WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Roberto Orci on "Star Trek" Sequel

Posted: July 30th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Roberto Orci on "Star Trek" SequelSubmit Comment
A few days ago, a rumor was passed around that the upcoming "Star Trek" sequel will have a cliffhanger that will lead into the third film. io9 now caught up with writer Roberto Orci and asked him whether there is any truth to that.

Orci explained that he, co-writer Alex Kurtzman, director JJ Abrams, and producer Bryan Burk had one meeting, lasting fifteen minutes, in which they considered the idea of doing the next two movies as a linked story.

He added that the idea is just one of many and it is still too early to say what they'll end up going with.

The site also asked whether the sequel will have the main character try to give up being a hero, similar to the storylines of many other sequels (Spider-Man 2, Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen).

Orci replied that the formula doesn't apply to every second installment in a franchise. In the case of "Star Trek," he sees the Enterprise crew as being much more committed to their mission and to doing good in the universe.

Source: io9


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 10 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Ryanlawson writes:
on July 30th, 2009 at 9:15:06 AM

f*ck yea, jj is the sh*t. so is startrek cloverfield and lost! YEA!
get amongst it!


ok, im done.
Muelofthefenz writes:
on July 30th, 2009 at 11:51:20 AM

Yes, but Orci didn't answer the real question burning on every American's mind. Will William Shatner sing karaoke-style in this sequel???
Horsemoney5 writes:
on July 30th, 2009 at 3:48:13 PM

Looking forward to this....Lets hope will Shatner shows up for a cameo
SACdaddy writes:
on July 30th, 2009 at 3:57:29 PM

MI3 was pretty good too. Who gives a f*ck what they got planned next? If its half as good as the first it'll blow the competition away. Star Trek is still the best movie of the year so far.
vip3r22 writes:
on July 30th, 2009 at 4:53:04 PM

star trek wasn't bad, but a shatner cameo? he follows spock back in time using more red matter to get his younger self to save money by shopping around online for the best plane tickets and hotel costs. Next will be the TJ hooker remake.
Fixxer35 writes:
on July 30th, 2009 at 5:06:28 PM

Most trilogies or sagas, in my opinion, are decent enough. If they planned ahead and did their research, I think the next two Star Trek movies won't be complete disappointments.
worstthing writes:
on July 30th, 2009 at 6:01:52 PM

Despite all the talk about the new Star Trek and how its nothing like the old. Thank God! I loved the special effects and the attractive cast was nice for change. The older Star Trek episodes were always so cheesy and had unattractive bad actors.
minkowski writes:
on July 30th, 2009 at 11:27:59 PM

"The older Star Trek episodes were always so cheesy and had unattractive bad actors"

That's goddamned dumbest thing I've ever heard. First of all, are people in real life always attractive? That's got to be the most shallow and idiotic remark I've EVER heard. So what, if people aren't just drop dead gorgeous, the film sucks? Does that look like real life at all? Do you think the future will be full of perfect beautiful people? Young William Shatner, young Mirina Sirtis, Johnathin Frakes, Denise Crosby, Gates McFadden...Jeri Ryan and Robert Beltran are ugly to you? Or are you talking about the TOS crew? I mean, is the f*cking engineer of a SPACESHIP supposed to look like a GQ model?? And let's face it, Urban, Pegg, Quinto, Greenwood and Cho aren't exactly people I'd pay to f*ck. And you do recall that the TOS crew WAS young once. Right? Never mind that the TOS show was filmed in the late 60s! They didn't even have Photoshop back then, or Mac IIes. They didn't have anything but cheap styrofoam, camera shakes and green screen. They didn't have teeth whitening or Nuke/AfterEffects/Fusion plugins to make people more beautiful. Goddamn it man, you're about as superficial as one can get. I bet you can't read a classic book without imagining all the characters as models and porn starts, right? Wuthering Heights in your mind is young brad Pitt and Sharon Tate, right?

See, your f*cking attitude is partly why so many modern movies suck. Your thinking. And studios are aware that the current young generation is shallow, mindless and superficial. That's why they fill films with 'sexy' people where there should be none. Studios know exactly what you're thinking.

Star Trek isn't about 'sexiness'. Sure, sexuality is in there. it's part of normal life, but even less than perfect looking people get laid, dude. Jesus f*cking Christ. Stra Trek is about the exploration of ideas, space and the dynamics between people and other cultures. Or, it WAS until the latest movie, which was made because the 14-28 demo doesn't care about any of these things, just their cell phone, brightening their teeth and making money. Gone is the old revolutionary attention to history, change and a 'new world'. that's why Star Trek 09 sucked. Mindless f*cking Star Wars.
vip3r22 writes:
on July 30th, 2009 at 11:34:49 PM

@mink

that's y i like seeing seth rogan as the leading man in movies, because he's an every man. just about everybody knows a guy like him, someone who mostly talks about doin something with his life, all the while smoking weed and playing video games, yet still able to score with decent bitches cuz he's funny and cool to hang with. Critics however hate that he's popular, saying that people are pretty much settling for ppl who are overweight and lazy, when it just shows that guys who aren't zac efron can still get with good looking chicks. especially if alcohol is involved...or if u slip her a rufie.
minkowski writes:
on July 31st, 2009 at 2:53:23 AM

Look, I'm all for anybody that's capable getting the roles. I dislike Rogen because I can't stand his films and I don't find his comical stylings to my liking. I'm fine with less than perfect people in films. Works for me absolutely. I don't really look at their appearance. I look at what they bring. To use a Star Trek actor as an example, Patrick Stewart is just AWESOME. He's a damned fine actor and he isn't perfect or beautiful. He commands presence and plays his roles with near f*cking perfection. Kathy Bates is another.

If I want bad videos full of beautiful people, I'll watch some soap operas. Hell, that's what Hollywood f*cking turned Star Trek into, a f*cking soap opera, when it was supposed to be a SPACE opera. When I want to enjoy a film with fine acting, taut action and story, perhaps with a message or some other facet of intelligent filmmaking, HOPEFULLY I still depend on those dopes on the east coast.

In short, whoever can fill the role best, despite perfect teeth, blue eyes and Aryan appearance. Its like Hollywood is peddling, through popular culture, the notion of a master race. Yeah, like Channing's good looks or Megan Fox's beauty make up for their total lack of talent and vacuum of brains.

And despite my dislike for Rogen, yeah, he does do what he's supposed to accomplish.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved