WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Bryan Singer Developing a 2012 Series

Posted: August 7th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Bryan Singer Developing a 2012 SeriesSubmit Comment
Bryan Singer (Superman Returns) is re-teaming with Syfy to develop an untitled six-hour limited series dealing with the 2012 doomsday prophecies surrounding the Mayan calendar.

The new series tells the story of a down-on-his-luck author/professor who goes on a worldwide adventure to uncover the mysteries surrounding the Mayan calendar and the potential apocalypse it seems to have predicted centuries ago. With an unlikely team, he races against time to prevent global catastrophe, and in doing so ultimately rediscovers his faith in humanity and himself.

"I have always been fascinated by the various myths and conspiracy theories surrounding the Mayan calendar," said Singer. "It's the most accurate calendar created by man, so accurate that many believe its origins may lie elsewhere. Our story will explore whether we are truly alone in the universe, and other related mysteries, all of which are set against the backdrop of an incredibly exciting and fast-paced adventure."

Source: Syfy


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 19 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on August 6th, 2009 at 11:55:46 PM

Really wish they'd stop exploiting the particulars of the Mayan Calendar for financial purposes.

The world WILL NOT end Dec 21 2012, morons! It coincides with the Winter Solstice, determined by the Mayans from their extensive astronomical skill. Has NOTHING to do with apocalypse, but merely the end of one age and the beginning of another.

And Singer, why the f*ck are you putting yourself on the same idiot level as Strieber and Roland Emmerich? Aren't you better than that?!
WV-Films writes:
on August 7th, 2009 at 12:36:10 AM

They better hurry up with this series, otherwise nobody will be around to see it. It's probably why so many movies are coming out in 2011.
Trasherke writes:
on August 7th, 2009 at 12:41:11 AM

@Mink: Doesn't really matter if it's true. Most movies aren't reality :)

I'm not really the biggest Singer fan, but I'm curious about the series.
BlutoDaBoss21 writes:
on August 7th, 2009 at 12:45:58 AM

THANK YOU MINK! god im so sick of ppl thinkin the world is gonna end or were gonna be enlightened.. its just another Y2K. and no he isnt better then that.
minkowski writes:
on August 7th, 2009 at 1:06:10 AM

I'm no Singer fan either, but even I can see he's better than this. He's cashing in, selling out to make something to pander to the idiotic hype surrounding a non-event.

We already have one movie that's going to give audiences more 2012 bang than their devalued ten bucks can handle, so why does he have to lower his normally high standards to the quality of a shill to popular stupidity and gullibility?

Look, I love alien and ghost stories more than anybody. I KNOW they're bunk and bogus, but I can detach my brain and enjoy them for the fantasy they are. So that's not the issue here. The issue is Singer choosing easy, easy money over cinematic story ideals. I'm pretty well disappointed in the dude.
minkowski writes:
on August 7th, 2009 at 1:08:02 AM

"and no he isnt better then that."

I guess not. Seems everybody is a f*cking whore these days. I have to choke down some Burton just to get art and style over crass and cash.

Maybe in 2012, the world will end just for Hollywood.
Trasherke writes:
on August 7th, 2009 at 2:07:24 AM

On a philosophical note: the world needs to see crap so they understand and recognize masterpieces :)
IRONDAN writes:
on August 7th, 2009 at 2:16:14 AM

so he is doing TV now.... remember when this guy could do no wrong..... Curse of SUPERMAN
Trasherke writes:
on August 7th, 2009 at 2:29:09 AM

He's been doing tv for a while: House MD
lost_addict writes:
on August 7th, 2009 at 6:41:55 AM

singer is developing a big anus...look at his smile at the photo...just got some.
minkowski writes:
on August 7th, 2009 at 6:51:36 AM

^^Isn't that sexual cannibalism?
minkowski writes:
on August 7th, 2009 at 6:52:43 AM

And if anyone fails to get the 'joke', I can explain it...
Trasherke writes:
on August 7th, 2009 at 7:12:29 AM

I know you'd love to explain to, so go ahead :)
SACdaddy writes:
on August 7th, 2009 at 7:44:25 AM

Don't know what yall are talking about. To me it looks like Singer is headed in the wrong direction as far as his career is concerned. You don't get paid that much to do TV movies even if its for HBO. This may be a big sign how far Singer has fallen off the Hwood radar. Next stop WE channel.
minkowski writes:
on August 7th, 2009 at 7:54:12 AM

"I know you'd love to explain to, so go ahead :)"

Ok. An ass getting some ass? I call that sexual cannibalism, sir! And I won't sit for it!
minkowski writes:
on August 7th, 2009 at 7:57:19 AM

@sacdaddy

totally agree. Superman was Singer's Kryptonite. lol. And the BO failure Valkyrie, though I liked it, didn't help.

And I dare anyone to tell me Val was a BO smash. It's performance stunk, for sure, but that's not the BO I'm talking about.
tolgaboy writes:
on August 7th, 2009 at 9:52:45 AM

minkowski singerman must stop making movies he f*ckt up supe
SACdaddy writes:
on August 7th, 2009 at 11:02:38 AM

Really liked Valkyrie but for some reason I never had the urge to see. Singer hasn't lost all of his talent. Maybe he's doing this to get back to projects with lower expectations and budgets like his claim to fame Usual Suspect.
SACdaddy writes:
on August 7th, 2009 at 11:03:43 AM

Never got the urge to see "it again" lol.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved