WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Edward Norton Talks "The Avengers"

Posted: July 28th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Edward Norton Talks "The Avengers"Submit Comment
MTV News caught up with Edward Norton, who has confirmed that Marvel has yet to contact him to either star in "The Incredible Hulk" sequel or to reprise his Bruce Banner role in "The Avengers."

"The minds of Marvel are sometimes opaque," Norton explained. "I won't say [they're] obtuse, but I don't have any idea what they want to do. They've got this notion of collecting the Marvel characters. Who knows where they'll go?"

"The Incredible Hulk" director Louis Leterrier and "Iron Man" writers Mark Fergus and Hawk Ostby have previously said that they would like to see Captain America, Thor and Iron Man team up in "The Avengers" to take on The Hulk. If that happens, it should be interesting to see if Norton will be asked to return.

Source: MTV News


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 57 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
BigUnit writes:
on July 28th, 2009 at 3:08:47 AM

HULK 2 please :)
Captain Rogaine writes:
on July 28th, 2009 at 3:19:51 AM

Well he better. He doesn't seem as star "I need my screen time" arrogant. That will be the problem with collecting all those others who've had movies of their own. Big paychecks and big attitudes.
Ranger writes:
on July 28th, 2009 at 3:43:43 AM

Ahh... wasn't The Hulk part of The Avengers and The Defenders? And for a Team as powerful as The Avengers... they'd need something bigger than the Hulk to tackle (Thor could do that alone). Norton should realize that the Hulk is the last thing on Marvel's radar right now. They have Thor and Capt. America brewing... the Avengers... a story for the Avengers... then, THEN the Hulk can come back.
Ranger writes:
on July 28th, 2009 at 3:57:07 AM

And Banner is working on controlling the Hulk, so I just assumed he'd be part of the Avengers... not against them. If the Hulk is the best adversary Marvel can come up with to battle the Avengers... even I won't watch it (and I'm a fan of anything Stan Lee).
DoucheNozzle writes:
on July 28th, 2009 at 4:33:27 AM

Ranger, Devin at CHUD wrote a piece about how most signs point to the Skrulls or the Hydras being the villians in the Avengers movie. Devin did some top-notch sleuthing, but it is not a lock yet. If that interests you, I have no clue.
vwkombi writes:
on July 28th, 2009 at 4:33:32 AM

I agree with Ranger. The Avengers fighting the Hulk is a poor idea, Thor could finish him alone. Give 'em a character or two that actually could defeat the avengers, rather than hold their own.
Javicon writes:
on July 28th, 2009 at 5:06:23 AM

The Avengers fighting Hulk is such a good idea as it was for The Ultimate Avengers, the comic they're inspiring in. Yes, Banner is working for a cure, but as soon as the team is joined, they realize they need a thread to justify their existance, so Banner turns himself into Hulk and............. It worked in the comic and I think it'd work in the film as well
Rich k writes:
on July 28th, 2009 at 5:16:41 AM

no they cant make the hulk into a villian, that would be horrible you have to put the hulk with the avengers. I would also love to see a hulk sequel.
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on July 28th, 2009 at 5:30:19 AM

Without Norton, it will fail!
JohnnyMonad86 writes:
on July 28th, 2009 at 6:11:37 AM

Honestly, Edward Norton's take on Bruce Banner was no more significant nor involving than Eric Bana's. They're both great actors, but the role itself is one that seems very difficult for almost any actor to slip into comfortably.
johnny_boy writes:
on July 28th, 2009 at 6:48:47 AM

i think captain america should end with all the avengers who will be in the avengers movie uniting or whatever.then the very Beginning of The Avengers,they take on and capture the hulk as their first mission sort as practice.then we get that out the way since we already have the avengers formed by the end of FA:CA
johnny_boy writes:
on July 28th, 2009 at 6:48:52 AM

i think captain america should end with all the avengers who will be in the avengers movie uniting or whatever.then the very Beginning of The Avengers,they take on and capture the hulk as their first mission sort as practice.then we get that out the way since we already have the avengers formed by the end of FA:CA
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on July 28th, 2009 at 6:56:01 AM

Wow! Another quote from an actor from six months ago. Great work MTV and WP!
Sonic writes:
on July 28th, 2009 at 7:06:14 AM

Hulk should be a Avenger not a Villain
buttabean writes:
on July 28th, 2009 at 7:31:42 AM

If you guys watch the avenger animated movies or comics you would know why the hulk needs to be stopped. He is an incredible monster that can't be controlled that destroys everything! In one part he practically destroys NYC and kills thousands. He's not able to be stopped by the avengers but only betty could calm the beast.

There's an animated movie that came out last year called Hulk VS which is two short films which Hulk fights Thor than the other was Hulk fighting Wolverine.

Both really good examples of why Hulk needs to be a monster that can't be controlled. The Thor movie is amazingly good.

guitar_dudester91 writes:
on July 28th, 2009 at 7:37:08 AM

Wow, obviously no one on here is older than a teenager. And has never read the comics. The first Avengers story is a group of individual super heroes who team up to stop the hulk as he going on a rampage. They do, and since they worked so well together, then they for the Avengers. And Hulk becomes one of them.

So don't f*cking comment on this about how you would rather see him an Avenger instead of a Villain. Holy sh*t.
lostwarrior writes:
on July 28th, 2009 at 8:08:31 AM

the only way that would work and for audiences to like it would be The Avengers Capture the hulk only to assist Banner with being able to control him, in order for the Hulk to be apart of the team.
thedotsays writes:
on July 28th, 2009 at 8:18:22 AM

Let them bang against Hulk in the begining but then "assemble" to fight an even bigger foe. Sure the whole premise of "stop being Hulk only to need him in the end" was done in the last film but hell, that's what Banner's all about anyway.
And I cosign the comment that without Norton, Hulk fails.
Johnny Neat writes:
on July 28th, 2009 at 8:55:30 AM

They need to not start recasting. I'm tired of it.
SACdaddy writes:
on July 28th, 2009 at 9:41:15 AM

Banner is the most replaceable role in the film. Literally anybody can play the part. why waste money on Norton.
lostwarrior writes:
on July 28th, 2009 at 11:02:01 AM

Cuz honestly Norton is a damn good actor... and he would only compliment the rest of the cast..but thats just me...
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on July 28th, 2009 at 11:26:53 AM

If they ask him to return they are f*cking stupid and it's a basic loose for them so he better come back
lost_addict writes:
on July 28th, 2009 at 12:37:05 PM

fight club 2 please
Ranger writes:
on July 28th, 2009 at 12:42:07 PM

The Hulk isn't a danger folks. As Banner is NOT the Hulk all the time. The Military would just keep him sedated (as in the first movie) - for the rest of his life. Also, as I posted above and others commented, the Hulk for the villain sucks. Thor would kick his ass around the entire continent! I like the post from DoucheNozzle... nice to see some insider news as to whom the villains may be. The Hulk IN the Avengers. Banner gets control (sort of) of The Hulk... and they fight some kick-ass enemies that the people have been too scared of letting Superman fight. The Avengers are too powerful... it would have to be something BIG (not Galactus big... but big).

@buttabean - I have watched the animated Avengers. I liked them but hope to hell the movies don't follow something that's already been done. Again... Hulk as the villain would NEVER work because of Thor.

Plans do fall apart, but I know Neil Fifer has been talking to Feige's office about Captain America. It's a way's off. But not if Marvel gets on a roll.

Someone said 'Team movies are hard to do'... u bet they are. But The Avengers would be really something to see, and 'difficulty' isn't a good enough reason not to make this movie.
buttabean writes:
on July 28th, 2009 at 1:10:56 PM

@ranger

The thing about the hulk is he has infinite power that rivals mortals and immortals. The more angry he gets the more powerful he gets.

Did you see Hulk VS Thor? I actually liked that one the most out of all the animated films they've done. They separate the hulk from banner's body which then they have hulk to deal with. He never shuts down. He's just a brutal beast with immortal powers that no one can stop.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Hulk#Powers_and_abilities
Ranger writes:
on July 28th, 2009 at 1:18:39 PM

@buttabean. Kewl! I remember (about 100 years ago) Marvel ran a short comic series weighing in on the abilities and strengths of the Heros. Even Iron Man made the heavyweight list... but only at their power levels for 1 second. I hear you on Hulk's unlimited strength. Thor's can't be measured either. Thor would just throw Hulk into the sun...lol. I think it's telling that they're working hard in the movies for Banner to get control over the Hulk. And were the Avengers to fight him... it would be just another M. Bay explo-fest. I think the Hulk on the Team, and they fighting something bigger than themselves would kick-ass. Because if we don't get some measure of 'like' for the Hulk (beyond his strength) - like his humanity... who cares if he dies? He's just a big, dumb, ignorant - radiation freak. I think that is a reason (one of many) the first Hulk failed so badly. He had no humanity (sure he'd get a wet spot every time Betty showed up (who wouldn't?)) - and people didn't care either way what happened to him. Norton certainly wants to see things progress... that's obvious. He's frustrated he doesn't have the control over things like he'd like to see them. I don't blame them. But at the end of the day... he's just the hired actor (I like him... I do). So, I guess we'll all see how Kevin Feige irons this massive Marvel Universe out.
thedotsays writes:
on July 28th, 2009 at 1:35:43 PM

@buttabean, I saw the Hulk vs. Thor toon and it was done damn near perfectly. Hulk's achillies has always been the Banner side inside him and like you said, the seperation of the two is why Hulk pounded the ass snot outta Thor. That could work in the movie but not the entire film. A seperated and out of control Hulk would give them fits but The Avengers would still win out. Then like I said, unite for a greater foe where you need Hulk in order to turn the tide.
Skrulls would be a stellar idea. Just waves and waves of skrulls for the team to pound on.
@Ranger, you are 100% correct. The series was cool but for the movie to follow it would be fatal.
Ranger writes:
on July 28th, 2009 at 1:48:31 PM

Thx. Dot. I don't envy Feige and Marvel's job to pull this together. I mean... ALL the Marvel movies to date have been a LOT easier to do that CA or Thor will be, let alone The Avengers. No wonder they've been 'dodging the bullet' for as long as they have.
lostwarrior writes:
on July 28th, 2009 at 2:23:44 PM

honestly they should do the avengers like the original star wars, writing wise. Just write one long ass movie, then break it down from there...
Ranger writes:
on July 28th, 2009 at 2:55:12 PM

And with Megan Fox naked straddling something.
acslaterson writes:
on July 28th, 2009 at 3:25:19 PM

Hulk vs. Thor was garbage and disrespected Thor's powersets as well as the rest of the Asagardians. Hulk is a marketable character, same as Wolverine and Spidey, and it shows every time they are put into animation or movies. That is why Hulk was such a badass in Hulk vs. Thor, when it should have been a much closer fight.
skatemaster62 writes:
on July 28th, 2009 at 3:33:36 PM

Hulk 2 deff. and Avengers
Lumberjack Matt writes:
on July 28th, 2009 at 3:38:24 PM

First off Hulk is a badass! Secondly one of the Avengers first major foes, way back in the sixtys was the hulk...they were all friends for like 3 issues...then the hulk laid em out. The Hulk laid out Thor in the animated cartoon because yes he is marketable...but mainly because he is the strongest one there is...HULK SMASH!
mattcl23 writes:
on July 28th, 2009 at 4:06:30 PM

I would be pissed off if they did not bring Norton back to reprise his role as Hulk. It would make sense to have the Avengers battle Hulk. At the end of the first one, I got the feeling that he was enjoying the fact that he can control it and the end with Stark set it up perfectly. If they make a second Avengers, then I would have Hulk on the Team.
Ranger writes:
on July 28th, 2009 at 4:09:59 PM

I'm enjoying the Hulk fans and the comments were he and Thor to battle. I'll even acknowledge and respect the fight they had when Banner as 'separated' from Hulk's body... with his humanity gone... he defeated Thor. It may also have been Thor's compassion for the Hulk that saw Thor take that beating. Hulk or not, separated from Banner of not, Thor is a God. Were HE to let loose (I mean REALLY LET LOOSE!)... the Hulk would be tossed into the sun, and not thing 1 the Hulk could do about it. Just saying... lol. RE: Avengers moving... Hulk fighting the Team yet again... has CLEARLY been done, to death. Let's see something NEW, original even from Marvel and Hollyweird for a change.
chiefone writes:
on July 28th, 2009 at 4:41:36 PM

@Ranger umm, Ranger, Hulk tossed into the sun, won't kill him, it will only make him angrier and Thour wont like Hulk when he's angrier
Ranger writes:
on July 28th, 2009 at 4:49:49 PM

lol... yeah, but the gravitational forces of the sun would keep him there. I still think Banner will get control of him, he'll get some humanity... people will like the big, dumb brute a lot more, and thus care more what happens to him. Plus, he as an Avengers Member makes the team that up for fighting something(s) HUGE! A fight betwix Greenie and the Team... zzzzz... same old.
Ranger writes:
on July 28th, 2009 at 5:00:48 PM

I do like the varying opinions on how this should be played out though. All good points and ideas folks!
guitar_dudester91 writes:
on July 28th, 2009 at 5:33:26 PM

So no one has read how the Avengers started?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Avengers_(comics)

Read the 1960s exerpt. That's what's up.

So either you guys can stop bitching about how Hulk should be in Avengers instead of against them - Because he ends up being one of them - and thank the writers for staying true to the comics, or you can have an original movie that will end up like Daredevil or Electra or some second rate movie like that, because the writers will have taken the characters and used them how they please.
Ranger writes:
on July 28th, 2009 at 5:38:01 PM

Well said... lol. Now... wasn't the Hulk also in The Defenders (if memory serves)?
acslaterson writes:
on July 28th, 2009 at 5:58:17 PM

Yeah, I think they are suppossed to be getting back together for either a miniseries or the Hulk(sh*t festival Loeb) series(current).
Ranger writes:
on July 28th, 2009 at 6:22:41 PM

1. Where would The Hulk take a crap that wouldn't offend an entire city?!

2. And would his waste glow?

3. I wonder if Lohan O.D.'d today.
BrandoFresh writes:
on July 28th, 2009 at 8:52:18 PM

I hope Norton comes back. On a side note, they better not make Hulk the villain of The Avengers. He's a member of the team in the comics, not an opposition. Marvel, please don't f*ck this.
buttabean writes:
on July 28th, 2009 at 10:46:22 PM

Wow, I'm surprised at all the excellent comments, ideas. I hope they do an excellent job which I think will happen. hopefully...
acslaterson writes:
on July 28th, 2009 at 11:19:19 PM

Thor with the Odinforce? Destroys Hulk, new powerset after combining the Odinforce with Mjolnir to repair it and combine his life force to it? Who knows, he has yet to be tested.
guitar_dudester91 writes:
on July 29th, 2009 at 12:11:09 AM

BrandoFresh... Did you not just read what I posted?!?!?!?

f*ck YOU IDIOT!! ha ha ha
minkowski writes:
on July 29th, 2009 at 1:17:44 AM

"They're both great actors, but the role itself is one that seems very difficult for almost any actor to slip into comfortably."

Yeah, because for the most part, the character is always written for the screen with very little depth. Lots of backstory, yes, but no emotional depth. And yes, I've seen both Hulk films and I watched the Hulk with what-his-name back in the eighties.
lostwarrior writes:
on July 29th, 2009 at 1:04:25 PM

@guitar duderster, 1st off no one knows how this is gonna go. he was just expressing his own opinion. regardless of what u think will happen unless ur Zac Penn and Marvel u dont know either ya c*nt wad.. So dont be rude for no reason. u end up looking like a what did I say oh yeah U f*ckING c*nt WAD.
lostwarrior writes:
on July 29th, 2009 at 1:08:30 PM

and at mink NOT TRYING TO BE RUDE. but the show ended in 82, i think it started in 77.
Ranger writes:
on July 29th, 2009 at 1:42:34 PM

That's not rude LW, you're just offering stats/facts. To Mink's credit - 80 - 82 is still the 80's.

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0077031/

'78 I see (but you were close my friend!).
lostwarrior writes:
on July 29th, 2009 at 1:58:40 PM

@ranger u know man I really miss that show. Its a shame that they cant get it right now, cuz they nailed it in the tv series, we grew up watching u know. and even though I was two when it was canceled i still loved the re-runs. but i mean they didnt have as much money nor the special effects that we do now and yet, its superior to anything else except for the cartoon movies of the HULK. The stories were hit or miss sometimes. but still, for being in the late 70 to the early 80's the show was f*cking fun to watch.
lostwarrior writes:
on July 29th, 2009 at 2:08:52 PM

Honestly I think thats the reason why I enjoyed the second Ed's one more. He even seemed to look more like the original banner, compared to Eric's version...
Ranger writes:
on July 29th, 2009 at 2:56:05 PM

@LW - I think EVERYBODY watched the TV series. You had the beef of Lou and the humanity of Banner just wanting a normal life again... running from that weasel of a reporter. I liked it too.
Evil E writes:
on July 29th, 2009 at 11:28:56 PM

This is the same thing posted months ago..
Slow news day. Ed is not coming back.
Ranger writes:
on July 30th, 2009 at 12:09:25 AM

U sure? Not doubting you... but provide a link or something for us folks out of the loop my friend.
Faron Crush writes:
on August 2nd, 2009 at 11:39:57 AM

WE NEED HULK 2!!! Bring back Norton!!! Please, so someone really crappy does not come in and screw it up. Like Adrian Brody or Will Smith.
guitar_dudester91 writes:
on August 6th, 2009 at 2:07:56 PM

Uhy, Lost warrior, I'm sorry I was pissed at people's stupidity?

That's why I included the link.

So rather than resort to name calling, why don't you "state your opinion," after reading what my post said?

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved