WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
New Trailer for Christian Bale's "Exodus: Gods and Kings," Directed by Ridley Scott
Oct 2nd, 2014
Final Trailer for Christopher Nolan's "Interstellar" Sci-Fi Film
Oct 1st, 2014
Trailer for Liam Neeson's "Taken 3" Arrives Online
Oct 1st, 2014
"Tetris" Video Game to Become a Live-Action Sci-Fi Movie
Oct 1st, 2014
Restricted Trailer For "Home Sweet Hell," with Katherine Heigl and Patrick Wilson
Oct 1st, 2014
"Zombieland" Sequel is Moving Forward, Writer and Director Hired
Oct 1st, 2014
New Trailer for "Horrible Bosses 2"
Oct 1st, 2014
Trailer For Russell Crowe's "The Water Diviner," Directed by Crowe
Oct 1st, 2014
Jeremy Renner Says Marvel Wants a Hawkeye/Black Widow Film
Sep 30th, 2014
Why Ben Affleck Won't Get to Keep the Batman Costume
Sep 30th, 2014
Kevin Smith Says He Raised Money For "Clerks 3"
Sep 30th, 2014
"Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon" Sequel to Premiere on Netflix
Sep 30th, 2014
Trailer for PT Anderson's "Inherent Vice," with Joaquin Phoenix and Josh Brolin
Sep 30th, 2014
New Trailer for "The Loft" Thriller, with Karl Urban and James Marsden
Sep 30th, 2014
"Black Widow" Movie Almost Happened Before "Iron Man"
Sep 29th, 2014
First Look at Kristen Stewart's "Equals" Sci-Fi Film
Sep 29th, 2014
Denzel Washington's "The Equalizer" Easily Wins at Box Office
Sep 29th, 2014
"Police Academy" Reboot Abandons Judd Apatow's Storyline
Sep 29th, 2014
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Trailer Attached to "Interstellar"?
Sep 28th, 2014
Quentin Tarantino's "The Hateful Eight" to Begin Filming in December
Sep 28th, 2014
William Shatner Confirms Offer to Appear in "Star Trek 3"
Sep 28th, 2014
First Trailer for Lifetime's "Aaliyah" Biopic
Sep 28th, 2014
Will Marvel Split "Avengers 3" Into Two Films?
Sep 27th, 2014
Jeremy Renner Comments on Matt Damon Returning to "Jason Bourne" Franchise
Sep 27th, 2014
First Poster for Liam Neeson's "Taken 3," Plus New Title Revealed
Sep 27th, 2014
Posters For Ridiculous "22 Jump Street" Sequels
Sep 27th, 2014
How Much Netflix Do People Watch Per Day?
Sep 27th, 2014
Miles Teller Apologizes For Trashing "Divergent"
Sep 26th, 2014
New Trailer for Ethan Hawke's "Predestination" Time-Travel Thriller
Sep 26th, 2014
Deleted Rogue Scenes Will Be Added Back Into "Rogue Cut" of "X-Men: Days of Future Past"
Sep 26th, 2014
New Trailer for "The Wedding Ringer" Comedy, with Kevin Hart and Josh Gad
Sep 26th, 2014
"Bill and Ted 3" is Still Happening, Details Revealed
Sep 26th, 2014
"Dumb and Dumber To" Unveils First TV Spot
Sep 26th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Judd Apatow Working on "Funny People" Spin-Off

Posted: July 27th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Judd Apatow Working on "Funny People" Spin-OffSubmit Comment
Director Judd Apatow and stars Adam Sandler and Seth Rogen have been promoting the upcoming release of their "Funny People" movie. Some of you may have heard them joking about making a full-length movie based on the Randy character, played by comedian Aziz Ansari ("Human Giant"). Apparently, they weren't joking.

JoBlo caught up with Apatow, who said that he's outlining the Randy movie right now.

"Randy isn't in the movie anywhere near as much we wish he was," said Apatow. "Something hilariously magical happened when Aziz showed up. So we all said, 'What else can we do?' Let's just make a documentary! We just couldn't stop writing for him. And now we're talking about making the Randy movie. We can't get enough of Randy."

RAAAAAAANDY:


Source: JoBlo


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 20 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
lostwarrior writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 6:23:09 PM

How about they let the movie come out first to see what peoples reactions are before they announce this...
Dre-EL writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 6:29:49 PM

Before we talk spin off lets see how sucky this one is.
Ranger writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 6:32:33 PM

You're both right.
bale01289 writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 6:55:04 PM

I wonder if this will be a sappy dramady just like "Funny People"? Love Apatow, but c'mon......really????
synthetic1985 writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 7:34:32 PM

talk about sh*tty marketing techniques...at least james cameron is smart enough to wait to see how avatar does
thomas deadison writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 8:24:12 PM

Here we go again. Can you tell me where in that quote he says he's 'outlining the Randy movie right now'? They're just having fun.



I predict a high 80s-low 90s tomatometer for Funny People.
synthetic1985 writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 8:35:58 PM

spin offs sometimes suck...i mean look at the next sarah marshall movie...'get him to the greek'....jonah hill's character goes from not getting what he wanted out of russel brand's character, to being puff daddy's agent in the sequel??...lol wow
Cd_Smith0 writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 8:36:03 PM

What is up with the comedy spinoffs...they keep saying they will do this but then they don't. So far my luck with comedy spinoffs has been crap.
thomas deadison writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 8:38:25 PM

Jonah Hill is playing a different character in the Forgetting Sarah Marshall spin-off.
alexgi writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 9:15:25 PM

@thomas deadison: Apatow actually said that he's outlining the Randy movie right now. It's not just WP assuming.
BigUnit writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 10:24:57 PM

"Dre-EL" I would like you to name one Judd Apatow movie that you think sucked? i rest my case.
thomas deadison writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 10:30:19 PM

I still call BULL on this, Alex! Though, I wouldn't be against it. Aziz is amazingly hilarious.
vwkombi writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 11:40:14 PM

Of course this movie will make enough money to cater for a spin-off. It's Judd Apatow, his movies are smart and witty adult orientated humour. You know, not just childish sex jokes disguised as mature humour.
minkowski writes:
on July 28th, 2009 at 12:05:23 AM

"You know, not just childish sex jokes disguised as mature humour."

Never!
tcu21 writes:
on July 28th, 2009 at 12:33:49 AM

Aziz Ansari is pretty damn funny, and everyone knows that Funny People is going to f*cking bank at the box office so I'm actually surprised the spin off isn't halfway through filming at the moment.

Rolling Stone already gave it a 3 and a half star review, early screening reviews have been positive with the mention of possible Oscar nominations.

It's hard for me to imagine that this movie won't be successful enough to generate a spin off. Especially for an emerging comedian like Ansari.
thedotsays writes:
on July 28th, 2009 at 8:14:18 AM

Ansari's funny as hell but he's one of those polarizing dudes that you either hate him or like him. I don't see many if any at all sitting on the fence about him. He was able to make Scrubs funny until he left and I tried watching that horrid Parks and Recreation but he wsn't in it enough. But when he was he owned.
Unfortunately though he doesn't have the sheets to carry a theatrical release on his name alone.
Johnny Neat writes:
on July 28th, 2009 at 8:49:44 AM

I dunno but why does he have to be so loud? It was kind of funny but I also wonder if this is how he speaks all the time, like he grew up in Compton?
Hollywood1086 writes:
on July 28th, 2009 at 9:51:04 AM

don't call a movie "funny people" if it doesn't actually include any funny people. i f*cking hate jonah hill.
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on July 28th, 2009 at 11:31:15 AM

Aziz Ansari is hilarious, although I dont know about a full length film... Judd is taking it a bit far. FUNNY PEOPLE though is going to be hilarious!
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on July 28th, 2009 at 11:33:06 AM

@Hollywood1086 - you're f*cking stupid, Jonah is f*cking hilarious!

Matt Damon to Return For "Jason Bourne 5"

"Guardians of the Galaxy" Wins Worst Box Office Weekend of the Year

Did Aquaman Save superman in "Man of Steel"? Aquaman's Look Possibly Revealed

"No Good Deed" Beats "Dolphin Tale 2" For First Place at Box Office

If You Downloaded "The Expendables 3" Illegally, Lionsgate is Coming For You

Colin Farrell and Vince Vaughn Confirmed for Second Season of "True Detective"

David Fincher Regrets Making "The Game," Says Superhero Film are Dull

Will Marvel Split "Avengers 3" Into Two Films?

Tom Hardy Says Making "This Means War" Was a Bad Experience

Lou Ferrigno Says "Hulk" Movie and TV Series are Coming
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved