WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Gremlins" Remake is Still on Track

Posted: July 30th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Gremlins" Remake is Still on TrackSubmit Comment
Back in February of 2007, producer Michael Finell revealed that Warner Premiere might do a low-budget direct-to-DVD version of "Gremlins 3," but neither he or director Joe Dante would be involved.

Now, Dante tells Empire that the new installment is still in the works. "I hear they're going to make another one soon," he said. "I can see why - it would be stupid to let that title go to waste."

He added that it will likely be a remake, rather than a sequel. "The actors from the first two are too old to do a proper sequel, so I'm sure when the new one arrives it will be a remake of the original."

The original movie was about a boy, who inadvertently breaks 3 important rules concerning his new pet and unleashes a horde of malevolently mischievous monsters on a small town.

Source: Empire


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 27 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
vip3r22 writes:
on July 30th, 2009 at 6:34:44 PM

why does hollywood have to remake every great classic movie, only to ruin it? let great movies be and start having original ideas.
WV-Films writes:
on July 30th, 2009 at 6:49:58 PM

^^ The thing is, is it isn't even that old a title. There should be a rule that you can't remake a movie unless it's 35 years old.
jay-c writes:
on July 30th, 2009 at 6:53:00 PM

WHY, WHY WHY???

When will they learn to leave things alone? Gremlins was a fantastic movie, very much so because of the charm of the puppets used! You know that a remake would be CGI and would just kill it!
jay-c writes:
on July 30th, 2009 at 7:06:04 PM

Even that shouldn't warrant a remake! Just cos something is old, doesn't mean it should be messed with.
Look at The Omen - The pretty much copied the film, changing hardly anything! It just had less believable performances, an uneffective soundtrack and Michael Gambon's performance - he clearly had no interest in the role and was just taking the piss! OK rant over - my apologies!
vip3r22 writes:
on July 30th, 2009 at 7:12:40 PM

i personally do not recall one decent remake of a classic flim...anyone?
jaz_mayor writes:
on July 30th, 2009 at 7:32:13 PM

Where the f*ck are the f*cking original ideas f*cking gone in this sh*thola hollywood c*ntastic crap goddammit. Just because people are going back to the cinema again doesn't mean that we will stay going to the cinema if your going to f*ck with us all the f*cking time. We started going back bcause you provided some original worth going to the cineme stuff. Now your doing it again, screwing with us. Bastards. And you blamed piracy. Your to blame. Watch your backs the people will show you. Tossers. Just ranting because I think this is the straw that just broke my back.
dandythelion writes:
on July 30th, 2009 at 8:21:13 PM

a remake is like a cover of a song. it's not that bad. chill out people. i'm hoping they remake this as a straight up horror flick. those creepy little bastards had so much scare potential. of course it would a very different film than the original.
Lordchristo writes:
on July 30th, 2009 at 8:24:24 PM

But. . . but why? Why would you remake this? It was awesome. In fact, I just figured out what I'm gonna watch tonight. . . my God damned Gremlins DVD, because I don't need a remake to remember how effin' sweet it is!
Ranger writes:
on July 30th, 2009 at 8:52:49 PM

@jaz_mayor - 'c*ntastic!' LOL... hope you don't mind my using that one sometime?!
Wonkaman3000 writes:
on July 30th, 2009 at 9:48:15 PM

how do you remake gremlins and expect it 2 b a success?
SuluNakamura writes:
on July 30th, 2009 at 10:27:29 PM

f*cking remakes. I hope a mogwai eats their face.
Rich k writes:
on July 30th, 2009 at 10:54:30 PM

no!!!!!!!!!!!!
synthetic1985 writes:
on July 30th, 2009 at 10:57:11 PM

hollywood...i still got something for ya...prepared to be slapped in the face soon...literally...not physically...but literally as in my cd lol
Cd_Smith0 writes:
on July 31st, 2009 at 12:19:24 AM

DAMNIT!!!!!....I have kept my mouth shut about these remakes....but how f*cking dare they remake my all time favorite classic....whoever is doing this should burn in hell
dorkus1226 writes:
on July 31st, 2009 at 1:16:59 AM

NO!! cant they leave the classics alone??
acslaterson writes:
on July 31st, 2009 at 1:47:48 AM

Ok, I have given every re-make and re-boot a chance. This one? f*ck YOU HOLLYWOOD! Zach Efron will be cast and the Sun will go Super Nova, "Knowing" style. Yeah I saw that sh*tty movie, and now this is happening. It is all Nick Cage's fault.
Ranger writes:
on July 31st, 2009 at 2:03:48 AM

Remember Phoebe Cates' tits in Fast Times at Ridgemont High? They way the bounced and just hung off her chest like that... Sweet!

She married Kevin Kline I see?!?! Wow... good for him!
acslaterson writes:
on July 31st, 2009 at 2:05:07 AM

Ok, I can't hate on Nick Cage:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z4RxzuvoXHI
Gaudion93 writes:
on July 31st, 2009 at 3:39:30 AM

@acslaterson love the video of Nic Cage going ape sh*t lol
Charlie9 writes:
on July 31st, 2009 at 5:00:55 AM

The Italian Job was a good remake. Anyone? No?
Kill-the-director writes:
on July 31st, 2009 at 7:30:31 AM

oh ffs. i hope spielberg sh*ts all over this
Ranger writes:
on July 31st, 2009 at 10:19:13 AM

@Charlie9 - yes, actually I did enjoy that remake. As with Megan, it is for Charlize. Were she to spill something on her chin... I'd wipe it off with my crotch!
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on July 31st, 2009 at 11:40:51 AM

okay the thing about this is they could make it as cute at the beginning and then they need to rip the lid off and make it gory as hell! Have the Gremlins eating face & raping teenage girls and tearing out throats! Make it a good re-make!
Ranger writes:
on July 31st, 2009 at 11:42:30 AM

Teenage rape is pretty sweet.

OK... joking... before all you jump on me for having said what you're all thinking!!!!
PrevalentMind writes:
on August 1st, 2009 at 12:43:18 AM

Yeah It's back on track! Pretty soon I'll be able to pen a date on my calendar so I can count down the days to when my childhood memories will be destroyed...

...CGI...sigh...When will they learn the puppets are what make these classics. We love puppets- we know their puppets- we dont care you know that we know- SO GIVE US OUR PUPPETS!

...yeeez
synthetic1985 writes:
on August 1st, 2009 at 1:56:58 AM

hey speaking of puppets...isn't it funny that before all this remake and reboot nonsense got way out of control, hollywood is using the audience as puppets?....i think i can switch that around
Faron Crush writes:
on August 2nd, 2009 at 1:21:23 AM

You know what they should remake as well, Jesus.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved