WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Video: Heath Ledger's Directorial Debut

Posted: August 4th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Video: Heath LedgerSubmit Comment
It's sad to think that Heath Ledger's directorial debut comes after his passing, but today we have the music video for Modest Mouse's "King Rat" for which Ledger came up with the concept and directed.

In January of 2007, while visiting his homeland of Australia, Heath Ledger presented Isaac Brock of Modest Mouse with an idea to direct a video for their yet-to-be-released song "King Rat." Heath's vision, brave and unapologetic in its nature, would marry his love of bold and original music with his impassioned stance against the illegal commercial whale hunts taking place of the coast of Australia each year. Always one to operate from his heart and take a stand for what he cared deeply about, Heath's intention was to raise awareness on modern whaling practices through a potent visual piece without having to say a word. It was his way to let the story, in its candid reversal, speak for itself.

The video was fully conceived down to the last detail but unfinished when Heath passed away in January of 2008. In the interest of fully realizing Heath's final work as a visual artist, THE MASSES (a film and music company which Heath was a partner in) finished the video in his honor, with the support and advocacy of Isaac Brock.

Music Video:

If you cannot see the player, click here.


Source: MySpace


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 35 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
OneTime writes:
on August 4th, 2009 at 6:31:00 PM

i wonder what kind of drugs he was on when he made this..
borat writes:
on August 4th, 2009 at 6:40:34 PM

i thought he died
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 4th, 2009 at 6:59:59 PM

once again, borat taking the keys off my keyboard...
GrandpasWeiner writes:
on August 4th, 2009 at 7:21:48 PM

ridiculous, a whale could never steer a boat
KirkLazerus writes:
on August 4th, 2009 at 7:56:50 PM

f*cking Whales
FBO writes:
on August 4th, 2009 at 8:02:24 PM

Wow
Elrey16 writes:
on August 4th, 2009 at 8:53:38 PM

heath ledger isn't dead, he's making music videos with tupac shakur in the caribbean
HiddenComic writes:
on August 4th, 2009 at 9:06:09 PM

i love me some MM
lostwarrior writes:
on August 4th, 2009 at 9:11:54 PM

at Spooky, what the f*ck little one, all u do is bash sh*t on here, and im sorry but your probably a little too young to understand this. Go enhale some gasoline and call it a nite.. k little gurl...
HiddenComic writes:
on August 4th, 2009 at 9:26:46 PM

ouch-town.. population you bro
Ranger writes:
on August 4th, 2009 at 9:27:32 PM

@GrandpasWeiner - guessing you don't know about Rosie O'Donnell then?
minkowski writes:
on August 4th, 2009 at 9:33:21 PM

Well I heard John Goodman owns a trawler. Does that count?
Captain Rogaine writes:
on August 4th, 2009 at 9:36:21 PM

Modest Mouse and Heath Ledger. Looks like and old Beatles music video. Trippy but the meaning is pretty easy to spot. As much as I love a steak I just don't see the point of hunting an endangered animal down for a meal. Gave me the chills when that Whale blood comes pouring out of the ship on Whale Wars. Crazy Japanese need to find other crazy meals.
minkowski writes:
on August 4th, 2009 at 9:41:10 PM

In all honesty. . .Bay and Ratner directed music videos, so let's not get all weepy that the next Soderbergh died way, way too young. Directing a flash cartoon music video isn't the same as directing Memento or something. Especially if he didn't do the storyboards. So, nice job Heath, it's a shame you died before you had the chance to develop your ability.

Note to all the scrip kiddies: prescription drugs are no f*cking joke. This is what happenes before your time.

In other news, Michael Jackson was a vampire. Doc*ments that surfaced recently indicate Jackson's personal physician did not in fact over-prescribe prescription drugs, but instead drove a wooden stake through Jackson's heart. More news as it develops.
minkowski writes:
on August 4th, 2009 at 9:42:17 PM

" This is what happens when you croak before your time."
Ranger writes:
on August 4th, 2009 at 10:14:34 PM

Does anyone really croak before their time? I mean... if you're dead... I figure it's your time.

It's like looking for 'down to Earth' people. With the exception of any astronauts orbiting... aren't we ALL down to Earth?!

boazfrankel writes:
on August 4th, 2009 at 10:39:23 PM

WP, you're totally wrong.
Heath Ledger's directorial debut is the video clip for Ben Harper's Morning Yearning, which he wrote for Ledger's daughter 3 years ago by Ledger's request.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LlNGEpief3Q
Ranger writes:
on August 4th, 2009 at 10:51:23 PM

ACTUALLY his REAL, FIRST Directorial Debut is he and I filming this girl named Barbara taking her clothes off in this fort we built together as kids. Heath ran the video camera. I stuck my finger up into Barbara... and she cried.
minkowski writes:
on August 4th, 2009 at 10:56:22 PM

"Does anyone really croak before their time? I mean... if you're dead... I figure it's your time. "

It's what they call a 'figure of speech'. A verbal cliche. You know that, dude. lol. By when it's someone's time, events outside their control 'conspire' to end someone's life. A drunk running a red light. A piano or plane engine falling on your bed. Cancer.

Look, if you're young and you mix drugs, OD or f*ck Lindsey Lohan, you're on your knees, begging the pissed off bitch that made the universe to kill you right then and there.

And that, kiddies, is all about 'dying before your time'. Remember, just say no to drugs and hepatitus.
Ranger writes:
on August 4th, 2009 at 11:02:58 PM

... and Lohan.
Ranger writes:
on August 4th, 2009 at 11:03:43 PM

'Don't brush your teeth with a brick!'
Another fav. of mine.
Action_Bastard writes:
on August 4th, 2009 at 11:06:59 PM

Damn, That was awesome
minkowski writes:
on August 4th, 2009 at 11:10:26 PM

Well, how about a poll:

Would you rather:

a) brush your teeth with a brick

b) eat Lindsey Lohan out

?

Ranger writes:
on August 4th, 2009 at 11:13:41 PM

Oh f*ck Mink... NO BRAINER! Give me a f*cking brick NOW!!!
frankii writes:
on August 5th, 2009 at 12:13:02 AM

that was disturbing
frankii writes:
on August 5th, 2009 at 12:16:20 AM

how 'bout brushing lindsey's teeth with my prick.... oops! i mean brick
Charlie9 writes:
on August 5th, 2009 at 1:50:15 AM

If he was still with us this video would only be known to fans of MM or HL, WP wouldn't have even bothered with the story, not to say he didn't do a good job, and the songs awesome too.
Ranger writes:
on August 5th, 2009 at 2:36:06 AM

@frankii - lol.
Sonic writes:
on August 5th, 2009 at 7:49:33 AM

The video is good but i don't like the song
Ranger writes:
on August 5th, 2009 at 2:25:01 PM

Yeah... I thought it was kind of fishy too.
Ranger writes:
on August 5th, 2009 at 3:27:17 PM

(groan)
padfootbob writes:
on August 5th, 2009 at 4:43:37 PM

The scene where the Joker makes the news anchor read his demands for the video camera was his directorial debut... kinda. Chris Nolan wasn't even there!
OneTime writes:
on August 5th, 2009 at 7:00:33 PM

ROFL..i wish all you people were my RL friends.
Ranger writes:
on August 6th, 2009 at 1:16:24 AM

I'll be your RL friend OneTime!
OneTime writes:
on August 9th, 2009 at 12:54:06 AM

i wanna party with lindsay lohan and amy whinehouse.not gunna lie.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved