WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

James McTeigue on Superman Reboot

Posted: August 6th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
James McTeigue on Superman RebootSubmit Comment
It was recently reported that Warner Bros is working hard to reboot the Superman franchise and are currently looking to bring on a director. Some of the names that keep coming up are the Wachowskis (The Matrix, Speed Racer) and their protege James McTeigue (V for Vendetta, Ninja Assassin).

/Film had a chance to speak to McTeigue and asked him about whether he is in-talks to helm the new Superman movie and is being looked at to replace David Goyer on the "X-Men Origins: Magneto" film.

"[Magneto] was just one of those rumors that started out and I don't know where it came from or how it came up," he said. But when it came time to give an answer to the Superman rumor, he played it more coy. "You know... I would say... I'll keep you guessing, actually. It's good not to dispel every rumor, right?"

It is not much of a confirmation, but it is also not a denial. And if I had to take guess, his hesitation to answer the question means that he has already been approached by Warner Bros to helm or once again assist the Wachowskis.

Source: /Film


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 34 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
KROQ writes:
on August 6th, 2009 at 3:36:08 AM

The Wachowski Brothers???
... So will Superman dress like a crossdresser?

(Search Wikipedia if you don't know what I'm talking about)
ilovemovies82 writes:
on August 6th, 2009 at 4:12:25 AM

They are not the Wachowski brothers anymore. Just the Wachowski's. Or the Wachowski siblings.
minkowski writes:
on August 6th, 2009 at 4:40:16 AM

Didn't the Wachowski Brothers already do a Superman trilogy? Something called the Matrix?
IRONDAN writes:
on August 6th, 2009 at 4:42:55 AM

I find it hard to believe that a popular character and valuable franchise like Superman will be handed over to the same people that made Speed Racer. Warner Brothers can do allot better. This is Superman! Every Director growing up read superman comics growing up and dreamed of making a movie about him. Why not ask A-list directors like Tony Scott, David Fincher, Robert Zemeckis, J.J. Abrams, Robert Rodriguez. why is it the dvd cartoon movie superman doomsday is the best superman movie since 1980?

I hope they try to make a fun action adventure movie and not just grind one out to solve legal issues...

The Wachowski's are just just nerdy fanboys that would make superman feel like just another superhero movie...(a daredevil or ghost rider) THIS IS SUPERMAN THE BIGGEST SUPERHERO HE DESERVES A BIG MOVIE!!!!
IRONDAN writes:
on August 6th, 2009 at 4:46:55 AM

oh and if the Wachowski's end up making this and superman is a computer nerd who wears sunglasses at night i think it will be safe to assume we will be reading stores about warner brothers looking to "reboot" the superman franchise before the dvd comes out.
BlueMobius writes:
on August 6th, 2009 at 4:47:00 AM

I might be the only one who thinks that, as long as they don't go too dark or mess with the character too much, the Wachowskis could be the right choice here, especially if they do the Doomsday story. Oh, and I thought Speed Racer was fantastic...one of the best live-action adaptations of an anime I've ever seen.
lost_addict writes:
on August 6th, 2009 at 5:54:17 AM

I would wait with a superman reboot for a few years...the painful memories of 'superman returns' are still fresh and we had our share of similar super-hero movies that can fly and save the world in the last years...
VDODSON writes:
on August 6th, 2009 at 6:40:43 AM

The Wachowski's are the perfect choice. Their blend of action and the dark,dirty, gritty streets of Metropolis sounds like the perfect fit. Speed Racer was true to its origins, I cant hate on them for doing that.
ACTIONFIGURE writes:
on August 6th, 2009 at 10:17:17 AM

The brothers Matrix is a great choice for this...The understand comic books very well and have a great talent for bring that to the screen. Say what u will about "Speed Racer", but they pull that one off nicely. As long as they don't try for a remake of the very first movie (Mr. Singer, I'm looking in your direction.), It should work out just fine. Hire Bill Pope and John Gaeta and make that that sh*t happen...2013 will be here before you know it.
Horsemoney5 writes:
on August 6th, 2009 at 10:45:37 AM

Whatever happened to the Superman Batman Idea? They hinted at it during "I am Legend" will smith version... there was a billboard in Time square that hinted at 2010 superman batman movie?
Davestar3000@yahoo.com writes:
on August 6th, 2009 at 10:46:19 AM

They should get that guy who directed the wonderfull adaptation of another previous comic book x-men, i forget his name but every one on these boards luvs his nuts, He recently directed a WWII movie that was almost straight to DVD. He would be the perfect director for Superman i think his name is Bryan Songer or something, oh wait he did direct a superman movie and it sucked! Call Jon favreau.
SACdaddy writes:
on August 6th, 2009 at 11:11:06 AM

I would love to see Abrams tackle Superman. He has a proven track record in the right genre and he does well with a lot of pressure from the studios and the audience.
BigUnit writes:
on August 6th, 2009 at 12:30:57 PM

" directed a WWII movie that was almost straight to DVD" can you be a little more specific Davestar3000@yahoo.com lol that can be ANY movie
Hitodama writes:
on August 6th, 2009 at 1:21:27 PM

Ugh. I'm tired of Superman. I've never understood the appeal, even Smallville was pants.
Ranger writes:
on August 6th, 2009 at 1:24:13 PM

The Wachs are my first choice.
Hitodama writes:
on August 6th, 2009 at 1:30:02 PM

The wachs LOL!!!
MajiqOne writes:
on August 6th, 2009 at 2:15:25 PM

Bring on the new Supes!!! it's been wat too long.
DoucheNozzle writes:
on August 6th, 2009 at 2:51:39 PM

SACdaddy, I respect your opinions and think you make great comments, but search "AICN JJ Abrams Superman script review" on google to see how JJ would be a bad idea, since his script (that almost went into production until fanboy backlash thankfully tanked it) completely sh*tted on everything that made the Superman mythos great (Krypton not exploding / Luthor being a Kryptonian and flying at the end). So, JJ probably wouldn't be the greatest idea. Also, I think people are ignoring that McTeigue is the one most likely to direct while the Wachs (lol Ranger) would produce and possibly write the script (like V for Vendetta). I think McTeigue would do an excellent job directing.
DoucheNozzle writes:
on August 6th, 2009 at 3:22:22 PM

Oh, Actionfigure, I LOVE Bill Pope's work as a cinematographer. God, he can make any shot an artistic and technical marvel. Hell, even The Spirit looked spectacular despite the sh*t script and hammy acting. I second bringing him on board.
ACTIONFIGURE writes:
on August 6th, 2009 at 4:38:46 PM

DoucheNozzle-Couldn't agree more...He was the only saving grace of "the spirit" He's a great talent and he's a big part of what made the Matrixs great (well, the first one, at least.) And hey, those guys are in good with Hugo Weaving...I think we found Lex Luthor.
tolgaboy writes:
on August 6th, 2009 at 5:57:54 PM

no lex luthor this time and definitly no kryptonite sh*t?just kick ass action
synthetic1985 writes:
on August 6th, 2009 at 6:06:15 PM

the thing i loved best about matrix reloaded, visually effects wise...was the fight between neo and all those agent smithsonians lol...that was really awesome and had not been done crazy like that with all one scene...but yea that's what made the 3rd suck even more...'that's why the rest of me's gonna enjoy the show because we already know i'm the one that beats you'...geez...i like keanu too...but come on...that could have been made better with the story and action...i really lost it when they both starting flying in the air fighting...that was just too much for me...the only part i was really really impressed with on the 3rd is how all the agent smiths died and made that light show heh...it was sad that the actress that played the oracle had died before the 3rd got filmed...as for superman...i don't wanna read any more news about it until we get a better story and shows that it's moving along
BigUnit writes:
on August 6th, 2009 at 6:15:45 PM

why are they doing another reboot anyway? what was wrong with the last one, besides the fact that it didnt really give any background and that it was 3 hours long, i thought it was still pretty good and critics loved it
BigUnit writes:
on August 6th, 2009 at 6:21:10 PM

Spawn movie reboot please :)
Ranger writes:
on August 6th, 2009 at 6:51:52 PM

@BigUnit... I agree! I like Routh and Singer (but we're a bit of a minority here with that opinion). I think they should just move ahead with the story already. EVERYONE knows the Krypton story (leave Brando's work where it belongs), so move it along. There's that unique (dark(ish?)) trilogy floating around about Supes surviving everyone on Earth. What about a HUGE life threatening battle with Solomon Grundy (1 hit... Supes is smacked into the moon - kind of 'big' I'm talking about here). I heard another storyline on here about Luthor being from Krypton (did I read that right), cool... or cover the Kandor City, etc. etc. but get it going already! Where's the talent in Hollywood to crank some decent sh*t out about the Greatest SuperHero EVER?!?!
Ranger writes:
on August 6th, 2009 at 6:52:17 PM

And Todd McFarlane would like to do another Spawn movie.
coldplayesence writes:
on August 6th, 2009 at 6:53:53 PM

Letv me guess, Lex Luthor will be the villain, right?
Ranger writes:
on August 6th, 2009 at 7:05:56 PM

SPOILER!!!!
SACdaddy writes:
on August 6th, 2009 at 9:10:26 PM

@douchenozzle: Wow, right on yet again my friend! had no idea JJ's idea for Supes was so horrible. It is a little out of the box which you should expect from him but its still way off. Maybe he just needs a more sensible script. I still believe he's more tapped into the pulse of the audience more than any director these days.
SACdaddy writes:
on August 6th, 2009 at 9:18:32 PM

Why not do Spawn reboot like Sin City. Mcfarlane's artwork and back drops look they may belong on a green screen. Most of Spawn's dialoge is cerebral and not spoken, and voice over tend to work well (Sin City, 300) with these type of films. Forget Supes for a while, lets give Spawn another try.
SACdaddy writes:
on August 6th, 2009 at 9:20:39 PM

Too many beers for happy hour, sorry bout mistakes.
telur writes:
on August 6th, 2009 at 9:58:21 PM

Oh no, the Superman is Korean Rain
Trasherke writes:
on August 7th, 2009 at 12:29:21 AM

Kill off Lois Lane, sending supes on an inner journey. There's your dark set. Also giving a believable story for an evil to rise.

To comment about the idea Superman vs Batman, in my opinion Battyboy wouldn't be compatible with other superheroes since he's now more of a ninja like he should be.

My 2 cents
Ranger writes:
on August 7th, 2009 at 10:37:31 AM

2 cents?! I'd pay a lot more than that to see Lois bumped off! The Supes can get his head on straight (ummm, yeah... that one too!) and start doing Super Stuff... making Super Movies!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved