WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Should Unicron be in "Transformers 3"?

Posted: July 22nd, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Should Unicron be in "Transformers 3"?Submit Comment
RottenTomatoes spoke to producer Lorenzo di Bonaventura about the third "Transformers" movie, including whether Michael Bay would return and which robots can we expect to see.

"We've started talking about it now," di Bonaventura said about "Transformers 3." "We're debating the right time for it."

He also mentioned that the studio will probably still move forward with the third installment without Michael Bay, but everyone would like to see Bay return. "Timing is the big question for him, not whether he is going to do it or not."

Di Bonaventura also discussed the possibility of adding Unicron to the franchise. For those who don't know, Unicron is neither an Autobot nor Decepticon. He is a prodigiously large robot whose scale reaches planetary proportions, and he is also able to transform into a mechanical planet.

"Unicron worries me because it's so big that it dwarfs emotion," said the producer. "It's so hard, because when you're working to that scale, it sort of becomes outside any kind of human reality you have. It's obviously a great character, and one that we're definitely going to talk about, but for me personally - and I'm not the only vote here - that one scares me. Because of its size, it becomes sort of impersonal when it gets to that scale."

So which characters would di Bonaventura like to see in "Transformers 3"? "I love the Mini-Cons actually -- I think they're very cool," he replied.

Source: RottenTomatoes

Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 43 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
borat writes:
on July 22nd, 2009 at 6:27:57 PM

lostwarrior writes:
on July 22nd, 2009 at 6:31:53 PM

the answer is No they shouldnt why cuz they should not make another transformers. Bay really blows but I read a news story regarding his "lower budget" movie idea called pain and gain. I think that might be interesting, but still bay sucks big time... and so does transformers, but this is just my opinion though
acslaterson writes:
on July 22nd, 2009 at 6:33:53 PM

Give me Grimlock! Only way they will get me in the theaters after the TF2 sh*tfest!
PrevalentMind writes:
on July 22nd, 2009 at 6:43:56 PM

Noooooo- but story structure should find a way in there at some point and time.
SpydrMonkeyakaSPF writes:
on July 22nd, 2009 at 7:05:31 PM

As many ppl who dont like Michael Bay and his movies, he still brought in over 700 million with tf2. The answer tho is no. Unicron is a great character but the aspect of him is really huge and I don't see it working well in theatres. I'd like to see the dinobots, triple changers, and or target masters.
solidkryptonite writes:
on July 22nd, 2009 at 7:41:47 PM

No, not if it's like the 2nd movie. If it's like the second movie, they'll have fart noises coming out Unicron as the Autobots exit his body.
lost_addict writes:
on July 22nd, 2009 at 8:13:50 PM

just get rid of shia leabouf,his latino boyfriend from the sequel and bring back jon voight.focus more on u.s army and the transformers like the first movie instead of stupid ass jokes and humping robots...
synthetic1985 writes:
on July 22nd, 2009 at 8:31:34 PM

well so much for transformers 3 being bigger...planetary unicron would have been f*cking sweet....the fact of the matter is that TRANSFORMERS do not exist in this world....it's a fantasy story...it's already unrealistic....why the f*ck are they gonna get all butt hurt thinking it wouldn't do well adding unicron?....i'll tell you...ready?...it's because they are f*ckING STUPID!......why else were we so hyped when we saw the superbowl teaser?...cuz you see this big decepticon destroying a bridge...a f*cking bridge....but that's about all you see that decepticon do.....they could have made it more dramatic like bringing a huge building down...but then they'd think it would offend due to 9/11, so they have no problem making the retarded twins racist or other sh*t that disappoints fans...well if that's the case...i shall enjoy missing this next one
synthetic1985 writes:
on July 22nd, 2009 at 8:36:51 PM

too bad they f*ck with people anyway....'wanted it to be darker for the fans'....oh sure they say they want to please fans...fans of the original is not the kind of fans they talk about....and they always sh*t people like that....like team america puts it, they are *ssholes
Ranger writes:
on July 22nd, 2009 at 9:17:20 PM

I just don't know. I just had 6 shooters of gasoline and just can't make up my mind.
tcu21 writes:
on July 22nd, 2009 at 9:27:20 PM

Hah nice one ranger.

The sad thing is that despite the overwhelming negative reviews, that Bay will not re-evaluate his directing style because the movie still brought in so much money (sad again). So I'm sure if anything the 3rd one will be just as bad if not worse than the 2nd one. He probably won't shy away from including unicorn. And the 4th one will have the Dinosaur transformers. And the 5th one will have transformer/autobot orgies.
tcu21 writes:
on July 22nd, 2009 at 9:27:43 PM

FBO writes:
on July 22nd, 2009 at 9:31:25 PM

I am freaking rolling on the floor Ranger!

No. No, no nO, NO,no, No! Bad idea. I say keep Shia, but limit his screen time... By ALOT. Bring back Voight as the President and Rachel Taylor (Way hottier than Megan Fox) as some sort of advisor. Use lost_addict's idea of focusing on the military (My favorite part of the first movie is the 105 rounds. dat, dat, dat, BOOM, dat, dat, dat, BOOM. I freaking loved it) and stay away from 7th grade humor.
Ranger writes:
on July 22nd, 2009 at 9:32:46 PM

lol... thx. folks. Urp!
Ranger writes:
on July 22nd, 2009 at 9:34:55 PM

Ah yes... the 105 gun (a Howitzer mounted on a plane) - on the Spectre GunShip, backed up with (like it needed backing up?!) mini-guns... sweet! Nice call of firepower FBO.
FBO writes:
on July 22nd, 2009 at 9:44:35 PM

Honest to Budda when Gibbson said "Use 105 rounds" I just about j*zzed my pants
czardawg writes:
on July 22nd, 2009 at 9:51:42 PM

What they need is more transformers and less humans
Horsemoney5 writes:
on July 22nd, 2009 at 10:59:30 PM

No ... unicron wont work ...but battles in space and dino bots will!!!! Wasn't wheelie technically a mini con? Who else can handle this movie besides bay? Any suggestions?
RoadDogXVIII writes:
on July 22nd, 2009 at 11:16:43 PM

I'm really regretting seeing "Transformers 2" after coming back from what I thought was an exhilarating film, but getting ripped to shreds and even considered as the worst film of the decade? I guess I can relate, the Spielbergian wonder of the first film was gone, but I was enthralled by a few scenes. And is Megan Fox that bad an actress? Someone who has five films coming out in the next few months/years doesn't indicate something as bizarre as that. Regardless, I hope Michael Bay picks himself back up, realizes what went wrong, and recreate what made the first film so worthy of attention.
minkowski writes:
on July 23rd, 2009 at 12:13:24 AM

Wheelie wasn't traditionally a mini-con. He's something of a mini-car like Bumblebee and Huffer. In the stupid Bay film he's something of a Mini-con/Micromaster. And mini-cons are more appropriately called MicroMasters. Stupid Armada naming conventions. . . identical in size, mini-cons just have a post hole to connect to the larger toys.

And how can you have Unicron without Cybertron? Given the complexity of the regular sized Transformers, how would the VFX people convey the size of Unicron, make him transform 'realistically' and maintain physical correctness? He'd have to have a trillion parts! lol. No, I know they would have to drop the whole 'if Transfromers were real' approach to modeling and animating for Unicron, but still. And would Unicron attack planet Earth? Man, the potential for Bay to play Armageddon with Earth again, but this time, the asteroid TRANSFORMS. Bay would sh*t his pants at the chance to trash not just a few cities, but an entire planet!

Anyway, sure, shoehorn Unicron into the story. That's what they did with the Fallen. With the Matrix.

What would I like to see? Damn. Well I hate the path Bay took with the look of the robots, and these films have near zero interest for me. I would say. . .triple changers aren't bad. Maybe a Headmaster. Let Shia take on a role as a headmaster to one of the TFs. Who I don't care. Or he can be Prime's Powermaster. Or someone else besides Shia. Maybe a rogue scientist for the Decepticons.

Metroplex, or Fortress Maximus would also do. Dinobots. Ultra Magnus, but not a recolor of Prime. Maybe Huffer as a flat-nosed 18 wheeler.
synthetic1985 writes:
on July 23rd, 2009 at 1:34:18 AM

hey guys what do you think about this?....if they bring dinobots...why not bring in maximals and predicons?...from beast wars?...anyone??
BrandoFresh writes:
on July 23rd, 2009 at 1:44:41 AM

As far as scale goes, yes. Unicron would be a definite challenge for them though.
Shogo1307 writes:
on July 23rd, 2009 at 1:46:51 AM

I think Unicron should be talked about along with more back story to the original 13 transformers and amd the civil war.But i think the next movie should be a prequel honestly talk about Alpha Trion and the Dino Bots! Im a Grimlock fan myself acslaterson! and Primus.
dbreuning writes:
on July 23rd, 2009 at 2:27:11 AM

Please do a showoff between Devastator and the Aerial Bots. That would be awesome. Maybe some Dino bots in there. Unicron is way too big indeed. Maybe they can introduce another Prime: Rodimus! Anyway go for it. I love Transformers :)
dbreuning writes:
on July 23rd, 2009 at 2:31:03 AM

And yes: Ultra Magnus. Thanks Minkowski. Forgot about him. Oh and what was the Autobot which looks like a train's name? He would be cool.
minkowski writes:
on July 23rd, 2009 at 3:02:09 AM

For TripleChangers, you could do: Astrotrain, Blitzwing, Springer, Octane or Sandstorm. Or Broadside, an aircraft carrier. Or you go even farther: Six-Shot.

Other interesting characters: Wreck-Gar. Sky Lynx. Blaster. Perceptor. Shockwave.
minkowski writes:
on July 23rd, 2009 at 3:04:16 AM

"Oh and what was the Autobot which looks like a train's name?"

Which generation? The one I can think of right this moment is the Decepticon AstroTrain. Or Omega Supreme has a tank vehicle that runs around on tracks.
Sev writes:
on July 23rd, 2009 at 4:03:55 AM

I'd use Unicron to destroy Earth and taking the fight to other planets like the original Transformers movie. Would be good, but get a better f*ckin director for crying out loud!
kevo10183 writes:
on July 23rd, 2009 at 12:05:42 PM

They shouldnt even make a 3rd movie
Johnny Neat writes:
on July 23rd, 2009 at 12:46:12 PM

Duh, plus Rodimus Prime. He should have been in this sequel after Prime died, err almost died.
Planetastudios writes:
on July 23rd, 2009 at 1:52:27 PM

Bay Still keeps hollywood Alive! I love transformers! Its a Fun Movie to watch. People don't have fun at the movies anymore because everyone likes being a critic.
defiant1 writes:
on July 23rd, 2009 at 3:39:56 PM

Well, if Bay f*cks up...errr..."makes" a 3rd movie, I would like to see the Dinobots. But the thing is, what if Bay doesn't like them? They could share the same fate as Arcee. Then those dumbass twins could take center stage again. Somebody kill those two, please, and the mom too. I also like the idea of the evil Optimus Prime from RID, Scourge. As for Unicron, no. Pretty sure the movie will blow no matter whos in it.
Monroe writes:
on July 23rd, 2009 at 6:49:31 PM

How about no T3 at all?
synthetic1985 writes:
on July 23rd, 2009 at 7:34:48 PM

wait wait wait...are you guys talking about transformers 3 or terminator 3?....j/k i'm bein dumb funny...but you have to admit...those two movies are 'something the world doesn't need'
synthetic1985 writes:
on July 23rd, 2009 at 7:36:17 PM

and i'll explain why i think it's something we don't need....it's very simple....when they debate too much over the idea for the story, well...that's where it gets messier...when it all falls into place like magic...it's worth it...but these writers...they think anything they write is worth it
synthetic1985 writes:
on July 23rd, 2009 at 7:37:11 PM

it's only worth it for them because they make money off it...nothing more
JRprime writes:
on July 23rd, 2009 at 9:59:42 PM

news update: transformers thread, once again, gets the most comments!
synthetic1985 writes:
on July 24th, 2009 at 12:11:36 AM

most doesn't always mean best...and it won't always stay that way either...just you watch
Eben1277 writes:
on July 24th, 2009 at 4:48:59 AM

Mink hit it on the head with Sky Lynx, he was f*ckin awesome. I think he even kicked the predacons asses at one point. And that would be great too, the Predacons vs. the Dinobots. They could have flashbacks with Alpha Trion and the Quintessons could be the inventors of the cosmic cube or whatever that thing was (I know it wasn't the cosmic cube, I think that had something to do with the Beyonder or something, but it's after 4:30 in the morning, I'm sick, and I can't think straight)
Rezvonflux writes:
on July 24th, 2009 at 12:59:06 PM

I would be nice to see a good rendition of Unicorn, but i'm affraid what might happen if they did try. Remember Fantatic Four? Between me and you, Galaticus sucked
venomex writes:
on July 24th, 2009 at 1:33:11 PM

mini-cons....the gimmicky little bastards that made Armanda suck? noooooooo thank you.
Rezvonflux writes:
on July 24th, 2009 at 3:08:10 PM

To add onto Minkowski:

or how about the rest of the combiners? Bruticus? or Predaking? i can't remember the others tho. Decepticons had another combiner that where a bunch of cars and an 18-wheeler like Optimus. i think ther were the Stunticons that became Menasor. or Superion, Protectobots? or a battle between Trypticon and Metroplex?
Planetastudios writes:
on July 24th, 2009 at 5:34:07 PM

^synthetic1985 ... True. It all comes down to the writers. If the budget this time is invested to top notch screenplay writers/story creaters, then we might have something special coming out of the 3rd. I mean everything else seems to be golden: actors, effects, action, location.... :) Score composer and team members->bay/spielberg

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved