WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Marvel Considering "The Black Panther" Film

Posted: July 27th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Marvel Considering "The Black Panther" FilmSubmit Comment
MTV News caught up with actor Adewale Akinnuoye-Agbaje (GI Joe, The Bourne Identity, "Lost," "OZ"), who said that he's currently working with Marvel to bring "The Black Panther" to the big screen.

"We're talking to Marvel about 'Black Panther,'" he said. "This is the first round, so you know, hopefully they'll look at 'G.I. Joe' and see the potential. But it's about time we have a black superhero, isn't it?"

Akinnuoye-Agbaje added that he feels this is the perfect time to have the film greenlit. "He's from a fictional village in Africa and the timing is so right for that kind of character to come through," he said. "And while I'm in my prime, this is the time. We've got [U.S. President Barack] Obama, now we need something on screen to represent, so... 'Panther,' man."

Djimon Hounsou (Blood Diamond) was previously rumored to play The Black Panther. He is now voicing the character in an animated TV series.

Source: MTV News


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 33 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
vwkombi writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 5:27:04 AM

Freakin' sweet! I'll see this movie if his the lead. He would be a badass superhero.
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 8:23:08 AM

They've been trying to make this movie for over 10 years now. You know why it hasn't happened? Because nobody gives a sh*t about The Black Panther. He's not an interesting hero. He has no threatening arch enemies. He also has no fan-base. When was the last time you saw a kid at a convention or out in public wearing a Black Panther shirt? If they finally make this movie, it's gonna end up looking like the 90's Phantom movie with a black guy in a sh*tty costume instead of a white guy. If Marvel wants to make a Black Superhero movie, why not use Luke Cage? The only people that can relate to The Black Panther are half way around the world, completely cut off from western influence.
SACdaddy writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 9:47:25 AM

I'm guessing that you guys never saw Blade or Hanc*ck. Blade never had that huge of a fan-base either. What it did have was huge star who fit the role perfectly and 2 visionary directors (cant include Trilogy) with the guts to stay true to its brutal subject matter. That being said if this guy wants to do a real black superhero movie he should promote a Shaka Zulu remake and star in it. He's was a real life black superhero who has never seen the big screen because Hollywood never had the balls to truly tell his story. Its time for this, not some brotha in spandex swingin from a tree.

PS: War Machine and the black Green Lantern (possible sequel) could also possibly be good films.
Sonic writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 10:31:09 AM

Cool
acslaterson writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 10:47:53 AM

What about a hispanic superhero? Oh wait, there aren't any(popular ones anyway).
acslaterson writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 10:49:24 AM

I guess it would be cool if Black Panther was in The Avengers though, make the team more international(Right now Black Widow looks like the only other foreign person on the team, not including Thor).
Ranger writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 11:16:05 AM

@SAC - right again my friend. Blade and Hanc*ck... and Storm from the X-Men and other mutants in that (so far) trilogy. Black people haven't been overlooked, and that's EXACTLY how MTV is making is sound (crap writers!). I don't think they should make a black superhero movie just to 'even out the playing field.' If the remaining black superheros suck... then don't do it! Doing it just for the sake of doing it isn't the right reason.
SACdaddy writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 11:31:00 AM

@Ranger: How the hell did I forget about Storm? That's Halle Berry fool! Guess you have to bring up Catwoman and Spawn(just threw up in my mouth a little) too.
acslaterson writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 11:33:08 AM

Wait a f*cking second, Ultimate Nick Fury/SLJ is black!
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 11:34:38 AM

They can even the playing field all they want. Just don't make a sh*tty movie starring a very talented actor as a character no one cares about. And SAC, Shaka Zulu had no super powers, therefore - not a super hero. Hanc*ck didn't count because it was not based on a comic. Green Lantern, sure, but this is about a Marvel character.
SACdaddy writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 11:35:30 AM

Does Scarface, El Mariachi, Machete, or El Rey qualify as hispanic superheros? Rodriguez is trying at least.
Ranger writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 11:35:51 AM

Yep Spawn and Nick Fury. This MTV article should be shoved up the writers ass sideways. Oh... ok. You know who else then has been left out of superhero movies... kittens and migets. So MTV get your financing in place and start cranking out the Kittens/Midget flicks... my $10 is burning a whole in my pocket... you stupid sh*ts!
Ranger writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 11:37:03 AM

Hey Scarface is a hero of mine. Why just leaving the theater I wanted to chainsaw someone in a shower stall... lol.
lost_addict writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 11:48:55 AM

and I'm considering f*cking tonight...
synthetic1985 writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 11:53:08 AM

so i'm guessing this guy hasn't seen blade or spawn or any of the other movies you guys mentioned?...i'm not sure a blank panther movie all by himself would live up to blade or spawn...could be wrong though...i dunno
Ranger writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 12:01:59 PM

Yeah, I don't know where this article's author got his (lack) of research from... but he certainly deserves a kick in his mangina!
thedotsays writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 1:07:41 PM

Get Chiwetel Ejiofor for this role. He's one hell of an actor and can kick much ass.
PrevalentMind writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 2:03:06 PM

What's wrong with Meteor Man?

GOLDEN LORDS!!!!

If there ever was a time to get this made its certainly now.
Ranger writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 2:08:28 PM

How about Gary Coleman?

By day he's just a mild-mannered turd laying on the ground in a dog kennel... but at night, a suicidal security guard...oh wait. He's living that life already.

Never mind.
JRprime writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 2:26:31 PM

im getting tired of all this "its time" for black characters. like it wouldnt be ok if the president was white. its kind of like reversed racism. obamas black so everything else has to be too.
Ranger writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 2:28:18 PM

Obama's Mother was white. So... he's just as white as he is black. But I hear you on this reverse racism crap.
Charlie9 writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 2:49:43 PM

Is it coz he iz black?
jrryr8 writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 5:02:30 PM

I think we're all forgetting a little piece of magic starring Shaquille O'Neal... that's right, STEEL. A sh*tty movie, for sure, but perhaps still better than Superman Returns.
markmanuel18 writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 5:50:49 PM

Chiwetel Ejiofor is Black Panther
Ranger writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 5:55:14 PM

You know what's annoying to me about this article (MTV... you suck!)? It's not like Hollywood sat around a table before making all these superhero movies and said: '...let's make ALL white superhero movies first to really piss off the black folk!' f*ck... there's just MORE white Superheros... deal with it! Now to say... 'oh... we'd better make some black superhero movies to catch up'... may be one of the dumbest things I have EVER heard! I don't give a sh*t Obama is half black, I don't give a sh*t Wolverine is white. It's just the way it is! Hollywood and color... get over yourself already!
lostwarrior writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 6:03:13 PM

Bring him on to the screen, f*ck yeah I would pay 10.50to see it, but just dont act like, he is the 1st black supre hero to be in the big screen k. And I agree with what THEDOTSAYS, he is a way better actor than Akinnuove is.. Bottom line I just think he can hold a movie on his own, compared to this guy.. but thats just me u know..
synthetic1985 writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 8:07:46 PM

i don't think martin luther king jr. would have dreamed his dream turning out like this...i mean obama as president is one thing...but changing iconic roles such as james bond for puff daddy or other such roles?...i don't even think dr. king himself would approve of that
Mattthoing writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 10:31:51 PM

That's very white of you, Marvel.
Rich k writes:
on July 28th, 2009 at 2:10:37 AM

man this is an awful idea, and does he really think hes gonna get looked at for his GI joe movie? are you f*cking kidding?
James.Speed writes:
on July 28th, 2009 at 4:15:03 AM

Cool. Ive wanted this film for a while.
PrevalentMind writes:
on July 28th, 2009 at 9:54:13 AM

When I said "if there ever was a time"- I meant to make Black Panther a commercial success. I didnt mean "Oh let's start repairing the damage in the comic book universe...I meant there's no way Black Panther would have made coin even 5 years ago. But with Tyler Perry, Obama, a little jungle fever has swept through the land of lame and NOW is the only time Black Panther would even be a moderate hit seeing how the audience is finally there. Reverse racism is a little damn far- stop being a bunch a sniveling whiners.
PrevalentMind writes:
on July 28th, 2009 at 9:59:07 AM

And they werent even considering Puff Daddy as Bond- the internet idiots took jokes way too far. Puff Daddy was the idiot who wasted money on his own video thinking the tall tales of internet trolls were actually true. It was a f*cking joke. They never even entertained the idea- in fact they laughed their asses off when Diddy made a complete fool out of himself due to an internet rumour.
synthetic1985 writes:
on July 28th, 2009 at 4:42:02 PM

well not all audiences like to be 'played' all the time...it could result in some violent responses...i mean, playing the audiences is ok if you do it a couple times and the joke is funny...but when it's for their own personal humor...i try to refrain from giving it attention...but at the same time it's hard to not notice...it's good inspiration to put some nasty lyrics in some of my songs that'll give even hollywood a slap in the face

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved