WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

James Cameron Not Interested in Making a Superhero Film

Posted: August 4th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
James Cameron Not Interested in Making a Superhero FilmSubmit Comment
Director James Cameron has previously provided Sony with a script for their "Spider-Man" movie, but it was turned down because it was considered too violent. Sam Raimi's version was eventually greenlit and the rest is history.

Now, MTV News caught up with Cameron to find out if he would ever be interested in helming a superhero flick. "Spider-Man was the only one I ever wanted to do," he said. "I wasn't really personally that driven to do a superhero movie per se, but I wanted to do Spider-Man because he was my guy when I was 14. Spider-Man was the sh*t and everybody else sucked."

Raimi was just re-signed for "Spider-Man 4," but there are plenty of other heroes who need a good director to bring them to the big screen. "Even though I admire some of the other films, I don't feel the need to jump on that bandwagon," Cameron explained.

Source: MTV News


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 28 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
acslaterson writes:
on August 4th, 2009 at 6:10:10 PM

No AQUAMAN?!?!?! NNNNNNOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!

Haha, like he needs to do anything unoriginal.
lostwarrior writes:
on August 4th, 2009 at 6:32:12 PM

too violent. what the f*ck.. Raimi did a good job with the 1st one, but still. Cameron would of done a lot better. but thats just my opinion..
OneTime writes:
on August 4th, 2009 at 6:33:00 PM

anythin this guy touches turns to gold.
lostwarrior writes:
on August 4th, 2009 at 6:35:58 PM

^^^which is why avatar will be better than most expect it to be...
Arlo11 writes:
on August 4th, 2009 at 6:37:53 PM

DUDE! He already made the highest grossing movie of all time in Auqaman! :P Props to those who get it ;)
acslaterson writes:
on August 4th, 2009 at 6:39:58 PM

Does anyone know where Cameron's Spidey script is at on the net?
DoucheNozzle writes:
on August 4th, 2009 at 6:43:54 PM

Well, I guess my dream of a James Cameron directed remake of Tank Girl will never come to fruition. *Sighs*
DoucheNozzle writes:
on August 4th, 2009 at 6:53:49 PM

Acslaterson, go to [http://dantom.altervista.org/spider_ing_script.html] to see James Cameron's scriptment along with the storyboards he made to go along with it. A very cool read.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 4th, 2009 at 6:58:14 PM

Give him aquaman! he can live in the titanic!
acslaterson writes:
on August 4th, 2009 at 7:37:49 PM

Thanks man!
synthetic1985 writes:
on August 4th, 2009 at 8:11:59 PM

omg i was just looking at the pictures alone while skim reading cameron's version...wtf hollywood??? lol...oh well...not like rebooting it too soon is gonna hurt it much right?...my favorite thing about the whole idea of his script is that it seemed throughout the whole movie...peter was narrating...during fights or talks with people or while spying on people or something...and that's what the movie should have been...just like another episode...series of action and drama, but always more action
Ryanlawson writes:
on August 4th, 2009 at 8:15:49 PM

pretty sure cameron kicked spideys ass with aquamans opening yeww
lostwarrior writes:
on August 4th, 2009 at 8:59:33 PM

@synthetic, exactly. Camerons script is really good, still reading it right now.. just wondering who he would of gotten to play spidey.
Ranger writes:
on August 4th, 2009 at 9:22:31 PM

Well, not Lohan. She's going to be busy with Seagal in Machete!

Well, why have an excellent, EXCELLENT, new take, original, realistic Spidey with Cameron when you can have Raimi f*ck another one with EMO Peter, co-starring Kiki Drunkst at the complete, back-stabbing, cheating c*nt?!
Ranger writes:
on August 4th, 2009 at 9:23:15 PM

HEY SONY! SWALLOW THIS... I CAN MAKE MORE!
minkowski writes:
on August 4th, 2009 at 9:45:37 PM

"Haha, like he [does] anything unoriginal."

Oh, that's so not true.
minkowski writes:
on August 4th, 2009 at 9:53:07 PM

I wonder if they rejected Cameron's script not because it's too violent, but because it's too campy. It's like Cameron wrote the scriptment based on a bunch of ancient corny Spiderman comics he read when he was a kid.

Raimi often sucks, but at least his first Spiderman film is a more modern interpretation.
Ranger writes:
on August 4th, 2009 at 9:59:24 PM

I liked the first Spidey as well.
That_Genius writes:
on August 4th, 2009 at 10:52:11 PM

lol I was like but didn't he already do Aquaman but then I realised it was only in Entourage...

:/
REAL_DIRECTOR writes:
on August 5th, 2009 at 12:23:28 AM

SHUT UP CAMERON ..YOUR EGO BORES ME. YOU HAD 2 HITS, AND NUMEROUS FLOPS.
telur writes:
on August 5th, 2009 at 1:44:55 AM

oh yeah? 2 Hits? Titanic and T2

so what the NUMEROUS FLOPS?
lost_addict writes:
on August 5th, 2009 at 2:08:13 AM

looks like he's trying to grab some boobs in the photo...
minkowski writes:
on August 5th, 2009 at 2:12:53 AM

No, that's the pose he strikes when he's about to pull some serious sh*t. Like Avatar.
Ranger writes:
on August 5th, 2009 at 2:37:03 AM

You may be right Mink. But that bugger is stealing my 'Boob Grab Pose!'
minkowski writes:
on August 5th, 2009 at 2:56:26 AM

lol
synthetic1985 writes:
on August 5th, 2009 at 5:51:39 AM

i liked spiderman 1 too...the 2nd was ok i suppose...but still peter wasn't narrating throughout the whole thing...and i most definitely didn't like that they killed off characters immediately.....i'd rather they would have kept them alive and THEN killed later in the sequels as it nice to see familiar faces return with new ones...but these guys get so fed up with it i dunno how the hell it breaks up...look at what happened with michael keaton for batman 3?...imagine if danny elfman and tim burton didn't have that grudge against each other for a couple years and had worked together on batman 3...would you agree that it would have been a lot better?...in my honest opinion...i would say not...tim burton did a very nice job...as well as giving his artistic genius views to it
synthetic1985 writes:
on August 5th, 2009 at 5:53:37 AM

lol...i mean...i think batman 3 would have turned out better with tim burton directing and stuff instead of joel schumacher...that's like bryan singer to brett ratner on x-men
padfootbob writes:
on August 6th, 2009 at 5:28:29 AM

Didn't David Fincher write an R-rated script for Spider-Man as well? Would've been amazing.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved