WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Tom Hanks Turns Down Steven Spielberg's "Harvey"

Posted: August 6th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Tom Hanks Turns Down Steven SpielbergSubmit Comment
It was recently reported that Steven Spielberg will next helm a contemporary adaptation of Mary Chase's play "Harvey," about a man and his friendship with an invisible six-foot tall rabbit.

At the time, it was assumed that Spielberg would reach out to his buddy Tom Hanks to play the lead role, since Hanks is considered a moder-day Jimmy Stewart, the actor who starred in the 1950 movie adaptation of the play.

Variety has now confirmed that Spielberg has spoken to Hanks, who has refused to be part of the new movie, mostly because everyone expects him to take a role like that and that he is so closely identified with Stewart.

Apparently Hanks refuses to even take a look at the Jonathan Tropper-penned script, which is closer in tone to the play than it is to the 1950 film.

Source: Variety


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 27 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Ranger writes:
on August 6th, 2009 at 3:15:39 AM

Step up Gary Coleman!
Rich k writes:
on August 6th, 2009 at 3:22:20 AM

why is hanks acting like this just take the role than he can get that di vinci code crap off of him.
Ranger writes:
on August 6th, 2009 at 3:30:27 AM

Hey Rich...

I haven't seen either of the DaVinci movies to comment on them. But I see what Hanks is talking about here. James Stewart is Hollywood Royalty. No matter what my standing was in the industry, I would NEVER be in any of his movies being re-made. Stewart was a giant, and even Hanks knows that. There are just some movies and some people's movies (John Wayne is another) that should NEVER be remade. Even though the partnership as long-standing and beneficial as it has been between Spielberg and Hanks... Steven may have though asking Tom to be a slam-dunk. I give Hanks credit to have the balls to say no and respect Stewart. Someone out of the 2 of them should have.
KROQ writes:
on August 6th, 2009 at 3:31:32 AM

cause like everyone else nobody wants to see this movie

..God damn Spielberg just make the Lincoln biopic, Liam Neesen's still waiting for that phone call you jackass
Ranger writes:
on August 6th, 2009 at 3:34:03 AM

And you're right K. I don't know anyone that would want to go see this movie.
Nohands[NL] writes:
on August 6th, 2009 at 3:48:05 AM

Damn this movie goes to suck....speilberg lost his f*cking mind.
Trasherke writes:
on August 6th, 2009 at 4:44:03 AM

If they really want to tribute him. Just re-release the movie on dvd/blu-ray in better quality. Giving the chance for the new generation to watch the classics.
IRONDAN writes:
on August 6th, 2009 at 4:53:57 AM

Well thats just great now its up to Steven's 2nd pick DANE COOK
lost_addict writes:
on August 6th, 2009 at 5:56:10 AM

oh no...that means-shia leapoop instead...
Eben1277 writes:
on August 6th, 2009 at 9:49:30 AM

Ranger, DaVinci Code and Angels & Demons weren't terrible as some people make them out to be. They are not the best of Ron Howard's films, but they are entertaining, Angels & Demons being the better of the two.
DoucheNozzle writes:
on August 6th, 2009 at 10:09:41 AM

Good move, Hanks. Stay as far away from this flamming turd of a vanity project as possible. Maybe Spielberg will regain his lost marbles and leave this sure to be bomb with this dose of reality. If Spielberg does the flick, how many are willing to wager he would make the bunny CGI instead of the less is more mentality of the original where the bunny was never seen.
EvilMonkey writes:
on August 6th, 2009 at 12:39:12 PM

Why is everyone so negative? A little too much time on your hands maybe? Spielgerg's given us some of the best movies of all time, and I'd be surprised if he didn't approach Harvey with all the respect it deserves. P.S. I also vote for Gary Coleman.
turdmonster writes:
on August 6th, 2009 at 12:51:33 PM

Kinda hard to walk in James Stewart's shoes but if anybody can remake this it's Spielberg. I'm glad Tom Hanks is out. After sporting that mullet in the DaVinci movies, I think it's time to step aside.
Ranger writes:
on August 6th, 2009 at 1:28:23 PM

EvilMonkey - lol.. Gary Coleman vote... thx! It's not negativity towards Steven. I really think these comments are just asking 'why'?! WHY remake Harvey. As Trasherke said it so well... just remaster and release the original. I'd buy it because Stewart is the man! Even Hanks knows his place. And Steven should get on with the Lincoln stuff and quite shuffling around. He set his bar so high with Saving Private Ryan, Schlinder's List...and yes, even his funny, lighter movies. But a re-make of Harvey is about as needed as a resurgence of Gary Coleman's 'career.'
Rich k writes:
on August 6th, 2009 at 2:30:09 PM

Ranger

I know jimmy stewart is a legend, but with steven spielberg wanting to direct this, and he asks the most respected actor in hollywood, to play the role why not? i think this could be really good with the both of them doing it. Hanks doesnt even want to look at the script why not? i know hollywood is remaking alot of classic movies lately, but i think if they remake this one it could be good.
Ranger writes:
on August 6th, 2009 at 5:45:40 PM

I agree Rich (I really do... and hear your side of it). I just wish they'd concentrate on new efforts (more) people would want to see. I think... just remaster and release the original. Spielberg must have a lot more options to look at. But yes, if the ever did this (these 2 guys), I'd certainly watch the updated version. I still think it was ballsy for Hanks to say no to his wealthier, more powerful friend.
Ari Gold writes:
on August 6th, 2009 at 11:11:06 PM

Donnie Darko grows up to become Harvey?
Ari Gold writes:
on August 6th, 2009 at 11:12:10 PM

@Ranger
I'd rather see Gary Coleman in the Commando remake!!
minkowski writes:
on August 6th, 2009 at 11:23:32 PM

Nobody, and I mean NOBODY wants to see Gary Coleman go Commando.
Trasherke writes:
on August 7th, 2009 at 2:09:30 AM

There's only one thing I want to see Gary Coleman in: http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1253596/
Trasherke writes:
on August 7th, 2009 at 2:10:22 AM

btw, why does every news article ends up with comments about either Lohan or Coleman? :)
Ranger writes:
on August 7th, 2009 at 2:11:51 AM

Ahh, because they're the greatest 2 people ever to hit Hollywood.
Ranger writes:
on August 7th, 2009 at 2:13:01 AM

@Ari - Coleman in a Commando remake. Y'know... if he had an ounce of brains (there's a little man joke right THERE!)... he'd do independent sh*t just like that. Gary Coleman remakes all the greats! Boxsets... imagine it all!
Trasherke writes:
on August 7th, 2009 at 2:30:22 AM

Arny has a minime too :)
Ranger writes:
on August 7th, 2009 at 10:35:43 AM

Verne Troyer?
Ranger writes:
on August 7th, 2009 at 10:35:50 AM

Nice!
OneTime writes:
on August 7th, 2009 at 9:50:38 PM

this jsut in: shia labeuf to play invisible rabbit

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved