WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Director on "Chronicles of Riddick" Sequel

Posted: August 1st, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Director on "Chronicles of Riddick" SequelSubmit Comment
Bloody-Disgusting caught up with director David Twohy (Pitch Black, The Chronicles of Riddick) to get an update on the third installment in the "Riddick" franchise.

"I've sketched out two ideas for continuing 'Riddick,' one of which Vin [Diesel] and I have settled in on," Twohy explained. "At the studio level, it would have to be a PG-13 movie again and we don't want to do that again. We want an R, so we are looking at the possibility of setting it up as an independent movie and selling it territory by territory and thereby keeping an ownership stake in the movie. But we're trying to see what that would yield in this unsafe market..."

He added that if everything goes as planned, the new "Riddick" sequel could go in front of the cameras as early as 2010. "It could be my next movie," said Twohy. "I know Vin's going to slide in 'XxX' first. He's doing a sequel to that the first of the year. So the soonest we could launch would be sometime next year."

Source: Bloody-Disgusting


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 18 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Ninjabear writes:
on August 1st, 2009 at 6:39:45 PM

An R rated movie of Ridd*ck... not tto shabby if you ask me, but please have good plot at least. Sometimes you'll see a movie going R rated and suck on story just because they think the more explicit graphics means they don't need a good decent plot... except for female nudity of course come on!
Osiris3eagle writes:
on August 1st, 2009 at 6:42:26 PM

good,Pitch Black was one of the underrated sci fi movies of this decade, but Chronicles sucked d*ck. Must go low budget, indepedent, R-rated like the first.
Ninjabear writes:
on August 1st, 2009 at 7:10:18 PM

@ Osiris3eagle

I'd have to agree with you dude, I thought Pitch Black was amazing for its genre of movie. One of Vin's bestest yet...
lostwarrior writes:
on August 1st, 2009 at 7:17:39 PM

never saw the 1st two films...
Ninjabear writes:
on August 1st, 2009 at 7:50:14 PM

@ Lostwarrior

Pitch Black was way darker and had such a mystery behind.... well no spoiling that for ya, rent it and you'll see it was pretty good!
PrevalentMind writes:
on August 1st, 2009 at 8:15:16 PM

Pitch Black was a great sleeper...and I dont care about Diesel, but I'll put my money down for a David Twohy flick- directed or written- any day of the year. His resume isnt HUGE- but they're all decent movies.
P_Dangerous writes:
on August 1st, 2009 at 9:15:31 PM

@lostwarrior: thanks for the pointless comment.
Both the first 2 films were good I thought. Very different but both entertaining. I hope there is enough demand to make a third film successful. Trust in Diesel and Twohy
lost_addict writes:
on August 1st, 2009 at 10:17:34 PM

how about ridd*ck vs. xander cage movie?kill 2 birds with one stone!
DEADLYMIKKA writes:
on August 1st, 2009 at 10:20:26 PM

I loved the movies i just hope they manage to get it independent as we all know babylon ad died cause of studio executives stuffin there noses in the editing process thats why pitch black was a good low budget movie just cause it used the actors more than it did blue screens and they made it all possible with a good first cut none of this directors cut crap
Rich k writes:
on August 1st, 2009 at 11:25:53 PM

i think if this is good, this can get vin diesel back on track and have everyone forget about his sh*t movies, like the pacifier, this XXX sh*t, and Babylon AD. Really the only good stuff hes done is the Ridd*ck movies and Fast and the furious.
clydefamous writes:
on August 2nd, 2009 at 1:34:20 AM

I liked both movies. I'll take a Ridd*ck flick any way I can get it.
kmccarney88 writes:
on August 2nd, 2009 at 2:45:38 AM

I disagree, I don't think that chronicles was a bad flick, it wasn't great either, but I just felt like they were holding back, which they had to bc of the studio. There were some pretty badass action scenes in that movie. Although having said all that, I need to go back and rewatch chronicles bc it has been years since I last saw it and my opinions on many films has changed quite drastically
vwkombi writes:
on August 2nd, 2009 at 6:33:01 AM

I agree with Mik, f*ck studios and their money hungry ways. Take it independent Twohy and don't have a bunch of uncreative suits telling you what to do.
SACdaddy writes:
on August 2nd, 2009 at 10:05:50 AM

PG-13 was one of many things that ruined COR. I agree with yall that Pitch Black was a far better and highly underated film. Its was hard to believe after seeing that one that they would use that character in a PG-13 role. Its good to see the director actually care enough about the true nature of the character to buck the big studio sh*tfest and go the same route as Pitch Black.
bale01289 writes:
on August 2nd, 2009 at 10:30:40 AM

Glad to see that mostly everyone has the same opinion on this post. Thought I was going to be castrated for saying I liked the Ridd*ck movies, lol! Hope they do crank out another movie in this series! R rating would be nice, but I won't hold my breath until I hear more on production and moving forward.
bale01289 writes:
on August 2nd, 2009 at 10:33:03 AM

Also, most probably know this, but there is a animated Ridd*ck that takes place in between Pitch Black and CoR. Its called Dark Fury and if you you like the movies, it is a good in between filler. Check it out!
scarface85 writes:
on August 2nd, 2009 at 11:06:18 AM

yesssss coooool, those movies are mad cool
serious2020 writes:
on August 23rd, 2009 at 3:34:54 PM

I loved both Pitch Black & The Chronicles of Ridd*ck.

I wish the sequel to Chronicles would happen before 2010...

And I definitely want to see both plot and action scenes get better and better...

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved