WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Barbarella" Remake is Being Written

Posted: August 7th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Barbarella" Remake is Being WrittenSubmit Comment
Joe Gazzam (21 Jump Street) has been tapped to write the screenplay for "Barbarella," centering on the character that was immortalized by Jane Fonda in the 1968 original. Robert Luketic (Legally Blonde, 21) is attached to direct the sci-fi action/adventure.

Robert Rodriguez boarded the project, which was then set up at Universal, in May 2007 with an eye to making it a vehicle for Rose McGowan. Neal Purvis and Robert Wade wrote the script, but the studio and director reportedly could not agree on where to shoot. After the parting of ways, a new direction for "Barbarella" was sought.

"Barbarella" centers on a female mercenary who roams the universe of a distant future, undertaking missions that require fearlessness, ingenuity and sensuality. The character debuted in 1962 in a French graphic magazine written and illustrated by Jean-Claude Forest and was known for her sexual escapades. There also was a musical produced in 2004.

The new take on the iconic character will not be campy, though it will keep the sexuality; there will be seductions, but the focus will be on the adventure.

Click here to read more about "Barbarella."

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 24 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on August 7th, 2009 at 6:10:59 AM

Sounds like ass. Like dirty filthy unwashed ass.

Why the hell would ANYONE make a musical from Barbarella? Am I the only one that thinks a Barbarella musical is an insane idea? Now Barbarella soft core porn on FOX is ok, but not a musical!

And Joe Gazzam wrote 21 Jump Street? Really, now? Is that right? Because I can't find anything on IMDb. I searched Google, and it says he's working on the script for Sony, for a new film version for 21, but his blog page hasn't been updated since Oct 2008! He must be a VERY busy guy. Double shifts at Starbucks I guess. A Barbarella remake...I guess a guy has to start somewhere.
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on August 7th, 2009 at 6:58:12 AM

The orginal starred that Viet Cong collaborator right?
VDODSON writes:
on August 7th, 2009 at 7:07:54 AM

I've been waiting years for a piece of sh*t movie like this to be remade. Thanks Hollywood, you never let me down!
Trasherke writes:
on August 7th, 2009 at 7:22:58 AM

so pretty much a hot chick having sex with all kinds of aliens throughout the universe.

Agree with mink, but make it anime porn.
dandythelion writes:
on August 7th, 2009 at 7:36:35 AM

i love the original. i usually am for any remakes, to me it just exands on the universe of the films, more to lvoe and if you don't like it you still have the original. nothings lost. but i just don't see how they could pull it off. it was a pretty odd film in it's own right.
minkowski writes:
on August 7th, 2009 at 8:03:54 AM

f*ck yeah, hentai! Starring Lindsey Lohan as the voice of the computer virus infected whore drone. The drones name? AI-DS. Artifically Intelligent Dumpster for Semen.
minkowski writes:
on August 7th, 2009 at 8:06:38 AM

"The orginal starred that Viet Cong collaborator right?"

The hell you say! Jane Fonda is a patriot, and she only sided with the Viet f*cking Cong because she loves her country so much! Never ever call her a piece of sh*t commie collaborator.

f*cking bitch should've got roasted on an open spit.
VDODSON writes:
on August 7th, 2009 at 8:18:05 AM

The bitch should of been arrested for treason. I cant believe she still has fans, and how many people have forgot. If I saw her on the street I would seriously considering spitting in her eye.
minkowski writes:
on August 7th, 2009 at 8:24:37 AM

You're far kinder than me, sir. I'd go Vlad Tepes on her. I stick her on a eight foot sharpened wooden pole, ass first.

Or, I'd REALLY punish the bitch. I'd give her Lindsey Lohan's career.
SACdaddy writes:
on August 7th, 2009 at 8:35:50 AM

Then you guys should be happy she died a horrible death that was, in the long run, overshadowed my Michael Jackson's death.

As for Barbarella remake, I don't know, instellar p*ssy being f*cked all over the cosmos doesn't sound that bad to me, but then again I like p*ssy.
minkowski writes:
on August 7th, 2009 at 8:42:02 AM

@sacdaddy:

Jane Fonda is still alive, dude. Farrah Fawcett is the one that died recently.
SACdaddy writes:
on August 7th, 2009 at 9:39:28 AM

Good call, still early. Guess all white people look alike to me, zing!
Ranger writes:
on August 7th, 2009 at 10:32:29 AM

AI-DS. Artifically Intelligent Dumpster for Semen.

Or Lohan's motto:

All
I ever
Do is
Sabotage (my life)!
Ranger writes:
on August 7th, 2009 at 10:47:18 AM

I agree with Trasherke - 'but make it anime porn.' It'll push it further than the original version.
ACTIONFIGURE writes:
on August 7th, 2009 at 11:09:40 AM

Jessica Biel...no one else will do.
Ranger writes:
on August 7th, 2009 at 12:03:40 PM

You're right!
lostwarrior writes:
on August 7th, 2009 at 2:41:55 PM

@Ranger wow man. f*ck mastercard man, what u just posted NOW THAT WAS f*ckING PRICELESS....
Ranger writes:
on August 7th, 2009 at 2:49:48 PM

lol... thx. Bud.

Hey... what about Megan for this role?! It's PERFECT for her!!!
DoucheNozzle writes:
on August 7th, 2009 at 5:44:10 PM

Now, If it starred Christina Hendricks (google image now), my ass would be seated in the theatre on opening day.
Ranger writes:
on August 7th, 2009 at 7:27:50 PM

Yeah, I'd wear her ass for a hat.
minkowski writes:
on August 7th, 2009 at 8:31:35 PM

Freakishly large constant cleavage does not equal beautiful. Bug tits, not so pretty face.
Ranger writes:
on August 8th, 2009 at 2:57:25 AM

Beauty is only a light switch away my friend.
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on August 8th, 2009 at 8:17:11 AM

ehhh... I think it wouldve been awesome if Rodriguez had stayed, probably gonna suck now.
Ranger writes:
on August 8th, 2009 at 12:04:01 PM

I'd still throw one into Jane Fonda just to say I did (I missed out on Farrah). Jane is still a HAWT Panther... knee replacement and all.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved