WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Neill Blomkamp will Never Direct "Halo"

Posted: July 24th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Neill Blomkamp will Never Direct "Halo"Submit Comment
When Microsoft was looking to turn their popular "Halo" game into a movie, the company had Peter Jackson on board to produce. Unfortunately, Jackson was pushing for commercial director Neill Blomkamp to helm, the decision that Microsoft wasn't backing. And after the company failed to find a distributor, the entire project fell apart.

Now, /Film caught up with Blomkamp to ask him about the rumor that he moved on to direct "District 9" to prove that he can handle "Halo."

"The rumors are completely wrong," he said. "The answer is, I probably wouldn't do 'Halo' if it was offered to me. But creatively, I would like to do it. I'd be sad to not work on it, but I would still say no."

He continued: "I worked on it for five months. I put a lot of sort of sweat and blood into 'Halo.' Creatively, it's very compelling. I love it. But, when you work that long on something and you have it bottom out and collapse... i mean, I got 'District 9' out of it, I think I'm probably better off because it's more of a personal film. But yeah, I love the world of 'Halo.' I don't think I would go back there."

Source: /Film


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 17 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on July 24th, 2009 at 8:17:55 PM

Exactly.
PrevalentMind writes:
on July 24th, 2009 at 8:38:35 PM

Good for you Blomkamp...begin your rise and f*ck those guys.
minkowski writes:
on July 24th, 2009 at 9:40:03 PM

He should polish his chops on a Close Encounters of Third Kind remake instead.
masKritic writes:
on July 24th, 2009 at 10:56:52 PM

I'm eager to see District 9 it looks genuine and original. I don't want him to do any remakes or any based off of movies.
jdl107 writes:
on July 24th, 2009 at 11:00:26 PM

Mmm.

Why do I smell bullsh*t......
minkowski writes:
on July 24th, 2009 at 11:00:30 PM

Yeah, but don't you think D9 looks just a little cheesy? I was with a bunch of people when the TV spot come on, and half of them looked away at something else.
minkowski writes:
on July 24th, 2009 at 11:05:06 PM

Oh, and D9 isn't very original either. Anyone recall Alien Nation?
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on July 24th, 2009 at 11:25:05 PM

minkowski,

I'm sure you've seen 'Alive in Joburg', which is what 'District 9' is based off of.

Alien Nation only gave a commentary on discrimination. D-9 and 'Alive in Joburg' gave commentaries on immigration, refugees, the South African government and how it is like the American government.

I think it'll be really good, and really original, but there will always be some *sshole (not you), who will say "ALEEN NASHUN RIPOFF LOLOLOLOLOL"
minkowski writes:
on July 24th, 2009 at 11:50:08 PM

I didn't say it was a 'rip off'. Ever. In fact, I think it's original *within its own context*. It's a unique look and unoriginal idea. But the guy above said, flat out, its 'genuine and original'. He didn't take the time to clarify.

And there's VERY LITTLE that's truly original. Everything is either borrowed from a previous film or a book. Lucas ripped off Asmimov and Clarke and many other sci-fi writers of the forties, fifties and sixties. King rips off ideas and spins them his own way. So does Cameron. The W Brothers, as i've said made the Matrix and its sequels from a patchwork of sh*t they 'stole', but people knowing no better swore "the matrix is like so original, dude!". And Scott robertson, the famed concept designer, borrows many of his ideas from nature, not entirely from his imagination.

When you say contradict people's notions, their little beliefs, they get pissy. Reminds me of evangelicals getting nasty because you dared question Christ's divinity. Everybody has a dog in every f*cking race, it seems. I don't. I call it like I see it. If people get pissed, that's more fun for me.

Besides, I'm not the one that said D9 looks cheesy. I was intrigued at first glance. But other folks I've spoken to that watched the trailer thought it looked kinda bad. I'll wait to say for sure.

And have you heard the saying: amateurs create, professionals steal? Well, it's damned true.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on July 25th, 2009 at 12:11:17 AM

I said "but there will always be some *sshole (not you)" with the "(not you)" to define your valid opinion from other people who post on the imdb boards who have broken caps lock keys.

"Lucas ripped off Asmimov and Clarke and many other sci-fi writers of the forties, fifties and sixties."
No, he references them, Lucas brought together all these great science fiction stories, and made something new out of them, he didn't steal, he reimagined. Remember, this was the pre-neckfat Lucas, not the money grubbing cgi whore that he is today!

The W brothers quite obviously made The Matrix to be like the bible, among other influences (leone films, alice in wonderland, etc), the ships even names the Nebuchadnezzar for christ's sake.

If a movie uses way too much of another book's, play's, movie's, tv series' storyline, then it's plagiarism, but what they did was take a bunch of old things, and make them new again, and make them good (with the exception of the rushed Star Wars prequels and the second and third matrix).
vwkombi writes:
on July 25th, 2009 at 12:12:42 AM

District 9 looks fantastic and i think he might've done Halo justice. But i don't believe we will ever see a Halo film, which is a good thing.
minkowski writes:
on July 25th, 2009 at 12:39:59 AM

When I say 'steal' I'm not accusing anyone of plagiarism, even though James Cameron was SUED by the author Harlan Ellison for blatantly ripping off two of Ellison's scripts, used in a few Twilight Zone episodes. Cameron was forced to add Ellison's name to the credit in T1. And Cameron even bragged about it in a Canadian interview, which led immediately to the lawsuit, IIRC. So they do actually steal, but most of the time they cobble together things they've read and scene into somethiing new. I call it a synthesis.

Now the Matrix blatantly borrowed some stuff, in so much that if your film is ninety percent other people's ideas, it's not all that original in substance. Again, yes, absolutely, Star Wars and The MAtrix were once very original syntheses. Something you've never seen before in one isolated book or idea. But the they weren't created by epiphany. Lucas didn't have a revelation on the john. He was inspired here, borrowed some ideas there, and added something new here. he tossed it around and arranged it according to his unique vision.

So i need clarification when someone says 'original'. that word is tossed around so f*cking much. Everything is original, but it isn't. When I say original, it's gotta be something absolutely new, like the wheel to the cave dwellers, or the Segway to Blart the Mall Cop.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on July 25th, 2009 at 12:49:17 AM

Excellent points all around,

Cheers!

Cameron isn't that great of a director, I mean, after 'True Lies', how could anyone possibly take his sh*t seriously?
minkowski writes:
on July 25th, 2009 at 1:05:03 AM

I stopped listening to him with Titanic. 2 and a half hours of a ship sinking, or about to sink. A grown woman having silly sex with a little boy. In a steamy car. Right before the ship sinks. And the he dies because the chick won't share the floating door?? "I'll remember you forever Jack" or something like that. di Caprio should've donned a hockey mask, risen from the waters, and sliced that selfish bitch in half with the Titanic's propeller blade. Far better ending IMO.

That and the fact he turned a horrible tragedy into a preposterously sappy melodrama, all the while laughing to the bank.
SuluNakamura writes:
on July 25th, 2009 at 2:48:52 AM

woo! walls of text.

anyway, oh well. I think I'm satisfied enough with those live action Halo 3 viral videos.
SACdaddy writes:
on July 25th, 2009 at 10:11:51 AM

They just haven't done a good job marketing District 9. You're right about one thing Mink, people are not reacting that well to the tv previews. At the bar last night i was staring at what I thought was the best spot i had seen for it yet. When someone ask me what I so interested in and I told them the new Peter Jackson alien movie, they had no idea what I was talking about. Even worse, I found trying to explain the trailer to them next to impossible with that many beers in me. I dont see it making that much money which doesnt bode well for Blomkamp's future. Halo movie could have been so good.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on July 25th, 2009 at 10:49:44 AM

People say 'sleeper hit', I say cult classic in the making.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved