WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

First Look: Freddy Krueger from "A Nightmare on Elm Street"

Posted: July 22nd, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
First Look: Freddy Krueger from "A Nightmare on Elm Street"Submit Comment
The first official look at Jackie Earle Haley (Watchmen) as Freddy Krueger from the upcoming "A Nightmare on Elm Street" reboot has appeared online. In addition, STYD has a photo of a banner for "Nightmare" that's hanging at Comic-Con. Check out both below.

Plot: Freddy Krueger, a serial child molester murdered by angry parents, returns with a burnt face and a razor glove to terrorize teens in their dreams.

"A Nightmare on Elm Street" is directed by Samuel Bayer, who is best known for iconic music videos including Nirvana's "Smells Like Teen Spirit" and Blind Melon's video for "No Rain." It is scheduled to hit theaters on April 16th, 2010.

Photo: (click to enlarge)


Banner: (click to enlarge)


Click here to read more about "A Nightmare on Elm Street."

Source: MySpace, STYD


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 30 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
lostwarrior writes:
on July 22nd, 2009 at 6:25:14 PM

f*ck yeah, this might actually be good. Bring it back to the original style of krugger being a brutal killer. Not a comedian, and jackie early haley is looking like the right man for the job.. hope im right about this..
PrevalentMind writes:
on July 22nd, 2009 at 6:34:55 PM

Yeah agreed on that one- there's just too many comedic horror icons. Chucky, Krueger, Jason, etc- all went on to parody themselves....But Krueger gave me real nightmares- then he started cracking jokes, I smiled, and havent taken him seriously since...Totally agreed- bring bim back to cold, coarse, and brutal. NO JOKES- let the talented Robert Englund have that legacy and lets not get Haley to try and reproduce that. Just be a psycho Haley...
acslaterson writes:
on July 22nd, 2009 at 6:39:20 PM

Agree with both of you! I wonder if they will keep the song...
PrevalentMind writes:
on July 22nd, 2009 at 6:52:58 PM

Jesus- the 3 of us agree?!? hahaha All we need now is ThomasDeadison and Minkowski to agree and a portal to a new world might open right the f*ck up. hahahaha
acslaterson writes:
on July 22nd, 2009 at 7:02:58 PM

Hahaha.
lostwarrior writes:
on July 22nd, 2009 at 7:11:24 PM

na mink is too busy researching via wiki's terms or find words by nietzchie to describe how we are wrong...
lostwarrior writes:
on July 22nd, 2009 at 7:23:23 PM

@acslaterson they f*cking better keep the song, talk about f*cking with a stories mythology here. I hope and they will show how the song became so imporant with freddies past. and just wondering if they are going to show the(gate keepers) or what ever from freddie's dead. those wierd creatures that gave freddy his power in the first place..
lostwarrior writes:
on July 22nd, 2009 at 7:37:52 PM

@pm how did jason get thrown into that mix, just curious man,,,, not trying to be rude.
OneTime writes:
on July 22nd, 2009 at 7:38:09 PM

i cant wait for this
synthetic1985 writes:
on July 22nd, 2009 at 8:20:05 PM

i'm still with wes craven on this...how about an actual close up of freddy's face?...anybody could look like freddy with that kinda shadowing
lostwarrior writes:
on July 22nd, 2009 at 9:13:12 PM

yeah I do agree syn, but still. jackie is a good serious actor. Im sure even if the movie does turn out bad, jackies version of kruger wont disappoint.
Space_Ghost11 writes:
on July 22nd, 2009 at 9:20:59 PM

cant wait to see more, I like this photo though - keeps us on the edge a bit longer but gives us the creepy vibe of which it will be. Jackie will get the job done! he's a badass actor.
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on July 22nd, 2009 at 10:42:46 PM

the song is one of the freaky sh*t about the film. I am actually looking forward to this!

I've also heard rumours that teh story might be changed a bit, that Freddy Kruger was actually just the humble janitor on the street, a nice guy, innocent and that the children lied to their parents about him being a kiddy fiddler. And this is all about him getting revenge/vengence for killing him when he did nothing wrong! thats what i read on Wikipedia, but can never trust wikipedia
minkowski writes:
on July 23rd, 2009 at 12:20:35 AM

How the hell can I comment?? I can't even see Freddy's FACE in those images. It's all so blurry, indistinct, and generic. Could be a screengrab from any of the old films.

Two bland, dark and indistinct images, and you guys are j*zzing your jeans.

And I thought Earle Haley's role was just a rumor? Wasn't there some denial he was taking on the role? Maybe not, must've been some other thread... must've been the one where people said he's too short.

Anyway, as long as Zombie is tattooing his testicles while it gets made, it has a chance. Likely it'll go for gore and guts and less for old school scare.
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on July 23rd, 2009 at 12:32:36 AM

@mink
Zombie? are you refering to Rob Zombie. He is working on those Halloween films, he doesn't have anything to do with this film.

And yes, it doesn't show his face, but it is a bit of tease to appease the fans. But from what i can get fromt eh picture is that it will hoepfully be a dark film, but yet again it is an American Horror film, and i am always disapointent with those films, the same story.
Drunk sexed up teens, go to haunted house/location, the serial killer who is unstoppable kills off the good looking kids while they are f*cking, the smart but beautiful girl is the hero and the geek she doesn't liek but eventually likes lives and they become boy freidn and girl freind and the killer goes after them! It is all the same, but i hope this film is a little different!!
I hope!
minkowski writes:
on July 23rd, 2009 at 12:50:27 AM

"Zombie? are you refering to Rob Zombie. He is working on those Halloween films, he doesn't have anything to do with this film."

That's. Exactly. What. I. Said.

No offense, but some of you posters are terrible readers.

Let me spell it out: Both Halloween and Nightmare on Elm Street are remakes. Correct? Now, Zombie is doing Halloween. Correct? And he isn't involved with NoES. Correct? Ok. Now read what I wrote above. for the first time.

"Anyway, as long as Zombie is tattooing his testicles while it gets made, it has a chance. Likely it'll go for gore and guts and less for old school scare."

So. And I'm breathing hard trying to make my remarks even clearer...NoES has a chance with me on the singular basis Zombie is not involved. In other words...I might enjoy this film (NoES)if it is nothing like a Rob Zombie Halloween flick. Capiche?

You have to think off the cuff, folks. Like, wow dude.

synthetic1985 writes:
on July 23rd, 2009 at 1:30:39 AM

my guess is that they wanted to take the fact that freddy kills teens in their dreams....that it has effect on them in real life as they are 'asleep'...but without any humor...just mean old freddy...dark and more realistic...in a fantasy movie for a remake once again....sorry but this doesn't sound like my cup of coffee...jackie is a fan...and now he's gonna get credit for robert englund's legacy...it was different for heath ledger as the joker because the joker had already been done before jack nicholson...so that was fine with me...but this is different...the old one is still scary to kids...and i still respect it...it was the story that stood out regardless of the blood and guts...that just spiced the movie up and gave it its incredible uniqueness i'd say...and now they're gonna throw it away with more remakes...let me put it this way....nobody was really sparked all this time before the remake idea sparked in whoever is working on it now...and still it bugs me that they don't care that wes craven is upset about it...if they really cared...they would involve him in it...not keep him out of it...it's only respectful in my opinion
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on July 23rd, 2009 at 2:08:47 AM

wow....sorry to have offended you mink.So here is a game i found for you to play, very entertaining and keeps going for hours


SCROLL DOWN!

SCROLL UP!!
dbreuning writes:
on July 23rd, 2009 at 2:34:11 AM

Wow. This looks good! I completely love the original series and I have all of them on DVD. Cant wait to see this in theatre. Maybe they can just make this a trilogy instead of the original 7/8 films. A trilogy would be cool. Make it violent and scary. Cant wait :D
thomas deadison writes:
on July 23rd, 2009 at 11:31:06 AM

hahaha I agree, Prevalent.

In a post-Freddy vs. Jason world, how can I argue that?
makingcircles writes:
on July 23rd, 2009 at 12:52:11 PM

@lostwarrior... "f*ck yeah" popped in my head too.

@minkoski...I'm a good reader I guess because I was totally picking up what you were putting down.

I'm excited for this film and as long as the script is decent I think Jackie will give us a good Freddy. I wonder how they will make his voice sound?? This is the first 80s horror remake where the antagonist actually speaks right?? What they do with his voice could make or break it too.
makingcircles writes:
on July 23rd, 2009 at 1:17:25 PM

@minkoski... When you say, "Likely it'll go for gore and guts and less for old school scare." What is your preference? Personally I'd like it to be more like an "Exorcist" kind of scary. Not too many jump scares...just smart horror that leaves you saying, "holy sh*t..."
Bonzaitri writes:
on July 23rd, 2009 at 1:19:08 PM

Is this a spin off of saw?
minkowski writes:
on July 23rd, 2009 at 3:21:57 PM

" Personally I'd like it to be more like an "Exorcist" kind of scary. Not too many jump scares...just smart horror that leaves you saying, "holy sh*t..."

I can dig that. I mean that's what I'm talking about. Nowadays 'horror' films are more about chopping some guy up. It's about skin hanging from hooks and intestines plopping out on Mom's linoleum. sh*t like that. Nothing intelligent. A film, very underrated, called the Mothman Prophecies, not liked by many because of it's lack of gore, gave me genuine chills. There were times that I felt a shock up my back. Just creeped me out, and made me think a little too. To me, that's smart 'horror, even though that film isn't exactly standard horror at all. I mean, it worked for me, and not one busty teenage bimbo got skewered. Movies like Wrong Turn, on the other hand, or Jeppers Creepers, didn't scare me. They f*cked with my head in the ways the poor kids were killed, but I was never scared, just nauseated. To me, that's not scary, and if it doesn't scare on some level of intelligence, it's not horror, it's torture porn. But the days of the Exorcist and Carpenter's style of horror are long, long gone.
lostwarrior writes:
on July 23rd, 2009 at 6:23:39 PM

hey c*nt muffin mink. its clearly obvious that zombie is nowhere attached to this. i mean look at the style for starters. this looks polished where zombie is clearly rougher looking. and everyone on here knows that this as well as Halloween is a remake k little girl. oh mink it was clarified months ago that haley was gonna be kruger, i guess you dont read the headlines or the articles do u. looking at pics is a lot like connecting the dots, except sometimes u need to pay attention d*ck f*ck... and even though the face is blurry its clearly a new photo, look at the blades, his razors are a lot longer, and why are we excited this is the 1st photo of freddy, we have blurry photos of kruger before he is dead, so yeah f*ck yeah little girl im excited as f*ck for this pic. just go tickle you pink minkowski while day dreaming of how hot your mommy use to be befor she sold the herp for 10 dollars anite.. see ya little girl.
PrevalentMind writes:
on July 23rd, 2009 at 6:28:07 PM

Lostwarrior- MANNNN- did you miss Jason X? whoa buddy- there's some cheese for ya. He might not have any one liner zingers like the others I clumped up, but you're laughing hysterically and constantly the second he dons the new mask.
PrevalentMind writes:
on July 23rd, 2009 at 6:31:41 PM

Annnnnd to be fair- Carpenter's effective style is gone because he smoked the f*ck out of himself, became lazy, and started f*cking himself over with pumped out, mediocre sh*t films after believing his own hype that he was a genius for making ONE truly mesmerizing film at the dawn of his career.
lostwarrior writes:
on July 23rd, 2009 at 7:46:43 PM

^^might have to check that out man, right on for the recommendation..
makingcircles writes:
on July 24th, 2009 at 1:09:12 PM

@minkoski...cool..I'll have to check out The Mothman Prophecy...thanks for the recommendation.
Chewbacca writes:
on July 24th, 2009 at 6:57:13 PM

Mothman Prophecies was a genuinely creepy movie. Though I'm not a huge Richard Gere fan, but I agree can Hollywood come up with an original horror film instead of remaking the sh*t out of every movie. And the remakes, as Mink put it, will only go for the gore and guts because our generation only wants to see a person get chopped up or really cheap scares. I mean, I understand most ideas imaginable have been used, but if you are going to use a formula atleast use it correctly. What happened to horror flicks like Silence of the Lambs or Jacob's Latter.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved