WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Trailer: Chinese Answer to "Transformers"

Posted: July 29th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Trailer: Chinese Answer to "Transformers"Submit Comment
A brand new trailer for China's answer to "Transformers" has made its way online. The new movie is called "Kung Fu Cyborg" and features people transforming into battling robots. Check out the trailer below.

"When I saw 'Spider-Man,' 'Superman' and 'Batman,' I wondered why we don't have similar superheroes in China," said director Jeffrey Lau. "I burst out laughing when watching 'Transformers.' The effects were amazing but the robots didn't know how to fight. So I decided our Chinese superheroes should be kung fu experts."

"Kung Fu Cyborg" is a sci-fi romantic/comedy and has a budget of $14 million, a third of which went to motion capture and CGI technology to produce the robot action. Lau says that one particular robot is based on Bruce Lee.

Trailer:

If you cannot see the player, click here.


Source: YouTube, Twitch


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 25 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
BrundleFly writes:
on July 29th, 2009 at 4:05:44 AM

There better not be any robot gonads in this
whoever writes:
on July 29th, 2009 at 4:11:39 AM

Looks more intelligent than Transformers 2!!!
bacci40 writes:
on July 29th, 2009 at 4:17:09 AM

hope bay watches and learns how to make an entertaining film
takai writes:
on July 29th, 2009 at 6:36:36 AM

Asian cinema is fantastic. haha
j-man writes:
on July 29th, 2009 at 6:37:37 AM

how is it, alot of asian movies have brillaint effects, but dont cost near as much as western films?
Teines writes:
on July 29th, 2009 at 7:54:05 AM

See comparative wages j-man. Daily minimum wage in China is less than $5USD .. This movie however looks very cool.
robbskittles writes:
on July 29th, 2009 at 8:21:46 AM

I don't think that was a Honda he turn into?
vwkombi writes:
on July 29th, 2009 at 8:33:33 AM

I think the title "Kung-fu Cyborg" really speaks for itself.
clentz writes:
on July 29th, 2009 at 10:10:30 AM

The special effects don't look nearly as good as Transformers, but the story looks maybe 10 times better. Leave it to the Chinese to add a human aspect to the story that isn't running and screaming.
lostwarrior writes:
on July 29th, 2009 at 10:54:11 AM

hope bay sees this and realizes he should find a new career..
PrevalentMind writes:
on July 29th, 2009 at 11:07:24 AM

I like it! haha Anybody see Big Man Japan yet? haha Check this f*cking thing out:http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ozRYgw6Nlpk
PrevalentMind writes:
on July 29th, 2009 at 11:11:03 AM

J man- its because their casts don't eat up the entire budget with high price tags. Plus they're asians...not trying to be ignorant, but finding a person who is awesome at After Effects in a culture fully immersed in electronics is certainly not hard to find for a reasonable sum of money.
thedotsays writes:
on July 29th, 2009 at 12:55:35 PM

Man if I was a Hollywood big shot, I'd pipe BILLIONS over to China/Japan and let them have the budget and creative control in making live action anime flicks. Those guys know how to do it and anime flicks have deep and very powerful storylines. All they need is a Western budget backing them and they'd be a hit.
boyle_anderson_lynch writes:
on July 29th, 2009 at 2:02:34 PM

If this has the comedic tone of Kung Fu Hustle or Shaolin Soccer this will be hilarious, Keep em coming Asia!!!
SuluNakamura writes:
on July 29th, 2009 at 4:01:47 PM

Nice Watchmen trailer ripoff at the end.
synthetic1985 writes:
on July 29th, 2009 at 4:10:44 PM

reasons asia has things better than us....1, nintendo came out in 1983 there while for us it was 1985, 2 they have better technology than we do, 3 they don't waste their time on sh*tty remakes or unnecessary bullsh*t that hollywood is giving us today...and even if the 3rd reason is an untrue statement, at least they don't do it as much
Iam_Jack_smirking_revenge writes:
on July 29th, 2009 at 4:33:56 PM

I hope this movie is a joke because it sure looks like it the graphics looks absolutely awful. Almost as bad as Dragon War’s I think China needs to come up with something original..
j-man writes:
on July 29th, 2009 at 7:41:46 PM

teines - yea i know what you mean, because i remember when warlords came out and that jet li had got the biggest ever pay check out of Asian film in history, and i was like, thats it lol
SuluNakamura writes:
on July 29th, 2009 at 11:01:43 PM

Asia's CG is never as good as that of the U.S. It kinda sucks because the quality of CG we see in movies today have raised the bar and have made a standard of what other movies should be at or better. Yet Asia, for whatever reason, is still stuck in the late 90's / early 2000's CG :. Of course CG isn't the only factor in making a good movie, but I guess I'm just spoiled.
thegambit72 writes:
on July 30th, 2009 at 1:21:33 AM

hope they make a dubbed version, i hate reading all the subs.
but seriously, this movie looks like the sh*t, cant wait to see it
telur writes:
on July 30th, 2009 at 4:36:18 AM

really really really really a sh*t. I think the genre is comedy
Wonkaman3000 writes:
on July 30th, 2009 at 7:11:28 AM

i wish i could turn into a car or a robot just randomly lmao but i still prefer transformers 2 i just dont c what was so bad about it.. can sum1 explain please b/c im obviously missing something that others claim 2 know
BrandoFresh writes:
on July 30th, 2009 at 8:00:05 PM

No thank you
Wonkaman3000 writes:
on July 30th, 2009 at 9:49:11 PM

lol thnx
Faron Crush writes:
on August 2nd, 2009 at 1:28:05 AM

They didn't have heroes like that in China yet because they had yet to bootleg em

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved