WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Rain to Star in "Enter the Dragon" Remake?

Posted: August 7th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Rain to Star in "Enter the Dragon" Remake?Submit Comment
Two years ago, Warner Independent Pictures hired "The Shield" executive producer Kurt Sutter to write and make his feature directing debut on "Awaken the Dragon," a noir-style remake of Bruce Lee's "Enter the Dragon."

Sutter's version will be a contemporized drama about a lone FBI agent who pursues a rogue Shaolin monk into the bloody world of underground martial arts fight clubs.

The goal is to find an established American actor to play the FBI agent and to discover a fight star for the monk role. LatinoReview has now learned that Warners is in-talks with Korean star Rain (Ninja Assassin) to play the monk.

"I'm a huge noir fan, and this plot lends itself to the film I want to make," said Sutter. "I wanted to set it in these underground fight clubs where the action is really raw and expose the brutality of Shaolin kung fu. This will be more 'Raging Bull' than 'Crouching Tiger' in its viciousness."

Source: LatinoReview


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 24 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
VDODSON writes:
on August 7th, 2009 at 7:00:21 AM

This motherf*cker has no martial arts experience whatsoever. Thats fine for movies like Speed Racer, and Ninja Assasin where the on set choreographers can teach him but not this. It would be an insult to the legend that is Bruce Lee to have an amateur play this role. The actor that comes to mind when I hear Bruce Lee movie remake is Jet Li. Fist of Legend was off the hook, this could be as well.
Sonic writes:
on August 7th, 2009 at 7:27:53 AM

NO no no why are they remaking Enter the Dragon.
SACdaddy writes:
on August 7th, 2009 at 7:33:09 AM

Apparently, you never saw Dragon. Jason Scott Lee did a pretty good job portraying Bruce and he had no martial arts background. They called Bruce "one kick" Lee in Hong Kong because he never did drawn out hand to hand fights. Instead he'd finish people with the speed and power of one punch or kick. That should make it somewhat easier for somebody to duplicate.
dandythelion writes:
on August 7th, 2009 at 7:34:47 AM

It could be good. i'm a massive fan of martial arts films Game of Death is my favorite lee film but Enter the Dragon is close too. I wouldn't mind seeing a remake. especially in the noir style, if that means what i'm hopingit does.
VDODSON writes:
on August 7th, 2009 at 7:48:17 AM

SACdaddy-yes I have seen Dragon, its one of my favorite movies. The only reason Jason was able to mirror Bruce is because he was Trained in Jeet Kune Do with former Bruce Lee student, Jerry Poteet. I see your point, but I still dont sway in my opinion on who should be playing him.
Hitodama writes:
on August 7th, 2009 at 8:45:27 AM

NOOOO! Why is Hollywood so starved for original ideas? Has anyone seen IP MAN? It stars Donnie Yen and is an awesome movie(I think Jet Li did a version of the same story). That's how you do a really cool martial arts film with a decent story. I'll hold my judgement until I at least see Ninja Assassin (wait and see how this all pans out).
Hitodama writes:
on August 7th, 2009 at 8:46:15 AM

Completely off topic, but wow he looks good in that pic hehe.
SACdaddy writes:
on August 7th, 2009 at 8:56:18 AM

@VDODSON: Rain is playing the bad guy, right? Sounds like the haven't cast Lee's role yet. They should get Storm Shadow from new GIJOE movie as the lead. I think his name is Byung-hun Lee.
Ranger writes:
on August 7th, 2009 at 10:22:13 AM

JSL WAS AMAZING to fill... well, the bare feet of Bruce Lee in Dragon!

I have an idea... how about Hollywood NOT redo this moving and move along and leave good sh*t done in the past be and they strain themselves to COME UP WITH SOMETHING f*ckING NEW?!?!
Dre-EL writes:
on August 7th, 2009 at 10:23:17 AM

I just knew they would remake Enter the Dragon some day, and with Hollywood going through the remaking craze I knew it would be soon. I figured it would be a vehicle for Jet Li (serious movie) or Jackie Chan (comedy) it could go either way. Donnie Yen would be awesome for this I recently saw IP MAN (awesome film) and he also did a Fist of Fury remake.
mattcl23 writes:
on August 7th, 2009 at 12:08:59 PM

@VDODSON-Jet Li would be my #1 choice to play the role. He was actually considered to be Bruce's replacement in Hong Kong. And Fist Of Legend was one of the best martial arts films I've ever seen.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 7th, 2009 at 12:27:14 PM

FFFFUUUUUUUUUUU-

out of ALL THE MOVIES IN THE WORLD, we need to remake THIS ONE?!

I used to be ignorant and say "Well remakes sure do take old stories and update them gee willickers!" but now, I mean, I never used to think that hollywood was out of ideas, but now? They completely are.
Ranger writes:
on August 7th, 2009 at 12:34:02 PM

Jet-Li is my pick (not that Hollywood would ever listen).
McD writes:
on August 7th, 2009 at 2:45:51 PM

RAAAAAAIIIIIIN!
DoucheNozzle writes:
on August 7th, 2009 at 3:24:53 PM

SACdaddy, Devin Faraci of CHUD says that they will most likely choose a white guy for the role, but your suggestion of Byung-hun Lee is absolutely aces, man. I encourage you to check out A Bitersweet Life (which Denzel is trying to remake) where Lee is astounding as a conflicted gangster, so he definately has the acting chops. Also, he just f*ckin' sounds badass whenever he talks, even in the GI Joe commercial where he says, "He never gives up." Love your suggestion, man. Fun Fact: The main character in the video game Forbidden Planet was modeled on him
Rich k writes:
on August 7th, 2009 at 3:25:32 PM

ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh f*cking stupid!
DoucheNozzle writes:
on August 7th, 2009 at 3:32:57 PM

I'm going to get flammed for this, but I think a film noir take on the core story could possibly be very interesting. I know it is not likely, but it could be if Sutter took the responsibiliy of helming the reimagining seriously.
KirkLazerus writes:
on August 7th, 2009 at 6:08:57 PM

yeah Jet Li is the sh*t when i watched Fist of Legend, Fearless is my favorite Jet Li movie that movie is freaking great, get some real martial artist and it will be cool
SACdaddy writes:
on August 7th, 2009 at 8:12:34 PM

@douchenozzle: Lee was great in GIJOE! Thank for the suggestion. I'll check it this weekend.
FreedoM writes:
on August 7th, 2009 at 11:43:59 PM

AHHAHA Rain?! Oh god, I can already see all the Korean teeny boppers going nuts over this if it's true because the movie will do okay just because he's in it. I agree with people who say that this is disrespecting to Bruce lee since Rain maybe a very popular Korean artist in Asia, but he is not qualified for this.
takai writes:
on August 8th, 2009 at 1:27:55 AM

Hahaha, I don't understand the comments on this post. Sure, the title says "ENTER THE DRAGON REMAKE" but if you look into this further, you'll find out that it's a marketing gimmick, and that the ONLY similarity between these two films is the word DRAGON in the title. So no worry's, our hearts are still safe.

You should check out the article on this at kungfucinema, they point out some pretty funny stuff. Like the fact that, if Rain (Korean) gets this role, he'll be going from a Japanese martial arts master (Ninja Assassin) to Chinese martial arts master (Awaken The Dragon), all with having no martial arts involvement outside of his acting career.
DVD DIVA writes:
on August 8th, 2009 at 2:45:11 AM

Just a quick note....... Rain does have previous martial arts training. I'm just sayin'.
VDODSON writes:
on August 8th, 2009 at 3:26:09 PM

I cant stand those koreans, how about a nice chinese kid?
takai writes:
on August 9th, 2009 at 5:28:00 PM

@DVD DIVA

The only martial arts training he's received has been for his career. That's it. And that is the problem

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved