WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Dead Space" Video Game to Become a Film

Posted: July 27th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Dead Space" Video Game to Become a FilmSubmit Comment
The Electronic Arts video game "Dead Space" is on course to become a sci-fi/horror film, with "Eagle Eye" helmer DJ Caruso attached to direct.

The producers, EA and Caruso have been listening to takes from prospective screenwriters, and once they set a writer and EA signs off on a creative direction, they will auction the property to studios. That will likely happen in early September.

"Dead Space" is set in the 26th century in deep space, where an engineer who responds to a distress signal from a mining ship finds the vessel infested with monstrous creatures called Necromorphs. The creatures are human corpses, reanimated by an alien virus.

EA launched the game in 2008 and is working on the second and third installments.

Source: Variety


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 24 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Ryanlawson writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 6:08:33 AM

f*cking amazing game. but when you think about it like a movie it kind of comes across as 'Alien' i mean. a colony that f*cked, peacful space people come to check things out not expecting hidious aliens that infect human hosts. And then the horrible beasts take on a specific form depending on what it infects.

id still love to see a dead space movie tho, thats not sh*t house like every other video game adaption... sigh.
kgoding writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 6:21:44 AM

Reminds me of event horizon, not really at all actually. Just both scary and in space.
dandythelion writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 7:05:55 AM

well i never played the game but i know enough about it to want to see a movie. maybe they should have just taken that route in the first place.
Horsemoney5 writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 9:15:35 AM

The game was so good... for it to work as a movie it has to be rated R and gory like the game. Leave those babies with the tentacles out though... they creep me out!
shayhiri writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 9:56:57 AM

HATE GAMES!!
Dr. Awesome writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 10:52:30 AM

I wonder how they're gonna handle the fact that the main character doesn't speak throughout the entire game. Apart from that, I could very easily see this story being translated to screen, and quite well, too.

However, I'm discounting the cardinal rule that all videogame movies will suck, so...
synthetic1985 writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 11:48:02 AM

typical....producers only listening to screenwriters?....and screenwriters only listening to themselves?....hollywood really does not give a flying f*ck about audiences do they?
WV-Films writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 12:07:02 PM

Although I love the game and think a movie would be great,
I wonder with Pandorum coming, out how well this movie will really do.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 12:36:29 PM

No Synth, they do, it's just that whenever a movie is made by someone who pours their heart and soul into it to make a good movie, either critics bash it (Tron), it's marketed as a completely different genre (Watchmen), or it goes unnoticed by the studio (Children of men).

All of which are marketing decisions, no doubt. But the first one is a marketing decision by other studios.
ladyhornet_05 writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 1:52:08 PM

Hell yes! I love this game! With it being such an intensely terrifying gaming experience, I'd love to see how it translates to the screen. Now if they could just get on a Left 4 Dead film... Lol
PrevalentMind writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 2:00:45 PM

I definitely saw this one coming. Im surprised it took this long.
holtlt writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 3:51:51 PM

Pandoroum meets Event Horizon
holtlt writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 3:52:02 PM

Pandoroum meets Event Horizon
bale01289 writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 5:31:22 PM

@Ryanlawson nailed it right on the money. I 100% agree. Really hope it doesn't suck, but I also hope for world peace, hope to win the lotto, hope that my ex-wife gets hit by a MackTruck, but nothing ever happens....sigh.
Dre-EL writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 6:16:19 PM

They're going to f*ck it up. You know they're going to f*ck it up. Oh god why are they going to f*ck it?



Is it me or is Hollywood just running out of material?





synthetic1985 writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 8:12:38 PM

not at all...they have material...they're just too chicken sh*t to use it because they wanna make as much money as possible off of bullsh*t first...and THEN release the better material...f*cking cheap asses
guillotine117 writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 8:31:26 PM

love the game would love a movie but i will be PISSSED if the director is a sh*tty one.


sam raimi? yes? yeah?... =/
minkowski writes:
on July 28th, 2009 at 12:12:11 AM

Easy to see this one coming, they've already produced an animated film made, from the looks of it, by the same people that did Flux and Reign.
minkowski writes:
on July 28th, 2009 at 12:20:36 AM

Wait. This is ANOTHER zombie film? OMG, this genre is so worn out it should have stretch marks.
syrup writes:
on July 28th, 2009 at 1:09:06 AM

oooyea, its funny cause when i played through the game i was thinking how good it would be to make a film out of it and here we are.
Ryanlawson writes:
on July 28th, 2009 at 6:47:11 AM

cause the game actualy scares the sh*t out of you, which many movies just dont these days.
PrevalentMind writes:
on July 28th, 2009 at 9:44:36 AM

You're also more involved and connected with a videogame because well, you could die. You're fully immersed in what's happening because you don't want to start over, so there's that added urgency and fear of failing...Thats one of the key reasons survival horror will never die out. It's a great experience.
synthetic1985 writes:
on July 28th, 2009 at 4:47:01 PM

the only horror movie that made me jump more so than others was in 'the hills have eyes' remake...the 1st one i mean...i'd watch that over any 'saw' movie or any other sh*tty horror film of this decade...i'd rather watch hills have eyes remake over nightmare on elm street remake...*sshole studios love to disappoint for money
synthetic1985 writes:
on July 28th, 2009 at 4:48:00 PM

my bad...need to correct myself there...the only horror movie that made me jump more so than others *from this decade*

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved