WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

James Cameron on "Titanic 3-D" and "Avatar" Sequel

Posted: July 26th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
James Cameron on "Titanic 3-D" and "Avatar" SequelSubmit Comment
During the San Diego Comic-Con, director James Cameron has been hyping up his upcoming "Avatar" film and talking about some of the other projects he would like to get into.

First, Cameron revealed that he enjoyed his experience with the 3-D "Avatar" film so much that he is also planning to "dimensionalize" (convert to 3-D) his 1997 film "Titanic." Director Peter Jackson added that he'd like to go 3-D with his "Lord of the Ring" trilogy as well.

Another project Cameron mentioned is a sequel to "Avatar," citing the wealth of material initially developed to flesh-out the story and world. He added that if "Avatar" is successful, he is not against making a second installment.

Finally, Cameron commented on the long-rumored "Battle Angel" project, stating that it may be his next. "It's a good idea to get a gig lined up in case Avatar tanks," he said. "Battle Angel's definitely something that I still love, and that's something we're looking at very seriously."

It seems that he is planning quite a bit, but Cameron said that he will wait until "Avatar" is released before he can begin thinking what he will do next. However, he also said that he might get involved in a smaller project, which will likely end up being "The Dive."

Source: WorstPreviews.com


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 38 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on July 25th, 2009 at 10:13:10 PM

"In Case 'Avatar' tanks"

When Avatar tanks*
Ranger writes:
on July 25th, 2009 at 10:14:22 PM

3D Titanic? With Rosie O'Donnell starring as the iceberg?
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on July 25th, 2009 at 10:19:33 PM

"THERE'S TWO OF 'EM!"
Ranger writes:
on July 25th, 2009 at 10:21:08 PM

Well... Oprah is too busy, so Cameron is screwed!
Ari Gold writes:
on July 25th, 2009 at 10:31:27 PM

It wont tank, people will watch it just because Cameron made it.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on July 25th, 2009 at 10:44:19 PM

Ari,

Don't get me started on Cameron fans, there's an IMDB thread where they basically took a bunch of photos of him at comic con, instead of the Avatar sh*t, and jerked off to them.
Ranger writes:
on July 25th, 2009 at 10:44:24 PM

Yep. The hype and expectation of this and the Expendables (please Sly make it a decent story!) is incredible.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on July 25th, 2009 at 11:22:39 PM

It'll never live up to the hype, it can't.
vwkombi writes:
on July 26th, 2009 at 12:07:47 AM

I've learned to stop looking forward to things (thanks to Transformers 2, Dexter season 2 and Wolverine).
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on July 26th, 2009 at 12:35:25 AM

@vwkombi

I cannot agree more.
Lister writes:
on July 26th, 2009 at 12:57:05 AM

SpookyCupcakes:

I agree that it can't live up to the hype, but to say that Avatar will tank is just stupid. For one, it's the return of director James Cameron who is responsible for the first two Terminators. It's also the only science fiction effects-heavy epic blockbuster released this Christmas. Even people who were disappointed by what they saw at Avatar still admitted that the effects were better than King Kong or Gollum, even though they weren't exactly photorealistic.
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on July 26th, 2009 at 2:00:19 AM

Everyone who has seen it speaks so highly of it's technological innovations. Even if it sucks people will still go see it not necessarily for Cameron but for the effects. As we've seen with the Transformers series people seem to be willing to throw away story for visual effects. I doubt this film's story or characters suck though cause Cameron cares about those elements and understands they are the foundation of any great story/film.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on July 26th, 2009 at 2:01:05 AM

"James Cameron who is responsible for the first two Terminators"
Yea, and 'True Lies', and 'Titanic'. Faggot.

and as for your "photo-realistic" argument (which is sh*tty), CG effects don't make a movie good. Story, Character Development, editing, and directing do.
BigUnit writes:
on July 26th, 2009 at 2:02:05 AM

what is Avatar? never heard of it
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on July 26th, 2009 at 2:03:34 AM

@bigunit

It's a movie about some marine cripple in the future who gets to control a blue dreadlocked alien and learns about it's society and ends up leading an attack against earth. WOW. SOUNDS f*ckING RIVETING.

and by 'RIVETING', I mean complete garbage.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on July 26th, 2009 at 2:03:57 AM

I'd rather get a rimjob by a cheese grater.
Silly Wabbit writes:
on July 26th, 2009 at 3:53:32 AM

whats a rimjob?
WV-Films writes:
on July 26th, 2009 at 4:44:19 AM

Let's be honest here though, (and as much as some people hate Titanic), Cameron really hasn't made a "bad" movie... except maybe Piranha 2.
Kid_A writes:
on July 26th, 2009 at 6:54:06 AM

Neither Cameron nor Jackson should convert their movies onto 3D, because 3D is not a great technology with dynamic and explosive action - though Titanic doesn't have so much big action in some scenes, but it should also be considered as a caution. I had great wambles while watching Harry Potter 5 on IMAX!
lostwarrior writes:
on July 26th, 2009 at 9:25:59 AM

well I thought avatar was already set as a trilogy. if not, that awesome. Its good to see that someone in hollywood is gonna wait to see how a film pans out before they make a sequel to a film.
And it probably wont live up to the hype. but Ill bet its gonna be good. I mean its f*cking cameron. But at the same time it has been a while since he made a film... so he could be a little rusty... but as long as it has a descent story line it will be one of the better films of 09. cuz so far 09 has sucked balls regarding films..
MoneyHayabusa writes:
on July 26th, 2009 at 10:06:12 AM

Spookycupcakes said:

"It's a movie about some marine cripple in the future who gets to control a blue dreadlocked alien and learns about it's society and ends up leading an attack against earth. WOW. SOUNDS f*ckING RIVETING."

I have a couple of friends who make fun of things by explaining exactly what they are and then doing a wink wink shoulder shrug at the end to make you agree with them. You basically did the same thing, only with malice which makes you pretty much just a d*ck.

Oh yeah, and he made ALIENS, faggot.
lostwarrior writes:
on July 26th, 2009 at 11:19:00 AM

^^f*ck yeah and if you payattention u can tell that sweet ole cup cakes is just begging to have mink dip her balls in her(cupcakes)mouth and hum the star spangle banner...
Lister writes:
on July 26th, 2009 at 11:28:22 AM

"Yea, and 'True Lies', and 'Titanic'. Faggot."

Those were good films. And why did you feel the need to attack me? I just thought I'd have a conversation. No need for insults.

"and as for your "photo-realistic" argument (which is sh*tty), CG effects don't make a movie good. Story, Character Development, editing, and directing do."

Well I guess Avatar is safe then. The story may not sound too good, but neither did a cyborg from the future who is here to kill the future leader of the resistance. And BTW, never once was i trying to prove that Avatar was going to be a good film. I was trying to prove that it wouldn't tank. Special effects don''t make a movie good, but look at the Transformers movies. They suck ass and special effects are the only reason they did well.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on July 26th, 2009 at 11:29:50 AM

"Oh yeah, and he made ALIENS, faggot."

OH NO WAY HE DID HOLY f*ck OMFG THAT'S SO COOL!!!

George Lucas made the original Star Wars trilogy, and the Indiana Jones trilogy.

WHAT ABOUT NOW? Yes, that's what I thought, faggot.

And if 'Avatar' were to be a trilogy, we could expect the sequel around 2021
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on July 26th, 2009 at 11:34:15 AM

Piranha Part Two: The Spawning
True Lies
T2 3-D: Battle Across Time

sucked.

Avatar might be O.K., but the f*cking fanboys are pushing me away from this sh*t,

and lol @ lostwarrior thinking I'm a girl.
I'm flattered that you fancy me in that respect, but alas, I have a trouser snake.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on July 26th, 2009 at 11:35:20 AM

Also.

Cameron's hard-on for 3-D is exactly the same as Lucas' Hard-On for CGI.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on July 26th, 2009 at 11:36:25 AM

and he didn't direct 'Alien', He directed 'Aliens', which was only O.K. and unneeded. Retard.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on July 26th, 2009 at 11:38:01 AM

@lister

Ever go on a RAEG rampage at 1:00 in the morning? You forget who's calling you what and who's calling you nothing.

Sorry :/
lostwarrior writes:
on July 26th, 2009 at 11:51:32 AM

^^^ good to see u can take a joke man.
lostwarrior writes:
on July 26th, 2009 at 12:00:16 PM

Look honestly no one is a soother sayer, so argueing on the idea that this is gonna a be a flop or not is retarded. If your working on the film then u may have reason to defend it or if your related to the stars of then I could see justification. but if u dont, then its just an opinion which everyone on here is allowed to have.. but look at Cameron record speaking of his career, the man is really good at what he does. my only thing is that its been a long time since he made a film, so im just hoping that he is still in top form...
synthetic1985 writes:
on July 26th, 2009 at 1:22:20 PM

let's just see how the movie does...as for a 3d titanic...i'm not so sure that's a great idea....maybe for home video...but at a theater?...i don't think people want to pay another $10.50 to a movie they've seen a decade ago...maybe if they lowered ticket prices on that i'd watch it in theaters again...but seriously 3d conversions of movies we've already seen?...at regular theater price?...i'll pass
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on July 26th, 2009 at 2:39:06 PM

Let's not forget Spielberg in the whole Indiana Jones scheme and any person who allows other fans to negatively affect their thoughts or enjoyment of a film is an idiot =]
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on July 26th, 2009 at 5:29:22 PM

WHEN IS ALL THIS 3-D BULLsh*t GONNA END!!?? STOP DOING THIS!!!
KaloVisor writes:
on July 26th, 2009 at 6:25:19 PM

Yeah tell me about. if they wan't to release a film fine. but why does it have to be in 3D?
KaloVisor writes:
on July 26th, 2009 at 6:26:38 PM

^ *Re-release
synthetic1985 writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 3:47:06 AM

yea honestly...what's so compelling for a 3d titanic?...only the 2nd half is the better as far as seeing all the action take place...and to be honest...i wear contact lenses...so every time i take the 3d glasses off...it f*cks with the colors of everything i see in normal view...in fact...i'm surprised i'm not color blind...are 3d glasses bad if people use them too much?...i mean what if all movies were no longer 2d?...or all tv channels?...that would be kind of annoying
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 12:49:50 PM

and @sacdaddy

I'm not a Cameron hater, I'm just critical of his fanboys.

Aliens was a good action movie? OH WOW RLY OMG NO WAI SO FUKING COOL!!!

I don't give a sh*t, the first one was way better and could have been fine as a standalone movie, just like the first terminator (even though the second one was better).

And why put this in the segal article?
Ranger writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 2:48:46 PM

@Spooky - do u know why I didn't like the 2nd. Terminator better than the first. Because I think they were lazy, and couldn't think of a way to bring back the Terminator as the killer he was in the first... so they made him John Connor's 'buddy'? f*ck me! HE'S A TERMINATOR... THAT'S ALL HE DOES. HE DOESN'T REST, HE DOESN'T FEEL REMORSE AND HE'LL KEEP COMING UNTIL... whoops... flashback there... sorry (putting the cap on the glue now).

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved