
kmccarney88 writes:
on August 8th, 2009 at 4:13:29 PM

I say let Spielberg direct and keep Peter Jackson on as a producer, that would be the ultimate fanboy dream come true. Hell, they are already working together on Tin Tin, why not Halo? Besides, I would rather Weta did the effects than ILM.....And keep George Lucas out of this one.
Rich k writes:
on August 8th, 2009 at 4:50:55 PM

if he directs, i have faith!
acslaterson writes:
on August 8th, 2009 at 5:36:03 PM

If he directs and puts out an amazing movie he will totally redeem himself and I will see his next 5 movies opening day. Me not seeing Tin Tin is due to his recent craptacular films. Oh, and Munich IS the sh*t! I watched a couple of weeks ago, it is in the every 6 months rotation.
PrevalentMind writes:
on August 9th, 2009 at 1:07:57 AM

haha I wasnt hating on Archie- i was saying he'd have better luck with that comic strip redhead than TinTin- which I'm sure we'll be good entertainment as Spielberg has few misses- but who seriously is hyped about seeing that thing? If there was a buzz meter for it right now, it'd be down at the bottom for sure.

Keep in mind that Microsoft is being REALLY protective of Halo as a film property. If they'd pass on Blomkamp for lack of a resume, even after his critically acclaimed short Alive in Joberg that District 9 was derived from, then there's no way we're going to see someone green or undeserving in the director's chair. I don't even think they'd give it to Bay.

But ya have to be paranoid that Microsoft may put down their guard now that Blomkamp has proven himself successful. Every good review that comes in for District 9, probably gets someone fired hahaha.


PrevalentMind writes:
on August 9th, 2009 at 1:09:28 AM

"we'll? instead of will"- Christ I'm writing like a Ukraine exchange student....g'night everybody.
synthetic1985 writes:
on August 9th, 2009 at 3:18:04 AM

i say whatever they do...don't piss off the fans so much...and stop trying to make it only appealing to the 'general audience'....lots of those people are fans anyway so change that bullsh*t filming technique and make it more for fans....is that too much to ask for?...then again, so far, no lucas onboard...good enough for me...as for 'war of the world's'...i too found it a bit strange how it was more modern day setting...but whatever...we can always rely on these guys more so than people who produce movies like 'asteroids' when other titles for video games should be made over that
Ryanlawson writes:
on August 9th, 2009 at 3:42:34 AM

being the writer of ji joe isnt that bad. i mean, the premis and plot lines of the movie were pretty good, if it was excecuted well it could have been a half decent movie.

instead they loaded it up with too much special effects of horrible quality, crappy one liners and pumpped it full of "gi joes are coooooool, watch us be cool... please 12 year old boys watch us be cool and buy our toys"
Blank x2 writes:
on August 9th, 2009 at 2:08:07 PM

Spooky is apparently in the midst of a run of black tar heroin. That's the only thing I can think of to make somebody rant about how sh*tty or a director Spielberg is. Apparently Spooky fell asleep for the last thirty years or so and missed a few of Spielberg's pictures. And please, Spooky, don't try to name any "sh*tty" movies of his as examples. He's made so many great movies it really doesn't matter at this point what he does. So, please, stop making yourself look stupid.
Gunslinger writes:
on August 9th, 2009 at 8:44:13 PM

@Osiris. If you wanna block the pop-ups and ads here, it's easy, and it makes the pages look much better. There's an add-on for Firefox called ad-block plus that'll detect all the media-related sites like fastclick and caselmedia, etc. and automatically ignore/block them. You'll wind up with areas of white space on the page and no rollovers.
Johnny Neat writes:
on August 10th, 2009 at 10:04:58 AM

I think Steve might bring his new friend Jackson back into the fold here.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved