WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Saw" Creator to Direct "Castlevania"

Posted: July 23rd, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Saw" Creator to Direct "Castlevania"Submit Comment
Only two months ago, we reported that the big screen adaptation of the "Castlevania" video game was considered dead since the announced start date has already been missed and director Sylvain White (Stomp the Yard) has moved on.

Now comes news that James Wan, the man behind the original "Saw" movie, "Death Sentence" and "Dead Silence," has signed on to co-write and direct "Castlevania." Paul WS Anderson will be producing.

"I'm very fresh on this project, so its early stages and I'm still trying to work things out, but the producers love my vision for it," Wan told Bloody-Disgusting. "I'll be working on the script with a writer to give it a new spin, different to the previous versions. This will have my stamp on it which Konami is very excited about."

He continued: "The thing I love about what Konami did with Castlevania, was taking the iconic Dracula mythology and Eastern-European setting, and retelling it with a Japanese pop-cultural sensibility. That's the East-meets-West tone I want to visually expand on for the film. I'm thrilled by the opportunity to make a highly stylized, fantasy, action film that focuses on the gothic storyline and the cool, anime-like characters. For once, the human hero is as sexy and dangerous as the vampire villain, and his weapon of choice was what attracted me to the project in the first place The Vampire Killer Whip."

Click here to read more about "Castlevania."

Source: Bloody-Disgusting


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 11 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Ari Gold writes:
on July 23rd, 2009 at 6:53:48 AM

The thing about a whip, I will always think of Indian Jones when I see one in a movie used as a weapon..
freshfromthedeli writes:
on July 23rd, 2009 at 7:39:26 AM

I agree with you, Ari, but I still hope they keep the whip in. I really wanna see this whenever or if ever it's released.
acslaterson writes:
on July 23rd, 2009 at 8:11:49 AM

This is one game series I never got into, always appreciated the premise though.
Johnny Neat writes:
on July 23rd, 2009 at 12:27:24 PM

As long as he's learned from that lame Dead Sentence movie he did it'll have a chance at being decent. I mean really, Dead Sentence was a horrible backstreet boys meets Death Wish Trash!!!!!
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on July 23rd, 2009 at 1:50:23 PM

The company who has the rights to this movie also has the rights to the Pacman, robosapien, AND Tekken movie.

something tells me that castlevania will suck.

I hope they don't go anywhere near a pacman movie until they can find the correct director and storyline for it, it wouldn't be anything like the game, but there would be constant homages to it.
BigUnit writes:
on July 23rd, 2009 at 3:44:22 PM

"Death Sentence" was GOOD but "Dead Silence" on the other hand, was terrible.
minkowski writes:
on July 23rd, 2009 at 4:04:45 PM

Death Sentence was decent. A true film based on the Death Wish book. The author disavowed the film with Bronson, and claims that Wan's version is closer to the authors intentions. The film with Bronson doesn't show the price for revenge, and glosses over the consequences of vigilantism.
autiger10 writes:
on July 23rd, 2009 at 4:09:04 PM

all of his movies sucked
synthetic1985 writes:
on July 23rd, 2009 at 4:14:31 PM

wow they're gonna do pacman??...omg...the game itself was based on an old japanese folk tale... they even made a cartoon out of it in japan and it didn't last...a movie of it would suffer pretty much the same fate
lostwarrior writes:
on July 23rd, 2009 at 5:21:43 PM

well I will agree with mink, but still im not gonna speak like im reading from a manual or a review. i really did enjoy it, and until now and thanks to the human manual MINK i didnt know this was actually a death wish book, but now thats it mentioned i can see how it would be.. and wan is a good choice for this project, so it actualy might be a good adaptation a game.. but thats just me...
matternm58 writes:
on July 24th, 2009 at 4:01:33 PM

i will be so pissed if they f*ck this up. i'm a huge fan of the castlevania games.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved