WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

David Fincher is Developing "Oblivion" Sci-Fi Film

Posted: July 31st, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
David Fincher is Developing "Oblivion" Sci-Fi FilmSubmit Comment
David Fincher (Fight Club) and Radical Pictures have hired "Tron Legacy" director Joseph Kosinski to develop "Oblivion," which is based on Kosinski's own concept.

The story centers on a battle-damaged soldier who, assigned to a desolate planet after a court-martial, patrols the bleak landscape in an effort to destroy the last vestiges of a primitive alien race. When a mysterious traveler arrives unexpectedly, their lives become inextricably linked as they are forced to question everything they know about this world and themselves.

Kosinski began "Oblivion" when he moved to Los Angeles four years ago, coming up with the concept as something to kick-start a feature directing career. "I was looking to make a science fiction film that I could do on a budget," he said of the initial concept. "It's grown since then, but it's intended to be a very spare science fiction film, with a small cast but big ideas and big landscapes."

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 8 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on July 31st, 2009 at 2:57:17 AM

Right. Like I give a sh*t if Fincher is producing, not directing, a sci-fi film. Now, if you had told me he was the director and co-writer of the script, then I would've given two shakes.

This also sounds WAY to much like Anderson's Soldier, a film most people would rather forget.

Still, I like the directors emphasis on the less is more approach to sci-fi. Reminds me of Pitch Black.
lost_addict writes:
on July 31st, 2009 at 3:24:45 AM

whatever happened to that morgan freeman/fincher sci-fi projcet?
darkknight1985 writes:
on July 31st, 2009 at 3:33:48 AM

Sounds a bit like Kurt Russell's Soldier.
minkowski writes:
on July 31st, 2009 at 4:07:28 AM

"whatever happened to that morgan freeman/fincher sci-fi projcet?"

Cancelled. Freeman signed a 20 year contract to narrate commercials instead.
Foop writes:
on July 31st, 2009 at 5:20:41 AM

am I the only one tired of the phrase "inextricably linked"?
coldplayesence writes:
on July 31st, 2009 at 10:36:06 AM

Sounds a little like cameron's Avatar a little, which sounds like a lot of films out there.
BlueMobius writes:
on July 31st, 2009 at 10:54:39 AM

First of all, when Fincher directed a sci-fi film, everyone ripped it apart (including Minkowski, if memory serves) and I LOVE who people judge the crap out of this guy when we haven't really even seen his work. The little I've seen of Tron Legacy looks friggin' amazing and I can see why Fincher would latch onto this guy. The only problem I see here is that the story synopsis echoes that of Enemy Mine and I sure hope I'm far wrong. This guy could have a promising career ahead of him and, having seen him speak, he's incredibly nice and down-to-earth.
metathought writes:
on July 31st, 2009 at 7:15:56 PM

Back years ago before this site I was following that Fincher/Freeman movie, Rendezvous with Rama, for years. It's still listed on Morgan Freeman's site too.


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved