WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

John Barrowman Wants to be Captain America

Posted: July 29th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
John Barrowman Wants to be Captain AmericaSubmit Comment
During the BBC "Torchwood: Children of Earth" mini-series panel at Comic-Con last weekend, actor John Barrowman revealed that he would like the chance play Captain America in Marvel's upcoming "The First Avenger: Captain America" and "The Avengers" films.

"You know what I want to play? Captain America," he said to the wildly receptive crowd, before adding that it "so won't happen." Later an audience member stepped to the microphone and told Barrowman: "I think you're the only one who could play Captain America."

The UK actor is the star of "Torchwood" and has appeared on "Doctor Who." He's 42 years old and is six feet tall.

Source: WorstPreviews.com


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 47 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Ranger writes:
on July 29th, 2009 at 6:30:06 PM

Ahhh... still hasn't talked to Feige's office like Neil Fifer has. I can certainly see the attraction for wanting to play such an iconic character... obviously.
tolgaboy writes:
on July 29th, 2009 at 6:30:29 PM

WHY MAKE A C A MOVIE HE HAS NO SUPER POWERS JUST A BIT OF SERUM THATS ALL?
tcu21 writes:
on July 29th, 2009 at 6:49:54 PM

Okay well Batman and Iron Man don't have super powers either, but two successful franchises.
BlueMobius writes:
on July 29th, 2009 at 6:55:00 PM

The UK actor is the star of "Torchwood" and has appeared on "Doctor Who." He's 42 years old and is six feet tall.

And likes long walks on the beach, sunsets, and apple martinis...

When did WP become a celeb dating site?! :P
Ranger writes:
on July 29th, 2009 at 6:58:02 PM

LOL!

He also likes long walks on the beach, is a Sagittarius, spends his free time finding homes for lost kittens and cries during chick flicks.
Castor Troy writes:
on July 29th, 2009 at 7:01:00 PM

a dating site for homosexuals no less. Somehow dont see Captiain America being played by the campest man since bruno
Rich k writes:
on July 29th, 2009 at 7:19:16 PM

this could work.
Scrooge McDuck writes:
on July 29th, 2009 at 7:20:43 PM

Megan Fox will probably end up being Steve Rogers.
Ari Gold writes:
on July 29th, 2009 at 7:20:46 PM

^^
Props! Castor Troy! Best bad guy out!

I want to be Captain Australia! Instead of a shield I can have a boomerang! And a Crocodile Dundee hat!
DoucheNozzle writes:
on July 29th, 2009 at 7:20:55 PM

Love the avatar, Castor Troy! Oh, by the way, Mark Valley for Cap (will never happen though)!
solidkryptonite writes:
on July 29th, 2009 at 7:43:42 PM

If it's Captain America, shouldn't the actor be American?
acslaterson writes:
on July 29th, 2009 at 7:48:00 PM

Uh, Captain America was 18? when he took the super soldier serum. I know for a fact he was only 20 when he first met Bucky(who was 16). The oldest Cap could have been was 22 or 23 when he was frozen. This guy is twenty years too old.
jay-c writes:
on July 29th, 2009 at 7:57:01 PM

@solidkryptonite - William Wallace (Scottish) played by an australian; Batman (american) played by an englishman; the punisher (american) played by an irishman (punisher war zone).

Does it really matter what nationality the actor is? surely if they do good job it makes no difference! That's why it's called "acting".
Ronsauce writes:
on July 29th, 2009 at 8:26:34 PM

tolgaboy, solidkryptonite...you guys fail hard.

As for his age, I'd much prefer the Cap to be played by someone at least in his 30s. Though to be honest, I generally detest when any younger actor is given a superhero part; they often lack the gravitas to make the character convincing.
JohnnyMonad86 writes:
on July 29th, 2009 at 8:42:38 PM

There's been some talk about Will Smith possibly being cast as Steve Rogers despite the fact that the character is white. Being that Obama is our first black president, I'm sure studios are trying to convince everyone that having a black actor portray this character is only necessary. Obviously Smith is a charasmatic, talented and bankable actor, but I'd rather see the character of Rogers being played by a white actor. I'm not familiar with John Barrowman who does look the part. However, my choice for Captain America would be the square-jawed actor Brian Van Holt(John From Cincinnati). He's not too well-known, unfortunately, but he's built and a great actor.
Ranger writes:
on July 29th, 2009 at 8:56:38 PM

@solidkryptonite - fair question. But, Green Lantern was American is being played by Ryan Reynolds. Wolverine (Cdn. or American?) played by an Aussie. Prof. X, Kitty Pride, Rogue, Jean Grey and Magneto... all played by foreigners. CA I could see your concern a bit more as 'America' is in his title... but ahh no. A Yank isn't req. here... just hire the best fitting (fit) Actor for the job.
SACdaddy writes:
on July 29th, 2009 at 9:05:40 PM

@JohnnyMonad: The Will Smith casting rumor has nothing to do with Obama. Hollywood is just full of complete morons who are so blinded by the bottom line that they didn't notice Capt. America was white. It was just a rumor anyway, no way Marvel rolls the dice on the entire Avengers franchise for something this stupid. Plus, Hanc*ck bombed at the box office, Will had his chance.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on July 29th, 2009 at 9:07:01 PM

f*ck yeah!

I hope the rightwingers get butthurt over his sexual orientation!
skatemaster62 writes:
on July 29th, 2009 at 9:11:42 PM

i acctually have never seen this guy before. can he pool it off? im not sure
SACdaddy writes:
on July 29th, 2009 at 9:17:07 PM

@Ranger: Most Brits and Aussies can spit an American accent in their sleep. I think the heat is coming from Americans who are more and more fustrated with Christian Bale (Batman) butchering the accent while still be cast in all the best roles. Maybe the real question should be can a relatively unknown actor in his 40s handle the physical strains of being Capt. America?
SACdaddy writes:
on July 29th, 2009 at 9:34:44 PM

I could see Josh Hartnett being up for the Capt. He was pretty good in 30 days of Night and Lucky Number Slevin eventhough those movies sucked. He's 6'3", to hell with a short guy being Capt. America!
acslaterson writes:
on July 29th, 2009 at 9:35:36 PM

Will Smith wouldn't be cast as Steve Rogers, the African American Captain America was a character named Isaiah Bradley.
KaloVisor writes:
on July 29th, 2009 at 9:44:13 PM

No he's too old. and his hair is too dark. he wouldn't do Here are some chocies I think would be Good For Cap Amerca: Peter Facinelli, no wait Kellan Lutz, He would be Perfect For CA. Big, Strong, blonde. Yup. Other Actors That I wouldn't mind: Bradley Cooper Could do it,(Now that He won't be GL)
Brad Pitt (But he's a little to old too) I think Paul Walker Could poll it off.
KaloVisor writes:
on July 29th, 2009 at 9:48:24 PM

Casting A black guy as CA Would be Racist.
Ranger writes:
on July 29th, 2009 at 10:54:10 PM

@SAC - I agree.
@Kalo - hair color is a simple dye job my friend.
CA will be white. It's not racist to say black isn't an option. You can dye the hair... not the man (no Michael Jackson jokes please... I liked the guy... lol).

Ronsauce writes:
on July 29th, 2009 at 10:59:03 PM

Ugh...Paul Walker most certainly could NOT pull it off. That dude is a one trick pony, and that trick is making me cringe. Sam Worthington has a good superhero look, but his accent in T:S wavered far too much.
Ranger writes:
on July 29th, 2009 at 11:01:39 PM

@SAC - whoops. I mean to add I agree that CA is a strenuous role... no doubt. But a 6'3" guy would compete on the screen for Thor's presence. I think they need a guy beefy enough to have a stature of leadership, not even to be dwarfed by Iron Man's armor, yet stand strong enough next to Thor and The Hulk. I think there's a 'scale' here that should be followed.

Oh... and Gary Coleman as Hulk's turd.
whoever writes:
on July 29th, 2009 at 11:01:59 PM

@Ari Gold, I was thinking the same kind of thing but I would have Capt Aussie ride around on a 6 burner BBQ with his exploding cans of VB throwing his thongs of justice!

P.S. a thong is what yanks call flip flops and what you call a thong is a G-String here. Thought I would clear that up before you get the wrong idea.
Ronsauce writes:
on July 29th, 2009 at 11:05:32 PM

Over here in North America, we have both thongs and G-strings though.
Ranger writes:
on July 29th, 2009 at 11:06:56 PM

@whoever - I haven't heard flip-flops called 'thongs' in decades my friend. Thong has = g-string just short of forever.
whoever writes:
on July 29th, 2009 at 11:11:49 PM

We get paid out for those things like the kiwi's do for some of their colloquialisms!
jdl107 writes:
on July 29th, 2009 at 11:25:02 PM

deadwood.

now torchwood.

what next? rotwood?
bacci40 writes:
on July 30th, 2009 at 2:16:15 AM

castor troy, you f*cking homophobe...and i would like this casting
BurmaShave writes:
on July 30th, 2009 at 2:19:24 AM

Okay, seriously, who the f*ck is this Neil Fifer guy?
whoever writes:
on July 30th, 2009 at 2:34:34 AM

@BurmaShave, Neil Fifer is Ranger, don't pay any attention to it!
Ranger writes:
on July 30th, 2009 at 2:38:03 AM

Hmmm... not so close. So, no cigar. Lol!
synthetic1985 writes:
on July 30th, 2009 at 4:17:47 AM

i have a suggestion...pick whoever most people would agree with...i'm not sure that one audience member is reason enough to take their word for it
Sonic writes:
on July 30th, 2009 at 7:08:07 AM

Too old! still like in Torchwood & Doctor Who
Sonic writes:
on July 30th, 2009 at 7:18:05 AM

^Him
johnny_boy writes:
on July 30th, 2009 at 8:00:07 AM

i think of batman as an american icon. a british guy directed the last two successful series with a brit actor to star in it.i guess something like this is acceptable since it is acting and directing.but u CAN'T have a brit play a hero who's name has America in it! i say have a talented unknown actor portray him so they can keep him for multiple films.
Johnny Neat writes:
on July 30th, 2009 at 10:00:57 AM

HELL NO!
ladyhornet_05 writes:
on July 30th, 2009 at 2:46:25 PM

I love John Barrowman, but I just don't think the superhero genre is his cup of tea. The guy's been a Broadway actor most of his career and that over-the-top, schitk-y acting tends to leak into his other projects like Torchwood and Doctor Who. But to me, he could certainly look the part. He went blonde for the The Producers and it looked pretty good. But despite the looks, the acting ability isn't there. So my vote says no.
Ranger writes:
on July 30th, 2009 at 3:32:02 PM

Great post ladyhornet. I have no idea who Barrowman is, but you've enlightened me a bit as to his work.
ladyhornet_05 writes:
on July 30th, 2009 at 4:06:35 PM

@Ranger Always glad to help buddy ; )
toshisback writes:
on July 30th, 2009 at 7:12:56 PM

I'm stunned at the level of homophobia and xenophobia on this comment board.

First, Captain America should be played by someone who can handle the level of action required, can act, can handle the special effects/green screen work, and can do an American accent well.

Second, John Barrowman is a dual citizen of the UK and US. He is openly gay, has never hid it, and is in a civil union with his partner. That should not prevent him from getting the role of Captain America. It is acting after all.

Barrowman was born in Scotland, but moved to the Chicago area when he was 9 years old. He doesn't "do" an American accent, he is an American who speaks with a perfect movie ready/TV News ready midwest accent. And as a bonus, when asked he can speak in a Scottish Glaswegian accent and a passable English accent. Clearly these talents is not required for the CA role.

He's also a veteran of London's West End musical theatre, and is very athletic and in great physical shape. And since he's played a 51st century, omnisexual action hero named Captain Jack Harkness for four years to great acclaim on the new Doctor Who and on his own BBC series Torchwood, he has all the acting prerequisites for the job. His character is constantly killed in various ways, and due to his ability to regenerate he comes back to life. There's alot of experience in falling realistically, he handles guns, and knows green screen filming techniques very well. He is a good actor who could be great in the Captain America role. He's also a huge fan of the comic hero and scifi genres. And he's got the impossibly handsome good looks that a superhero like CA requires,i.e., the square jaw, jutting chin, and furrowed masculine brow as needed. And he's got the height to fit the action hero suit well. His hair is naturally a medium brown, much lighter than the picture shown above. His hair is dyed darker brown for the Captain Jack role. He also sings, dances, and ice skates well, though they are clearly not requirements for the CA role.

Barrowman is a multi-talented entertainer, of which there are aren't many in the world anymore. In the UK, his annual concert tour the past two springs has sold out. If you don't believe me go to YouTube and see some of the fan vids.

I agree that both Valley and Barrowman on paper seem a bit old for the part. However, Barrowman when made up often looks ten years younger at least. I agree with a previous commenter that it would be good to have someone play CA that appears young and vital.

Mark Valley is familiar to me, but haven't seen him in leading roles for awhile. Does anyone have more information about him?

Please, no haters...let's be civil here.
Ranger writes:
on July 30th, 2009 at 7:27:24 PM

Great post (seriously). You're his Agent or Mother, aren't you (joking). And 'no haters'... man, are you on the wrong site (lol).
BrandoFresh writes:
on July 30th, 2009 at 8:18:55 PM

He seems a bit too old. Maybe someone in their late 20s or 30s.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved