WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Cliffhanger" Sequel is Being Written

Posted: August 3rd, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Cliffhanger" Sequel is Being WrittenSubmit Comment
FirstShowing attended a screening of the 1987 film "Monster Squad" at the Aero Theatre in Santa Monica, where after the movie, a Q&A session was held with director Fred Dekker and writer Shane Black. When Dekker was asked what he's currently working on, he replied by saying: "I'm currently writing Cliffhanger 2."

Back in May we heard that StudioCanal had teamed up with producer Neal Moritz to reboot Sylvester Stallone's 1993 film. The idea was to turn it into a big-budget thriller that will center on a group of young climbers.

At the time, Moritz was looking for a writer with a plan of having the new "Cliffhanger" in front of the cameras by 2010. Apparently Dekker is the writer to make it happen, but when he said "Cliffhanger 2," he made it seem like it will be a sequel, rather than a reboot.

Why is that important? In February of 2008, several sources were reporting that Stallone was interested in doing a "Cliffhanger" sequel.

Source: FirstShowing


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 25 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
VDODSON writes:
on August 3rd, 2009 at 6:54:00 AM

Sounds f*cking stupid.
lost_addict writes:
on August 3rd, 2009 at 6:57:08 AM

^^this
Horsemoney5 writes:
on August 3rd, 2009 at 9:29:46 AM

What the hell... John Lithgows rises again!
Bob82 writes:
on August 3rd, 2009 at 9:48:09 AM

It's funny how we get information of both Stallone and Schwarzenegger sequels of previous action movies at the same time. I liked "Cliffhanger" a lot, and it was a perfect comeback for Stallone, along with "Demolition Man", a classic.
acslaterson writes:
on August 3rd, 2009 at 10:31:28 AM

Another sweep of the Razzies!!!
Rich k writes:
on August 3rd, 2009 at 12:37:34 PM

not a good idea
synthetic1985 writes:
on August 3rd, 2009 at 1:15:35 PM

dumb idea...if anything it'll make the first look way better than before
SACdaddy writes:
on August 3rd, 2009 at 3:46:31 PM

Without Stallone they should just name it Vertical Limit 2. Only call it Cliffhanger 2 if it has Stallone. First one was awesome BTW. Gonna be hard to follow up the onscreen chemistry between John Lithgowe's cheesy British bad guy and Travers, the idiot redneck Treasurey agent gone bad.
SACdaddy writes:
on August 3rd, 2009 at 4:00:16 PM

Leon's Death by Military Press scene in the original still ranks pretty high on my Lamest Ways to Kill a Black Guy in a Movie List. I've got it wedged between Sam Jackson's death by shark in Deep Blue Sea and Yaphet Kotto's death while protecting the whiney white chick in Alien.
Charlie9 writes:
on August 3rd, 2009 at 4:05:11 PM

Apollo Creeds death is up there, that was well lamey
blinkbomber writes:
on August 3rd, 2009 at 4:11:30 PM

Hell yeah! I hope it is a sequel! Cliffhanger rocks!!!
DoucheNozzle writes:
on August 3rd, 2009 at 4:33:23 PM

Hopefully Stallone does not waste his time with this unless the story is incredible / he directs. I would much rather him start on his Edgar Allen Poe film or (begin flamming on me) his supposedly in the works remake of Death Wish. I don't know, but I could see a Stallone Deathwish (Stallone starring and directing) being pretty damn cool.
mattcl23 writes:
on August 3rd, 2009 at 4:38:37 PM

I loved Cliffhanger alot, but a sequel seems like a stretch. I'm hoping that Stallone doesn't do this.
Ranger writes:
on August 3rd, 2009 at 4:42:24 PM

I've been in the mountains.
I've climbed mountains.
You can't do it half nude like Stallone (unless... you're Stallone of course).
minkowski writes:
on August 3rd, 2009 at 6:48:10 PM

When you're a hot-blooded Italian Stallion, you can do anything. You can get resurrected from a cryogenic chamber so you can fight Dennis Rodman, you can climb the Alps in your undeerwear, you can fight down a Soviet Superman who can level buildings with one punch and you can plow Sharon Stone's thighs.

God DAMN it must be good to be Stallone.
lostwarrior writes:
on August 3rd, 2009 at 7:04:52 PM

^^^ that was actually funny. cant believe it. Mink actually said something with out sound like a d*ck.. righton man...^^^
synthetic1985 writes:
on August 3rd, 2009 at 7:52:22 PM

i think stallone is smart enough to not piss off fans....i mean he's considering their thoughts after dropping 50 cent from the expendables....i don't think he'll have any part of this...there's just no reason for him to be...let them ruin it....straight to dvd if you ask me...SACdaddy, i'm with you on this one, i too think they should call it vertical limit 2 instead
synthetic1985 writes:
on August 3rd, 2009 at 8:00:51 PM

as cool as 'cliffhanger' sounds for a title name...it's best they don't tarnish that name...it's one thing to make a whole new version of something, but it's another thing when that something already exists and has credit that a new one couldn't pull off....it's not like that for all reboots, but this is different...compare tron 1 and tron 2 with cliffhanger 1 and 2....jeff bridges is there for tron 2...but stallone is not there for cliffhanger 2...it should fail miserably...studios aren't smart enough to figure that out...and i'm just an average guy....so that's REALLY sad...if anything, i would say as far as sequels go for stallone, i would say forget cliffhanger 2 and move on with another rambo, and another expendables...don't do cliffhanger 2 stallone!!...let the first continue to remain a legend
DoucheNozzle writes:
on August 3rd, 2009 at 8:21:07 PM

Mink, not trying to be an ass here, but Stallone fought Wesley Snipes in Demolition Man. To me, that makes him even more awesome than if he fought Rodman, because Stallone discredited Wesley's "Always bet on black" theory by freezing him with liquid nitrogen, then shattering his head by swiftly kicking it off. Yeah, Stallone is the man. "Always bet on Stallone, bitches!" Fun Fact: Stallone's first starring role was in a softcore pornography film called Party at Kitty and Stud's
Ranger writes:
on August 4th, 2009 at 1:56:14 AM

Yep... that's where The Italian Stallion c*m from.

@Mink - U had me at plow Sharon Stone's thighs!
vip3r22 writes:
on August 4th, 2009 at 9:42:33 AM

What's with Stallone and the sequels of his past movies? Back then, he was the sh*t. Rocky, Rambo, Cliffhanger, Demoliton Man, Judge Dredd, Daylight, Assassins, The Specialist, all classic movies. But they need to stay in past and be left alone. If Stallone comes back for this (a movie that shouldn't be done), then he might as well f*ck up all of his other movies too and do Judge Dredd 2, Demolition Man 2, and so on. If Hollywood just HAD to make these movies again, just bring him in as a cameo, like they should have done in Death Race, since he played Machine Gun Joe in Death Race 2000. Was pretty surprised that he wasn't brought in for that one, although I guess it would've been pretty hard to bring him in as Tyrese's grandfather or some sh*t.
vip3r22 writes:
on August 4th, 2009 at 9:45:58 AM

the last good movie he did in my opinion was "Eye See You"
Ranger writes:
on August 4th, 2009 at 1:07:09 PM

Ahh... also (better) known as: D-Tox (2002). I didn't know this movie existed Vip. I'll rent it sometime.

vip3r22 writes:
on August 4th, 2009 at 1:43:56 PM

if u enjoy watching a decent thriller, i'd get it. but if the guy at the video store doesn't know it, don't waste time looking for D-Tox, that was the overseas name for the movie.
Ranger writes:
on August 4th, 2009 at 9:30:57 PM

Thx. again.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved