WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Ridley Scott to Direct "Alien" Prequel

Posted: July 31st, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Ridley Scott to Direct "Alien" PrequelSubmit Comment
When it was first announced that Ridley Scott will be making a new installment in the "Alien" franchise, everyone assumed that he would be directing. But Scott was planning to only produce and was hoping that commercial director/his daughter's boyfriend Carl Erik Rinsch would helm.

20th Century Fox fought back by saying that they don't care about Rinsch and it will not greenlight the project unless Scott was going to direct. He is, after all, the man behind the original film.

Now, Fox is happy to announce that Scott has officially signed on to direct the new "Alien" movie and that Jon Spaihts has been hired to write it.

The film is set up to be a prequel to the groundbreaking 1979 original. It will precede that film, in which the crew of a commercial towing ship returning to Earth is awakened and sent to respond to a distress signal from a nearby planetoid. The crew discovers too late that the signal generated by an empty ship was meant to warn them.

Source: Variety


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 42 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Snarebeast writes:
on July 31st, 2009 at 2:50:06 AM

Interest in this movie just shot way up. With Ridley actually at the helm I'm hopeful for a good movie.
lost_addict writes:
on July 31st, 2009 at 3:21:17 AM

will russel crowe play the alien?
Gaudion93 writes:
on July 31st, 2009 at 3:25:33 AM

I'm feeling quite a bit better about this now, I just hope the story is what fans of the franchise want to see...
Charlie9 writes:
on July 31st, 2009 at 4:25:11 AM

Aren't they gonna need Weaver, Holm etc looking younger, hope they don't mess that up.
Sev writes:
on July 31st, 2009 at 5:34:57 AM

f*ck YES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

BEST f*ckING FILMS NEWS THIS YEAR!!!!!!
Deadbolt writes:
on July 31st, 2009 at 7:15:01 AM

LOL@lost_addict
Bystander85 writes:
on July 31st, 2009 at 7:22:57 AM

really hope this happens
dbreuning writes:
on July 31st, 2009 at 8:25:58 AM

That was genius lost_addict hahaha.
coldplayesence writes:
on July 31st, 2009 at 10:07:03 AM

Hell yeah!!! I prefer Aliens by Cameron but f*ck it, I wanna see this one... but there's a little voice that tells me something like "creative differences between scott and fox"
acslaterson writes:
on July 31st, 2009 at 10:08:10 AM

My man parts just tingled...
Ranger writes:
on July 31st, 2009 at 10:14:11 AM

Co-Starring Gary Coleman as 'the Egg!'
Ranger writes:
on July 31st, 2009 at 10:17:27 AM

But yeah... Ridley. We couldn't have gotten better news than this!

Blackhawk Aliens!
coldplayesence writes:
on July 31st, 2009 at 10:40:32 AM

better than this? how about Megan Fox to quit living? or Miley Cirus to direct Benjamin Button strikes Back?
Sev writes:
on July 31st, 2009 at 10:55:41 AM

Heh, if theres anyone who can command Fox it'll be Scott. He defied them throughout the making of 'Alien' and I hope he does the same with this film if they try to f*ck anything up :D
coldplayesence writes:
on July 31st, 2009 at 11:04:04 AM

^ the'll try. trust me.
Ranger writes:
on July 31st, 2009 at 11:26:30 AM

OH, THIS IS FOX, MAN... FOX... WE'RE ALL SCREWED... SCREWED! WELL YOU CAN COUNT ME OUT?! THAT'S IT MAN... WE'RE TOAST!!!

Ahh... HUDSON, Ridley Scott is directing this operation, and he's made it just fine in Hollywood for a very long time!

WELL, LET'S PUT HIM IN CHARGE?! I DON'T KNOW IF YOU'RE KEEPING SCORE PAL, BUT EVERY TIME WE DEAL WITH FOX WE GET OUT ASS'S HANDED TO US!!

HUDSON - SETTLE DOWN MARINE, AND STAY FROSTY!!


Fade to black, role credits, fade in music...
Ranger writes:
on July 31st, 2009 at 11:28:08 AM

Ahh... roll credits (sorry - first Bailey's and coffee of the morning).
coldplayesence writes:
on July 31st, 2009 at 11:34:03 AM

^^ lol!! Damnit Ranger, you're forcing me to sit down for almost 3 hours and watch it again this week!!
Ranger writes:
on July 31st, 2009 at 11:35:23 AM

We all should. Aliens was a keeper 4 sho!
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on July 31st, 2009 at 11:46:12 AM

So.... Sigourney Weaver? either way this'll be awesome! damn good films!
Ranger writes:
on July 31st, 2009 at 11:50:49 AM

Sig is 100 years old now SpaceGhost... and as this is a prequel. So, maybe we would see her as Ripley's grandmother... or something like that. I thought I read somewhere that she'd never do another one (after the last couple... I don't blame her). But... I suspect she's not rolling in the cash (she only got $1 mil. I think it was back in '86 for Aliens - and only $30K for the first movie). So unless she's been hooking at the old folks home and/or pushing crack into IV's there...
Ranger writes:
on July 31st, 2009 at 11:51:59 AM

PS: I know she's been working (pretty steadily) in film... just making wise here.
coldplayesence writes:
on July 31st, 2009 at 11:58:36 AM

I just tell myself that Sigourney died in criosleep after Aliens, never watched the last two. My world is better this way.
coldplayesence writes:
on July 31st, 2009 at 12:00:24 PM

oh sh*t, I meant Ripley not Sigourney!
Cd_Smith0 writes:
on July 31st, 2009 at 12:04:18 PM

To me i would rather see james cameron do this one.
Ranger writes:
on July 31st, 2009 at 12:15:24 PM

I think most of us would... but Ridley is a really good (the best) 2nd. choice. I mean... he started it all (Ridley)... let's give him a chance. He's one of the best.
TeemSelami writes:
on July 31st, 2009 at 1:49:00 PM

DO ALIENS BEAT OFF?
DoucheNozzle writes:
on July 31st, 2009 at 1:56:19 PM

Ridley, Ridley, Ridley, Ridley!!! This news takes my interest in this project from "meh" to actual excitement and anticipation. And even if he screws the pooch, at least he tried to bring back respectability to the Alien franchise. P.S. I do not feel Ridley will let that happen to his "baby".
mattcl23 writes:
on July 31st, 2009 at 2:06:35 PM

Finally something positive. And most of all it's FOX. Are they actually starting to use their heads!
Ranger writes:
on July 31st, 2009 at 2:09:02 PM

Hard to believe eh?

@TeemSelami - I'd like to think they do.
padfootbob writes:
on July 31st, 2009 at 2:55:23 PM

Sweet!
WAFFLE MAN writes:
on July 31st, 2009 at 3:00:54 PM

Cool I hope they show how that big alien sitting in the chair got it's chest busted out.
acslaterson writes:
on July 31st, 2009 at 5:07:36 PM

I'd still bang Sigourney Weaver, if I ever become single again I am going cougar hunting for the first 6 months!
Ranger writes:
on July 31st, 2009 at 6:01:33 PM

She may be out of Cougar Country and into Panther Paradise my friend... she's old enough. But yeah... I'd help ya.
SACdaddy writes:
on July 31st, 2009 at 6:17:11 PM

@Ranger: Sigorney comes from a very wealthy family and has had a very successful career, so I don't think she's hurting for money. As for Ridley Scott, I'm glad he stepped up to direct. What I don't understand is that if this is a prequel will there be any humans in it. I thought no one had encountered the aliens before that and that wasn't a human ship they investigated in the original. I guess they can have another crew find the aliens only to be completely wiped out without Earth's knowledge.
Rich k writes:
on July 31st, 2009 at 6:24:41 PM

This is how i think they need to do this film. YOU CANNOT CGI THE ALIENS, you need to do the aliens with anamatronics, thats with building the aliens and controling them with remote control. I also think you cant bring back ripley and her crew, you need new cast members for this, it can be like the aliens were known about before ripleys time.
SACdaddy writes:
on July 31st, 2009 at 6:25:38 PM

I hate to say it but the original was so good because it was basically a horror movie with sh*t nobody had seen before. With no surprises and no Sigorney how can Ridley duplicate the impact of the original.

Another question: Will he go the horror route or the Blackhawk Down route?

Rich k writes:
on July 31st, 2009 at 6:26:34 PM

with ridley scott directing this, i think he could acually pull this off.
Rich k writes:
on July 31st, 2009 at 6:26:48 PM

with ridley scott directing this, i think he could acually pull this off.
SACdaddy writes:
on July 31st, 2009 at 6:40:18 PM

He should do a prequel to Aliens. In Cameron's dierctor's cut you see what happens to Newt's father. Why not do an entire movie based on what happens to the colony before the troops arrive? Follow Newt as her family and the rest of the colony get wiped out and impregnated. Now that would be some scary sh*t!
SACdaddy writes:
on July 31st, 2009 at 6:44:15 PM

You could also have Sigorney make a cameo this way. She's the only reason the Company knows about the aliens so they might be able to give her some screen time.
Ranger writes:
on August 1st, 2009 at 3:01:41 AM

@SAC - re: your 6:17 post. Yeah... I was just raggin' on Sig. I like her, and her work. And agree with your comments. And yeah... the first movie WAS the FIRST encounter (we knew of) with these Aliens. Well... it's in great hands with Ridley!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved