WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Sam Worthington is Captain Nemo in "20,000 Leagues Under the Sea"?

Posted: August 8th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Sam Worthington is Captain Nemo in "20,000 Leagues Under the Sea"?Submit Comment
Director McG (Terminator Salvation) is currently working on "20,000 Leagues Under the Sea," which is an origin story of Captain Nemo as he creates his warship, the Nautilus.

McG recently revealed that despite all the rumors, he is not interested in casting Dwayne "The Rock" Johnson in the lead role. Instead, he sees the part more for Will Smith.

"I'm trying to get Will Smith to do it, been trying to get a hold of him," he said back in January. "I've been wanting to work with him for a long time already. That guy's great."

Apparently things didn't work out with Smith, because McG already has another actor in mind. "I take a lot of satisfaction in playing a role in breaking the great Sam Worthington, who I think is one of the best actors out there," he said. "Look out for Clash of the Titans because Clash is going to be really good I've seen some of that. Now he's doing The Tourist with Charlize [Theron]. He's all over the place, and I might cast him as Nemo if it's in the cards. We'll see."

Source: IGN


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 15 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
VDODSON writes:
on August 8th, 2009 at 5:29:31 AM

This guy is going to bank at least 200 mill before the end of the fiscal year at the rate he's going.
DoucheNozzle writes:
on August 8th, 2009 at 6:28:33 AM

God, he must crave to star in remakes like Lohan craves cocaine and slim jims. The Tourist, Clash of the Titans, and now 20,000 Leagues, sheesh... Give it a rest, Sammy. I mean, I like you as an actor so far, but people are going to get sick of you pretty damn soon with all these big budget films.
cave canem writes:
on August 8th, 2009 at 6:38:47 AM

don't forget Avatar
DoucheNozzle writes:
on August 8th, 2009 at 7:22:45 AM

Cave Canem, I was mostly concentrating on the remakes he is being attached to, but, yeah, starring in a film whose expectations have been so built up by Avatards (hehe) that it will be considered a failure no matter how good it is (not to mention the financial aspect) kind of places a huge bulls-eye on him to be nothing short of great in the lead role of said film.
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on August 8th, 2009 at 8:48:53 AM

Sam Worthington... yeah, actually hell yeah! f*ck Will Smith! cast Worthington!
Agent Calavera writes:
on August 8th, 2009 at 8:51:55 AM

I care not for McG and the work he does.
Derp88 writes:
on August 8th, 2009 at 8:58:04 AM

This guys owns hollywood
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 8th, 2009 at 11:45:59 AM

Basically, Sam Worthington is to McG what Megan Fox is to Michael Bay

Or what Shia Labuouf is to Speilberg.

A f*ck buddy who sleeps with the director for movie roles.
holtlt writes:
on August 8th, 2009 at 2:07:53 PM

This guy represents how Hollywood should be, less posing for pictures, more acting
VDODSON writes:
on August 8th, 2009 at 2:23:13 PM

I want a remake of the movie Twins. I could see Will Smith starring in it, and Gary Coleman stepping into Devito's role. This movie would make at least 200K.
VDODSON writes:
on August 8th, 2009 at 2:32:25 PM

I want a remake of the movie Twins. I could see Will Smith starring in it, and Gary Coleman stepping into Devito's role. This movie would make at least 200K.
acslaterson writes:
on August 8th, 2009 at 5:50:27 PM

I don't give a f*ck who they sign to this, McG has been assigned to my $1 Theater/ Netflix list.
Ranger writes:
on August 8th, 2009 at 7:34:28 PM

@VDOD - funny you should mentions Twins. It's one of my fav. Arnie flicks (seriously). Up there with True Lies for me. It was an Arnie original.

How about Will Smith and Verne Troyer? Black and White Twins... why not?

Then Coleman could a guy Will Smith kicks the sh*t out of. I'd pay to see that alone.
Ranger writes:
on August 9th, 2009 at 2:45:59 AM

If Captain Nemo battles a Mega Shark and a Giant Octopus... put me down for an advance ticket NOW!
SACdaddy writes:
on August 9th, 2009 at 1:11:02 PM

"I'm trying to get Will Smith to do it, been trying to get a hold of him".

Sounds like this idiot has never even talked to Will Smith! Does anybody really think that a script from a McG movie actually made it past Will's secretary's trash can?

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved