WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Superman" Reboot is Back on Track

Posted: August 1st, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Superman" Reboot is Back on TrackSubmit Comment
I, like many of you, have completely given up on ever seeing another new Superman film. According to a recent lawsuit, Warner Bros has to have a new installment in production by 2011, but the studio says that it would need more time. And not only has Brandon Routh's contract expired, but it seems like some of the top Warners executives are not even interested in pursuing another movie.

Now comes news that Warner Bros is making plans to make that 2011 deadline. According to IESB, "Superman Returns" will be looked at as a "book-end" to the Richard Donner legacy and the next Superman film will be considered a reboot with a new take on the characters and story.

Since the studio has now placed "Superman" on the fast-track, it has been busy finding a director to execute their new plan. And according to the site, there is a very short list of names. Once again the Wachowski brothers (The Matrix, Speed Racer) keep being mentioned, and so is their protege James McTeigue (V for Vendetta, Ninja Assassin).

At this point, it is not clear who will direct, but it is very possible that McTeigue may take the lead, while the Wachowskis come on as producers. Expect some official announcements soon.

Source: IESB


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 53 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Ranger writes:
on August 1st, 2009 at 6:04:47 PM

I KNOW some of you are going to diss him... but I say MAKE SURE YOU GET ROUTH BACK!!! As for the 'Executives' not thinking this worth pursuing. How about Warner find themselves some NEW Exec's. Superman will ALWAYS be made for EVERY generation. Get your head out of your respective ass's and GET FILMING!!! f*cking douche bags!
acslaterson writes:
on August 1st, 2009 at 6:08:35 PM

How about getting someone to play Supes that actually hits the gym and actually looks imposing? And I'm not talking Yoga either. @Ranger, I think the bookend comment probably means that Routh will be re-cast. A start fresh is a good thing.
Ranger writes:
on August 1st, 2009 at 6:16:23 PM

I don't disagree at all. I though Routh's build was realistic. I mean... Supes doesn't have to work out... right (bench press planets maybe...lol). I liked Routh's understated presence (Supes is kind and modest) and build. Lois was her typical bitch... but, what's new?
lostwarrior writes:
on August 1st, 2009 at 6:18:17 PM

yes this def needs a new start. perhaps they could somehow get Doomsday started, perhaps not have him as the 1st villian. but the need to lead up to him for sure.. Perhaps they could have Bruno and his Intergangin it as a side plot villian. but then lead up to a more serious villian Jax they could even put in a camoe of hank henshaw... but thats just me. And dont go too dark on this. I know everyone loves dark comic movies since batman, but not supes, he should perhaps go a little darker, but not the route TDK went. but thats just me
lostwarrior writes:
on August 1st, 2009 at 6:19:53 PM

and the wackowski's would just f*ck this up. Supes dont need a S&M outfit.. but perhaps u could see The GL capturing him (HANK HENSHAW)
Ninjabear writes:
on August 1st, 2009 at 6:29:03 PM

Whatever happens.... just make this movie worth my time. Routh was great in the last one, just the story sucked balls thats all
moviesavant writes:
on August 1st, 2009 at 6:34:41 PM

I think the bookend comment means Routh WON'T be recast......
DoucheNozzle writes:
on August 1st, 2009 at 7:17:22 PM

If Routh does not return, this is a golden opportunity to finally cast our generation's master thespian in the crimson cape, Nicolas Cage!!! Just kidding. But really, Superman would be hard to cast currently. My vote would probably be for Jon Hamm (Mad Men) because he is tall, has a thick build, and has a real old-fashioned sensibility that would suit the role of the man of steel.
PHURBY1984 writes:
on August 1st, 2009 at 7:18:38 PM

I LIKE THIS IDEA TO MAKE A TRILOGY FROM SCRATCH AND MAKING SUPERMAN RETURNS A BOOK END...BUT THIS I MY IDEA FOR A NEW SUPERMAN FRANCHISE...AND I HAVE ALSO HEARD OF RUMORS OF KILLING SUPERMAN IN THE LAST MOVIE...HOW ABOUT THAT NOT HAPPEN...SINCE FOX SUCKS AT MAKING SUPERHERO MOVIES, LEAVE THE HERO KILLIN TO THEM...

WHAT I PERSONALLY THINK SHOULD HAPPEN WITH THE SUPERMAN SERIERS...MAKE SUPERMAN DARKER, AND MAKE IT MORE ACTION PACK...SOME WHERE ALONG THE WAY IN THE NEW MOVIE THEY SHOULD INTRODUCE KARA, AND MAKE A STORY ON THE REAL REASON WHY SHE WAS SENT TO EARTH TO BEGIN WITH...HAVE HER WANT TO KILL KAL-EL LIKE HER FATHER INTENDED FOR HER TO DO. AND SOMEWHERE ALONG THE WAY SUPERGIRL AND SUPERMAN MEET EACH OTHER...IF THEY COULD GET DOOMSDAY, BRAINIAC OR EVEN ZOD ONE MORE TIME TO PLAY THE VILLANS IT WOULD BE GOOD...AND SUPERMAN AND SUPERGIRL TEAM UP TO TAKE THE VILLANS DOWN...AND I THINK LEX LUTHORS HAS TO BE IN THE SUPERMAN MOVIES BUT NOT AS A MAIN VILLAN, THEY SHOULD DO WHAT JUST MAKE HIM A GUY THAT HATES SUPEMAN AND THAT SHOULD THE THAT...AND MAYBE LEX LUTHOR CAN FEED INFORMATION TO WHOM EVER IS AFTER SUPERMAN NOTHING MORE...I ALSO THINK THAT SINCE SUPERMAN RETURNS THEY NEED A COMPLETE NEW CAST...READ SOME OF THE IDEAS I HAVE TO THE CASTING...I ALSO BELIEVE SMALLVILLE IS COMING TO THE END OF ITS RUN, AND I WOULD NOT MIND SEEING SEASON 9 END SOMETIME IN 2010 AND IN 2011 WE COULD SEE SOME OF THE SMALLVILLE CAST IN THE NEW SUPERMAN MOVIE...

THE PERFECT CAST FOR THE MOVIE WOULD BE...
SUPERMAN/ - BRANDON RUTH (FROM SUPERMAN RETURNS)(I WOULD LIKE TO SEE SOMEONE ELSE)
TOM WELLING (SMALLVILLE)
SUPERGIRL/KARA - YVONNE STRAHOVSKI (FROM NBC'S CHUCK)
LOUIS LANE - RACHEL McADAMS (FROM WEDDING CRASHERS)
LEX LUTHOR - JOHN TRAVOLTA (BE COOL, WILD HOGS)
BRIANIAC - CLIVE OWEN (FROM INSIDE MAN)
ZOD - GERARD BUTLER (FROM 300)
DOMSDAY - MICHAEL CLARKE DUNCAN (FROM THE GREEN MILE)

SOME OF MY CASTING IDEA MIGHT BE BAD, BUT I JUST WANT TO SEE TO SEE A ALL-STAR CAST... THAT WOULD HELP GET THIS NEW SUPERMAN SAGA GET OFF TO A GOOD START...WHAT DOES EVERYONE ELSE THINK...
python6 writes:
on August 1st, 2009 at 7:28:07 PM

Brainiac should be the villian. and show how by taking the city of Kandor cause the Uranium core to become unstable and cause Krypton destruction.
PrevalentMind writes:
on August 1st, 2009 at 8:11:01 PM

I told you so...all that bitching and worry...and HERE is Superman before 2012. I told ya- just saying.
lostwarrior writes:
on August 1st, 2009 at 8:11:03 PM

actually those are all good casting ideas, especially CLIVE OWEN and MIKE DUNCAN, but im kinda tired of luther though. I think they dont need to revist that character for a while. but thats just me...
DNAonherCHIN writes:
on August 1st, 2009 at 9:02:19 PM

PLEASE GOD...NO...LEX...LUTHOR!! THERE'S PLENTY OF GREAT VILLIANS IN THE SUPERMAN UNIVERSE!!
PHURBY1984 writes:
on August 1st, 2009 at 9:31:22 PM

I HATE TO SAY THIS...BUT LEX LUTHOR WILL BE THE MOVIE...SPECIALLY BECAUSE THEY ARE TALKING ABOUT STARTING FROM SCRATCH...READ WHAT I SAID ABOVE...IT WILL MAKE MORE SCENSE...
BrandoFresh writes:
on August 1st, 2009 at 9:56:49 PM

Well if that ain't compromising, I don't know what is. I hope it comes out in the best way possible
lost_addict writes:
on August 1st, 2009 at 10:12:01 PM

wait...i can look into the future...seven days from now...update on WP..."superman sequel/reboot dead again..."
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on August 1st, 2009 at 10:13:26 PM

@Ranger
I think Routh should play the Superman again, i liek his performance in Superman Returns!
goeygogo writes:
on August 1st, 2009 at 11:10:16 PM

lex luthor = michael rosenbaum...boom
Rich k writes:
on August 1st, 2009 at 11:16:42 PM

They should of just left the superman franchise alone when christopher reeves (RIP) died.
Ranger writes:
on August 2nd, 2009 at 1:19:11 AM

@Rich - I hear ya... NO ONE will EVER replace Christopher Reeve. He was the man (of steel)! But Supes is too big a story... every generation needs Supes on the screen my good man. He's too big to just put on the shelf. Honestly... NO Lex... the movies AND Smallville beat that dog to DEATH! There's that article on here... that trilogy. Supes is the last person standing on Earth at the end!

HAWT!!!

MAKE IT!!!

Let's see him move planets.

Dump Lois. He's God like. Loose this crush he has on that woman. GET ON WITH IT!!!

Sit on a mountain on the Moon... look at Earth ponder things.

Fly through the sun...

You know Warner... SUPERMAN STUFF!!!

Solomon Grundy... old school.

THINK BIG... IT'S SUPERMAN!!!! If he pulls another cat out of the tree, I'm going to kick Kal-El in the f*cking nuts with my Kryptonite Boots!!!
Ranger writes:
on August 2nd, 2009 at 1:21:37 AM

@PHURBY1984 - great post. But here's my thoughts on ANYONE from Smallville EVER appearing on the big screen!

No! Never!

Lois, Lana, Chloe 3-Way in porn on the ONLY way I want to see ANY of them again (and I have LIKED Tom's portrayal of Supes on TV) I think (and know) the writer's have baited us long enough and have delivered f*ck all!
BlutoDaBoss21 writes:
on August 2nd, 2009 at 2:22:46 AM

everytime i see "Reboot" anywhere on the news here i always think a Reboot Movie? lol awesome show, would make a great movie. i hope it was broadcast in the states, same people who made Beast Wars (beasties lol!) also a great show. the second best voice for Megatron. YEEEESSSSSSSS
aioros writes:
on August 2nd, 2009 at 3:38:48 AM

Keep brandon routh as superman!!! and even spacey as lex! for the rest of the cast, try new actors!! as for the director i say JJ ABRHAMS!!! is the best choice!!
Sonic writes:
on August 2nd, 2009 at 7:39:54 AM

I say just make it good
SACdaddy writes:
on August 2nd, 2009 at 10:22:19 AM

Stop calling these films REBOOTS. You don't need to call them that just because you're replacing the actor playing the title character. You never hear them refer to James Bond or Jack Ryan films as reboots, why Superman? Just slap a new title on it (i.e. Superman: Dead and Lovin It), find some guy that's not a total puff to play the role, and make the f*cking thing already!
SACdaddy writes:
on August 2nd, 2009 at 10:35:55 AM

@ Ranger: Acslateron has a point. Just look at the picture above and every picture you've seen of Superman. If Jackman can get that big for Wolverine, they should be able to find someone big enough to fill the suit right for once. If you want to get technical, he's not a human like Bats and Iron Man so he may not need to bench planets to gain muscle mass.
Ranger writes:
on August 2nd, 2009 at 11:24:39 AM

@SAC - good points again my good man. But Jackman came out tall and lean for Wolvie. There's no one around (that I know of) as 'Beefcake' to play Supes as we see in that pic. I mean the guy (for accuracy) has to be 6'4" (min) - 300lbs. (I'm 6' at 250 - so yes... a 6'4" to carry that kind of mass would be over 300.

In short... they ain't got no one like dat!
Ranger writes:
on August 2nd, 2009 at 11:27:06 AM

And true... he isn't Terran... so that build may be natural to Kryptonians (especially under a yellow sun).
synthetic1985 writes:
on August 2nd, 2009 at 12:20:25 PM

i'd like to see a superman movie much like the 2nd...not a cheesy ass story line...more than one villain...lex luthor as a con man rather than an *sshole con man...and no kid...we already got enough of that on the tv series...'will you marry me lois?'...'who's asking?...clark?...or superman?'
minkowski writes:
on August 2nd, 2009 at 5:38:54 PM

"so that build may be natural to Kryptonians"

In fact it isn't, Ranger. Supes explicity gets his power from Sol. In any of the depictions I've ever seen, whether in the movies or in the comics, the Kryptonians are rather smallish and frail-like. Scientists. Zod was originally an ordinary scientist who used his mind to build machines to conquer Kyrpton. Only after he was introduced to Sol did he gain superpowers.

So, it's very clear that Superman is not like most Kryptonians, and that most Kryptonians are nerdish scientists with the 'mere' power of their mind.
minkowski writes:
on August 2nd, 2009 at 5:41:06 PM

Furthermore, all they need is handsome 6'4 actor that can act. He'll need to have a specific look, sure, and he'll need the right genetics, but it's possible, and could turn into one of the most lucrative and memorable career choices for the guy. I mean, he'll be this generation's Reeve. He'll have his name remembered well for at least fifty years.
Ranger writes:
on August 2nd, 2009 at 5:52:36 PM

I agree about the Kryptonians and their build. Clearly in the Reeves movies... they were average people at best. As for them finding this (the) Superman... good luck. I like Routh (he'll workout (in the movie and in a gym). As for Hollyweird's casting... Reynolds wanted The Flash... they didn't care. They wanted to do GL first and that was that. For Supes... so far, unless they use Routh... the got Bupkiss!
minkowski writes:
on August 2nd, 2009 at 6:11:45 PM

Well, when they don't do WIDE casting calls and look for fresh talent and stead pool from soap opera hunks and overworked celebs, they aren't going to find the right guy. A handsome 6'4 guy with a lean build capable of putting on muscle (under a trainer's strict regimen) and who can also act shouldn't be impossible to find!
Ranger writes:
on August 2nd, 2009 at 6:23:34 PM

I'd take on the role, but I'm too busy here bashing Lohan and Coleman.
minkowski writes:
on August 2nd, 2009 at 6:31:57 PM

How to make a good superman movie:

1. Find the commitment, the WILL to produce a decent film. Don't make a lackluster Superman movie just because you're required by contract to do so. Ok, so I think we're already f*cked...

2. Get the money, the moulah, the cheese et cetera to cover a film of this scope. Don't do in on the cheap. This isn't the Fountain.

3. Hire a REAL writer to pen the story. Get Morrison. Get someone who can actually and does write GOOD comic book stories. Superman stories. Don't find some loser that once wrote a Planet of the Apes adaptation for Dark Horse.

4. Find a good, no great, action film screenwriter. Put a gun to his head and tell him to write an awesome script or you're going to blow his f*cking brains out. When he's finished, dry off the sweat stained script. Make sure he hasn't included any Lester-like comedy and he's woven the screenp;ay with two tight threads: action and human drama.

7. Fina director that can do action write. Singer can't. He does well on film like the Usual Suspects and Valkyrie because his style is rather formulaic and prosaic. He likes to make films like he's laying cobblestone. Action films are more dynamic, unexpected and FLUID. So find a f*cker that can do action right!

7. Find a Superman. See my posts above. Finding a good Superman requires a few substeps.

8. Do NOT invite that scarwney c*nt kate Bosworth back. Worst Lane ever. She was a total bitch throughout the film. Her charcaterization was an exaggeration of Lois' curt professionalism and rejecyion of Kent's anti-masculinity and socisl awkwardness.
minkowski writes:
on August 2nd, 2009 at 6:35:12 PM

"I'd take on the role, but I'm too busy here bashing Lohan and Coleman."

So would I, but I'm too busy jerking off to Megan Fox chewing bubblegum. That I need another two inches and massive slabs of muscle meat. 300 pounds of mucle? Superman probably has less than 1% body fat, which on a human is a little scary. Superman wears his muscle well.
minkowski writes:
on August 2nd, 2009 at 6:41:17 PM

Wow, the f*cking spelling took a head dive at the very end of my post, two above.
Ranger writes:
on August 2nd, 2009 at 6:54:49 PM

How do you know that's bubblegum she's chewing? She may just have taken in a load from Bay for Transformers III.
Ranger writes:
on August 2nd, 2009 at 6:55:10 PM

Forget it... that's old footage. I forgot.
Ranger writes:
on August 2nd, 2009 at 7:08:59 PM

1% body fat and a person would die.

Clearly Supes is lean from jackin'-it thinking of Lois dressed up as Wonder Woman tying him up and forcing him to tell the truth.
minkowski writes:
on August 2nd, 2009 at 8:12:47 PM

"1% body fat and a person would die."

Eactly.
minkowski writes:
on August 2nd, 2009 at 8:20:56 PM

Well, no one has ever written much on Superman's latent homosexuality. I mean, why do you think he's so close to Superboy? Why wear the tight clothes? And why the unresolved love interest with Lois? Yeah, like that marriage isn't a front to cover up for his true love of Jimmy Olsen.
minkowski writes:
on August 2nd, 2009 at 8:21:47 PM

Anh, you know, that sucks. I can't diss Supes like that, even tongue in cheek. lol. He's had too many awesome comics to do him like that.
Ranger writes:
on August 2nd, 2009 at 8:52:26 PM

I wish Lois would do him like that. Then maybe... just maybe he'd go out and do some really Super stuff.
VDODSON writes:
on August 3rd, 2009 at 8:47:05 AM

Superman could not have intercourse with a human. his sperm would shoot through the woman like buckshot. They only way he could do it is if he had a kryptonite condom, and that would kill him. Mink/Ranger-Your thoughts on this subject are extremely interesting. If only Hollywood had similiar point of view.
makingcircles writes:
on August 3rd, 2009 at 10:49:07 AM

Just make the f*cking movie already and recast everybody.
Ranger writes:
on August 3rd, 2009 at 11:47:24 AM

Thx. VDOD.
pomme writes:
on August 3rd, 2009 at 4:18:10 PM

Superman is too nice,sweet after Batman or Iron Man even Spiderman is more menacing
Ranger writes:
on August 3rd, 2009 at 4:37:10 PM

Spidey only gets messed up when he's getting f*cked over by Kiki Drunkst's character... Mary (I should be a Lesbo) Jane.
mattcl23 writes:
on August 3rd, 2009 at 4:52:18 PM

@Ranger- I agree bring Routh back. He was great a Superman. I don't have a problem with the Wachowskis or McTiegue. Atleast we'll get to see some freaking action.
Ranger writes:
on August 4th, 2009 at 12:59:51 PM

@VDOD - but remember Supes knocked up Lois when that Kryptonian 'de-structuring' chamber took away his powers. So, he would have filled her up like the regular hot water bottle she is.
VDODSON writes:
on August 5th, 2009 at 5:55:11 AM

Good point, it seems that it is possible.
Rarehunter writes:
on August 11th, 2009 at 7:37:40 PM

Superman is a p*ssy

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved