WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Director John Hughes Dies at 59

Posted: August 6th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Director John Hughes Dies at 59Submit Comment
John Hughes, the director of "Sixteen Candles" and "The Breakfast Club," as well as the writer/producer of blockbuster hit "Home Alone," died suddenly of a heart attack in Manhattan on Thursday; he was 59.

Very few details were known at the initial announcement, but several sources are reporting that the director was on vacation in Manhattan and suffered the heart attack while on a morning walk.

A writer for National Lampoon magazine in the 70s, Hughes shot to fame in the early 80s by penning the hit comedy "National Lampoon's Vacation" and made his directorial debut with "Sixteen Candles" in 1984 and went on to make such iconic teen films as "The Breakfast Club" and "Ferris Bueller's Day Off." He also wrote and produced "Pretty in Pink."

He graduated to adult leads with the Steve Martin/John Candy 1987 comedy "Planes, Trains and Automobiles"; Candy would also star in "Uncle Buck" two years later. After directing "Curly Sue" in 1991, Hughes never directed another film, though he wrote and produced such 90s comedies as "101 Dalmatians," "Flubber," and the "Home Alone" sequels.

Hughes is survived by his wife of 39 years, Nancy, two sons, John and James, and four grandchildren.

Source: WENN


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 27 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Planetastudios writes:
on August 6th, 2009 at 11:35:00 PM

take it easy MAn! You were one of the BEst, connected with some of America's best Classics!
Bob82 writes:
on August 6th, 2009 at 11:44:55 PM

R.I.P.

"Ferris Bueller's Day Off" is one my favourites.

:(
minkowski writes:
on August 6th, 2009 at 11:51:37 PM

Here's a beer to you sir. Thank you and godspeed!

To you:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aOuNaK2XRJA

Rich k writes:
on August 7th, 2009 at 12:16:07 AM

man i loved his movies, my favorite of his are the breakfast club, and ferris buellers day off.
Clarence Worley writes:
on August 7th, 2009 at 1:00:12 AM

Thank you for your great work and may you rest in peace...
c-prime writes:
on August 7th, 2009 at 1:27:18 AM

This news truly, truly sucks.
Gaudion93 writes:
on August 7th, 2009 at 1:43:09 AM

sh*t, what a crap start to the day, what a legend R.I.P. Mr. Hughes we won't forget about you! (see what i did there!)
The5thBeatle5 writes:
on August 7th, 2009 at 2:04:22 AM

Rest in Peace.

You surely will be missed! :(
VDODSON writes:
on August 7th, 2009 at 2:16:57 AM

This man was a legend, RIP sir.
Ranger writes:
on August 7th, 2009 at 2:27:49 AM

Awwww CRAP! I loved this man's work!

You're right Rich... The Breakfast Club! Man... he got the very best out of those actors!

He's one that made the 80's as memorable as they are!

Wow... what a life he gave us and his family.

RIP Mr. Hughes!
TeemSelami writes:
on August 7th, 2009 at 2:34:04 AM

ENJOY YOUR GIANT PANCAKES WITH GOD AND UNCLE BUCK
StrongR3tard writes:
on August 7th, 2009 at 2:40:54 AM

RIP bro
synthetic1985 writes:
on August 7th, 2009 at 3:24:28 AM

RIP mr. hughes...your work has inspired me as well...which is why i'm gonna say old legends die and new ones are born
Kill-the-director writes:
on August 7th, 2009 at 4:55:30 AM

RIP thank you for uncle buck
bale01289 writes:
on August 7th, 2009 at 6:53:28 AM

R.I.P. John Hughes. You have given me some of my favorite movies of all time. You will be missed, but not forgoten. "Damn, someone threw away a perfectly good white boy!" - Better Off Dead
Trip Maverick writes:
on August 7th, 2009 at 7:13:25 AM

He owned the 80s. Shame he couldn't cay on in o the 90s. Planes Trains, uncle Buck, curly Sue showed he could do more than just teen stuff.
Sonic writes:
on August 7th, 2009 at 7:16:22 AM

RIP Hughes.
SACdaddy writes:
on August 7th, 2009 at 7:22:29 AM

Another legend gone. Pretty sh*tty news to wake up to. Loved ya Hughes! Thanks for the memories.
mattyaustin writes:
on August 7th, 2009 at 7:22:58 AM

Tried to e-mail the site about this. Never heard back. So I guess this is the only way I can share it. In a strange case of timing, I'm the director of a doc*mentary that explored John Hughes' impact and absence(now, in death, I suppose). The film is finished and being shopped around. In light of his passing, we released the trailer early. Here is a link://bit.ly/2F1B1B

minkowski writes:
on August 7th, 2009 at 7:50:13 AM

I'd love to see that doc*mentary. let us know when it becomes available.
lostwarrior writes:
on August 7th, 2009 at 8:08:47 AM

f*cking sad man.. another legend has passed away.
Lordchristo writes:
on August 7th, 2009 at 9:55:43 AM

Jesus, only 59? That's terrible. It's a shame the rest of Hollywood couldn't follow his example of staying married more then 6 months. God speed, little doodle.
bale01289 writes:
on August 7th, 2009 at 10:58:42 AM

@mattyaustin - hope to see this doc*mentary soon. I'm having a "Hughes" watch party this weekend to celebrate his life and his work. Once again, rest in peace, John Hughes.
PrevalentMind writes:
on August 7th, 2009 at 3:10:13 PM

Well John Candy has his drinking buddy back...thanks for the classics Hughes.

Wasn't there word on him trying to get into better shape for the insurance companies so he could direct something new? I wonder what he was writing...we'll find out soon enough I suppose.
SpaceGhost89 writes:
on August 7th, 2009 at 6:24:45 PM

He and his films are the reason I started writing my new script. Such an inspiration and will be sorely missed.
OneTime writes:
on August 7th, 2009 at 9:54:36 PM

great movies...thank you sir. rip
Ranma-Irias writes:
on August 9th, 2009 at 8:15:48 AM

RIP John Hughes...
We'll always remember you

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved