WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Funny People" - What Did You Think?

Posted: July 31st, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Funny People" - What Did You Think?Submit Comment
Judd Apatow's latest film, "Funny People," is currently in theaters and if you have already seen it, we want to know your thoughts. Use the comments section below to write a mini-review.

The new movie has been said to be a possible Oscar contender, which is uncommon for a comedy. Did you feel that this movie has what it takes? Did Aziz Ansari really steal the show?

Come back on Sunday to see how the film did at the domestic box office.

Click here to read our "Funny People" review.

Source: WorstPreviews.com


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 39 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
borat writes:
on July 31st, 2009 at 6:56:14 PM

should be called "almost funny people"
boyle_anderson_lynch writes:
on July 31st, 2009 at 6:59:43 PM

I thought it was great, Apatow and Sandler are back together and I couldn't be happier. Sandler delivers with the comedy and his acting was fairly heartfelt. The cast was great, great cameos, and even though I love Schwartzman, I didnt care for his character but the music he did for the film was great.

Keep it up Sandler, I'm rooting for ya.
HiddenComic writes:
on July 31st, 2009 at 7:16:43 PM

hard to make a movie called funny people.. when there's no one funny in the cast.. sandler was past his prime years ago.. and rogen is just annoying
ian_918 writes:
on July 31st, 2009 at 7:25:43 PM

i saw it and i thought it was a great flik. borat and comic u 2 f*cks are bout retarded. u just dont understand this generation comedy. seth rogen is hilarious i enjoy all movies and adam sandler will never be past his prime he is one of the funniest men alive and will be. get that stick out of ur asses and think about what ur saying.
seraphemz writes:
on July 31st, 2009 at 7:31:06 PM

Ian - they are the people that find a negative in anything...

Sandler is hilarious and Rogen is too.
HiddenComic writes:
on July 31st, 2009 at 7:43:23 PM

i am sorry ian
Aaron writes:
on July 31st, 2009 at 8:11:46 PM

lmao@HiddenComic
Onetinsoldier623 writes:
on July 31st, 2009 at 8:53:00 PM

I think Aziz is damn annoying
Osiris3eagle writes:
on July 31st, 2009 at 8:55:18 PM

How did Aziz steal the show exactly? He had about 1 minute of screen time...I like the actor and Human Giant is funny, but his stand up bit in the movie sucked.

Well I doubt it will be much of an Oscar contender considering it currently stands at 61% positive at RT.

As for the movie itself it was a good dramedy, I enjoyed it. The humor was more subtle. Great performances though.
syrup writes:
on July 31st, 2009 at 9:55:23 PM

comic ur my hero
AJWPProfile writes:
on July 31st, 2009 at 10:21:48 PM

Yea all in all good movie I was expecting it to be so much better why promote all this stand up acts in trailers/HBO Specials if theres only like 20 minutes of stand ups in a 2 hour 40 minute long movie. Overall though a 3/5
aperfectravesty writes:
on August 1st, 2009 at 12:34:16 AM

Maybe it was just me, but, I felt like this was two separate movies. You have the one about Ira and George and then the one about George and Laura. It was way too long. I really wanted to like Sandler's character, but, he was a d*ck pretty much throughout.
lost_addict writes:
on August 1st, 2009 at 2:06:50 AM

you can do it!!!
WV-Films writes:
on August 1st, 2009 at 2:15:26 AM

It was nice to see Sandler play a real person for the first time since Punch Drunk Love. The movie was alright but the scenes with them in Laura's house went on way too long. Also I love d*ck jokes, but I felt there were almost too many.
synthetic1985 writes:
on August 1st, 2009 at 2:23:20 AM

i think my favorite thing about adam sandler is that in 'billy madison' or 'happy gilmore'...even the 'wedding singer' and 'waterboy' and 'little nicky'...i just miss his aggressive shouting where he sounds pissed but does it in such a funny way...that's what i loved most about happy gilmore
thegambit72 writes:
on August 1st, 2009 at 2:25:46 AM

i thought it was good, funny and real. it's a dark comedy..... about comedy. the message for me was "sometimes life sucks, you just got to find the funny"
dandythelion writes:
on August 1st, 2009 at 2:31:09 AM

best line: "i thought everybody loved you"
Ranger writes:
on August 1st, 2009 at 3:50:12 AM

@HiddenComic - lol!
Ranger writes:
on August 1st, 2009 at 4:01:34 AM

@WV-Films - I trust then you haven't seen him (yet) in 'The Longest Yard' (I'm not a fan of remakes... but this one had a couple of turns I enjoyed) or 'Reign over me'? Both good, I thought.
Ranger writes:
on August 1st, 2009 at 4:02:04 AM

Comedy for Sandler (although I haven't seen all his movies) for me has to be Happy Gilmore.
WV-Films writes:
on August 1st, 2009 at 4:06:01 AM

@ Ranger. No I haven't. I sorta gave up on him. Chuck and Larry sorta blew, and even though it had a message, I didn't find Click to be too good either.
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on August 1st, 2009 at 9:05:49 AM

Okay, well considering his other 2 films - Knocked Up & The 40 Year Old Virgin I would say this is my favorite film of his. It was hilarious! and rooted with nice emotion throughout. It was nice to see Adam Sandler play such a deep role (kinda like he did in Click) but at the same time be a raw comedic person. Same goes for Seth Rogen, he played the more charming part this time. It was a nice venture and angle for him to play. I loved it! I'd see it again! and will definetly own it on DVD.
Popcorn101 writes:
on August 1st, 2009 at 10:15:11 AM

yea, i thought this movie was hilarious, but too long..it was like a mixture of a comedy and a drama...but there were soo many funny parts and actors, especially with eminem and ray romano...aziz was hilarious tho he had little parts but eric bana...man that was f*ckin hilarious when he was explaining rugby...thought it was great, YO TEACH!
Lined Paper writes:
on August 1st, 2009 at 10:56:19 AM

Man, I found this movie so boring for some reason. It was actually kind of a let down. I was going in expecting to see a really funny ass movies cause of the combination of Sandler, Rogen, and Apatow, but I didn't really get what I expected lol. I found that it dragged on too long with the whole love story thing with George and Laura and then the whole friendship meltdown and revival of Ira and George and it just felt like it wouldn't resolve lol. But... just my POV :)
tcu21 writes:
on August 1st, 2009 at 12:54:49 PM

Judd Apatow is so incredibly close to making the perfect movie it's crazy. I imagine he'll learn from the mixed reviews given to this movie and his next project will just blow everyone away. But this was still a really great movie, I still prefer Knocked Up, but it was good. I imagine Sandler contending for an Oscar nod, almost a shoe in at this point for Golden Globe nomination, but we'll see. I thought Seth Rogen was excellent, and Eric Bana was hilarious, he needs to do more comedies.
Ranger writes:
on August 1st, 2009 at 1:02:53 PM

Sandler = $25 mil a movie payday. That's +$5mil MORE than Hollywood's usual heavy weights. He (obviously) has a GREAT Agent!
bigjohn65 writes:
on August 1st, 2009 at 2:44:01 PM

(sigh) This movie didnt suck. But, it wasnt as near as good as Apatow's first two "touchdowns". The actors were perfect and the cameos were great and well timed. But, it wasnt as near as funny as I presumed it would be. They said that Aziz's character, "Randy", was a show stealer, but he honestly had only like 2 scenes. I know they said they were gonna give him his own movie soon so im sure they cut back on some for that, but the movie is a good movie. But if you're expecting to laugh alot, then this isnt for you. There are laughs, dont get me wrong. But, not what I was expecting.
lostwarrior writes:
on August 1st, 2009 at 5:45:56 PM

well after having read all the postings not so sure i wanna c this tomorrow
MYVAGHURTZ writes:
on August 1st, 2009 at 9:12:38 PM

Some parts of the movie were hillarious, but sometimes when they were trying to be funny it just fell flat. After seeing this i'm definately tired of Seth Rogen (his character is a carbon copy from all of his previous movies). Sandler has a few funny moments but he is becoming more and more played out especially when he talks jibrish like he did in billy madison & happy gilmore. And Aziz Ansari was pathetic, I hope they dont give him a spinoff because he was the worst part of the movie (his stand up was the worst).
murphyslaw93 writes:
on August 1st, 2009 at 10:25:36 PM

I thought it was great, but not as good as Apatow's previous two flicks. I really wanna see it again, because even though I knew this wasnt going to be raunchy, dirty funny like Knocked Up and 40 year old virgin, it was completely different than what I thought it was going to be. It was deep, emotional, and had true, realistic performances. Its the most mature comedy I've ever seen with the most mature acting by actors who dont exactly portray mature characters on a regular basis. It was Sandler's best role ever, completely different for him, especially the first half of the film. The length is an issue, but I see how it may have been hard for Apatow to cut the film because his point is made clear and the characters are fully developed. Rogen was my least favorite of the whole cast, he just got annoying, but I dont know if thats because ive seen him too much or because his character was actually annoying. A great film though, very different. 8/10
murphyslaw93 writes:
on August 1st, 2009 at 10:28:49 PM

Oh and Eric Bana stole the show, the second half was made better by his appearance. I actually died laughing everytime he spoke, he's gotta do more comedies and pick more films where he can speak with his native accent.
ian_918 writes:
on August 2nd, 2009 at 3:36:45 AM

its difinetly a more serious film then apatows previous ones. and adam is great at em and i personally think he should do more. i enjoyed this movie a lot. its hilarious and serious and not just serious but a near perfect life perspective of a missed oppertunity. bravo sandler ur great.
vwkombi writes:
on August 2nd, 2009 at 8:40:39 AM

I just have to say one thing. In his review of Bruno ian_918 says to respect the opinions of others, only to personally attack Borat and Hiddencomic because of what they say about this film. That's simply comedy gold!
ian_918 writes:
on August 2nd, 2009 at 3:55:57 PM

Idiot... i never said to respect the opinions of others i said i respect the opinions of others when they say they disagree with what someone says or they simply did not like. but theres no reason to trash talk the actors when they didnt ruin the movie in my opinion. so vwkombi i didnt personally attack anyone and its retards like u who start sh*t because ur probably a 30 year old virgin whos lives in his moms basement with nothing better to do. if im personally attacking anyone its u cause u dont have any idea what ur talking about.
WuTang4eva91 writes:
on August 2nd, 2009 at 11:07:08 PM

not being a huge fan of eminem, i still say the 2 min he was in was the best part of the whole movie. the rest i was really disappointed in.
i wish rza and randy had bigger parts
masKritic writes:
on August 3rd, 2009 at 2:24:49 AM

I loved this movie. Randy was NOT in it enough. He's so funny. They made him look dumb as f*ck in the movie. I was in the scenes at The Orpheum Theatre and Aziz Ansari performed as Raaaaaaaandy for almost a half hour and he was the funniest of the show. Dissapointed but still loved the movie.
Johnny Neat writes:
on August 3rd, 2009 at 12:38:56 PM

I liked it, but why did they cop out with George Simmons showing up at the end with hand written notes? Now that scene was fantasy.
vwkombi writes:
on August 3rd, 2009 at 8:48:20 PM

Ian, i don't suppose you've ever heard the saying "let the baby have his bottle". It basically means that you just give the baby what it wants to shut him up. So i'm just going to walk away and leave you with the satisfaction that you won the argument with your rock solid rebuttals. Now try not to choke on your own drool like the good little baby you are!
ian_918 writes:
on August 4th, 2009 at 8:39:17 PM

Its sad how pathetic u are. i didnt try to start an argument with u but u missed quoted me by a mile. i dont try to start arguments online with idiots like u cause its a waste of my time. so no il give this one to u cause there is no f*cking argument to make. next time dont miss quote someone so they dont have to waste there time to tell u how retarded u are. f*cking stupid c*nt..

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved