WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Bruce Lee Trilogy in Development

Posted: July 22nd, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Bruce Lee Trilogy in DevelopmentSubmit Comment
A three-part biopic about martial arts king Bruce Lee is being made in cooperation with the family of the star, who died 36 years ago this week.

The family is working with China's JA Media on "Bruce Lee," which will start shooting in October with Tony Leung Ka-fai as Lee's father. Additional cast and helmer have not yet been set.

Initial investment in the first movie will be 50 million yuan ($7.3 million) and it is scheduled for release on November 27th, 2010, the 70th anniversary of Lee's birth.

Lee's brother, Robert, and sister, Phoebe, appeared at a press confab with JA Media for the project in Beijing on Monday. Robert Lee said he wanted to give an authoritative account of his brother's life. "We've read many books and seen many movies about Bruce Lee, but there are many inaccuracies in them," he said.

Source: Variety


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 16 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
acslaterson writes:
on July 22nd, 2009 at 3:32:55 AM

I hope the actor they get can get in the shape that Lee was in, he was shredded as f*ck! I don't mind reading subtitles so I am pretty excited for this!
Eben1277 writes:
on July 22nd, 2009 at 8:39:27 AM

This could be the greatest movie ever. Where is Tony Jaa to play Bruce?
The5thBeatle5 writes:
on July 22nd, 2009 at 9:38:31 AM

This is gonna be sick as hell! I cant wait!!
Johnny Neat writes:
on July 22nd, 2009 at 9:42:32 AM

I don't know about this. Brucie was the man, but I think the legend suits him.
PrevalentMind writes:
on July 22nd, 2009 at 11:46:07 AM

It's ALWAYS a f*cking trilogy...anything with even the slightest bit of public interest. We didnt get a Ray Charles or a Johnny Cash trilogy and frankly this is just crappy idiotic planning. One lengthy and focussed film is all we need on Bruce. Bruce Lee might be on every dorm room wall BUT so is Che Guevara and we all saw how many people flocked to the theaters to see his two parter...oh wait a second we never saw ANYBODY going to that two parter. Just make one good film and stop the needless trilogy crap.
tcu21 writes:
on July 22nd, 2009 at 11:56:54 AM

Trilogy for one person doesn't sound right and Dragon: The Bruce Lee Story, was a pretty good biopic so I'm not so sure about this one.

But yeah if they were to do it Tony Jaa would be perfect for the part even though he's not Chinese, he'd def need to work on his English though.
Charlie9 writes:
on July 22nd, 2009 at 2:30:03 PM

Tony Jaa looks nothing like BL, different build, different nationality, but maybe all they need to get is an Asian who is good in martial arts to satisfy the western audience.
Osiris3eagle writes:
on July 22nd, 2009 at 3:27:14 PM

Tony Jaa is an amazing martial artist, but he would be a bad choice. Doesn't look like him, doesn't speak english or chinese, etc.
takai writes:
on July 22nd, 2009 at 4:33:40 PM

Tony Jaa is a completely different kind of martial artist. They would almost have to completely re-invent Jaa to make him ok for this role. Haha. That, and teach him Cantonese, Mandarin, AND English.

There hasn't been a martial artist like Lee since Lee in both film and practice, and really, I don't think there could ever be for many reasons.

Back to the actor for this 'trilogy', I don't really know that anyone could match his physic only because it took him years upon years of study and discipline to get that way, and it wasn't even his goal. He just did whatever he could to be most efficient.

So I don't know. We'll see I guess. This could be super badass or super insulting. Hopefully it's the first.

(Sorry for the long post. haha. I'm a hardcore Lee fan.)
lostwarrior writes:
on July 22nd, 2009 at 5:32:10 PM

PM i agree with u. everything has to be a trilogy now, wtf, its become a gimmick now to have a trilogy a fast almost guaranteed way to make more money. Its getting old, make the movie 3 hours with an intermission if they want to get every detail of the film right, thats fine, but make it one film. every f*cking thing now is a bloddy trilogy... bullsh*t...
Ranger writes:
on July 22nd, 2009 at 7:12:08 PM

It's just too bad, racial, bigoted Hollywood didn't give the real Bruce Lee roles WHEN HE WAS STILL ALIVE (we all know he didn't get Kung-Fu because he 'looks too Asian' WTF does that mean?!?!)!!! He was the best... STILL! It's just so sad he didn't get to see 'Enter the Dragon', and yes, Jason Scott Lee did an AMAZING job playing Bruce. And if the Lee family THINK they're going to have ANY control (contractual or not)... LOL... smoke another one for me Lee Family. Gene Roddenberry was in constant arguments with the 'suits' in Star Trek TNG (which they PROMISED him if he came back to do another series wouldn't happen... it ended up killing him!), and if Todd McFarlane puts up HALF the $'s for Spawn and STILL has lost creative control... well, again... good luck Lee family. You're about to get f*cked with your pants on... western world style!
L Z writes:
on July 22nd, 2009 at 7:36:57 PM

Can't wait! Still think that "Jason Scott Lee" did him justice in Dragon: The Bruce Lee Story.

Why not cast him agian? I've seen it done before. When "Don Cheadle" played Sammy Davis Jr in "The Rat Pack" (1998 Made for HBO movie)then went on to play pretty much the same character in Ocean's 11,12, and 13.
L Z writes:
on July 22nd, 2009 at 7:37:22 PM

Can't wait! Still think that "Jason Scott Lee" did him justice in Dragon: The Bruce Lee Story.

Why not cast him agian? I've seen it done before. When "Don Cheadle" played Sammy Davis Jr in "The Rat Pack" (1998 Made for HBO movie)then went on to play pretty much the same character in Ocean's 11,12, and 13.
tcu21 writes:
on July 22nd, 2009 at 9:19:31 PM

@ L Z

Jason Scott Lee, was great in 'Dragon'. I honestly can't see why they'd bother with another biopic. If I had to guess sounds like the family just wants to profit a little more off Lee's name. There's going to be inaccuracies and speculation over any famous person's untimely death. A movie isn't going to stop it, but it will make them a little richer.
Ranger writes:
on July 22nd, 2009 at 9:21:09 PM

Exactly.
mattcl23 writes:
on July 23rd, 2009 at 12:36:58 PM

Don't know if anyone saw How Bruce Lee Changed The World on History Channel. But Stan Lee said he was making something on Bruce Lee, a comic or comic like movie, can't remember. That would be cool. Also said he was doing the Iron Fist soon which is based partially on Bruce Lee.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved