WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Excalibur" Remake in the Works?

Posted: July 28th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Excalibur" Remake in the Works?Submit Comment
Writer Warren Ellis ("GI Joe: Resolute") posted a cryptic message on his official blog, stating that he is writing a film treatment for an Untitled Arthurian Project. He adds that he's writing it for producers who worked on "300," and they are calling the new movie "Excalibur."

He links to a Wikipedia page for the 1981 "Excalibur" film, which stars Helen Mirren, Gabriel Byrne, Liam Neeson, Patrick Stewart and Nigel Terry as King Arthur.

What this means is still unknown, but one can only assume that an "Excalibur" remake is in the works. Stay tuned.

Source: WarrenEllis.com


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 22 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Rich k writes:
on July 28th, 2009 at 5:27:39 AM

This is a good idea i think they need to make a good arthur film.
JohnnyMonad86 writes:
on July 28th, 2009 at 6:04:48 AM

Another remake? wow...
bale01289 writes:
on July 28th, 2009 at 6:54:05 AM

If it aint broke, don't fix it! Don't touch this one, there is nothing wrong with the original!!!!
lostwarrior writes:
on July 28th, 2009 at 7:55:21 AM

Hollywood has nothing better to do, except ruin great films of the past. So go ahead u c*nt wads, and while youre at it, remake E.T., Wizard of Oz, the God Father and other classics. Please, I cant wait to waste my money and my time..
thedotsays writes:
on July 28th, 2009 at 8:24:55 AM

Excalibur is damn near perfect. A little long winded towards the end but without that it would have been worse. Go ahead and remake it so the original can look even better up against whatever crap you sling out to the people. Plus, you never find an actress with a better pair of tits than Helen Miren who is willing to show them on screen the way she did. Miren's tits are credited for my first official visually created wood.
SACdaddy writes:
on July 28th, 2009 at 9:04:24 AM

Next up, a watered down remake of the best King Arthur movie ever made. Hwood doesn't have the vision or the huevos to come close to the creativity and brutality of the original. FU Hwood!!!
PrevalentMind writes:
on July 28th, 2009 at 9:39:29 AM

Even the effects hold up to this day. I STILL have NO IDEA how they pulled off that effect with the chalice. Its so seamless...and it must have been an in-camera effect, but how in the name of God did they do it...now it'll just be uncreative CGI. Shortcut filmmakers...pfffffffffthetic.
i3u7n5 writes:
on July 28th, 2009 at 10:20:45 AM

Go back and watch Nigel Terry in Excalibur and compare it to Stephen King's performance as the "meteor sh*t" covered hillbilly Jordy verrill in Creepshow and tell me those two weren't separated at birth.
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on July 28th, 2009 at 11:36:22 AM

bring back Liam Neeson, & Patrick Stewart and you have a deal
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on July 28th, 2009 at 11:39:50 AM

^ Yea, really.

Oh boy, another f*cking remake, I wonder how long until they start remaking the first Harry Potter movies?
synthetic1985 writes:
on July 28th, 2009 at 12:21:23 PM

that does it....i'm gonna call bomb threats into hollywood...'stop with the remakes, or i'll f*cking blow you up!'...MAKE THAT INTO A MOVIE YOU STUPID HOLLYWOOD f*ckS!
Ranger writes:
on July 28th, 2009 at 2:30:06 PM

Helen Mirren, Gabriel Byrne, Liam Neeson, Patrick Stewart and Nigel Terry - WOW - what a cast! I had this on VHS... waaaaaayyyy back!
Ranger writes:
on July 28th, 2009 at 2:33:49 PM

I wish we'd see Gabriel Byrne more. Maybe he likes sticking with the artsy indie industry more, or Hollywood is just too stupid (again) to offer a good actor anything good (not much 'good' going around Hollywood these days). I loved the man in End of Days. He stole every scene he was in. He can either play likable, or someone you want to stomp on their throat (like Joaquin in Gladiator). Amazing.
synthetic1985 writes:
on July 28th, 2009 at 4:27:47 PM

@ Ranger...i can't agree more with you there....gabriel was awesome in end of days...i liked him in 'ghost ship' too...i mean that was kind of a slow movie...but was a fairly decent if not better story for an entertaining suspense/horror flick...seriously guys....let's call bomb threats to these studios...it'll make them think twice about pissing off certain crowds...because hollywood is under the impression that people who aren't rich can't do jack sh*t about it....and that's not true at all...hollywood is forgetting that without people like us paying for a movie...they'd be NOTHING!
synthetic1985 writes:
on July 28th, 2009 at 4:31:37 PM

i mean take megan fox for an example....she says she's only in movies because she's got good looks...and because she has all this money that was purely off of peoples' pockets...she's going around flashin her sh*t at the less fortunate thinkin that she can talk sh*t without any harm done
Ranger writes:
on July 28th, 2009 at 4:52:01 PM

@Synth... I agree. But... people themselves have proved to Hollywood that they can make average flicks and they'll still make hundreds of millions of $'s. We the ticket buyers aren't really starving them out, forcing them to make Gladiators, and Shawshank Redemptions at every corner. We're to blame my friend. Sad... and it stings a bit, but I believe it to be true.
Ranger writes:
on July 28th, 2009 at 4:53:30 PM

Megan is one of the few, honest mouths in Hollywood. I think the 'flash' she portrays is because the Paps follow her everywhere (I would too). But she's honest about getting jobs because of her looks, and that Hollywood is making crap. We can punish that young beautiful for being so and calling it the way it is. Let's go after the real bullsh*tters... there's more than enough to handle there.
synthetic1985 writes:
on July 28th, 2009 at 8:14:38 PM

yea i can't argue there...i mean at least she hasn't starred in a remake that wasn't necessary yet
acslaterson writes:
on July 29th, 2009 at 2:01:06 AM

Wow, I am ashamed that I have never seen the original. To the top of the Netfix queue it will go(well behind Green Lanter First Flight anyway)!
acslaterson writes:
on July 29th, 2009 at 2:02:17 AM

On instant Netflix! Oh snap!
thedotsays writes:
on July 29th, 2009 at 11:15:40 PM

The only problem with remaking this is that there are not enough great actors for this role. Granted when the original was done, most of the cast were relative newcomers and not the household names they are today. But if lightning can strike twice and they can find their diamonds in the rough as was done in the orig, then go ahead and do it.

Oh and Helen Miren tits were awesome......still might be today.
Ranger writes:
on July 29th, 2009 at 11:49:32 PM

I'd nail the Queen (just for bragging rights at the Pub).

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved