WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Marvel Gives "Thor" and "Captain America" Updates

Posted: July 26th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Marvel Gives "Thor" and "Captain America" UpdatesSubmit Comment
Speaking at Comic-Con, Marvel Studios production president Kevin Feige gave an update on the upcoming "Thor" and "Captain America" movies.

We already know that Chris Hemsworth, Tom Hiddleston and Natalie Portman have been cast in "Thor," and Feige says that more casting announcements are coming soon. "I think we're nearing, closing in on Odins and Heimdals and the Warriors Three, which we're excited about," he said, adding: "We're about halfway through prep. We start filming in January."

Feige also said that "The First Avenger: Captain America" will go into development immediately after "Thor," so it will be a while before we find out who will play the character. "I think it'll be a few months," he added.

"We already have some concept artists working on [Captain America]," Feige continued. "[Director] Joe Johnston's finishing up 'Wolfman' now, but he comes with us — and we're already deep into the script — and was in the office last week with us. He starts officially, and we open the offices officially, in October."

Source: WorstPreviews.com


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 94 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on July 26th, 2009 at 6:56:13 PM

Update articles are useless...
skatemaster62 writes:
on July 26th, 2009 at 7:15:11 PM

awsome!!!!!!! cant wait
Ranger writes:
on July 26th, 2009 at 7:49:01 PM

Feige... that little minx. He's already had Neil Fifer in his office about CA.
KHRIS writes:
on July 26th, 2009 at 8:37:41 PM

SpookyCupcakes posts are useless...

Cant wait to see these movies!
Ranger writes:
on July 26th, 2009 at 8:39:38 PM

Yep... a God and a WWII era flick. Should be pretty great!
Dr. Awesome writes:
on July 26th, 2009 at 9:01:26 PM

I'm excited about Thor. Anything by Kenneth Branaugh is a go in my opinion.

And Captain America better be in WWII, Ranger. That's the only way I'll see it. 'Cause then I'll know it'll be true to the character.
lost_addict writes:
on July 26th, 2009 at 9:15:13 PM

update:these movies will suck.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on July 26th, 2009 at 9:26:40 PM

Yes. That too.
Dr. Awesome writes:
on July 26th, 2009 at 9:29:39 PM

Oh, come on you guys! Have hope!
lemus869 writes:
on July 26th, 2009 at 10:12:07 PM

It deals with iron man 2, well its some type of iron man 2 footage:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GgW5djnKKi4
Ranger writes:
on July 26th, 2009 at 10:29:04 PM

@Dr. Awesome - the ONLY thing I have heard about the CA story I don't like is they're planning on bringing in the Captain's sidekick Bucky. Which... it's nice they're trying to stay true to his origin, but Bucky has no place. He'd take time from CA screen time, he has no place in the future (esp. with the Avengers). So YES on CA, NO on Bucky!
Dr. Awesome writes:
on July 26th, 2009 at 10:36:33 PM

Really, Ranger? 'Cause sidekicks have no place in superhero movies. It's just a general rule. Especially a sidekick like Bucky. I never liked him, and he most certainly has no place in a CA movie; if they plan on making it serious.
Ranger writes:
on July 26th, 2009 at 10:44:00 PM

Well, I hope they drop that. It seems they're over-compensating for past Marvel movies where they deviated from the true origin. I know the first Hulk movie wasn't Marvel's fault (I mean... bringing in Banner's DAD?! WTF?! - oh right... otherwise the movie only would have been 45 minutes of suckage instead of the 90 minutes it was). So I think the Bucky add-on into the CA story is a knee-jerk reaction. Maybe smarter heads will prevail and we'll see an excellent 'looking' WWII flick (like Saving Private Ryan, Band of Brothers, etc.) - maybe see the frustration that the Captain is kept out of huge recorded battles like D-Day... have him go in unknowingly to the US troops at night and wipeout a battalion of Germans, and taking none of the credit, etc. (true hero stuff). But Bucky is sucky (YOU LISTENING HOLLYWOOD?!?!)!!!
Dr. Awesome writes:
on July 26th, 2009 at 10:50:11 PM

What you're describing is my CA dream movie, Ranger. But we all know that ain't happening. The character isn't popular enough for them to put enough effort into it. So sad, so sad.
Ranger writes:
on July 26th, 2009 at 11:17:49 PM

Well... our only hope now is that Marvel is (FINALLY) at the reins of their own projects, and we should look forward to them streamlining all these characters and movies into the Avengers. So with that in mind (their minds) our hopes are we'll see some sort of rhyme and reason with this flicks from now on (God willing!)!
Dr. Awesome writes:
on July 26th, 2009 at 11:24:36 PM

Yes, I'm glad Marvel is considering ditching Fox. Because Fox has popped all the smart heads they got like pimples. And you make a good point concering the Avengers. However, that means it probably won't be set in WWII.

Ah, well. Ya can't have everythin', I s'pose.
Ranger writes:
on July 26th, 2009 at 11:31:10 PM

Well... the WWII thing is the one solid truth I have read on the storyline (to date). I hope they stick to it. Giving CA some 'history' makes him all the more reason to lead The Avengers... eventually.
Dr. Awesome writes:
on July 26th, 2009 at 11:43:31 PM

Well, we can always pray...

I still have high hopes for Thor. If Kenneth can make it even half as epic as Henry V, then it'll be a success.
skatemaster62 writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 1:08:14 AM

Ranger, Thank you for your post. My beef with Minkowski had absolutely nothing to do with his views on The Dark Knight. i agree with you that this is a open forum and that everyone on here as a right to there own opinion. My problem was that all i ever seem him doing on her is insulting people and cutting them down, such as calling them moronic and stupid because they are excited about a particular movie witch ever it may be. In my opinion its crossing the line when that starts happening. all i was trying to say is its cool if his opinion is different from the majority( i only said that he played "devils advocate" because it seems that way because he always goes the opposite of the majority, on more movies then just The Dark Knight). I do apologize to you for my language if it offended you. And I'm not some dumb kid, and i don't lie. I really don't care what they say and I dont let it get to me, but when you call me a liar all i see is red. Once again thank you for the post
skatemaster62 writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 1:13:02 AM

on here*
Rich k writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 1:16:44 AM

the sh*ts getting good
Ranger writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 1:22:03 AM

@skatemaster - thank you for the reply. I'm kewl with all you said. I neither think you're a kid, or lie or you're stupid... I was just asking (so thank you for taking my post to you in the light in which it was intended - and for your consideration that your language may have offended it... it did not (have you seen some of my posts...LOL?!)). Keep posting my friend. It's a free (for-all) forum here. Thx. again for taking the time to address mine.
skatemaster62 writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 1:22:16 AM

ranger i hope you get this
Ranger writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 1:23:39 AM

Back to CA. I still think Bucky in the movie would be pointless. UNLESS he gets killed off (seriously) and it only firms up the Captain's resolve to fight the evil axis powers... and kicks some Red Skull ass!
skatemaster62 writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 1:26:10 AM

Thank you my friend. I acctually enjoy your post, and agree with you most times :). He just likes to get people riled up, this time he got to me.
Ranger writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 1:29:28 AM

Well cooler heads prevailed. Now... let's get back to bashing Lohan the skank!
skatemaster62 writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 1:31:56 AM

Ranger, i acctually think Bucky will work in the movie. If there setting up for The Avengers, they might do the story line where ther going after Red Skull and CA falls to the icey abiss trying to save Bucky. I think we owe it to Marvel to give them a change. Iorn Man was great, and so was Hulk 08. The only problem with The Incredible Hulk was it was porlly advertised. They should have promoted it ALOT sooner
minkowski writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 1:32:11 AM

"all i ever seem him doing on her is insulting people and cutting them down, such as calling them moronic and stupid because they are excited about a particular movie"

Hey, if you think Rob Zombie rocks and you want to see him remake Casablanca to the musical stylings of a dying cat's screaming, fine with me, but don't get pissed when I call you an idiot. When you j*zz your jeans over some upcoming film where people get ripped into blood-drenched pieces, depicted as graphic and explicit as possible, don't lose your cool when I say you're a torture-porn loving dipsh*t pile of human waste.

And the fact that people are in such high hopes for every damned film that comes out, even though the quality and originality is arguably declining, is just pathetic. It's like they have high hopes for one film, and then when it sucks, they move right on to the next. Occasionally they get lucky, mostly they don't, or their film taste is so deadened and numb they don't know what's sh*t anymore. Sure, they can smell the awfulness of TF2, but I can smell a mile high mound of horse sh*t too.
skatemaster62 writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 1:33:09 AM

I agree. STUPID SKANK!!! HA HA HA
skatemaster62 writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 1:34:12 AM

I agree. STUPID SKANK!!!!! HA HA HA
acslaterson writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 1:36:43 AM

Wow, failed to mention that he was asked if the villian in the Avengers would be the skrulls and he confirmed that marvel studios owns the rights. Also asked about the Cap movie he hinted at The Invaders. SHH had a really in depth coverage story.
skatemaster62 writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 1:37:45 AM

dude just let it go
Ranger writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 1:38:53 AM

@skate - yes to Bucky if CA does get into the deep freeze being a hero saving him, or Bucky is sacrificed... again, to strengthen his resolve for the fight ahead. The only way I have the hopes I do for this Marvel stuff now (even though they ran their comic line into bankruptcy over a decade ago... how they did that I have NO idea... unless McFarlane's leaving with some of the gang cut them deeper than I thought)... at least Marvel themselves is holding onto the reigns of all these movies titles now. Maybe it'll gel into something substantial. I too liked Iron Man (I once had all of the FIRST 150 issues in MINT cond.), and the Hulk with Norton was good (even if I thought the final battle was... well, a bit lame because the other creature had such superior strength... and the hulk gave him a chain-assisted choke hold, and let him live without breaking any of his bones...lol, etc.... but much better than the first). It'll all work out... eventually... if I live long enough.
Ranger writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 1:39:42 AM

@acslaterson - great updates... thx. Bro.
minkowski writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 1:41:55 AM

"The only problem with The Incredible Hulk was it was porlly advertised. They should have promoted it ALOT sooner"

No, the problem was that people still suffered from a bad aftertaste with Ang Lee's awful Hulk.

In fact, they had to edit large portion of the film just because of bad screenings in which the audience felt the film was too similar to the 2003 film. The fact that it was put into production into a comparable time slot as Iron Man is likely Marvel's doing, setting up the film for superhero collaboration films some time down the road.

That Hulk wasn't positioned in such a way as to convey it was a summer tent pole film, meant that they felt the need to get the film produced sooner rather than later. Poor marketing or not, and I dispute that they slacked off selling the film for its given release date, had less to do with its lack of wider film market penetration. They simply needed the film made now, to tie in with their road map of film releases, and not later. Should they have waited for this year? Maybe, but the earlier Hulk has greatly diminished the audiences acceptance.

They were dealt a bad deal, and they had a limited amount of time. Why waste marketing money on a heavily stigmatized film in a less than perfect and compromised release slot? It makes no sense.
minkowski writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 1:43:31 AM

"dude just let it go"

I wasn't talking to you, 'bro', I was addressing your comment for the general audience. Sho nuff, bro.
skatemaster62 writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 1:43:57 AM

have faith my friend......have faith ha ha
acslaterson writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 1:45:09 AM

http://www.superherohype.com/news/topnews.php?id=8565
Ranger writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 1:46:18 AM

You're correct about it's poor promo Mink. I'm a huge comic fan from way back, and even I waited 'til it was on TV (didn't bust my ass to find it and get to a theater - mainly (again) because of the piss-poor predecessor). The Avengers (I suspect) will be fantastic. Although... with a super-team that powerful... I wonder who they'll choose to battle?
acslaterson writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 1:47:43 AM

Yeppers, I thought the Comic Con Panels would have been more closely reported on this weekend. Hopefully WP will be there next year!
IronMan2008 writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 1:54:50 AM

Now, I'm just spit-ballin here (I'll probably get bitched at... don't care if you do)... Could they maybe including Bucky for... I don't know... not more for the WWII stuff, but the after Cap is frozen... You know... when he becomes Winter Soldier... Just thinking about the future (maybe not in CA, could be Avengers, or a future movie... they are planning on doing a lot of them after all)...
minkowski writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 1:59:07 AM

Hmm. not to answer your question Ranger, but looking over some stuff, I don't think you're going to see a CA movie set fully during WWII. My guess is, they'll have part of the film cover his WII origins (god help us if they give him a Desert Storm backstory), but then cryogenically freeze him. They'll have him reopened by SHIELD Or, as the comics go, the Avengers. Or something. Into the present day. That's my guess. On all WWII movie would work, but I get the feeling Marvel might be in a bot of a hurry to work CA into the modern day. Especially as WII CA is historical, and modern audiences expecting a superhero film might be put off by a 100 minute history lesson. They COULD end the film with him getting frozen, but then they have to explain his modern origins in yet another film. They can't have him enter our age near the end of the film as I think the audience would feel cheated.

Dunno how they'll work in Bucky, but I can say that the death of CA was a little lame for me. And Marvel plans to bring back Rogers? Is that correct? Resurrecting big name superheroes is starting to become patent cliche.
skatemaster62 writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 2:00:38 AM

Mink and Ranger, i will agree that part of the reason it didnt do as well is because of the bitter aftertast after Ang Lees fiasco. i felt it myself....untill i saw the trailer for The Incredible Hulk here at wp. I also believe that if they would have gotten trialers, tv spots, ect. out sooner it might have done as well as Iorn Man did
acslaterson writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 2:01:50 AM

That is way too current(movie wise) and indepth too put into the movie universe. Brubaker has done a great job but it would take an Avengers trilogy(to set up Caps importance in the Marvel Movie Universe) and like 4 Cap solo movies to set up his death and the Winter Soldier story arc. Would I like too see it happen? Hells yes, it is just too specific
of a series of events to be put onto film.
skatemaster62 writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 2:03:31 AM

Mink i think you wrong on that considering theve allready stated CA is going to be a period piece. Ranger how do you feel about Hulk in Avengers movie?
acslaterson writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 2:03:39 AM

comic wise, not movie wise. *
skatemaster62 writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 2:06:03 AM

I thing Avengers will start off with them somehow finding him frozen in the icey abiss and unfreezing him.
skatemaster62 writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 2:11:25 AM

just a thought, but do you think it might be posible there setting up for the winter soldier to apear in the Avengers? Considering there putting Bucky in the CA movie?
BurmaShave writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 2:11:32 AM

I don't know, CAPTAIN AMERICA from the director of THE ROCKETEER sounds pretty perfect to me.
minkowski writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 2:16:29 AM

Actually, I may be right.

I know how you folks hate Wiki but:

"Originally, the film would stand alone: producer Kevin Feige said "about half" of the film would be set during World War II before moving into the modern day.[11] Producer Avi Arad said, "The biggest opportunity with Captain America is as a man 'out of time', coming back today, looking at our world through the eyes of someone who thought the perfect world was small-town America. Sixty years go by, and who are we today? Are we better?" He cited the Back to the Future trilogy as an influence"

And from IGN:

http://uk.movies.ign.com/articles/796/796582p1.html

"Don't expect the film to be completely set in the present day, however. Feige confirmed that much of the movie will take place in the past. He says, "Right now what we're developing would be about half and half, I'd say."

That's about what I was expecting. I haven't see the shooting script, so if anyone has it or know where I can get it...

Ranger writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 2:18:09 AM

@Mink - I'm trying to find the site that had the CA WWII story... give me a sec... here... this is sort of) it:
http://blogs.coventrytelegraph.net/thegeekfiles/2009/06/marvel-film-updates-on-iron-ma.html

The First Avenger: Captain America (July 22, 2011): It's primarily a period piece that takes place during WWII. They want to make Captain America with the "same level of fun" as Raiders of the Lost Ark, which was also a period film. In regards to director Joe Johnston, he said that this would be a little bit of The Rocketeer, lots of October Sky, and some of the ship designs Johnston did for Star Wars, saying it is the perfect movie for him to direct. "It's the movie his entire career has been leading towards." He said it was "a safe bet" that Captain America's comic book sidekick Bucky would feature in the story.

@skate - I agree... they'll probably start (The Avengers) off with the defrosting of the Captain. What do I think of The Hulk on the Team. I think his power is necessary. I think he'll try his independent crap he tried in the latest animation Avengers movies. The Capt. will dazzle the brute with his shield and quick moves, Thor will straighten him out with his hammer (the animations sucked as the Julk brutalized the INVINCIBLE Iron Man's armor with but a few hits... ugh!), BUT I think Marvel will work quickly (at at every opportunity) to have Banner gain control over the Hulk so he's a LOT more controllable (otherwise... he's useless to the Team). So... it'll all be very interesting to watch.
Ranger writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 2:21:56 AM

I've read further on that site. It's a bit (ie: lot) f*cked up. Bucky picking up to fill the Captain's shoes. CA dies...etc. Ugh. I don't know if this is a deception on their part, or they're really this undecided at this point.
skatemaster62 writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 2:24:04 AM

You know what Mink I totally forgot about that article, thank you, but i also read an article here on wp from Feige if i recall that is was strickly a period piece. So were just gonna have to sit and wait budy :)
minkowski writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 2:24:13 AM

"I've read further on that site. It's a bit (ie: lot) f*cked up. Bucky picking up to fill the Captain's shoes. CA dies"

You're reading about the comic book, Ranger, not the film, I think.
skatemaster62 writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 2:26:20 AM

Ranger, could you please send me that link?
minkowski writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 2:27:43 AM

Ranger, I prefer a quote. We have the older article saying it's half and half, with actual quotes, and then we have something saying it's 'primarily' set in WWII. Without quotes. Is there a recent youtubed conference with Johnston talking about Captain America? Are there no transcripts??
Ranger writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 2:35:08 AM

@Mink - true... but most are leaning to his WWII origin (thank God... that dead CA and Bucky picking up things, Capt's 'flashbacks' blah, blah, milky grey bullsh*t turns my guts!) - I hope it's WWII (he gets his dander up over all the killing, the Axis, Red Skull, etc. it's that original stuff that's kept Supes flying for decades and has kept the Captain going for almost as long). Give it a Saving Pvt. Ryan and Band of Brothers look and we're golden. Thaw him out in the first Avengers.

@skate - can you cut and paste the above link Bro?

PS: Marvel better not f*ck this all up!
Ranger writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 2:41:19 AM

I sure as hell think Ant/GiantMan is useless and embarassing. Sure his wife (Wasp) is a cutie... but GiantMan is just a pud when compared to the developments of CA, IM, Thor and even The Hulk. GiantMan... a guy that gets big. Big f*cking deal. He's still a dink!
skatemaster62 writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 2:46:09 AM

Mink here is the article here on wp.


At the Sony Pictures lot in Culver City, Marvel's president of production Kevin Feige spoke about some of the upcoming Marvel films, including "Iron Man 2," "Thor," "Captain America," "The Avengers," "Ant-Man," and a new, mysterious film. We broke down all the updates below. [via FirstShowing]

* In "Iron Man 2," Scarlett Johansson's character has "two sides." She is first an assistant to Tony Stark, but later is revealed to be the Black Widow. Seems like she will eventually betray Stark just like in the comics.

* "Thor" takes place on both modern Earth and other worlds like Asgard.

* In "Thor," Kenneth Branagh will not use classic Shakespearian dialogue like in the comics.

* The order of films (Iron Man 2, Thor, Captain America, Avengers) is on purpose. Samuel L. Jackson, Scarlett Johansson, Chris Hemsworth and Tom Hiddleston have signed on for multiple films in "multiple franchises." Feige mentioned that he wants characters to make surprise appearances just like in the comics.

* "Captain America" is a period piece that takes place during WWII.

* In "Captain America," the hero's sidekick Bucky will make an appearance.

* "Avengers" was first considered as an animated film. Feige added: "why don't we wait" until the characters are introduced in their own movies
minkowski writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 2:46:42 AM

My problem with the entire film being set in WWI and thus having him thawed for Avengers is that there will literally no time in such a big budget, mass character film for anyone to see how he adjusts to 60 years (!) of time change, never mind if he's still up to the job that long on the ice. It'll be boom, he's frozen and film's end, and then boom, he's awake and fighting in the Avengers.

So there's three options:

1. First film pretty much in WWII. Near the end, he freezes. No sequel, he shows up in Avengers. (less money, Avengers can follow by 2014, very poor treatment of CA following the first film)

2. Part of the first film is in WWII, part in modern time. More than fifteen minutes in the present is needed. (Less money, Avengers can follow by 2014)

3. Two CA films, one primarily in WWII, the other today. Then the Avengers. (more money, longer to release Avengers)


And is no one worried about Johnston? He directed Hidalgo and Jurassic Park III. Of course he also directed October Sky and HISTK. And the Pagemaster. Kind of a grab bag.


And is it true Stephen McFeely and Christopher Markus wrote the screenplay? They're responsible for the first narnai.


skatemaster62 writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 2:51:02 AM

thnx for that Ranger, i found the article for ya mink but i didnt realize that ranger had already put something up sorry bout that
minkowski writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 2:51:50 AM

I found the Wp article, and the source is from FirstShowing. So I went to the link. Here's the quote WP glossed over:

"But let's get back on topic, specifically The First Avenger: Captain America. Feige confirmed that it's "primarily" a period piece that takes place during WWII"

Notice the "primarily"? So I want to know: how much? 70 percent? They had better devote SOME of the film to CA's resurrection in the present day. If not, it's going to a sh*tty treatment just to throw him into the Avengers.
synthetic1985 writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 2:58:53 AM

let me just say the only problem i have seeing the avengers grab any 'acceptance' among the fans of the comics...well let me just level it down like this....back then, they had fun with the movies...they didn't focus too much on drama and making it so...'realistic'...and money wasn't their primary focus...well i take that back, it was...but they knew how to make better money...and it was by not screwing the audiences over with their own lame adaptation, or at least not so much as it happens today...and now that they do...they're trying to integrate drama with the fun...it only works on certain movies...but man if they're so wrapped up in their heads taking time throwing away idea after idea like crumpled papers in a trash bin...that's where i lose interest...there's nothing more simple than translating a comic instead of reimagining it...but that's where they mess it up....i mean, look at the new batman movies...they take place in modern times....it was NEVER that way in the comics....but it HAD be that way didn't it?...it's what happened to spiderman, tim burton's batmans...even adam west's batman was made in modern times according to their release date...and for some reason, i have no clue why, the other movies that they rely on now...they make it more true...say like thor for instance....i know for sure it won't take place in modern times...so why do they do that sh*t but not other movies?...why was it that way for watchmen and not x-men or the first hulk movie?...i couldn't tell you why...but i can tell you i'm not falling for that sh*t anymore...it's in the past now and they won't get any money out of me until i hear a true fan say they were impressed....THEN i'll go pay to watch it....and i had this idea for a while now...not sure if it's been tried yet...but how come there's no device thingie that let's you cast your vote and reason on whether you did or didn't like the movie before you leave the theater?....it would be a great way for studios to realize their mistakes faster...hell, make even better money that way...but lots of people in these studios are really worse than pathetic when it comes to ruining any chance that could have been fixed...maybe it's for money...or their own personal glory...who knows?...another issue is this....people in hollywood KNOW they can make a successful true translated comic...but they still choose not to...it's only because of money...there's no reason or excuse why they can't....i'd really hate it if it took too many movie remakes to get a title such as x-men or fantastic four made the right way...anyway sorry for the long post...had to explain myself on why i think lots of comic movies are sh*t and why they couldn't make it right in the first place
Ranger writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 3:00:08 AM

I think having most of CA in WWII would be GREAT to have a character everyone knows (except Matthew McConaughey because, well... he's a douche bag)... with the WWII story... without it getting preachy, may actually teach some youngins out there a bit 'o history and show what some of those lads actually went through in that war. I think it would be a GREAT bridge to build. PLUS - battle-hardened, etc... some scars (mental, physical) make CA the perfect leader for The Avengers. A comment you made Mink... if CA would still be up for a fight after his thawing. One thing the comics and animations haven't covered very well. The Super Soldier Serum wouldn't just make him physically kick-ass. It would give his mind the ability to read 10,000 pages a day, hear and hunt like Wolverine (and heal... but not as fast as Jackman did) etc. He would be an organic bionic man. I don't think all those other aspects have been covered/exploited very well to date. CA would be a hungry war machine with HIS alter ego being a kind(er) man from the 40s. Pretty kewl sh*t if they did this right. MARVEL... ARE YOU LISTENING?!?!?!
skatemaster62 writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 3:02:21 AM

I see what your saying Mink, and i have the same question
Gaudion93 writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 3:02:55 AM

Oh, I didn't know Joe Johnston was directing Captain America.
skatemaster62 writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 3:03:51 AM

And like I said we will have to wait and see. We still have 2 years before we know anything for sure on percentage
Ranger writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 3:05:14 AM

@Synth - you build a voting system that Hollyweird will listen to my friend and I'll be the FIRST to vote on it (seriously)! As for why they wouldn't listen (like the suggestion box with the paper shredder right behind it)... ego. Plain and simple. Rick Berman thought he was bullet-proof after inheriting Star Trek from Roddenberry, until he wrote that sh*t called Star Trek Generations. After picking his extruded entrails from the ground he pulled up his boot straps and made First Contact... better Rick... much, much better. This CA, Avengers thing... making the new Hulk to suit... they'll have to make him smarter... NOW I hear (some places that Thor WILL have some time on Earth - make up your f*cking minds people...LOL) - all this is VERY tricky/complicated to pull together.
Ranger writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 3:06:48 AM

@Gaudion93 - yeth: http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0458339/
skatemaster62 writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 3:08:16 AM

Exactly Ranger I agree 110 percent
Ranger writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 3:09:54 AM

Have a good night folks. Nice chatting.
skatemaster62 writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 3:12:17 AM

alright guys im done for the night. ill see ya tomarrow....Ranger thanks bro. and Mink i hope were cool
skatemaster62 writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 3:17:25 AM

nite ranger
minkowski writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 3:31:29 AM

Of course, skater, we are mos'def cool.
synthetic1985 writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 4:08:22 AM

good point there Ranger...yea seriously...if hollywood wants to make more money...they should wake up and smell the coffee...they're not as smart as they think...but they continue to convince otherwise...is it really so hard to translate a story and then find the right actors for it?....money should not be an issue...but since it is...it'll never be made right...it's why you see certain actors turning down roles because not enough money was offered...like terrance howard for iron man 2...and remember what jon heder went through for napoleon dynamite?...$1000 bucks for that role...and just look where he is now...not the best...but certainly not the worst...and that's enough proof for me to know that certain people who say they're in it for impressing the fans, well they're just full of sh*t!...there's plenty of people that would jump for the part that actually DID look like it for those who turn such roles down....this is where i say that people should think very carefully about who and what they spend their money on...that way, they don't have to complain about it later...or at least not as much...i mean freedom of speech is one thing...but looking like dumb asses and making money off of people for it is not cool at all
synthetic1985 writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 4:19:08 AM

well i have to correct myself there...it was cool for 'jackass'...but then we see all these other copycats trying to be like them but make it their own show...sorry just doesn't work on me...remember that stupid sh*t on mtv?...rock of love?...i love new york?...so pathetic...the only entertainment i got out of those shows is laughing my ass off so hard at the dumb asses who couldn't realize their own stupidity when they did stupid sh*t lol...and believe me...that statement meant the entire show was very stupid, as well as everything that happened on the show....another thing i thought was funny was the aftermath of these shows...i swear some of these people are so dumb, they go about trying to get fame and popularity in the most dumbest of ways...and the funnier thing is that they get forgotten in the sense that nobody appreciates it after it's gone...i mean, i know some people don't care how they look on tv...but it's just sad when they don't care...if they don't care...then i don't care if i hurt their feelings when i talk sh*t on them
SACdaddy writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 10:42:48 AM

Wow! Now I kind of wish Hwood would just throw you guys the keys to the Marvel movie machine and let yall helm these projects. Between all these post you pretty much have an entire plot for the CA movie that wouldn't completely suck. Before I read this I was having a real hard time imagining a CA movie that would fit today. A guy in red white and blu spandex with nothing more than a fruity looking shield and wings on his head for action just didn't sound very appealing now. Same goes for Thor and his hammer. If they made CA a period peace (as yall suggested) set in WWII era and really concentrated on the secret Super soldier plotline it definitely could work and could be a great set up for further progress. They don't really need to thaw him out till the Avenger movie. When he comes back they wont need him for his undying patriotism. They'll need him for his leadership to save the world, not just America.
As for Thor, i'll just wait and see what Kenneth has in store for us. I really trust him too. His Frankenstein with Deniro was awesome.
SACdaddy writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 10:56:36 AM

BTW: I know this is late in the discussion but none you really got to the real problem with the last Hulk movie. Its marketing problem started when Ed Norton refused to promote the film. He was pissed that the studio decided to cut almost all of his scenes as Banner which he claimed would have been a much deeper study into the character and his struggles to control himself. He actually wanted to go back and re-edit the movie himself (like he did with American History X) and make it a real film that didn't waste his acting talents. When the studio refused and decided to go with nothing but action scenes and talking monsters it lost any quality it may have originally had. Lets just hope they dont do the same with any of these upcoming Avenger movies.
Ranger writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 11:40:01 AM

Typical case of the money-heavy bean counters holding down the artists SAC. It's too bad people didn't stick to what they're good at, leave their egos at the door, and remind themselves they can't do it all. They should have listened to Norton more (although... in this particular case, I don't know if he was jealous or not of the screen time Hulk got over him... but who knows - we do know he knows his stuff). Bean Counters... stick to writing the checks and get out of the actor's ass!
Ranger writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 11:41:08 AM

Good posts Synthetic! I too think the Capt. could stay on ice 'til the Avengers flick.
synthetic1985 writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 11:58:30 AM

thanks Ranger....oh btw...when i said people should be careful on who and what they spend their money on...that didn't just mean people like us....also meant the stupid *ssholes at hollywood that can't keep ALL cast members back for the 2nd or 3rd movies...i think we should be screenwriters Ranger...well...on the side anyway lol....just sayin everybody here seems to agree that people on this site have way better ideas than the f*cktard screenwriters at hollywood that mess everything up
Ranger writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 12:08:28 PM

Yep... I agree Synth. I had a registered storyline (written in '98, registered in '99) floating around Hollyweird (when they'd write for permission to see it) for Iron Man back then. Some of my stuff made it into the flick, but not enough to raise a stink about. And before ANYone comments... yes they copies more than my saying Iron Man takes flight...lol.

@SAC - thx. for the compliment(s) as well.
synthetic1985 writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 12:11:37 PM

and i'm dead serious too Ranger....besides...if hollywood starts signing actors based on their looks and not college degrees, then is there really any harm in signing screenwriters with better ideas than stupid screenwriters?
synthetic1985 writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 12:15:59 PM

anyway...gotta work for now....for a sh*tty budget still lol...i shall return to collaborate more...i feel like quagmire....'hey i like where this is goin....giggity giggity GIG...GI...TY!'
Johnny Neat writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 3:10:02 PM

f*ck them, they totally screwed Thor by not casting Alexander Skarsgård as Thor and I'm sure they'll pass on the obvious choice for Captain America, Matthew McConaughey.
Ranger writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 3:14:34 PM

Johnny... f*ck Matthew. He'd quoted as already saying he doesn't know who Captain America is (as if CAPTAIN AMERICA isn't self-explanatory). Lose that pencil-necked idiot. Neil Fifer is still first on the runway (having already talked to Feige about the role).
lostwarrior writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 5:59:30 PM

I agree with u all on the subject matter regarding CA's time frame. Make 50 percent of it during WWII, show them recruiting him, his training.Show Howard Stark or who ever making his 1st shield, then going off to war, ect..Thats when u see him being a bad ass at first, show how he is killing Nazi's left and right, how the enemy is surprissed by his technology. show him getting frozen then the 1st act would be dont.
2nd act.
Then show him getting unfrozen by Shield. That would also give them the ability to show the audience more background info regarding shields operations, how they do stuff(protocol) Show CA's mental state, regarding to what Mink was saying, show how he adjusts to the new world.Its 60 years later, how does he deal with the new world, show him feeling a little lost/insecure and little things like regarding pop culture, music technology sh*t like that. even throw in a few flash backs when he was a kid in the late 30's or early 40's. You could also show shield going a few smaller missions, just a forshadow to how the team works, show CA training again, tony stark giving him a new shield then right when they give CA leadership. fade to black.. but this is just my opinion only ....
Ranger writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 6:05:14 PM

I'm down with all of that LW, except... I believe his thawing should come with the first Avengers. He can't be killing Germans outright (they're our Allies now and will be watching the movie... this isn't a true-to-life doc*mentary), but he could go onto sabotaging missions... trains, bridges... f*cking up tons of tanks with his shield whilst the Germans sleep... whatever. He'll be busy siding with troops in foxholes... giving motivation speeches... but onto bigger (fictional) stuff... like the Red Skull, etc. (I suspect).

A tough movie to do (well).

Who knows where they'll draw the line.
lostwarrior writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 6:53:16 PM

u know I thought about that , but a little foreshadowing of the avengers in CA would be nice, that way they can spend more time on the present and not waste time for a backstory regarding CA. plus when the avengers start, u can go right into the action,perhaps end CA with them going on a mission, and right before they get there have it end. that way the Avengers could open with them in full bad ass action.... I mean if they show him getting unthawed then they would have to devote more time to CA, in the avengers movie. Avengers should be about them, not about CA and his past. but thats just me.. oh yeah why the f*ck dont they do a civil war movie series, make it a trilogy, or something after they have established everyone,, that would be slicker than a fat babies d*ck...
Ranger writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 6:57:16 PM

Yeah... now that I see you preferred version in type LW, I'd have to agree (honestly... I was sitting on the fence with my last post about the first flick being ALL WWII with this thaw only at the end... but getting the Avengers up and running by the end of CA WOULD be much better).
Ranger writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 6:57:46 PM

Thor is going to be the bitch movie to make.
lostwarrior writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 7:05:28 PM

Yeah it is going to be a bitch making it, they have put in a lot more work on this one. I mean Thor requires a lot more detail, compared to Iron man. But regarding the avengers thats gonna be the mother of all bitches to make.. just wondering if Sam Jackson is gonna have a cameo in Thor, I would rather see Ed Norton, have a cameo though.
EMET120 writes:
on August 2nd, 2009 at 9:05:49 PM

WOW... WATCH THIS AND YOU WILL SEE THAT NO ONE IS MORE SUITED FOR THE ROLE OF CAPTAIN AMERICA THAN SHON LANGE!!!!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w9z8kF3jwFY
Ranger writes:
on August 4th, 2009 at 2:03:53 AM

Nope... Neil
http://www.imdb.com/name/nm1292175/
has spoken with Feige's office... still has my vote.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved