WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Batman Chases The Joker in "Suicide Squad" Set Photo
May 28th, 2015
Trailer for "Pawn Sacrifice," with Tobey Maguire as Chess Champion Bobby Fischer
May 28th, 2015
Trailer for Kevin Bacon's "Cop Car" Thriller
May 28th, 2015
Tilda Swinton is The Ancient One in Marvel's "Doctor Strange"
May 28th, 2015
Chris Pine is Talks to Co-Star in "Wonder Woman"
May 28th, 2015
Trailer for "A Walk in the Woods," with Robert Redford and Nick Nolte
May 28th, 2015
Trailer for "The End of the Tour," with Jesse Eisenberg and Jason Segel
May 28th, 2015
Trailer for "Point Break" Remake is Here!
May 27th, 2015
"The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen" is Being Rebooted
May 27th, 2015
Robert Rodriguez to Direct Live-Action "Jonny Quest" Movie
May 27th, 2015
New Trailer for Joe Dante's "Burying the Ex" Comedy Horror, with Anton Yelchin
May 27th, 2015
Hulk Hogan is the Villain in "The Expendables 4"?
May 26th, 2015
Channing Tatum Says "Gambit" is an Origin Story
May 26th, 2015
Ryan Reynolds Says Hugh Jackman May Make Cameo in "Deadpool"
May 26th, 2015
First Poster for "Point Break" Remake
May 26th, 2015
More Photos From Matt Damon's "The Martian," Directed by Ridley Scott
May 25th, 2015
"Mission: Impossible 6" and "Now You See Me 3" Already in Development
May 25th, 2015
"Beautiful Mind" Mathematician John Nash Killed in Taxi Crash
May 25th, 2015
First Look at Matt Damon in Ridley Scott's "The Martian"
May 24th, 2015
New "Fantastic Four" Trailer, Director Responds to Rumors of Being Replaced
May 24th, 2015
New Photos From "Deadpool" and "Ant-Man"
May 24th, 2015
New Trailer for Johnny Depp's "Black Mass" is Here!
May 23rd, 2015
First Look at Jonah Hill and Miles Teller in "Arms and the Dudes"
May 23rd, 2015
First Look at Meryl Streel and Hugh Grant in "Florence Foster Jenkins"
May 23rd, 2015
First Look at Cuba Gooding Jr and John Travolta in "America Crime Story: The People V. OJ Simpson"
May 22nd, 2015
New Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Knock Knock" Thriller
May 22nd, 2015
Brad Pitt's "World War Z" Sequel Gets a Title
May 22nd, 2015
Reese Witherspoon to Star in Disney's Live-Action Tinker Bell Movie "Tink"
May 22nd, 2015
"Fantastic Four" Promo Video Shows Team's Superpowers
May 22nd, 2015
Full Trailer for "The Gallows" Horror Film
May 22nd, 2015
New "Captain America: Civil War" Set Photos, With Paul Rudd and Robert Downey Jr
May 21st, 2015
"Independence Day 2" Takes Place 15 Years Later, Same Aliens Return
May 21st, 2015
"Transformers" Sequels and Spin-Offs Get Impressive Writing Team
May 21st, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Judd Apatow Working on "Funny People" Spin-Off

Posted: July 27th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Judd Apatow Working on "Funny People" Spin-OffSubmit Comment
Director Judd Apatow and stars Adam Sandler and Seth Rogen have been promoting the upcoming release of their "Funny People" movie. Some of you may have heard them joking about making a full-length movie based on the Randy character, played by comedian Aziz Ansari ("Human Giant"). Apparently, they weren't joking.

JoBlo caught up with Apatow, who said that he's outlining the Randy movie right now.

"Randy isn't in the movie anywhere near as much we wish he was," said Apatow. "Something hilariously magical happened when Aziz showed up. So we all said, 'What else can we do?' Let's just make a documentary! We just couldn't stop writing for him. And now we're talking about making the Randy movie. We can't get enough of Randy."

RAAAAAAANDY:


Source: JoBlo


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 20 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
lostwarrior writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 6:23:09 PM

How about they let the movie come out first to see what peoples reactions are before they announce this...
Dre-EL writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 6:29:49 PM

Before we talk spin off lets see how sucky this one is.
Ranger writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 6:32:33 PM

You're both right.
bale01289 writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 6:55:04 PM

I wonder if this will be a sappy dramady just like "Funny People"? Love Apatow, but c'mon......really????
synthetic1985 writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 7:34:32 PM

talk about sh*tty marketing techniques...at least james cameron is smart enough to wait to see how avatar does
thomas deadison writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 8:24:12 PM

Here we go again. Can you tell me where in that quote he says he's 'outlining the Randy movie right now'? They're just having fun.



I predict a high 80s-low 90s tomatometer for Funny People.
synthetic1985 writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 8:35:58 PM

spin offs sometimes suck...i mean look at the next sarah marshall movie...'get him to the greek'....jonah hill's character goes from not getting what he wanted out of russel brand's character, to being puff daddy's agent in the sequel??...lol wow
Cd_Smith0 writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 8:36:03 PM

What is up with the comedy spinoffs...they keep saying they will do this but then they don't. So far my luck with comedy spinoffs has been crap.
thomas deadison writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 8:38:25 PM

Jonah Hill is playing a different character in the Forgetting Sarah Marshall spin-off.
alexgi writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 9:15:25 PM

@thomas deadison: Apatow actually said that he's outlining the Randy movie right now. It's not just WP assuming.
BigUnit writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 10:24:57 PM

"Dre-EL" I would like you to name one Judd Apatow movie that you think sucked? i rest my case.
thomas deadison writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 10:30:19 PM

I still call BULL on this, Alex! Though, I wouldn't be against it. Aziz is amazingly hilarious.
vwkombi writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 11:40:14 PM

Of course this movie will make enough money to cater for a spin-off. It's Judd Apatow, his movies are smart and witty adult orientated humour. You know, not just childish sex jokes disguised as mature humour.
minkowski writes:
on July 28th, 2009 at 12:05:23 AM

"You know, not just childish sex jokes disguised as mature humour."

Never!
tcu21 writes:
on July 28th, 2009 at 12:33:49 AM

Aziz Ansari is pretty damn funny, and everyone knows that Funny People is going to f*cking bank at the box office so I'm actually surprised the spin off isn't halfway through filming at the moment.

Rolling Stone already gave it a 3 and a half star review, early screening reviews have been positive with the mention of possible Oscar nominations.

It's hard for me to imagine that this movie won't be successful enough to generate a spin off. Especially for an emerging comedian like Ansari.
thedotsays writes:
on July 28th, 2009 at 8:14:18 AM

Ansari's funny as hell but he's one of those polarizing dudes that you either hate him or like him. I don't see many if any at all sitting on the fence about him. He was able to make Scrubs funny until he left and I tried watching that horrid Parks and Recreation but he wsn't in it enough. But when he was he owned.
Unfortunately though he doesn't have the sheets to carry a theatrical release on his name alone.
Johnny Neat writes:
on July 28th, 2009 at 8:49:44 AM

I dunno but why does he have to be so loud? It was kind of funny but I also wonder if this is how he speaks all the time, like he grew up in Compton?
Hollywood1086 writes:
on July 28th, 2009 at 9:51:04 AM

don't call a movie "funny people" if it doesn't actually include any funny people. i f*cking hate jonah hill.
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on July 28th, 2009 at 11:31:15 AM

Aziz Ansari is hilarious, although I dont know about a full length film... Judd is taking it a bit far. FUNNY PEOPLE though is going to be hilarious!
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on July 28th, 2009 at 11:33:06 AM

@Hollywood1086 - you're f*cking stupid, Jonah is f*cking hilarious!

Reed Richards Doesn't Stretch in "Fantastic Four" Reboot

New "Captain America: Civil War" Set Photos, With Paul Rudd and Robert Downey Jr

"Jurassic World" to Ignore Last Two Films, to Bring Back T-Rex

Five Actors in Talks for "Spider-Man" Reboot

Hugh Jackman and Channing Tatum to Appear in "X-Men: Apocalypse"?

Brad Pitt's "World War Z" Sequel Gets a Title

"Fantastic Four" Director Fired From "Star Wars" Spin-Off

"Independence Day 2" Takes Place 15 Years Later, Same Aliens Return

Why Wasn't Loki in "Avengers: Age of Ultron"?

Hugh Jackman Confirms "Wolverine 3" is His Last Time as Wolverine
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved