WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Sam Raimi to Direct "World of Warcraft" Film

Posted: July 22nd, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Sam Raimi to Direct "World of Warcraft" FilmSubmit Comment
Back in October, we found out that a "World of Warcraft" movie was in development and Legendary Pictures was looking for writers to pen the screenplay and a director to helm.

Variety is now reporting that the studio has finally decided on a director and it is Sam Raimi (Spider-Man). He will begin work immediately after "Spider-Man 4."

Earlier, a rumor was going around that Uwe Boll was trying to convince Blizzard Entertainment (owner of the game) that he's the right man for the job. Apparently the company never took any of his offers seriously.

Frank Pearce, VP of product development, previously revealed that the new movie will be live-action and will have a budget of around $100 million.

Blizzard also previously stated that the "World of Warcraft" movie won't be a journey type of tale, like in "Lord of the Rings." Instead, it will focus more on the growing tensions between the races of the World of WarCraft universe and eventually culminate with some kind of battle.

Check out the cinematic trailer for the "World of Warcraft: Wrath of the Lich King" game below.

Trailer:


Source: Variety


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 22 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
acslaterson writes:
on July 22nd, 2009 at 3:12:49 AM

f*cking hell! All of these f*cking pop ups on this site is starting to piss me off! 3 popped up just scrolling down to comment! I was hoping Evil Dead 4/tie-in to Drag Me to Hell was going to be his next project. Oh, and I am sick of seeing that "The God Who Wasn't There" ad, I Netflixed it and the ending was pretty much the guy getting kicked out of his old school by his principal. The beginning was good and presented facts well but then it turned into a whiny bitch fest.
crimsonfiend420 writes:
on July 22nd, 2009 at 3:20:54 AM

Jesus tittyf*cking Christ.

How f*cking sold out of gamer fuel is every convenience store in North America going to be opening day of this stroke fest.


f*ckbeans.
telur writes:
on July 22nd, 2009 at 5:00:20 AM

f*ck after spiderman 4 that mean 5 or 6 years later
Vlahka writes:
on July 22nd, 2009 at 6:22:05 AM

Dunst will play a singing blood elf.
wonderBOY writes:
on July 22nd, 2009 at 6:33:01 AM

why do sam raimi and gore verbinski want to wreck their careers. there might be a chance its good but so far the best game movie is mortal kombat 1
Barney Stinson writes:
on July 22nd, 2009 at 6:35:07 AM

@acslaterson - Stop whining about the ads. Just get Firefox and install Adblock plus and Flashblock. I've never seen any ads on this website because of those things.
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on July 22nd, 2009 at 9:24:17 AM

The story is already there for them to work on so it shouldnt be too hard to make into a movie.

Please do a Lord of the Rings type film led by Bruce Campbell!
acslaterson writes:
on July 22nd, 2009 at 10:19:34 AM

Sorry, was drinking a bit last night! I installed Flashblock but Adblock Plus doesn't want to install on my MacBook...
Whitta writes:
on July 22nd, 2009 at 1:11:07 PM

im more than happy for Trey Parker to make a WOW movie instead!
matternm58 writes:
on July 22nd, 2009 at 3:34:27 PM

i would kill to see Bruce Campbell in this.
kevo10183 writes:
on July 22nd, 2009 at 4:06:06 PM

These pop ups are really really GAY. Please take them off or make it a click for details.
manichispanic writes:
on July 22nd, 2009 at 5:19:09 PM

thats gonna be crazy cool. i'm not a player of WoW, but i know this movie is gonna be the sh*t.
lostwarrior writes:
on July 22nd, 2009 at 6:01:33 PM

this is gonna be f*cking stupid, f*cking more video games turned into f*cking movies.
Ranger writes:
on July 22nd, 2009 at 7:14:38 PM

So is Raimi going to make all these Warcraft characters EMO style, and have their wannabe girlfriends sh*t on them at every turn?! I suspect Sam was one of those kids either ignored and/or beat up a lot during recess, and it now doing his healing via the silver screen. I can't wait to miss this one.
OneTime writes:
on July 22nd, 2009 at 7:51:43 PM

over 11 million people play this game...KA CHING
acslaterson writes:
on July 22nd, 2009 at 8:10:40 PM

I downloaded the trial and didn't really get into it let alone be willing to pay monthly. I have all the next gen consoles so that was another reason I couldn't see paying a monthly fee.
timex89 writes:
on July 22nd, 2009 at 10:57:03 PM

Wow..there's been like 16 post and not one mention of Uwe Boll!

What can you say about Blizzard Entertainment? They ain't suicidal!
Whitta writes:
on July 23rd, 2009 at 12:05:50 AM

hmmm... 2nded on the Bruce Campbell comment
synthetic1985 writes:
on July 23rd, 2009 at 1:39:36 AM

what's worse than an emo world of warcraft movie?....answer: an emo diablo movie...EEWWW!!! lol
gunfighterii writes:
on July 23rd, 2009 at 9:37:18 AM

Wow like everyone above me is like totally against game films lol. If done right this movie won't end careers it'll make them.... over 16 million people play WoW (Inc myself) and if done correctly it'll be a box office smash!

you all complain about games being adapted into films but yet when films such as Halo & God of War are mentioned you welcome it with open arms
Captain Rogaine writes:
on July 24th, 2009 at 8:14:31 AM

Ranger, really? He did that in just one movie and all of a sudden he's some poor sap? Because you're here and always insulting I'm going to say that you were probably from a broken home. You're mom worked all the time, went to bars, brought home strange men and pretty much ignored you. When you dad would take you for the rare weekends that your mom need to do some extremely dirty acts he insulted you constantly and made you cry while you fetched him beer after beer. Soon enough you had a pretty good insult dictionary built up. Between what your dad called you, what the men called your mom inside the bedroom and when they were dumping her and what all the kids at school called you. Now you take that dictionary of slander and dish it out upon directors who made one damn mistake (long one sure but just one) and actors and actresses on some movie site, some of which do deserve it. There you go Ranger you've been rangered. Happy Birthday and Merry Christmas tell your mom I'll be over tonight and your dad we're going drinking this weekend.
dorkus1226 writes:
on July 27th, 2009 at 12:53:56 AM

nerds are jerking it as i speak =/ i dont think you could pay me to see this.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved