WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Will Richard Kelly Direct Another "Donnie Darko" Film?

Posted: August 4th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Will Richard Kelly Direct Another "Donnie Darko" Film?Submit Comment
It was recently reported that 20th Century Fox is planning to make a third "Donnie Darko" film and that director Richard Kelly is considering returning to the franchise that got him his start. Maybe not to helm, but in some capacity.

MTV News got a chance to sit down with Kelly and find whether there is any truth to that. "Absolutely not," he said. "I know nothing about it and I would never have any involvement with any existing or future sequel to 'Donnie Darko' ever—ever!"

And to make it absolutely clear, he added: "Never ever ever ever would I be involved with anything like that."

The original film, directed by Kelly, was a breakthrough hit for actor Jake Gyllenhaal. During its theatrical run, it received a very limited release. And while the movie brought it only $1 million domestically, it attracted a huge cult following on DVD and spawned a straight-to-DVD sequel.

Source: MTV News


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 11 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
lostwarrior writes:
on August 4th, 2009 at 6:24:17 PM

well good, its nice to read that some people have intregrity.. and dont sell out..
takai writes:
on August 4th, 2009 at 6:56:26 PM

agreed
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 4th, 2009 at 7:02:53 PM

The only Darko film is the first one.

Like, why go and f*ck up a mediocre film with another film which isn't even remotely near the mediocrity of the first one?!
synthetic1985 writes:
on August 4th, 2009 at 8:20:51 PM

a 3rd donnie darko?...and i thought i was a sell out...richard kelly is a smart man...he knows how pathetic these people are when it comes to stupid sh*t like this...pretty typical though...you create something, and if it gets famous...these famous/rich fans try to 'continue' it after you've left it where you thought it should end...and that's where they ruin it...but no matter...just don't pay attention to those ruining types...pretend they don't exist...it's better to not give this remake or sequel sh*t so much attention...there's better things to do than feed into dumb sequel or remake news
lostwarrior writes:
on August 4th, 2009 at 8:57:53 PM

@Spooky(gayboy)cupcakes.how the f*ck is Darko a mediocre film. southland tales perhaps.... but Darko come the f*ck on, gurl...
Ronsauce writes:
on August 4th, 2009 at 9:52:34 PM

Ugh...if he finds some way of going back in time and stopping himself from ever making the first one, then I'll be happy.
minkowski writes:
on August 4th, 2009 at 10:10:27 PM

I agree Spooky. DD is definitely a different kind of film, a more personal project for Kelly. But simply being different doesn't make a film special or better.

In fact, DD is a total mess, and makes literally no objective sense. It's like reading the future through tea leaves. It's filled with so many open threads and unfinished plot sub-elements. It has the disjointed narrative of a dream, and maybe that's the point, but instead I get the feeling DD is really just all the disparate ideas and thoughts Kelly had rattling around in his brain, a brown bag jumble of leftovers from his years as a teenager.

DD is like a box of jigsaw puzzle pieces. None of the pieces are from the same damned puzzle, but some fool makes a picture anwyay. Or tries. So props to kelly for getting something of an image, a narrative out of those pieces, but let's fact the truth: DD isn't a coherent story, and the only thing that I took out of the film, the pnly element that has stuck with me, is the forced eighties nostalgia.

When I first watched it, I thought it was a cool story, but the with each separate re-viewing my interest and respect waned. With truly good movies, or films I truly love, repeat viewing brings the film closer and more into focus. I usually wear those films out. With DD, by the fourth viewing in so many years, I realized there was nothing left and after that, for some odd and inexplicable reason, I no longer cared about DD.

Sure, teenagers will find that the film resonates more with their hungry libido, frustrated trek to discover their identity and raging social angst (I guess) but for older folks, DD is just pretty damned empty. Some films fully refill continuously, and those are the true joys, the miracles of 'celluloid'. Some are like one single beer. Once you drink the stuff, the can's empty and dry. All you've got is a cheap container ready for recycling.

And since then, Kelly has bombed. I have no faith in this guy to EVER deliver. I'll reevaluate once I see The Box, but that sordid foul stench of a putrescent movie Southland Tales has forever flushed what little respect I had for Kelly right down the sh*tter. WTF was the dude thinking? Will he ever make a film that isn't a bizarre, disjointed mess of innuendo and off the wall antics?

Time to f*cking grow up, Kelly! Grow up or get up and go.
SACdaddy writes:
on August 5th, 2009 at 10:06:58 AM

I only watched the original once, and although I was impressed, I never really wanted to watch it again. I had the same reaction to Lost Highway. Sequels to movies that don't make much sense don't make much sense either. Remember Matrix Revolutions.
PrevalentMind writes:
on August 5th, 2009 at 11:37:49 AM

Yeah Darko is a different flick, but I always like what you're left to think about after Darko- the thing is I figured that the disjointedness was from the cuts the studio made after 9/11...but once I saaw the directors cut and all that was reinserted it's still disjointed and a little sloppy around the end. But I wouldnt say this is a mediocre flick. It's pretty compelling viewing and hooks you from start to finish and demands repeat viewings...but it's just one of those films that doesn't know how to end it's ideas and it leaves you with bitter taste of disappointment.

Seriously who remembers the first time they saw it? Creepy, funny, f*cked up, twisted, you always wanted to know what was going on- YOU LOVE IT! And then the last 15 minutes f*cks it up for everyone and the story threads go all over the friggin place.
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on August 5th, 2009 at 1:01:31 PM

hahahha well that settles that then - NEXT!
ACTIONFIGURE writes:
on August 6th, 2009 at 10:34:05 AM

Richard Kelly has trouble sticking to a cohesive storyline. With that said, "The Box" hold a much promise for him...He's a great filmmaker in the making but We'll have to wait and see.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved