WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Zack Snyder's Wants Christian Bale in His Batman Film

Posted: July 31st, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Zack SnyderSubmit Comment
Director Zack Snyder (300, Watchmen) sat down with MTV News to talk about his plans for directing "The Dark Knight Returns," based on Frank Miller's story of an older Batman who comes out of retirement to take down Harvey Dent and a violent gang called "The Mutants."

Snyder realizes that it will be a while before his Batman movie will see the light of day. "Frank's 'Dark Knight' is a 50-year-old Batman," explained Snyder. "The reality is that Batman, as a franchise at Warner Brothers, is doing pretty good; people have heard of it. They love that Bat guy. And Heath [Ledger] amazing. And Chris [Nolan] is killing it to death."

He continued: "So for me, I'll probably be in my twilight years directing one movie every now and then. I then will have a chance, maybe. It will be only 20 years from now, and it'll be Christian Bale in his 50s. And by then, Chris will be over it and I'll roll up and be like, 'Let's make a 'Dark Knight' movie!' A scenario like that is probably the only way I could see it happening."

Source: MTV News


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 40 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
hardcorehogan87 writes:
on July 31st, 2009 at 2:48:57 AM

Great, just keep Bale out of it.
Donald Kaufman writes:
on July 31st, 2009 at 2:52:53 AM

Snyder should really pay someone to do his interviews for him, he always sounds like such an idiot.
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on July 31st, 2009 at 2:57:26 AM

"Chris is killing it to death!"?????
Is he saying that Nolan is doing a Schumacher and destroying batman??

He is doing a dam fine job, but i do hope to see Zack's Own Batman film, he has the directing style to do that type of Batman film, but i don't hink Bale will be up for it!!
Jojotocujo writes:
on July 31st, 2009 at 3:03:40 AM

Just make it now and let Clint Eastwood play Batman.
minkowski writes:
on July 31st, 2009 at 3:04:12 AM

1. No Bale, not even in his 50s. Bale will probably be in jail for murder by then, so...

2. Zack Snyder, for that piece of fiction, would work very well. I'm very open to him giving it a shot after Nolan finishes.

3. Snyder does sound like a f*cking idiot. I think he does meth.

4. By 'killing it to death', my guess is Snyder means to say Nolan and Bale are basically raking in the uber-bucks. Like when Jordan carried an entire game.
Whitta writes:
on July 31st, 2009 at 3:04:43 AM

Zack Snyders abit of a tool, he sounds like a knob in interviews
lost_addict writes:
on July 31st, 2009 at 3:23:03 AM

apologize for 'watchmen',snyder,that was a poop fiesta.
Gaudion93 writes:
on July 31st, 2009 at 3:28:21 AM

Do it now and make it with Clooney, he was brilliant!(sacastic tone) hahaha!
Gaudion93 writes:
on July 31st, 2009 at 3:28:42 AM

*(sarcastic tone) woops
wonderBOY writes:
on July 31st, 2009 at 3:31:10 AM

dark knight returnss can easily be the third nolan batman film they already introduced the characters and at the end batman goes into hiding, he can just come out of retirement abit eariler in his 40s to make it a nolan film
minkowski writes:
on July 31st, 2009 at 4:05:21 AM

"apologize for 'watchmen',snyder,that was a poop fiesta"

Well, so my Watchmen ribbing, before the film was released, is justified then?
BayHarbor_Butcher writes:
on July 31st, 2009 at 5:21:47 AM

my vote if they make this movie gotta have clint eastwood as batman..lol..
Agent Calavera writes:
on July 31st, 2009 at 6:10:58 AM

Clint would be awesome!
James.Speed writes:
on July 31st, 2009 at 7:20:46 AM

Ok, I like this idea, but I dont Batman in a Watchmen style film. The slow-mo into fast-mo fight scenes that he does, wouldnt fit Batman in my opinion. Bale in his 50s, playing Batman, freaking sweet!

And you dimwits, Clint cant ever really play him. He is much older than 50. Then I think your getting a little unrealistic if you have a 70-80 yr old guy, beating up young thugs.
Kill-the-director writes:
on July 31st, 2009 at 7:27:11 AM

yes do it now with Clint!
Sonic writes:
on July 31st, 2009 at 7:35:42 AM

Michael Keaton is Batman and I like to see him in TDKR
BDix24 writes:
on July 31st, 2009 at 8:47:23 AM

This sounds dumb and I don't think people will except it
Johnny Neat writes:
on July 31st, 2009 at 9:51:26 AM

I love that Zake is into making it, but I would prefer it being done sooner with Bale as the younger version if needed and Powers Boothe as the older Batman.
coldplayesence writes:
on July 31st, 2009 at 10:01:55 AM

^ LOL that's pretty weird because Powers actually looks like the batman in TDKR!!
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on July 31st, 2009 at 11:36:14 AM

So he hates what Chris Nolan has done?

Well, all that aside (even though Chris Nolan has made f*cking great Batman films) I would like to see this in several years. I love Zack Snyders work and I think he could make it damn interesting and good but its like he said wait about like 20 yrs. or 10 yrs. before he starts a script or casting ideas.
tcu21 writes:
on July 31st, 2009 at 12:44:32 PM

He RESPECTS what Chris Nolan has done, damn look at what he says in the rest of the article to sense his tone.

Honestly though I think producers and companies like the Snyder-Miller connection too much to pass on this idea for another 15-20 years. It'll happen soon enough, even if it isn't Christian Bale as Batman.
BrandoFresh writes:
on July 31st, 2009 at 12:52:05 PM

I like that idea. That might be hard to get Christian Bale back though. We'll see.
DoucheNozzle writes:
on July 31st, 2009 at 1:41:34 PM

Wow, this would be pretty cool. I really love Zack as a director (and loved Watchmen) so I would be happy for this project several years down the road. I feel that only a few years after the final Nolan film (fingers crossed) Zack should, since The Dark Knight Returns will NOT be within the Nolanverse of realism at all, cast Michael Keaton again as I believe that he was the best batman (even though I love Bale) and they would be able to use his casting as batman to establish that the Nolan days are over (since many average moviegoers will think it will be the same semi-realistic take). So in conclusion BDix24's suggestion is awesome. Keaton for batman again! He would have to bulk up a bit though.
DoucheNozzle writes:
on July 31st, 2009 at 1:47:39 PM

Whoops! It was Sonic who suggested Keaton. Sorry, man
TeemSelami writes:
on July 31st, 2009 at 2:00:18 PM

THEY SHOULD MAKE THIS NOW WITH TOM ARNOLD
mattcl23 writes:
on July 31st, 2009 at 2:14:22 PM

Yeah, they should try and get Michael Keaton to come back. He's in his 50's.
Horsemoney5 writes:
on July 31st, 2009 at 2:52:01 PM

Stupid...might as well do batman beyond
Horsemoney5 writes:
on July 31st, 2009 at 2:54:28 PM

I mean lets do "old Logan" while we are at it! while both these films are in their prime lets relax a bit...
The5thBeatle5 writes:
on July 31st, 2009 at 3:37:42 PM

I just cant wait for a Splinter Cell flick....nothing to do with batman obviously, but i cant wait....yep
ladyhornet_05 writes:
on July 31st, 2009 at 3:44:45 PM

If they ever do this, I'd like to see Bruce Campbell as the older Batman ;D I know it's a total nerd fantasy/shot in the dark, but I think he's got the attitude right. Plus, at 50, Bruce Campbell could still kick some peoples asses lol.
Loki writes:
on July 31st, 2009 at 4:37:15 PM

Well I don't know much about the director but the concept of the film itself sounds pretty good. The film has potential. It could even show how Bruce Wayne has to deal with retirement, seeing a crime and knowing he can do nothing about it. I hope they get everything straightened out on this because I think it could be a fresh way to make a superhero movie.

Loki
PrevalentMind writes:
on July 31st, 2009 at 5:25:47 PM

I heard Miller once thought Stallone would be good for this...I think that would be badass.
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on July 31st, 2009 at 7:39:13 PM

Snyder needs to prove himself as a director and not a glorified costume/set designer. He also needs to know when to shut his fanboy off and turn on his filmmaker brain. Some sh*t just doesn't work from comics to film and throwing comic panels on 35mm isn't enough. Bale wouldn't do it anyway, he likes the realistic nature of Nolan's films which is why he did them. TDKR is outlandish to say the least, but brilliantly outlandish.
skatemaster62 writes:
on August 1st, 2009 at 12:30:37 AM

Would be cool
gordolobo writes:
on August 1st, 2009 at 7:22:40 PM

I THINK SACK SNYDER IS A GODDAMN SICK HE`LL ruin THE WORK THAT NOLAN HAS DONE.
gordolobo writes:
on August 1st, 2009 at 7:23:13 PM

I THINK SACK SNYDER IS A GODDAMN SICK HE`LL ruin THE WORK THAT NOLAN HAS DONE.
lostwarrior writes:
on August 1st, 2009 at 8:09:58 PM

No way should bale be batman later on in the characters life. I like the PowersBooth idea. actually.. but saying Nolan is killing it, is just f*cking stupid...
goeygogo writes:
on August 1st, 2009 at 11:09:03 PM

@horsemoney
dude, batman beyond was the sh*t. and zack snyder can s a d for watchmen...huge disappointment. he puts blood on his blood and it's really annoying and uncreative. he took all the suspense out and filled it with violence...cool
Buckles44 writes:
on August 8th, 2009 at 6:49:34 PM

Lost Addict!
I dont know if you will ever read this..
BUT YOU SHUT YOUR GOD DAMN MOUTH!!
Watchmen was an amazing movie!
I want to message you personally to say you're an idiot


TH1S1SMAHB00MS71CK!!! writes:
on September 6th, 2009 at 1:02:00 PM

Right on, ladyhornet_05! Bruce Campbell would make a great older Batman. He would just need to be a bit less humorous than he was in Army of Darkness, but he could definitely pull it off.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved