WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Brett Ratner Done with "X-Men" Movies

Posted: August 4th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Brett Ratner Done with "X-Men" MoviesSubmit Comment
Brett Ratner, the man behind "X-Men: The Last Stand," has revealed to MTV News that he doesn't plan to direct any other movies based on Marvel characters.

"The thing with the 'X-Men' universe is, I feel like I've already done it," he explained. "I'd love to see [Steven] Spielberg do it. A Spielberg 'X-Men' movie would be something I'd love to see."

Ratner is not done with comic-book movies, just Marvel ones. He's currently attached to Rob Liefeld's signature series "Youngblood," which follows the adventures of a high-profile team of superheroes sanctioned and overseen by the US government, led by Shaft -- a former FBI agent also happens to be an expert archer.

He added that he remains a big fan of Marvel and the X-Men mutants. "I heard a rumor that they were going to do a young 'X-Men,' which would be great," Ratner said of "First Class." "I would love to see a 'Magneto' movie personally, because I love the Holocaust backstory. I'd love to see a 'Storm' movie, too."

Source: MTV News


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 43 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Ranger writes:
on August 4th, 2009 at 3:02:18 AM

Thank God!
WV-Films writes:
on August 4th, 2009 at 3:20:52 AM

Oh no. What ever will we do....
telur writes:
on August 4th, 2009 at 3:40:11 AM

Brett Ratner Done with "X-Men" Movies........because nobody want he do again
DoucheNozzle writes:
on August 4th, 2009 at 3:50:43 AM

A Youngblood movie would be perfect for Bret Ratner. A piece of sh*t hack helming a movie based on a pile of sh*t comic book series. It is like they were made for one another. Now if they got Keanu Reeves and John Travolta to sign on...
BlueMobius writes:
on August 4th, 2009 at 3:52:16 AM

And all the angels rejoiced!
minkowski writes:
on August 4th, 2009 at 4:49:15 AM

What an idiot. He reminds me of the guy sentenced to life in prison for murder. He goes in and tells all of the other prisoners about how he's totally done with free society. "Been there, done that".
DoucheNozzle writes:
on August 4th, 2009 at 5:05:30 AM

Hahahaha... Exactly, Mink. *sshole thinks he is "above" doing something he absolutely failed at.
johnny_boy writes:
on August 4th, 2009 at 5:10:01 AM

f*ck bret ratner. f*ck him up his stupid-no-talent ass without the vaseline.
bacci40 writes:
on August 4th, 2009 at 5:22:50 AM

if there truly were a god, ratner would have said he was done with directing

this is just spin on his part

even the evil rothman doesnt want that hack anywhere near the xmen franchise again
lost_addict writes:
on August 4th, 2009 at 6:48:08 AM

so i guess 'x-men 4 the last rush hour' is out of the question??damm,i was so looking forward to see jackie chan as cyclops.
PrevalentMind writes:
on August 4th, 2009 at 9:54:39 AM

SAY IT AINT SOOOOO BRETT!!!! On another note if he's one of the countless morons who think Magneto would be a good spinoff he deserves to leave the series. I love the villain- but we know his backstory already, his motivations, his world view... and the rest is a one note bad guy. What else can we do with that character that could fill 2 hours....

...nevermind I just saw a flash of countless FX shots with a CGI Ian face blowing stuff up.
Johnny Neat writes:
on August 4th, 2009 at 10:12:53 AM

For a second I though it said done with movies, but then I reread it and was once again disappointed with that douche bag.
acslaterson writes:
on August 4th, 2009 at 10:30:19 AM

Is this interviewer the same one that asked Bana if he would do Hulk or Star Trek again? f*cking retards.
coldplayesence writes:
on August 4th, 2009 at 11:18:05 AM

We're all done with him anyway
SACdaddy writes:
on August 4th, 2009 at 11:56:48 AM

Go back to making Chris Tucker movies ya moop! Oh yeah you f*cked up that gig with Rush Hour 3. Go back to producing Prison Break! Oh yeah, you f*cked that up too.
ACTIONFIGURE writes:
on August 4th, 2009 at 12:00:25 PM

Well, there might be proof of miracles after all.
Ranger writes:
on August 4th, 2009 at 12:23:03 PM

@Mink - lol... best said!
Bob82 writes:
on August 4th, 2009 at 1:08:34 PM

Ranger, those were my exact same words! I prefer to believe there was no "X-Men 3", the same thing I do with other horrible sequels.
Ranger writes:
on August 4th, 2009 at 1:14:28 PM

Well... Hollywood in their continued arrogance didn't think they needed Singer for X3, so they didn't care to wait 'til he was done directing Supes Returns. It's clear to all of us now that they should have waited. Having said that... with all the mis-directed confusion via the TONS of mutants in X3... I'm not even sure Singer could have saved that can of worms.
Movieman188 writes:
on August 4th, 2009 at 1:53:38 PM

God has finally answered my prayers.
thedotsays writes:
on August 4th, 2009 at 2:17:11 PM

Well, the world can't be all that righted now. Lohan's still breathing.
Davestar3000@yahoo.com writes:
on August 4th, 2009 at 2:25:43 PM

Love how every one is on Bryan Singer nuts, this guy f'd up X-Men in so many ways and then when Brett took over and made it the biggest xmen out the 3 all the haters cant say any thing after box office scores. Why is every one on Singer's nuts really have you guys seen Valkarye? He f*cked up Superman for crying out loud. SUPERMAN, IF YOU GET TO DIRECT A SUPERMAN MOVIE AND YOU MAKE IT SUCK, YOU SHOULD GO TO HELL FOR THAT. SUPERMAN!!!!
kmccarney88 writes:
on August 4th, 2009 at 3:07:57 PM

Is DaveStar3000 Brett Ratner in diguise or is he merely the slow kid of this forum? Everyone hates on Brett Ratner because he is a hack and X3 was a sh*tshow, nobody gives a f*ck how much money it made! If I recall, Transformers 2 made a sh*tload of cash this summer, doesn't mean that film was any good. Same thing with Terminator Salvation (Even James Cameron couldn't resist making fun of that hackjob) Oh course you probably liked those films as well.
Davestar, can't you see you are clearly in the minority of people who actually like X3, perhaps the problem is with your taste in movies, and not us hating a director who ruined the best Superhero franchise to date.

And I love how Ratner is like "I feel like I've already done it". My ass!! He doesn't want to do another one because he already has enough people hating him as it is.
synthetic1985 writes:
on August 4th, 2009 at 3:12:13 PM

well that's just a common problem with these comic-to-movie adaptations...they want it to be realistic, and take out all the cheesy stuff...and then when they put their own cheesy stuff...it's temporarily entertaining, but majorly disappointing in the long run...it's not hard to fit in characters with a better script...it's just these guys want to give it the best realistic version possible...and they'll go any lengths to support that...and i'll go any lengths to continue talking sh*t for those who don't do it right...i mean, i haven't even read the comics before...and it's easy enough to figure out that the 90s cartoon had better truth than that...and why in X3 at the end battle, why were there several mutants that crawled like a bunch of toads or reptiles?...i don't think that was ever there in the comics either...what i think happened was that since all other mutants couldn't be fit in, or they couldn't find the time to fit them in...they shortened it up and changed a lot of stuff...and rushed it because fans desperately screamed for another sequel...not the original fans...fans of the movie versions...and so they continue to please only the movie fans....it's no wonder that they'd buy into a magneto prequel....speaking of which...was magneto in the holocaust in the comics?
MYVAGHURTZ writes:
on August 4th, 2009 at 3:15:32 PM

Davestar3000 your a dirty c*nt. And Ratner is a smelly twat of a director.
synthetic1985 writes:
on August 4th, 2009 at 3:21:53 PM

still....x-men 4: mr. sinister....x-men 5 and 6: apocalypse...wouldn't be too bad of an idea...but wtf does 20th century fox care when they're too busy making p*ssy sh*t like magneto prequels and other prequels that original fans just don't care to see?...so some lucky young actor, new or old, gets credit for that role?...and we see pretty much another 'wolverine' but in the same failed style for magneto?...i think i'll pass
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on August 4th, 2009 at 5:06:04 PM

Glad to see he decided to do us all a favor.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on August 4th, 2009 at 5:32:09 PM

There, now if we could just get him to stop directing ANY movies period.
FBO writes:
on August 4th, 2009 at 7:07:46 PM

Yeah, I saw Valkyrie, LOVED the movie. But tell me what was it that you didn't like? Was it all the talking, the fact that a real director can film a movie without a million explosions? Was it the way the plot made sense? The big words they used? And if you want to talk about bad Superman Films lets talk about part 3 & 4 or World's Finest (youtube it, you'll die laughing).
Dre-EL writes:
on August 4th, 2009 at 7:22:04 PM

No more Xmen movies? Thank u God for these small favours.
synthetic1985 writes:
on August 4th, 2009 at 8:24:14 PM

wanna hear another scary thing?...i heard years ago that there was a part 7 8, and 9 for star wars...and that luke skywalker turns to the dark side and han solo learns the ways of the force lol....i looked down as i nodded my head in confusion heh...i remembered thinking 'well that just ruins everything luke skywalker represents'
FBO writes:
on August 4th, 2009 at 9:00:09 PM

Lucas almost did parts 7,8,9 in the mid 90's
Ranger writes:
on August 4th, 2009 at 9:10:10 PM

@Davestar3000 - thx. for posting. What exactly 'sucked' about Superman Returns?
minkowski writes:
on August 4th, 2009 at 9:31:22 PM

ranger, dude, are you f*cking kidding me?? WB believes whoelheartedly SR sucks, so why is it a big deal if a guy an the street feels the same?

And I agree. Singer's alright, but the hero worship of this guy is ridiculous. He excels at dramatic narratives, but when he takes on a superhero film, he gets them WRONG. Not ratner wrong, just not in the correct spirit as the comics. Too slow, too boring, too talky and often melodramatic.
Ranger writes:
on August 4th, 2009 at 9:33:05 PM

And I heard about George Lucas having parts 7-9 decades ago (seriously). But I'm sure that was after the '77 (part 4) came out and he realized he had a hit on his hands. He still insists he ALWAYS was going to do parts 5 and 6 (which is bullsh*t because Luke spent the better part of #4 trying to fight Han for a chance to f*ck Lea... Luke's sister).

Sure George... sure thing.
Ranger writes:
on August 4th, 2009 at 9:34:11 PM

Maybe Ratner will finally do that film short on Gary Coleman, called:

'Wha'cho talkn' 'bout Suicide?!'
Ranger writes:
on August 4th, 2009 at 9:37:36 PM

@Mink. I agree. I just don't think Supes Returns sucks as badly as it has been made out. I even concede that Singer would have been screwed had they left X3 for him. That was f*cked from the get-go. But Singer... had his intro. to Supes. Did a few things overdue. But overall could/should it have been better... YES! As I've posted before... Supes seems to get the lazy treatment from Hollywood. From Reeves tv version, to Lois and Clark... Smallville is a f*cking drag (no really everyone... it sucks too much sh*t to mention!), and SR. Supes should be moving planets. Leading the JLA. Not all Singer's fault. But I certainly don't think he f*cked up SR.
minkowski writes:
on August 4th, 2009 at 11:15:27 PM

Oh, I totally agree with you on the Supes thing. Whihc is why I say they need to turn Death of Superman and the Return of Superman graphic novels into f*ck...ing...mov...ies! But they don't listen. Both of those are already written for the screen. you've got a badass film two and one, now all you need is some great origin sh*t.

getting kicked around by General Zod in a Lester Superman film is NOT epic, nor is playing deadly mind games with Luthor's latest wacky and preposterous plot device. I mean a new continent?? He's going to wipe the wealthiest people on the planet! Why destroy trillion dollar real estate in Manhattan so you can own....a graveyard of basaltic rocks!? BAAAAAD writing.
HiddenComic writes:
on August 4th, 2009 at 11:57:46 PM

f*ckin hallelujah
Ranger writes:
on August 5th, 2009 at 12:06:58 AM

@Mink - yep. I liked that Supes Trilogy story that was floating on WP here a while back. He ends up being the last on Earth. That... or his death... ANY Supes other that the crap they've been troweling.
FBO writes:
on August 5th, 2009 at 12:22:05 AM

Yeah Mark Hammill had an interviews on mtv news about a storyline being re-created. I like Singer a lot. I think X-men 1 and X-men 2 would have been entertaining to me had I not loved the saturday morning cartoon. See, I am not down with reading comics, boring to me, but give me a book and I'll read that. So everything a know about X-Men comes from the cartoon. And as much as I like Singer, I think he went to far off the canon to really enjoy.
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on August 5th, 2009 at 1:21:13 PM

the only good thing from Brett Ratner is the Rush Hour films and really only numeber 2 was good, 3 was okay but number 1 sucked!
Ranger writes:
on August 5th, 2009 at 3:28:51 PM

@SG - I'd rather see Chris Tucker stick pins in his eyes then run out into traffic. But, we all have our opinions my friend... lol.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved