WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Stephen Sommers on "GI Joe" Sequel

Posted: August 4th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Stephen Sommers on "GI Joe" SequelSubmit Comment
Even though "GI Joe: The Rise of Cobra" has yet to hit theaters (August 7th), it has already experienced more criticism than some already-released films. Around the time the trailers started to come out, fans made up their minds that this movie will be awful, but people who have actually seen "GI Joe" are saying the complete opposite. In fact, they love the movie.

And apparently, director Stephen Sommers loves it as well, since he's already making plans to make a sequel. "The mythology is all there, there's a lot of interesting stuff," he told Cinematical. "Like, something you don't know yet is who killed Hard Master. I mean, the hardcore G.I. Joe fans know that it wasn't Storm Shadow."

He continued: "But I hope I get to do a sequel, first of all because I had so much fun with these actors. When you watch the movie or come [to the junket], all of the press can see how much fun we had making the movie. I go into these movies knowing it's a marathon, not a sprint, and I won't work with *ssholes. We had a blast it was really hard, but we had a lot of fun on the set, so to get to hang out with these people again would be just heaven."

Click here to read more about "GI Joe: The Rise of Cobra."

Source: Cinematical


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 22 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
acslaterson writes:
on August 4th, 2009 at 6:12:24 PM

I am getting drunk and going to see this, maybe it will help?
FBO writes:
on August 4th, 2009 at 6:33:29 PM

My g/f wants to go. She didn't want to see terminator; didn't want to see star trek; doesn't want to go to the dollar theater to see soloist but this she wants to see. Whiskey Tango Foxtrot
takai writes:
on August 4th, 2009 at 6:58:47 PM

I think it's going to be badass.

But it'd probably be SUPERbadass if acslaterson went drunk.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 4th, 2009 at 6:59:02 PM

acslaterson

I would only get drunk, high, and shot up on heroin before seeing this.
DoucheNozzle writes:
on August 4th, 2009 at 7:03:22 PM

All of the main fanboy sites around the web (AICN, CHUD, Latino Review, etc.) have been head-over-heels about it, but I'm still weary of the possibility of major suckage. Hopefully it is fun.
Dre-EL writes:
on August 4th, 2009 at 7:17:51 PM

Im hoping that maybe its just the trailers that suck.

You know they dont want to give anything away maybe this movie rocks. Im gonna go see it tomorrow with an open mind and a few beers.
L Z writes:
on August 4th, 2009 at 8:43:31 PM

You guys crack me up...It's a "Popcorn" movie! These movies aren't made to win awards or anything! I mean come on...it's based off of a freakin action figure for christ sakes! lol
I'm going to see it with an open mind.
I bet you even money it's going to be a hit!
Watch and see...
acslaterson writes:
on August 4th, 2009 at 10:29:18 PM

Wow, 91% so far on Rotten Tomatoes! Lowest expectation movie of the year is looking like it is going to be the biggest surprise of the summer next to The Hangover! Here is hoping!!!
minkowski writes:
on August 4th, 2009 at 11:18:07 PM

Aclaterson: most of the people on RT responsible for the 91% are guys! Wait till the frumpy old women and men weigh in.
FBO writes:
on August 5th, 2009 at 12:29:06 AM

RT never has it right. Most the post come from second rate newspaper critics from places like Ncest, WV or BumFck, Maine that say stupid sh*t like, Jurassic Park wasn't realistic 'cause everybody knows that T rexs are green.
VDODSON writes:
on August 5th, 2009 at 12:48:37 AM

The movie is called GI JOE. What the f*ck are people expecting, the next Citizen Kane? Its supposed to be a loud, fun filled movie. I will be seeing it, should be a nice break from reality.
telur writes:
on August 5th, 2009 at 1:40:44 AM

yeah get a life VDODSON writes not just on the net
minkowski writes:
on August 5th, 2009 at 2:07:37 AM

Why does every fool invoke the straw man of Citizen Kane, when defending a film, a film most rational people agree will suck ass, just because the person in question doesn't want to hate something he's determined to like?

Is this just a f*cking rhetorical question, or is there an answer?
BrundleFly writes:
on August 5th, 2009 at 2:50:17 AM

Just because a movie is 'fun' doesn't mean it's allowed to suck ass.
VDODSON writes:
on August 5th, 2009 at 5:13:58 AM

f*ck you Telur, i defended your dumb terrorist ass yesterday when someone critisized your grammar. Mink- The reason I threw Citizen Kane in the mix is because of its popularity as a earnest/serious film. GI JOE is exactly the opposite, and should not be expected to be something else.
VDODSON writes:
on August 5th, 2009 at 5:16:37 AM

Alarm green, MOPP 2. Finally get to get out of this damn mask.
VDODSON writes:
on August 5th, 2009 at 5:23:39 AM

My apoligies Telur, i misread your posting. Good day to you.
SACdaddy writes:
on August 5th, 2009 at 9:07:39 AM

@acslteron: This is definitely a nonsober affair. I plan on getting blown out of my mind and having good time no matter how bad(or good) it is. I wasn't really interested until I saw Stom Shadow "check in" with a couple of throwing star in the last trailer I saw. Scarlett is looking pretty hot on that motorcycle too!
SACdaddy writes:
on August 5th, 2009 at 9:38:08 AM

I still have a special place in my heart for the comic mini series in which Storm Shadow and Snake Eyes team up. I think that was the first time I had ever seen a major character (SS) get killed in a comic. God I hope they don't f*ck this movie up too bad. That would be a great storyline to get into in the sequel.
BlueMobius writes:
on August 5th, 2009 at 1:42:14 PM

@Mink I think people compare films like G.I. Joe against Citizen Kane mostly due to the fact that AFI makes the same delineation between "good" films (i.e. Citizen Kane) and entertaining popcorn movies. I am very critical and I've taken to saying that a film can be well-made but terrible (eg. Harry Potter 6) or awful and highly entertaining (eg. Fast and Furious). I don't think it always matters if the film is "good" or well-made if we're entertained while we sit there. I'm going into G.I. Joe expecting a 20% film that will have things blow up, a few corny jokes, and Snake Eyes (because why would we want to see anything else?!). Beyond that, I don't care if it's good. The fact that critics so far are really enjoying it actually makes me hope we have a good film/franchise on our hands. After all, Sommers made a great, bad, entertaining film in The Mummy...don't see why he can't do it again with the Joes.
ironhide-autobot writes:
on August 5th, 2009 at 2:35:13 PM

might be alright
synthetic1985 writes:
on August 6th, 2009 at 6:24:13 PM

phew...well now i just feel relieved...cuz i got high before watching transformers 2...and that was not a mistake lol

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved