WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
First Look at Arnold Schwarzenegger in "Terminator Genisys"
Oct 31st, 2014
Trailer for Alex Garland's "Ex Machina" Sci-Fi Thriller
Oct 31st, 2014
Seth Rogen is Steve Wozniak in Steve Jobs Biopic, Starring Christian Bale
Oct 31st, 2014
First Look at "Pride and Prejudice and Zombies"
Oct 31st, 2014
"Terminator Genisys" Storyboards Tease a Massive Battle Scene
Oct 31st, 2014
New Trailer for "SpongeBob SquarePants: Sponge Out of Water" Arrives Online
Oct 31st, 2014
First "Terminator Genisys" Photos, Plot Details Revealed
Oct 30th, 2014
Jim Carrey Says Tommy Lee Jones Hated Him During "Batman Forever" Shoot
Oct 30th, 2014
Michael Bay to Direct "13 Hours" Benghazi Film
Oct 30th, 2014
Final Trailer for "The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1"
Oct 30th, 2014
First Poster for Alex Garland's "Ex Machina" Sci-Fi Thriller
Oct 30th, 2014
Keanu Reeves' Next Film is "Replicas" Sci-Fi Thriller
Oct 30th, 2014
"Avengers: Infinity War" Trailer Leaked Online
Oct 29th, 2014
First "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Clip is Here!
Oct 29th, 2014
Marvel Explains Why "Hulk" and "Black Widow" Films are NOT Happening
Oct 29th, 2014
First Look at "Black Panther" Costume
Oct 29th, 2014
"Captain America: Civil War" Story Details Revealed
Oct 29th, 2014
"Thor: Ragnarok" Story Details Revealed
Oct 29th, 2014
Marvel Unveils Titles, Logos and Release Dates For All Phase 3 Films
Oct 29th, 2014
Marvel Says "Avengers 3" Will Feature Different Superhero Team
Oct 28th, 2014
David Goyer Writing Superman Prequel TV Series "Krypton"?
Oct 28th, 2014
First Look at Emma Watson in "Colonia" Cult Thriller
Oct 28th, 2014
"Star Wars: Episode VII" Trailer Coming This Year?
Oct 28th, 2014
Ewan McGregor Says "Trainspotting" Sequel to Shoot in 2016
Oct 28th, 2014
Benedict Cumberbatch to Star in Marvel's "Doctor Strange"!
Oct 27th, 2014
"Furious 7" Unveils Second Poster
Oct 27th, 2014
Jesse Eisenberg May Return as Lex Luthor in "Suicide Squad" Comic Book Film
Oct 27th, 2014
"Fast and Furious 7" Unveils Title and Poster, Trailer Coming Soon
Oct 27th, 2014
Photos: "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" to Show Funeral of Bruce Wayne's Parents?
Oct 27th, 2014
"Ouija" Easily Beat Keanu Reeves' "John Wick" at Box Office
Oct 27th, 2014
Russell Brand is Quitting Acting Because He's Scared of Money
Oct 27th, 2014
Keanu Reeves Says He Wanted to Play Wolverine and Batman
Oct 26th, 2014
Christopher Nolan No Longer Involved With Warner Bros' Superhero Films
Oct 26th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Judd Apatow Working on "Funny People" Spin-Off

Posted: July 27th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Judd Apatow Working on "Funny People" Spin-OffSubmit Comment
Director Judd Apatow and stars Adam Sandler and Seth Rogen have been promoting the upcoming release of their "Funny People" movie. Some of you may have heard them joking about making a full-length movie based on the Randy character, played by comedian Aziz Ansari ("Human Giant"). Apparently, they weren't joking.

JoBlo caught up with Apatow, who said that he's outlining the Randy movie right now.

"Randy isn't in the movie anywhere near as much we wish he was," said Apatow. "Something hilariously magical happened when Aziz showed up. So we all said, 'What else can we do?' Let's just make a documentary! We just couldn't stop writing for him. And now we're talking about making the Randy movie. We can't get enough of Randy."

RAAAAAAANDY:


Source: JoBlo


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 20 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
lostwarrior writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 6:23:09 PM

How about they let the movie come out first to see what peoples reactions are before they announce this...
Dre-EL writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 6:29:49 PM

Before we talk spin off lets see how sucky this one is.
Ranger writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 6:32:33 PM

You're both right.
bale01289 writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 6:55:04 PM

I wonder if this will be a sappy dramady just like "Funny People"? Love Apatow, but c'mon......really????
synthetic1985 writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 7:34:32 PM

talk about sh*tty marketing techniques...at least james cameron is smart enough to wait to see how avatar does
thomas deadison writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 8:24:12 PM

Here we go again. Can you tell me where in that quote he says he's 'outlining the Randy movie right now'? They're just having fun.



I predict a high 80s-low 90s tomatometer for Funny People.
synthetic1985 writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 8:35:58 PM

spin offs sometimes suck...i mean look at the next sarah marshall movie...'get him to the greek'....jonah hill's character goes from not getting what he wanted out of russel brand's character, to being puff daddy's agent in the sequel??...lol wow
Cd_Smith0 writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 8:36:03 PM

What is up with the comedy spinoffs...they keep saying they will do this but then they don't. So far my luck with comedy spinoffs has been crap.
thomas deadison writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 8:38:25 PM

Jonah Hill is playing a different character in the Forgetting Sarah Marshall spin-off.
alexgi writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 9:15:25 PM

@thomas deadison: Apatow actually said that he's outlining the Randy movie right now. It's not just WP assuming.
BigUnit writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 10:24:57 PM

"Dre-EL" I would like you to name one Judd Apatow movie that you think sucked? i rest my case.
thomas deadison writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 10:30:19 PM

I still call BULL on this, Alex! Though, I wouldn't be against it. Aziz is amazingly hilarious.
vwkombi writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 11:40:14 PM

Of course this movie will make enough money to cater for a spin-off. It's Judd Apatow, his movies are smart and witty adult orientated humour. You know, not just childish sex jokes disguised as mature humour.
minkowski writes:
on July 28th, 2009 at 12:05:23 AM

"You know, not just childish sex jokes disguised as mature humour."

Never!
tcu21 writes:
on July 28th, 2009 at 12:33:49 AM

Aziz Ansari is pretty damn funny, and everyone knows that Funny People is going to f*cking bank at the box office so I'm actually surprised the spin off isn't halfway through filming at the moment.

Rolling Stone already gave it a 3 and a half star review, early screening reviews have been positive with the mention of possible Oscar nominations.

It's hard for me to imagine that this movie won't be successful enough to generate a spin off. Especially for an emerging comedian like Ansari.
thedotsays writes:
on July 28th, 2009 at 8:14:18 AM

Ansari's funny as hell but he's one of those polarizing dudes that you either hate him or like him. I don't see many if any at all sitting on the fence about him. He was able to make Scrubs funny until he left and I tried watching that horrid Parks and Recreation but he wsn't in it enough. But when he was he owned.
Unfortunately though he doesn't have the sheets to carry a theatrical release on his name alone.
Johnny Neat writes:
on July 28th, 2009 at 8:49:44 AM

I dunno but why does he have to be so loud? It was kind of funny but I also wonder if this is how he speaks all the time, like he grew up in Compton?
Hollywood1086 writes:
on July 28th, 2009 at 9:51:04 AM

don't call a movie "funny people" if it doesn't actually include any funny people. i f*cking hate jonah hill.
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on July 28th, 2009 at 11:31:15 AM

Aziz Ansari is hilarious, although I dont know about a full length film... Judd is taking it a bit far. FUNNY PEOPLE though is going to be hilarious!
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on July 28th, 2009 at 11:33:06 AM

@Hollywood1086 - you're f*cking stupid, Jonah is f*cking hilarious!

Marvel Surprised Robert Downey Jr With an Unexpected Gift

Christian Bale's "The Machinist" Co-Star Reveals Disturbing Story About Actor's Weight-Loss

Marvel Says "Avengers 3" Will Feature Different Superhero Team

Robert Downey Jr Now Says He Won't Return For "Iron Man 4"

Penelope Cruz is Esquire's 2014 Sexiest Woman Alive

Amanda Bynes Placed in Psychiatric Care, Says Her Father Asked Her For Sex

Description of "Jurassic World" Trailer

"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Trailer Coming Next Week!

Tom Hardy May Play Apocalypse in "X-Men: Apocalypse"

Keanu Reeves Says Film Studios Don't Want to Work With Him
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved