WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Judd Apatow Working on "Funny People" Spin-Off

Posted: July 27th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Judd Apatow Working on "Funny People" Spin-OffSubmit Comment
Director Judd Apatow and stars Adam Sandler and Seth Rogen have been promoting the upcoming release of their "Funny People" movie. Some of you may have heard them joking about making a full-length movie based on the Randy character, played by comedian Aziz Ansari ("Human Giant"). Apparently, they weren't joking.

JoBlo caught up with Apatow, who said that he's outlining the Randy movie right now.

"Randy isn't in the movie anywhere near as much we wish he was," said Apatow. "Something hilariously magical happened when Aziz showed up. So we all said, 'What else can we do?' Let's just make a documentary! We just couldn't stop writing for him. And now we're talking about making the Randy movie. We can't get enough of Randy."

RAAAAAAANDY:


Source: JoBlo


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 20 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
lostwarrior writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 6:23:09 PM

How about they let the movie come out first to see what peoples reactions are before they announce this...
Dre-EL writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 6:29:49 PM

Before we talk spin off lets see how sucky this one is.
Ranger writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 6:32:33 PM

You're both right.
bale01289 writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 6:55:04 PM

I wonder if this will be a sappy dramady just like "Funny People"? Love Apatow, but c'mon......really????
synthetic1985 writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 7:34:32 PM

talk about sh*tty marketing techniques...at least james cameron is smart enough to wait to see how avatar does
thomas deadison writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 8:24:12 PM

Here we go again. Can you tell me where in that quote he says he's 'outlining the Randy movie right now'? They're just having fun.



I predict a high 80s-low 90s tomatometer for Funny People.
synthetic1985 writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 8:35:58 PM

spin offs sometimes suck...i mean look at the next sarah marshall movie...'get him to the greek'....jonah hill's character goes from not getting what he wanted out of russel brand's character, to being puff daddy's agent in the sequel??...lol wow
Cd_Smith0 writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 8:36:03 PM

What is up with the comedy spinoffs...they keep saying they will do this but then they don't. So far my luck with comedy spinoffs has been crap.
thomas deadison writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 8:38:25 PM

Jonah Hill is playing a different character in the Forgetting Sarah Marshall spin-off.
alexgi writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 9:15:25 PM

@thomas deadison: Apatow actually said that he's outlining the Randy movie right now. It's not just WP assuming.
BigUnit writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 10:24:57 PM

"Dre-EL" I would like you to name one Judd Apatow movie that you think sucked? i rest my case.
thomas deadison writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 10:30:19 PM

I still call BULL on this, Alex! Though, I wouldn't be against it. Aziz is amazingly hilarious.
vwkombi writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 11:40:14 PM

Of course this movie will make enough money to cater for a spin-off. It's Judd Apatow, his movies are smart and witty adult orientated humour. You know, not just childish sex jokes disguised as mature humour.
minkowski writes:
on July 28th, 2009 at 12:05:23 AM

"You know, not just childish sex jokes disguised as mature humour."

Never!
tcu21 writes:
on July 28th, 2009 at 12:33:49 AM

Aziz Ansari is pretty damn funny, and everyone knows that Funny People is going to f*cking bank at the box office so I'm actually surprised the spin off isn't halfway through filming at the moment.

Rolling Stone already gave it a 3 and a half star review, early screening reviews have been positive with the mention of possible Oscar nominations.

It's hard for me to imagine that this movie won't be successful enough to generate a spin off. Especially for an emerging comedian like Ansari.
thedotsays writes:
on July 28th, 2009 at 8:14:18 AM

Ansari's funny as hell but he's one of those polarizing dudes that you either hate him or like him. I don't see many if any at all sitting on the fence about him. He was able to make Scrubs funny until he left and I tried watching that horrid Parks and Recreation but he wsn't in it enough. But when he was he owned.
Unfortunately though he doesn't have the sheets to carry a theatrical release on his name alone.
Johnny Neat writes:
on July 28th, 2009 at 8:49:44 AM

I dunno but why does he have to be so loud? It was kind of funny but I also wonder if this is how he speaks all the time, like he grew up in Compton?
Hollywood1086 writes:
on July 28th, 2009 at 9:51:04 AM

don't call a movie "funny people" if it doesn't actually include any funny people. i f*cking hate jonah hill.
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on July 28th, 2009 at 11:31:15 AM

Aziz Ansari is hilarious, although I dont know about a full length film... Judd is taking it a bit far. FUNNY PEOPLE though is going to be hilarious!
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on July 28th, 2009 at 11:33:06 AM

@Hollywood1086 - you're f*cking stupid, Jonah is f*cking hilarious!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

"Transformers 5" Plot Details Revealed

Official "X-Men: Apocalypse" Plot Synopsis Revealed

"Ant-Man" Gets a Sequel, Marvel's Phase Three Release Dates Announced
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved